Paid Sick Leave Laws Affecting
Public School Districts or
Education Service Districts

Adam Rhynard
Board Chair
Employment Relations Board



ORS 332.507/

 ORS 332.507(2): “Each district shall allow each school employee at
least 10 days sick leave at full pay for each school year or one day per
month employed, whichever is greater.”

* ORS 332.507(1)(a): “School employee includes all employees of a
public school district or an education service district.”

* ORS 332.507(1)(b): “Sick leave”="absence from duty because of a
school employee’s illness or injury or as otherwise provided for by law
or by provisions of a collective bargaining agreement. In case of
conflict with a rule adopted to interpret a law, the collective
bargaining agreement to which the parties agree shall govern.”



ORS 332.507/

 ORS 332.507(3): “At the option of the local governing board, sick leave in excess
of five consecutive work days shall be allowed only upon certification of the
school emﬁloyee's attending physician or practitioner that the illness or injury
prevents the school employee from working.”

* ORS 332.507(4): “Sick leave not taken shall accumulate for an unlimited number
of days. A local governing board is required to permit a school employee to take
up to 75 days sick leave accumulated in other Oregon districts. The accumulation
shall not exceed that carried by the most recent employing district. However, the
transfer of sick leave from another Oregon district shall not be effective until the
school employee has completed 30 working days in the new district.

* ORS 332.507(5): For purposes of determining retirement benefits, a local
governing board is required to permit a school employee to transfer an unlimited
numlber of days of unused accumulated sick leave from another Oregon district
employer.



Oregon Sick Time Law (SB 454, 2015 Or Laws
ch 537, 2017 Or Laws ch 520)

* Allows employees to earn and use up to 40 hours of paid sick time
(assuming employer has at least 10 employees) at regular rate of pay each
year.

* Employees earn 1 hour of sick time for every 30 hours worked (or 1 1/3
hours per every 40 hours worked). (Employers can front load 40 hours at
beginning of year and can select the “year”).

* Employees can carry over up to 40 hours of unused sick time from one year
to the next, but employers can limit accrual and usage to 40 hours per year
and 80 hours total.

* Sick time usage: broader categories (at least potentially) than ORS 332.507.
* Collective bargaining exception: but would not apply to public schools
 Compliance if policy is substantially equivalent or more generous



SICK LEAVE COMPARISON

ORS 332.507

e Applies to all employees (not
defined) of a public
school/education service district

* Greater of at least 10 days sick
leave at full pay for each school
year or one day per month
employed.

2015 OR SICK TIME LAW

* Applies to any employee as
defined (renders personal
services at a fixed rate for an ER)

e Earn and use up to 40 hours of
paid sick time at regular rate of
pay each year. 1 hour of sick
time /30 hours worked)



SICK LEAVE COMPARISON

ORS 332.507 2015 OR SICK TIME LAW

* Unlimited accrual * Employer can limit accrual (40
hours per year/80 hours total)

* Can transfer up to 75 hours of unused  * No right to transfer to another

sick leave to another district employer (180 days to retain
unused accrued sick time
w/same ER)
* Retirement benefits: employee can * ER not required to compensate
transfer an unlimited number of days of  for accrued unused sick time for
unused accumulated sick leave from retirement purposes

another Oregon district employer.



SICK LEAVE COMPARISON

ORS 332.507 2015 OR SICK TIME LAW

* Sick leave=absence from duty e Sick time can be used for a large
because of employee’s iliness or number of statutorily-determined
injury or as otherwise provided for reasons

by law or by provisions of a CBA.
CBA> a rule adopted to interpret a

law.
* Employer can require medical * Employer can require medical
certification that illness or injury verification for sick time of more
revents employee from working than 3 consecutive days (or EE
or sick leave in excess of 5 doesn’t provide notice or ER has
consecutive work days. sufficient evidence of sick-time

abuse)



SICK LEAVE COMPARISON

ORS 332.507 2015 OR SICK TIME LAW

* No eligibility limitation * Employees accrue immediately
and are eligible to use on 915t day

* Must notify EEs of balance at

* No notification requirement
least quarterly

* No usage specification , _
e Used in 1-hour increments (unless

undue hardship)

* No penalty provision * BOLI penalties

* No non-retaliation provision + Anti-retaliation provision



Other Issues

* “Prohibited” Subject of Bargaining: A contractual term that is
specifically contrary to statute or would require a party to act
contrary to statute.

* Paid Sick Leave Provisions in Existing Collective Bargaining
Agreements of Public Employers



