
     Legislative Testimony 
 
 

 P a g e  | 1 

 
House Committee on Revenue February 5, 2018 

HB 4028 Tax Credit Technical Fix bill 

Summary 

Makes technical changes to the Working Family Dependent Care credit under ORS 315.264, the 
Bovine Manure credit under ORS 315.176 and 315.184, and the affordable housing lender’s 
credit under ORS 317.097. Also makes conforming amendments to ORS 314.752 for the Bovine 
Manure credit. 

Comments 

—SECTION ONE—Working Family Household and Dependent Care credit 

In 2015, the legislature made substantial changes to the WFC and CDCC by merging them into 

one more beneficial credit for Oregonians. The legislature tied the credits to IRC section 21 for 

everything but the limitation. Under federal law, the limit is $3K for one qualifying person and 

$6K for two or more, Oregon’s limit is $12K and $24K respectively. 

We came to LRO to fulfill our duty to point out inconsistencies between federal and state laws 

that impact taxpayer situations or our administration of the tax system. The result is this draft 

bill although we do believe additional amendments are necessary. 

Under federal law, “employment-related expenses” include expenses incurred while working or 

looking for work, but they do not include expenses incurred while attending school. There are 

special provisions in federal law that allow married taxpayers the ability to claim expenses while 

one spouse is attending school on a full-time basis. Because of the earned income requirement of 

the federal credit, federal law attributes earned income to the married student in an amount that 

equals the federal limits. In other words, federal law deems a student to have earned $250 a 

month for one qualifying person and $500 a month for two. This equals the annual federal limits 

of $3K/$6K. This only applies to students that are married and allows them to claim a credit of 

up to $3K/$6K. 

Under Oregon law, the credit is expanded to include students that are single as long as they are 

considered a full or part-time student. However, because the Oregon credit does not impute 

income to the single student in the way federal law does, the student would not have any 

qualified expenses, even if they actually incurred expenses because they do not also have earned 

income. Federal law resolves this issue for married students, which Oregon follows up to $3K 

and $6K because of the tie to qualifying expenses. 
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Finally, the provisions are applicable to tax years that begin on or after January 1, 2019 but 

should be applicable to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2018 to conform to and correct 

the changes the legislature made in the 2017 session.  

The inconsistency in administering this credit is described below: 

Taxpayer Federal 
Law 

Oregon Law Issue  Possible solution 

Resident 
taxpayers 

n/a Current law 
only allows the 
credit if the 
earned income 
is actually 
earned within 
Oregon.  

Equity—This results 
in Oregonians who 
earn their income in 
another state not 
being eligible for the 
credit. 

Clarify the intent that 
Oregonians qualify if 
the income is earned 
anywhere as long as it’s 
taxable by Oregon and 
reportable on the 
Oregon return. 

Married 
student 

Full-time 
status only 

Full-time status 
only 

Equity—Single 
students can be a 
part-time student and 
qualify 

 

Expand part-time status 
to married students 

Married 
student 

Imputed 
income 
$3K/$6K 

Ties to federal 
law of 
qualifying 
expenses. 

These students may 
never reach Oregon’s 
limit of $12K/$24K 
because of the earned 
income requirement 
and the imputed 
income limits. These 
students may only 
have qualifying 
expenses of up to 
$3K/$6K because it’s 
the least of their 
earned income, the 
spouse’s earned 
income, or the Oregon 
cap ($12K/$24K) 

 

Exempt students from 
the earned income 
requirement from 
periods when they are 
qualifying students.  

OR 

Address the imputed 
income cap in Oregon 
and allow it to be 
calculated following 
federal rules, but with 
Oregon limits. 

Unmarried Not eligible Full or part- Equity—Married Remove part-time 
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student—
status  

time status students cannot be 
part-time 

 

status from unmarried 
students 

Unmarried 
student—
imputed 
income 

Not eligible Not addressed 
in Oregon law 

Equity—these 
students, although 
they have otherwise 
qualifying expenses, 
because they don’t 
have “earned income” 
their credit equals 
zero. 

Exempt students from 
the earned income 
requirements under 
federal law during 
periods when they are 
qualifying students.  

OR 

Address the imputed 
income cap in Oregon 
and allow it to be 
calculated following 
federal rules, but with 
Oregon limits. 

 

—SECTION TWO—Bovine manure credit 

HB 2066 (2017) established a new transferable credit, the bovine manure credit, certified by the 

Department of Agriculture (DOA). The provisions for earning the credit are essentially the same 

as the biomass producer or collector credit (ORS 315.141) including the credit rate of $3.50 per 

wet ton, except the total credit amount was capped at $5 million dollars per “tax year.” Changes 

to the credit reporting requirements, clarifying which “bovine” animals qualified, and changing 

“tax year” to “calendar year” came at the request of the department as technical fixes.  

The suggested reporting requirement changes were to address the rule-authority provided to 

the department. We currently use Interagency Agreements (IA) with all agencies that provide the 

department with certified credit data. An IA is very flexible based on changing circumstances 

whereas rules (which are primarily for taxpayers, not other agencies) are time-consuming to 

change. As well, the information outlined in ORS 315.176(7)(a) is not exactly what we need for 

the purposes of pass-through entity reporting. We just need enough information to allocate the 

distributive share of the credit to each owner in the Business Credit Manager (BCM).  

Replacing “bovine” with a scientific name of the intended animal was suggested by the 

department as “bovine” can include animals other than cattle such as bison, elk, antelopes, and 
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water buffalos among others. The term “cow” indicates only a female animal so we suggest using 

the scientific name to refer to the intended animal for purposes of this credit. 

Changing “tax year” to “calendar year” was suggested to help the certification process because 

“tax years” include fiscal years as well as calendar years. This modification was made in 

conjunction with the DOA and credit recipient stakeholders and allows the agency to certify 

credits on a calendar year basis.  

Finally, the provisions are applicable to tax years that begin on or after January 1, 2019 but 

should be applicable to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2018 to conform to and correct 

the changes the legislature made in the 2017 session.  

 

 

 

For more information about this testimony, contact Deanna Mack 503-947-2082. 

 


