

To: Senate Committee on EducationFrom: Richard Donovan, Oregon School Boards AssociationRe: Senate Bill 1521Date: February 7, 2018

Chair Roblan and members of the Senate Committee on Education:

On behalf of OSBA membership, including 197 school districts and 19 Education Service Districts throughout the state of Oregon, thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of SB 1521.

SB 1521 would amend provisions of various chapters of session laws in order to extend the sunset on open enrollment student transfer provisions. Those provisions are set to expire in 2019. SB 1521 would give a one-year extension, to 2020.

Oregon's K-12 interdistrict transfer system is not perfect. It is sometimes criticized as being unnecessarily rigid, with timelines that are inflexible and difficult for parents to operate within. The system would benefit from a revision.

SB 1521 will permit that to happen. Extending the open enrollment sunset by one year will give education stakeholders, including but not limited to OSBA, to convene prior to the 2019 legislative session with the goal of producing a proposal for an updated, more accessible, and all-around better interdistrict transfer system.

Thank you for the opportunity to testify, and I am happy to answer any questions you may have.

## OFFICERS

President LeeAnn Larsen Beaverton SD

President-elect Tass Morrison North Santiam SD

Vice President Kevin Cassidy Baker SD

Secretary-Treasurer Maureen Wolf Tigard-Tualatin SD

Past President Betty Reynolds West Linn-Wilsonville SD

## DIRECTORS Paul Anthony

Portland PS

Terry Deacon Linn Benton Lincoln ESD

Sherry Duerst-Higgins Lane ESD/South Lane SD

Susan FitzGerald Yamhill-Carlton SD

Liz Hartman Lake Oswego SD

Kris Howatt Gresham-Barlow SD

Greg Kintz Vernonia SD

Melissa LaCrosse Jefferson SD

Patti Norris Crook County SD

Hank Perry Douglas ESD

Craig Prewitt Phoenix-Talent SD

Scott Rogers Athena-Weston SD

Lori Theros Klamath Falls City Schools Michelle Vo

Corbett SD

**EX-OFFICIO DIRECTORS** 

COSA/OASE Craig Hawkins OAESD Bob Moore State Board of Education Charles Martinez, Jr.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Jim Green

DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Mary Paulson