HB 4141 -1 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Higher Education and Workforce Development

Prepared By:Laura Kentnesse, LPRO AnalystMeeting Dates:2/6

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Requires the governing board of each public university to establish a Tuition Advisory Council to make annual recommendations regarding tuition and mandatory enrollment fees. Specifies membership, timeline, and duties of Tuition Advisory Councils. Requires the governing board to submit specified information and materials to Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC) if the board decides to increase tuition and mandatory enrollment fees by more than three percent annually. Prohibits the governing board from increasing tuition and mandatory enrollment fees by more than five percent annually unless the board receives approval from the HECC. Prohibits the HECC from approving increases by more than five percent annually unless the governing board has submitted additional specified information and materials to the HECC and the HECC has based its approval on the provided information. Requires the HECC to establish by rule criteria for commission approval of proposed increases in tuition and mandatory enrollment fees of more than five percent. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

REVENUE: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued. *FISCAL:* May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-1 Modifies Tuition Advisory Council membership to be composed of "no fewer than" the specified positions, rather than a set number of positions. Eliminates requirement for the HECC to define "serious consideration" in rule.

REVENUE: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued. *FISCAL:* May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued.

BACKGROUND:

Under ORS 352.102, the governing boards of Oregon public universities are allowed to authorize, establish, and collect tuition and mandatory enrollment fees up to a five percent annual increase. For proposed annual tuition and mandatory enrollment fee increases of more than five percent, a governing board is required to obtain approval from the Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC) or the Legislative Assembly, though the law does not specify criteria or a process for approval. Governing boards are required to provide for the participation of enrolled students and the recognized student government as they consider annual tuition and mandatory enrollment fee amounts.

The HECC was established in 2011, and vested with its current authorities in 2013. In May 2017, the agency was faced with institutions seeking approval for 2017-18 resident tuition increases greater than five percent. The HECC approved tuition increases at Southern Oregon University (11.4 percent), Western Oregon University (7.5 percent), and the Oregon Institute of Technology (7.4 percent), and rejected proposals from Portland State University (8.3 percent) and the University of Oregon (10.6 percent). It was the first time in its history that the HECC had rejected tuition increase requests. Following additional hearings, the HECC reversed course and approved the Portland State University of Oregon proposals.