HB 4048 -1 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Business and Labor

Prepared By: Jan Nordlund, LPRO Analyst **Meeting Dates:** 2/5

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Requires principal real estate brokers, real estate brokers and property managers to complete 30 hours of continuing education when reactivating their license. Specifies that principal real estate broker must take advanced course in brokerage practices upon first renewal or first reactivation if licensee has not yet completed equivalent course. Takes effect 91 days after adjournment sine die.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-1 Requires principal broker to complete advanced course in brokerage practices prior to renewing or reactivating their license even if they have taken an equivalent course in the past.

BACKGROUND:

No one may practice or advertise themselves as a real estate professional in Oregon unless they hold an active license issued by the Oregon Real Estate Agency. Licenses are renewed for a 24-month term, and upon renewal the licensee must have completed 30 hours of continuing education courses during the two years preceding the renewal. Three of the 30 hours must be in a course focused on recent changes in real estate rules and laws. Brokers and property managers, but not principal brokers, who renew an active license for the first time, must take an advanced course in relevant practices approved by the Agency.

House Bill 4048 requires licensees to have completed 30 hours of continuing education courses before reactivating a license. The measure also specifies that principal brokers must take an advanced course in brokerage practices when renewing or reactivating for the first time, if such a course has not previously been completed.