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HB 3438-2

(LC 4412)

4/17/17 (JLM/ps)

Requested by HOUSE COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO

HOUSE BILL 3438

In line 2 of the printed bill, before the period insert “; amending ORS

144.096 and 144.102”.

Delete lines 4 through 9 and insert:

“SECTION 1. ORS 144.096 is amended to read:

“144.096. (1)(a) The Department of Corrections shall prepare a proposed

release plan for an inmate prior to the inmate’s release from prison.

“(b) The department shall submit the proposed release plan to the State

Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision not less than 75 days prior to

the inmate’s release.

“(c) If the proposed release plan is not approved by the board, the board

shall return the plan to the department with its recommended modifications.

The department shall submit a revised plan to the board not less than 25

days prior to the inmate’s release.

“(d) If the revised plan is not acceptable to the board, the board shall

determine the provisions of the final plan prior to the inmate’s release.

“(e) If an inmate was sentenced under section 29, chapter 649, Oregon

Laws 2013, and the release plan recommends that the inmate participate in

a reentry court, the board shall provide a copy of the release plan to the

reentry court.

“(2) The local supervisory authority that is responsible for correctional

services for an inmate shall prepare a proposed release plan for the inmate



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

prior to the inmate’s release from jail. The local supervisory authority shall

approve the release plan under its rules. If the inmate was sentenced under

section 29, chapter 649, Oregon Laws 2013, and the supervisory authority

recommends that the inmate participate in a reentry court, the supervisory

authority shall provide a copy of the release plan to the reentry court.

“(3) A release plan prepared under subsection (1) or (2) of this section

must include:

“(a) A description of support services and program opportunities available

to the inmate, including any transitional housing or treatment pro-

grams to which the inmate has been accepted;

“(b) The recommended conditions of post-prison supervision;

“(c) The level of supervision that shall be consistent with the inmate’s

risk assessment classification;

“(d) Any other conditions and requirements as may be necessary to pro-

mote public safety;

“(e) For all inmates whose sentence to make restitution under ORS

137.106 has been suspended for the term of imprisonment, a restitution pay-

ment schedule; and

“(f) Any conditions necessary to assist the reformation of the inmate.

“SECTION 2. ORS 144.096, as amended by section 35, chapter 649, Oregon

Laws 2013, is amended to read:

“144.096. (1)(a) The Department of Corrections shall prepare a proposed

release plan for an inmate prior to the inmate’s release from prison.

“(b) The department shall submit the proposed release plan to the State

Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision not less than 60 days prior to

the inmate’s release.

“(c) If the proposed release plan is not approved by the board, the board

shall return the plan to the department with its recommended modifications.

The department shall submit a revised plan to the board not less than 10

days prior to the inmate’s release.
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“(d) If the revised plan is not acceptable to the board, the board shall

determine the provisions of the final plan prior to the inmate’s release.

“(2) The local supervisory authority that is responsible for correctional

services for an inmate shall prepare a proposed release plan for the inmate

prior to the inmate’s release from jail. The local supervisory authority shall

approve the release plan under its rules.

“(3) A release plan prepared under subsection (1) or (2) of this section

must include:

“(a) A description of support services and program opportunities available

to the inmate, including any transitional housing or treatment pro-

grams to which the inmate has been accepted;

“(b) The recommended conditions of post-prison supervision;

“(c) The level of supervision that shall be consistent with the inmate’s

risk assessment classification;

“(d) Any other conditions and requirements as may be necessary to pro-

mote public safety;

“(e) For all inmates whose sentence to make restitution under ORS

137.106 has been suspended for the term of imprisonment, a restitution pay-

ment schedule; and

“(f) Any conditions necessary to assist the reformation of the inmate.

“SECTION 3. ORS 144.102 is amended to read:

“144.102. (1) The State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision or

local supervisory authority responsible for correctional services for a person

shall specify in writing the conditions of post-prison supervision imposed

under ORS 144.096. A copy of the conditions must be given to the person

upon release from prison or jail.

“(2) The board or the supervisory authority shall determine, and may at

any time modify, the conditions of post-prison supervision, which may in-

clude, among other conditions, that the person shall:

“(a) Comply with the conditions of post-prison supervision as specified by
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the board or supervisory authority.

“(b) Be under the supervision of the Department of Corrections and its

representatives or other supervisory authority and abide by their direction

and counsel.

“(c) Answer all reasonable inquiries of the board, the department or the

supervisory authority.

“(d) Report to the parole officer as directed by the board, the department

or the supervisory authority.

“(e) Not own, possess or be in control of any weapon.

“(f) Respect and obey all municipal, county, state and federal laws.

“(g) Understand that the board or supervisory authority may, at its dis-

cretion, punish violations of post-prison supervision.

“(h) Attend a victim impact treatment session in a county that has a

victim impact program. If the board or supervisory authority requires at-

tendance under this paragraph, the board or supervisory authority may re-

quire the person, as an additional condition of post-prison supervision, to pay

a reasonable fee to the victim impact program to offset the cost of the

person’s participation. The board or supervisory authority may not order a

person to pay a fee in excess of $5 under this paragraph.

“(3) If the person is required to report as a sex offender under ORS

163A.010, the board or supervisory authority shall include as a condition of

post-prison supervision that the person report with the Department of State

Police, a city police department, a county sheriff’s office or the supervising

agency:

“(a) When supervision begins;

“(b) Within 10 days of a change in residence;

“(c) Once each year within 10 days of the person’s date of birth;

“(d) Within 10 days of the first day the person works at, carries on a

vocation at or attends an institution of higher education; and

“(e) Within 10 days of a change in work, vocation or attendance status
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at an institution of higher education.

“(4)(a) The board or supervisory authority may establish special condi-

tions that the board or supervisory authority considers necessary because

of the individual circumstances of the person on post-prison supervision.

“(b) If the person is on post-prison supervision following conviction of a

sex crime, as defined in ORS 163A.005, the board or supervisory authority

shall include all of the following as special conditions of the person’s post-

prison supervision:

“(A) Agreement to comply with a curfew set by the board, the supervisory

authority or the supervising officer.

“(B) A prohibition against contacting a person under 18 years of age

without the prior written approval of the board, supervisory authority or

supervising officer.

“(C) A prohibition against being present more than one time, without the

prior written approval of the board, supervisory authority or supervising of-

ficer, at a place where persons under 18 years of age regularly congregate.

“(D) In addition to the prohibition under subparagraph (C) of this para-

graph, a prohibition against being present, without the prior written ap-

proval of the board, supervisory authority or supervising officer, at, or on

property adjacent to, a school, child care center, playground or other place

intended for use primarily by persons under 18 years of age.

“(E) A prohibition against working or volunteering at a school, child care

center, park, playground or other place where persons under 18 years of age

regularly congregate.

“(F) Entry into and completion of or successful discharge from a sex

offender treatment program approved by the board, supervisory authority or

supervising officer. The program may include polygraph and plethysmograph

testing. The person is responsible for paying for the treatment program.

“(G) A prohibition against direct or indirect contact with the victim, un-

less approved by the victim, the person’s treatment provider and the board,
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supervisory authority or supervising officer.

“(H) Unless otherwise indicated for the treatment required under subpar-

agraph (F) of this paragraph, a prohibition against viewing, listening to,

owning or possessing sexually stimulating visual or auditory materials that

are relevant to the person’s deviant behavior.

“(I) Agreement to consent to a search of the person or the vehicle or

residence of the person upon the request of a representative of the board or

supervisory authority if the representative has reasonable grounds to believe

that evidence of a violation of a condition of post-prison supervision will be

found.

“(J) Participation in random polygraph examinations to obtain informa-

tion for risk management and treatment. The person is responsible for paying

the expenses of the examinations. The results of a polygraph examination

under this subparagraph may not be used in evidence in a hearing to prove

a violation of post-prison supervision.

“(K) Maintenance of a driving log and a prohibition against driving a

motor vehicle alone unless approved by the board, supervisory authority or

supervising officer.

“(L) A prohibition against using a post-office box unless approved by the

board, supervisory authority or supervising officer.

“(M) A prohibition against residing in a dwelling in which another sex

offender who is on probation, parole or post-prison supervision resides unless

approved by the board, supervisory authority or supervising officer, or in

which more than one other sex offender who is on probation, parole or

post-prison supervision resides unless approved by the board or the director

of the supervisory authority, or a designee of the board or director. As soon

as practicable, the supervising officer of a person subject to the requirements

of this subparagraph shall review the person’s living arrangement with the

person’s sex offender treatment provider to ensure that the arrangement

supports the goals of offender rehabilitation and community safety.
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“(c)(A) If the person is on post-prison supervision following conviction of

a sex crime, as defined in ORS 163A.005, or an assault, as defined in ORS

163.175 or 163.185, and the victim was under 18 years of age, the board or

supervisory authority, if requested by the victim, shall include as a special

condition of the person’s post-prison supervision that the person not reside

within three miles of the victim unless:

“(i) The victim resides in a county having a population of less than

130,000 and the person is required to reside in that county under subsection

(7) of this section;

“(ii) The person demonstrates to the board or supervisory authority by a

preponderance of the evidence that no mental intimidation or pressure was

brought to bear during the commission of the crime;

“(iii) The person demonstrates to the board or supervisory authority by

a preponderance of the evidence that imposition of the condition will deprive

the person of a residence that would be materially significant in aiding in

the rehabilitation of the person or in the success of the post-prison super-

vision; or

“(iv) The person resides in a halfway house.

“(B) A victim may request imposition of the special condition of post-

prison supervision described in this paragraph at the time of sentencing in

person or through the prosecuting attorney. A victim’s request may be in-

cluded in the judgment document.

“(C) If the board or supervisory authority imposes the special condition

of post-prison supervision described in this paragraph and if at any time

during the period of post-prison supervision the victim moves to within three

miles of the person’s residence, the board or supervisory authority may not

require the person to change the person’s residence in order to comply with

the special condition of post-prison supervision.

“(5)(a) The board or supervisory authority may require the person to pay,

as a condition of post-prison supervision, compensatory fines, restitution or
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attorney fees:

“(A) As determined, imposed or required by the sentencing court; or

“(B) When previously required as a condition of any type of supervision

that is later revoked.

“(b) The board may require a person to pay restitution as a condition of

post-prison supervision imposed for an offense other than the offense for

which the restitution was ordered if the person:

“(A) Was ordered to pay restitution as a result of another conviction; and

“(B) Has not fully paid the restitution by the time the person has com-

pleted the period of post-prison supervision imposed for the offense for which

the restitution was ordered.

“(6) A person’s failure to apply for or accept employment at a workplace

where there is a labor dispute in progress does not constitute a violation of

the conditions of post-prison supervision.

“(7)(a) When a person is released from imprisonment on post-prison

supervision, the board shall order as a condition of post-prison supervision

that the person reside for the first six months after release in the county

that last supervised the person, if the person was on active supervision as

an adult for a felony at the time of the offense that resulted in the

imprisonment.

“(b) If the person was not on active supervision as an adult for a felony

at the time of the offense that resulted in the imprisonment, the board shall

order as a condition of post-prison supervision that the person reside for the

first six months after release in the county where the person resided at the

time of the offense that resulted in the imprisonment.

“(c) For purposes of paragraph (b) of this subsection:

“(A) The board shall determine the county where the person resided at

the time of the offense by examining records such as:

“(i) An Oregon driver license, regardless of its validity;

“(ii) Records maintained by the Department of Revenue;
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“(iii) Records maintained by the Department of State Police;

“(iv) Records maintained by the Department of Human Services;

“(v) Records maintained by the Department of Corrections; and

“(vi) Records maintained by the Oregon Health Authority.

“(B) If the person did not have an identifiable address at the time of the

offense, or the address cannot be determined, the person is considered to

have resided in the county where the offense occurred.

“(C) If the person is serving multiple sentences, the county of residence

is determined according to the date of the last arrest resulting in a con-

viction.

“(D) In determining the person’s county of residence, the board may not

consider offenses committed by the person while the person was incarcerated

in a Department of Corrections facility.

“(d) Upon motion of the board, the supervisory authority, the person, a

victim or a district attorney, the board may waive the residency condition

under paragraph (b) of this subsection only after making a finding that one

of the following conditions has been met:

“(A) The person provides proof of employment with no set ending date in

a county other than the county of residence determined under paragraph (c)

of this section;

“(B) The person is found to pose a significant danger to a victim of the

person’s crime residing in the county of residence, or a victim or victim’s

family residing in the county of residence is found to pose a significant

danger to the person;

“(C) The person has a spouse or biological or adoptive family residing in

a county other than the county of residence who will be materially signif-

icant in aiding in the rehabilitation of the person and in the success of the

post-prison supervision;

“(D) As another condition of post-prison supervision, the person is re-

quired to participate in a treatment program that is not available in the
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“(E) The person requests release to another state; or

“(F) The board finds other good cause for the waiver.

“(e) The board shall consider eligibility for transitional housing

programs and residential treatment programs when determining

whether to waive the residency condition under paragraph (b) of this

subsection, and the acceptance of the person into a transitional hous-

ing program or a residential treatment program constitutes good cause

as described in paragraph (d)(F) of this subsection.

“(8) As used in this section:

“(a) ‘Attends,’ ‘carries on a vocation,’ ‘institution of higher education’ and

‘works’ have the meanings given those terms in ORS 163A.005.

“(b)(A) ‘Dwelling’ has the meaning given that term in ORS 469B.100.

“(B) ‘Dwelling’ does not mean a residential treatment facility or a half-

way house.

“(c) ‘Halfway house’ means a residential facility that provides

rehabilitative care and treatment for sex offenders.

“(d) ‘Labor dispute’ has the meaning given that term in ORS 662.010.”.
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