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Measure Description:
Approves certain new or increased fees adopted by Oregon Health Authority.

Government Unit(s) Affected:
Oregon Health Authority (OHA)

Analysis:

House Bill 5027 is the fee ratification bill for the Oregon Health Authority (OHA). The bill ratifies fees
that were administratively adopted by OHA and approved by the Department of Administrative Services
(DAS) during the interim.

ORS 291.055(1)(e) mandates that all new state agency fees or fee increases adopted between regular
sessions of the Legislative Assembly are rescinded upon adjournment of the next regular session unless
authorized by enabling legislation setting forth the approved fees.

Four new advanced technology laboratory accreditation fees were established, which enable the Oregon
Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program (ORELAP) to accredit laboratories that test marijuana.
In addition, the out-of-state fees for laboratories seeking accreditation from ORELAP were increased by
20%. These were last increased in 2011. The fees are expected to generate a total of $262,033 in Other
Fund revenues during the 2017-19 biennium. The expenditure limitation is included in Package 409 in
OHA’s budget. Without these fee increases the agency would need to reduce a portion of one position.

Fees were also established to fulfill the requirements of the 2015 Toxic Free Kids Act (SB 478). Fees will
be assessed against manufacturers/distributors of children’s products sold in Oregon with annual
worldwide sales of $5 million or more, for disclosure of chemicals and for exemption requests. The fee
increases are expected to generate a total of $620,000 in Other Fund revenues during the 2017-19
biennium. The expenditure limitation is included in Package 409 in the agency’s budget. The fees are
based on the costs to the agency for administering the Toxic Free Kids Act.
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