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Prepared By: Adam Crawford, LPRO Analyst

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Specifies that lapse, suspension or revocation of certificate, license, permit or other form of authorization issued by
Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) related to alcoholic beverages does not affect OLCC authority to
investigate, initiate disciplinary proceedings or modify suspension or revocation of such certificate, license or permit.
Specifies a license granted under the Liquor Control Act is subject to cancellation, suspension, or restriction. Allows
OLCC to issue restricted license or require mandatory training for any license issued. Sets expiration date for service
permit at 5 years post issuance. Eliminates requirement for endorsement of service permit application, increases
maximum fee that may be assessed for service permit from $10 to $50, and eliminates requirement that permit
holder must obtain duplicate of lost, mutilated or destroyed service permit or obtain new permit following name
change. Exempts the sale of distilled liquor and OLCC appointment of distillery retail outlet agent from public
contracting laws. Exempts moneys from retail sale of distilled liquor held by appointed agent from laws governing
public moneys held by financial institutions if the agent has deposited a specified amount with the OLCC. Allows
distillery license holder to sell distilled liquor of 10 percent alcohol content by volume. Requires OLCC to hold
deposited amount in reserve account and return deposited amount, with interest, upon termination of agent's
appointment. Clarifies that moneys from retail sale of distilled liquor held by an agent are not subject to laws
governing deposit of public funds if the agent has an amount on deposit, not less than their average daily gross
receipts of retail liquor sales, that OLCC deems reasonable and sufficient. Allows OLCC to issue an on-premises sales
license to: a winery licensee, a person having interest in or exercising control over such license, or to a brewery that
brews more than 200,000 barrels of malt beverages annually; and to a brewery-public house licensee, a person
having interest in or exercising control over such license, a brewery that brews more than 200,000 barrels of malt
beverages annually, or to a winery that produces more than 200,000 barrels of wine annually. Permits homemade
beer, wine and fermented juices to be donated to non-profit and charitable organizations for sale at auction. Allows
persons to use identification cards issued by federally recognized Indian tribes or federal territories to purchase
alcohol. Modifies written attestation required of persons without specified identification. Declares emergency,
effective on passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

e Oregon Liquor Control Commission licensing authority

e Possible PERS exemption for specified public safety staff
e Distillery and winery license authorities and requirements

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

Specifies a license granted under the Liquor Control Act is subject to cancellation, suspension, or restriction. Allows
the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (Commission) to issue a restricted license or require mandatory training for
any license issued.

Allows a person to use an identification card issued by a federally recognized Indian tribe or federal territory to
purchase alcohol. Modifies written statement used by a person without specified identification to attest to they are
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over 21 years of age.

Allows Commission to issue an on-premises sales license to a winery licensee, a person having interest or exercising
control over a license, or to a brewery that brews more than 200,000 barrels of malt beverages annually. Allows
Commission to issue an on-premises sales license to a brewery-public house licensee, a person having interest or
exercising control over a license, to a brewery that brews more than 200,000 barrels of malt beverages annually, or
to a winery that produces more than 200,000 barrels of wine annually.

Allows distillery license holder to sell distilled liquor of 10 percent alcohol content by volume.

BACKGROUND:

The Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) is the regulatory agency for businesses that import, manufacture,
distribute, sell or serve alcohol in Oregon. It was instituted in 1933 following the end of national alcohol prohibition.
Oregon is a "control" state, meaning it has the exclusive right to sell packaged distilled spirits through a statewide
distribution center in Portland, which is then sold through retail liquor stores operated by contracted liquor agents.
Licenses are issued to private businesses for the sale of packaged beer and wine, and to restaurants, bars and taverns
for the sale of beer, wine and distilled spirits by the glass. The OLCC issues a variety of licenses, based on the type of
business being operated.

Senate Bill 1044 B makes a number of changes to laws governing alcohol in Oregon. It clarifies that the OLCC's
authority to investigate or discipline a license or permit holder does not end with the lapse, suspension or revocation
of that license or permit. It increases the fee for a server's permit from $10 to S50, but lifts the requirement that the
permit application be endorsed by another alcohol licensee or OLCC employee. It exempts the sale of distilled liquor
and the OLCC's appointment of distillery retail outlet agents from public contracting laws. It allows the sale of 10
percent alcohol content by volume, down from the current 17 percent and it expands the types of current licensees
that may apply for an on-premises sales license. Finally, Senate Bill 1044 B allows an identification card issued by a
federal territory or a federally recognized Indian tribe to be used as proof of age to purchase alcohol.
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