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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:
Allows person who is at least 16 years old to register to vote.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

e Engaging young voters early and increasing participation

Preregistration laws in other states

Importance of voting

Impact of Oregon Motor Voter Law on access to registration

Efficiency of capitalizing on young persons' interactions with Department of Motor Vehicles for driving purposes
to include voter registration

Educating voters; having well-informed electorate

e Focus on civic education

e Barriers to participation

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

To register to vote in Oregon, a person must be at least 17 years old and a United States citizen. However, though
registered, a 17-year-old will not receive a ballot until an election occurs on, or after, their 18th birthday, when they
become eligible to vote. Allowing persons to register before they turn 18 makes it possible for them to vote in the
first election they are legally able to participate in, even if their birthday occurs after the voter registration deadline.
This is referred to as preregistration.

The central goal of preregistration is to encourage voting among young people because they consistently have the
lowest turnout rates. Currently, 11 states and the District of Columbia allow 16 and 17-year-olds to preregister to
vote; five states, including Oregon, allow only a 17-year-old to preregister to vote; five states allow a person who is
between 17 years and 6 months of age and 17 years and 10 months of age to preregister to vote; and seven states
allow individuals to preregister anytime if they will turn 18 by the next election or general election.

Senate Bill 802 allows persons at least 16 years old to preregister to vote. Providing for preregistration at the age of
16 permits young voters to register at an already-established, likely point of contact - the Department of Motor
Vehicles (DMV) - where the National Voter Registration Act of 1993 (“Motor Voter”) requires driver’s license
applications (including renewals) to serve simultaneously as voter registrations.
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