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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Increases from 18 to 21 years old the minimum age to purchase and possess tobacco and nicotine products.
Establishes a set of fines ranging from $50-51,000 for individuals or businesses that distribute or sell tobacco-related
products or inhalant delivery systems to persons under 21 years of age. Modifies statutory definition of cigarettes to
include inhalant devices and products not approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Expands the types of
facilities not permitted to allow a person under 21 years of age to possess tobacco or inhalant delivery systems when
on facility grounds to include colleges, community colleges, universities, career schools and technical education
schools. Applies to conduct occurring on or after January 1, 2018. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

e Rates of smoking initiation and tobacco use among adolescents and teens in Oregon

e Economic impact of smoking, associated health care costs and public health concerns

e Concerns among small business owners of a potential decline in revenue

e Whether employees between 18-20 years of age would be able to continue working in retail stores that sell
tobacco and inhalant delivery systems

e Role of non-tobacco nicotine products as nicotine replacement options

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

Decreases the dollar amount of fines incurred by individuals who own or manage businesses that sell tobacco
products or inhalant delivery systems to persons under 21 years of age. Restores current enforcement for minors in
possession of tobacco products and inhalant delivery systems.

BACKGROUND:

According to the Oregon Health Authority (OHA), tobacco use is the number one preventable cause of death and
disease in Oregon, resulting in an estimated 7,000 deaths, annually, costing Oregonians $2.5 billion a year in medical
expenditures and leading to lost productivity due to premature death. Ninety percent of smokers start smoking
before the age of 18. According to a 2013 survey by the Oregon Public Health Division, OHA, 10 percent of Oregon’s
11th grade students smoke cigarettes, and approximately 20 percent use other tobacco products.

Two states (California and Hawaii) and a number of local governments have raised the minimum age to purchase or
consume tobacco to 21 years. The Institute of Medicine suggests that these policies are intended to lower initiation
rates among adolescents and young adults. Senate Bill 754-A raises the legal age to purchase and possess tobacco or
inhalant delivery systems to 21 years of age.
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