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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Gives Director of Department of Consumer and Business Services authority to set maximum penalties for violations
of occupational safety and health requirements with instruction to consider and not exceed maximum penalties
under federal Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970. Specifies that penalty for willful or repeat violations may
not be less than minimum penalty under the federal Act.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:
e Oregon's practice of conducting inspections more frequently, but imposing lower penalties, relative to other
states

e Average federal penalty is $2,200, whereas Oregon average is $400 to $500
e Consequence of not aligning State Plan penalties to federal penalties

e Oregon has second lowest penalty levels

e Agency typically considers employer size when assessing penalty

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

Oregon is one of 22 states or territories that regulate private-sector worker safety through a federally approved State
Plan. The Oregon Safe Employment Act authorizes the Department of Consumer and Business Services (DCBS) to set
reasonable and mandatory occupational safety and health standards designed to protect the life, safety and health of
employees. Oregon's State Plan is administered by the Department's Occupational Safety and Health Division, also
known as Oregon OSHA.

Under federal law, the state program must include effective sanctions for violations. While the exact application of
such sanctions can and does vary between states, the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (Federal
OSHA) has long taken the position that penalty maximums and minimums must be at least equivalent to those under
federal law. Therefore, failure to adjust the state's penalty authority to reflect changes in federal law could
jeopardize Oregon's State Plan status.

Congress passed the Federal Civil Penalties Inflation Adjustment Act Improvements Act of 2015, which directed
Federal OSHA to increase maximum and minimum penalties for violations and adjust for inflation in the future.
Federal OSHA penalties were last increased in 1990. In response, the 1991 Oregon Legislative Assembly raised the
maximum penalty for serious violations and the maximum penalty for repeat or willful violations. Under current
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guidance, federal OSHA has proposed increases to both of those penalties. Current Oregon law provides an express
range of civil penalties for different types of violations. Senate Bill 92 aligns the Oregon Safe Employment Act to the
newly established federal penalty changes by replacing the express maximum penalties on all violation types with

authority for the DCBS Director to set the maximum penalty with the guidance of the federal Occupational Safety and
Health Act of 1970.
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