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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Authorizes the State Board of Psychologist Examiners to issue a certificate of prescriptive authority to licensed
psychologist who meets the specified requirements. Specifies that the required training be from a designated
program by the American Psychological Association or a successor organization. Changes the clinical experience from
at least two months to 12 months. Creates a nine-member Committee on Prescribing Psychologists. Specifies that the
membership include one public member, increase the prescribing physicians to four and that one member have
expertise in treating children. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

e Review of prescribing privileges for specially trained psychologists

e Proponents assert that prescriber access will improve due to shortage of current prescribing mental health
providers

Support for integration of behavioral health services

Will improve patient outcomes

Concerns about expanding prescribing privileges

Concerns about patient safety

Concerns about the education requirements

Proposed amendment

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

Specifies that the required training be from a designated program by the American Psychological Association or a
successor organization. Changes the clinical experience from at least two months to 12 months. Increases the
membership of the Committee on Prescribing Psychologists from seven to nine members; includes one public
member and increases the prescribing physicians to four; specifies that one have expertise in treating children.

BACKGROUND:

In 2004, New Mexico became the first state to allow psychologists the authority to prescribe psychotropic
medication, which was codified as "The Professional Psychologist Act." Under the Act, a psychologist may apply to
the New Mexico State Board of Psychologist Examiners (NMSBPE) for a conditional prescription certificate. The
applicant must hold a current license to practice psychology in New Mexico and complete a doctoral program in
psychology from either an accredited institution or a professional school. Subject to the approval of the NMSBPE and
the New Mexico Board of Medical Examiners, the applicant must complete "pharmacological training from an
institution of higher education" and pass a national certification examination testing his or her "knowledge of
pharmacology in the diagnosis, care and treatment of mental disorders." Within five years preceding the date of his
or her application, the applicant must have completed at least 450 hours of didactic instruction in certain core
subjects. Additionally, the applicant must complete a physician-supervised "80 hour practicum in clinical assessment
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and pathophysiology and an additional supervised practicum of at least 400 hours treating at least 100 patients;" all
three training and instruction programs are subject to both Boards' approval. The Act also provides for further rules
and requirements to be promulgated by the NMSBPE once it is has been established, e.g., the minimum amount of
malpractice insurance that the NMSBPE has proposed to equal S1 million per occurrence and $3 million in aggregate
liability. If the NMSBPE is satisfied with the application, they may grant a conditional prescription certificate that
allows the psychologist to prescribe under the supervision of a licensed physician for a period of two years.
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