79th Oregon Legislative Assembly — 2017 Regular Session

HB 2024  STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Health Care

Action Date: 04/10/17
Action: Without recommendation as to passage, refer to
Revenue by prior reference.
Vote: 8-0-1-0
Yeas: 8- Alonso Leon, Buehler, Greenlick, Hack, Hayden, Keny-Guyer, Malstrom, Nosse
Exc: 1-Kennemer
Fiscal: Fiscal impact issued
Revenue: Revenue impactissued
Prepared By: Sandy Thiele-Cirka, LPRO Analyst

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Imposes tax on inhalant-form nicotine at point of retail sale based on percentage of wholesale price. Applies to
inhalant-form nicotine sold after January 1, 2018. Creates offense of selling tobacco products or inhalant delivery
systems to person under 21 years of age. Punishes violation by fine. Raises minimum age at which person may
purchase or possess tobacco products and inhalant delivery systems to 21 years of age. Adjusts other requirements
related to tobacco products and inhalant delivery systems to reflect raised minimum age. Applies to conduct
occurring on or after January 1, 2018. Provides that person may not make retail sale of tobacco product or inhalant
delivery system at or from premises located in this state unless person sells tobacco product or inhalant delivery
system at or from premises for which license has been issued. Establishes licensing program within Department of
Revenue. Becomes operative January 1, 2018. Increases cigarette tax. Applies increase to cigarettes distributed on or
after January 1, 2018, and to existing inventories of cigarettes not yet acquired by consumers as of January 1, 2018.
Removes per-unit limitation on cigar tax. Takes effect on 91st day following adjournment sine die.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:
e Provisions of the measure

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

According to the Oregon Health Authority (OHA), tobacco use is the number one preventable cause of death and
disease in Oregon, resulting in an estimated 7,000 deaths annually, costing Oregonians $2.5 billion a year in medical
expenditures and leading to lost productivity due to premature death. Ninety percent of smokers start smoking
before the age of 18. According to a 2013 survey by the Oregon Public Health Division, OHA, 10 percent of Oregon’s
11th grade students smoke cigarettes, and approximately 20 percent use other tobacco products. Two states
(California and Hawaii) and a number of local governments have raised the minimum age to purchase or consume
tobacco to 21 years. The Institute of Medicine suggests that these policies are intended to lower initiation rates
among adolescents and young adults.
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