
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

February 14, 2017 

  

TO: The Honorable Laurie Monnes Anderson, Chair 

 The Honorable Jeff Kruse, Vice Chair 

 Senate Committee on Health Care 

  

FROM: Karen Girard, Manager 

 Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Program  

 Center for Prevention and Health Promotion 

 Public Health Division 

 Oregon Health Authority 

 

 

Subject: SB 754, Raising the minimum age for tobacco purchase to 21 

 

Chair Monnes Anderson and members of the committee, I am Karen Girard, the Health 

Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Manager for the Oregon Health Authority.  

Oregon’s Tobacco Prevention and Education Program (TPEP) is an evidence-based 

program that is highly effective. Since TPEP started in 1997, cigarette consumption in 

Oregon has been reduced by 50%.i TPEP works in partnership with local public health 

authorities and tribes to prevent and reduce tobacco related deaths in every Oregon 

community.  

 

Despite declines in tobacco use, it still remains the No. 1 preventable cause of death and 

disease in Oregon. Tobacco is responsible for over 7,000 deaths in Oregon each yearii.  

 

Most addiction to tobacco starts in adolescence; in fact, nine of ten adults who smoke 

report that they started smoking before turning 18, and almost 100 percent start before 

they turn 26.iii  Increasing the minimum age of legal access to 21 will help prevent young 

people from ever starting to smoke, and subsequently reduce the deaths, disease and 

health care costs caused by tobacco use.iv 

 

Research shows that kids often turn to older friends and classmates as sources of tobacco, 

as younger kids have regular contact with older friends who can legally purchase tobacco. 
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v Among Oregon 8th grade students who smoke cigarettes, one in four report obtaining 

tobacco from friends that are 18 years-old or older.vi Raising the tobacco sale age to 21 

would reduce the likelihood that young adults would be able to legally purchase tobacco 

products for other students and underage friends. 

 

A national report released by the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and 

Medicine (formerly the Institute of Medicine) details the public health implications of 

raising the minimum legal age to purchase tobacco products.vii The study found that 

increasing the minimum age to purchase cigarettes from 18 to 21 could have a 

meaningful impact, resulting in an estimated 12 percent decrease in smoking prevalence 

over time, and the prevention of 223,000 premature deaths among Americans born 

between 2000 and 2019.viii  It would also result in about 286,000 fewer pre-term births 

and 438,000 fewer babies born with low birth weights by the year 2100 (fewer mothers 

using tobacco).ix 

 

Raising the minimum legal sale age for tobacco products to 21 is a promising strategy to 

reduce smoking and other tobacco use among Oregon youth. Over 200 jurisdictions and 

two states (Hawaii and California) have passed a policy raising the minimum legal sale 

age for tobacco products to 21. In addition, a recent survey of Oregon adults showed two 

thirds of Oregonians support raising the minimum legal sale age for tobacco products to 

21.x   

 

Laws that raise the minimum legal sale age for tobacco products to 21 are important but 

without an adequate enforcement system and other tobacco control efforts, raising the age 

alone will not keep kids from using tobacco and nicotine products. We know that to 

prevent youth initiation of tobacco products, we must take a comprehensive approach that 

includes reducing youth exposure to products that are cheap, readily available, and easy 

to find. 

 

The Public Health Division appreciates this committee addressing tobacco prevention. 

Thank you for the opportunity to testify today. I am happy to answer any questions you 

may have. 

 
                                                 
i Orzechowski and Walker. The Tax Burden on Tobacco Historical Compilation Volume 50, 2015. Arlington, Virginia. 
ii Oregon Vital Statistics. Oregon Vital Statistics Annual Report: Volume 2. Chapter 6: Mortality. Oregon Vital Statistics 

Webpage. 

https://public.health.oregon.gov/BirthDeathCertificates/VitalStatistics/annualreports/Volume2/Documents/2015/Table620.pd

f. Accessed February 2, 2017 
iii U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Preventing Tobacco Use Among Youth and Young Adults: A Report of 

the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National 

Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, 2012. 
iv IOM (Institute of Medicine). 2015. Public health implications of raising the minimum age of legal access to tobacco 

products. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press. 

https://public.health.oregon.gov/BirthDeathCertificates/VitalStatistics/annualreports/Volume2/Documents/2015/Table620.pdf
https://public.health.oregon.gov/BirthDeathCertificates/VitalStatistics/annualreports/Volume2/Documents/2015/Table620.pdf


SB 754 

Senate Committee on Health Care 

February 14, 2017 

Page 3 of 3 

                                                                                                                                                                         
v Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids. Where do youth smokers get their cigarettes? Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids Website. 

http://www.tobaccofreekids.org/research/factsheets/pdf/0073.pdf. Accessed February 2, 2017. 
vi Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division, Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention 

section. Current tobacco use and related topics among 8th and 11th graders, Oregon 2015. 

https://public.health.oregon.gov/DiseasesConditions/ChronicDisease/DataReports/Pages/YouthData.aspx.Created November 

16, 2015. Accessed Feburary 2, 2017.  

https://public.health.oregon.gov/DiseasesConditions/ChronicDisease/DataReports/Documents/datatables/ORAnnualOHT_To

bacco.pdf. Accessed February 2, 2017. 
vii IOM (Institute of Medicine). 2015. Public health implications of raising the minimum age of legal access to tobacco 

products. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press. 
viii IOM (Institute of Medicine). 2015. Public health implications of raising the minimum age of legal access to tobacco 

products. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press. 
ix IOM (Institute of Medicine). 2015. Public health implications of raising the minimum age of legal access to tobacco 

products. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press. 
x Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division. Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention section. Panel survey, 

October 2016. Unpublished data 

http://www.tobaccofreekids.org/research/factsheets/pdf/0073.pdf
https://public.health.oregon.gov/DiseasesConditions/ChronicDisease/DataReports/Pages/YouthData.aspx
https://public.health.oregon.gov/DiseasesConditions/ChronicDisease/DataReports/Documents/datatables/ORAnnualOHT_Tobacco.pdf
https://public.health.oregon.gov/DiseasesConditions/ChronicDisease/DataReports/Documents/datatables/ORAnnualOHT_Tobacco.pdf

