BEFORE THE BENTON COUNTY BOARD OF HEALTH
FOR THE STATE OF OREGON, FOR THE COUNTY OF BENTON

In the Matter of Recommending the Oregon )
Legislature to Reduce Tobacco Use by Young ) RESOLUTION #R2016-017
People and to Support the Health of Oregonians )

WHEREAS, tobacco use is a major preventable cause of illness and premature death, and is
responsible for approximately 7,126 deaths a year in Oregon; and

WHEREAS, the annual economic impact of smoking in Benton County is approximately
$34 million in health care costs and lost workforce productivity; and

WHEREAS, the burden and harm of tobacco use falls hardest on lower-income Oregonians;
and

WHEREAS those on the Oregon Health Plan smoke at three times the rate of other
Oregonians; and

WHEREAS, 8 percent of Benton County 11th graders smoke cigarettes, and 12 percent use
electronic vapor devices; and

WHEREAS, public health data show that 95 percent of tobacco users start smoking before
they turn 21; and

WHEREAS, two states and 191 communities across the United States have enacted laws
raising the minimum legal age for tobacco sales to 21; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Benton County Board of Health hereby
recommends the Oregon Legislature raise the minimum legal sale age for tobacco, electronic
smoking devices, and nicotine products to 21 years of age in the 2017 legislative session.

Adopted this 20™ day of September, 2016.

Signed this 20" day of September, 2016.
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