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HB 2286  Building Common Procedures for Handling Tax Credits 
 
Testimony for House Revenue – 2. 9.2017 – Jody Wiser 
 
 
This bills is a step in the right direction.  Unfortunately it’s a step being taken after much 
newsworthy treatment of our tax credits, especially the marketable tax credits.   
 
We recommend that you take some additional steps beyond what is currently in the bill:  
 

1) Give all tax credits the same life span.  Oregon has tax credits with life spans of 3-9 years 

after the first year of use,  a variety which makes no particular sense, but adds 

complexity.  With a shorter the life span,  fewer might actually be used. Though the 

economy may have greater bearing on the use.  In scanning the 27 page bill before you 

today we’ve noticed tax credits that expire in 4, 5 and 9 years.   

 
2) All marketable tax credits should have the same kind of “present value” controls as do the 

Department of Energy marketable tax credits (see page 18, line 23). 

 
3) Further, on page 14, line 1 we see that loan interest rate that qualifies for loan subsidy is 

“must be less than 13.5%. “ This is clearly an in appropriate number to have in the law for 

the current interest environment.   A floating interest rate would be more appropriate, 

either a federal rate, that moves monthly, reduced or increase by an appropriate 

percentage – which only experts in the area of low income housing can provide or an 

Oregon law which is tied to this moving federal rate.  (See attached).    
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Federal Language might be used for the lenders tax credit 
 

An interest rate that could be substituted for the 13.5% would be “the prevailing rates of 
interest established by the IRS for underpayments,” altered by an appropriate percentage for 
the type of housing building built.  For your information, is the current Federal rates are 
below.   

You will want folks who are in the weeds on subsidized housing to address the appropriate 
numbers, which might be a percentage adjustment to one of the rates below, not necessarily 
the underpayment rate.  But all of these move with the market. 

First Quarter of 2017 

IR-2016-159, Dec. 5, 2016 

WASHINGTON — The Internal Revenue Service today announced that interest rates will remain the same for 
the calendar quarter beginning Jan. 1, 2017. The rates will be:  

 four (4) percent for overpayments [three (3) percent in the case of a corporation]; 

 1 and one-half (1.5) percent for the portion of a corporate overpayment exceeding $10,000; 

 four (4) percent for underpayments; and 

 six (6) percent for large corporate underpayments.  

Under the Internal Revenue Code, the rate of interest is determined on a quarterly basis. For taxpayers other 
than corporations, the overpayment and underpayment rate is the federal short-term rate plus 3 percentage 
points.  

Generally, in the case of a corporation, the underpayment rate is the federal short-term rate plus 3 percentage 
points and the overpayment rate is the federal short-term rate plus 2 percentage points. The rate for large 
corporate underpayments is the federal short-term rate plus 5 percentage points. The rate on the portion of a 
corporate overpayment of tax exceeding $10,000 for a taxable period is the federal short-term rate plus one-half 
(0.5) of a percentage point. 

The interest rates announced today are computed from the federal short-term rate determined during October 
2016 to take effect Nov. 1, 2016, based on daily compounding. 

Revenue Ruling 2016-28, announcing the rates of interest, is attached and will appear in Internal Revenue 
Bulletin 2016-51, dated Dec. 19, 2016. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/rr-16-28.pdf
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An Oregon adaptation of the federal rate is here in Oregon law: 
 
305.220 Interest on deficiency, delinquency or refunds; adjustments in rates; rules; computation. (1) Unless 

specifically provided otherwise by statute or by rule of the Director of the Department of Revenue adopted pursuant 

to subsection (3) of this section, every deficiency or delinquency arising under any law administered by the 

Department of Revenue shall bear simple interest at the rate of five-sixths of one percent per month or fraction 

thereof. 
      (2) Unless specifically provided otherwise by statute or by rule of the director adopted pursuant to subsection (3) 

of this section, every refund arising under any law administered by the department shall, subject to subsections (3) 

and (5) of this section and ORS 305.222, bear simple interest at the rate of five-sixths of one percent per month, or 

fraction thereof. 
      (3)(a) If the director determines that the rates of interest for deficiencies, delinquencies and refunds established in 

subsections (1) and (2) of this section are at least one percentage point more or less than the prevailing rates of 

interest established by the Internal Revenue Service for underpayments arising under the federal tax laws to which 

one percentage point has been added, the director may adopt, by rule, adjusted interest rates. The director shall not 

adopt adjusted interest rates more than once in a calendar year. Notice of intent to adopt adjusted interest rates shall 

be given in the manner provided in ORS 183.335, not less than three months before the proposed effective date of the 

adjusted rates. 
      (b) In establishing the adjusted interest rates to be adopted under this subsection: 
      (A) The director shall take into consideration the current interest rates established by the Internal Revenue 

Service for underpayments arising under the federal tax laws. 
      (B) To any interest amount determined by taking into consideration the current interest rates established by the 

Internal Revenue Service for underpayments under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, which interest amount shall 

be expressed at a rate per month or fraction thereof, there shall be added one-twelfth of one percent. 
      (4) If the director adopts an adjusted interest rate for deficiencies and delinquencies, the director shall adopt an 

adjusted interest rate for refunds that is equal to the adjusted interest rate for deficiencies and delinquencies. 
      (5) Any change in the rate of interest applicable to deficiencies, delinquencies or refunds resulting from the 

adoption of adjusted interest rates by the director under this section shall apply to deficiencies, delinquencies and 

refunds outstanding on the effective date of the rule, or arising on or after that date, but only with respect to interest 

periods beginning on or after that date. 
      (6) If the rate of interest on a deficiency, a delinquency or a refund is governed by this section, and if a fraction of 

a month is involved in making the computation of interest on the deficiency, delinquency or refund, then for the 

fractional month, the simple interest otherwise provided shall be computed on a daily basis. [1982 s.s.1 c.16 §2; 1987 

c.647 §5; 2001 c.114 §§2,4] 
  
      305.222 Determination of interest rate. For purposes of determining the interest rate established under ORS 

305.220: 
      (1) In the case of a refund of tax ordered by the Oregon Tax Court or the Oregon Supreme Court and arising 

under any law administered by the Department of Revenue, if the refund is not paid by the department within 60 days 

after the date of the order, the interest rate provided under ORS 305.220 shall be one-third of one percent greater than 

that so provided under ORS 305.220, but only with respect to interest periods that begin 61 days after the date the 

order is entered. 
      (2)(a) In the case of a notice of assessment pursuant to any law administered by the department, if the deficiency 

is not paid within 60 days after the date of the notice of assessment, the interest rate provided under ORS 305.220 

shall be one-third of one percent greater than that so provided under ORS 305.220, but only for interest periods that 

begin 61 days after the date of notice of assessment. 
      (b) In the case of an assessment under ORS 305.265 (12), if the delinquency is not paid within 60 days after the 

date of the assessment, the interest rate provided under ORS 305.220 shall be one-third of one percent greater than 

that so provided under ORS 305.220. The increased rate shall apply only for interest periods that begin 61 days after 

the date of notice of the delinquency. 
      (3) If the deficiency assessment is appealed to the Oregon Tax Court without prior payment of tax, then 

notwithstanding subsection (2) of this section, the increased rate of interest shall commence only for interest periods 
that begin 61 days after the date that the order of the Oregon Tax Court or the Oregon Supreme Court affirming the 

deficiency is entered. [1987 c.647 §7; 1993 c.726 §2; 1995 c.650 §110; 1997 c.325 §§3,4]      
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