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IV. Tax Credit Transferability 
Oregon statute currently provides limited general guidance on the transferability of tax credits. 
The two statutes that exist are ORS 315.052 and ORS 315.053. Both of these were originally 
enacted in 2009 and are included below for reference purposes. The former statute simply states 
that each income tax credit may be transferred only once, unless explicitly stated otherwise. The 
latter statute limits the transferability of six tax credits to a C-corporation, S-corporation, or 
personal income taxpayer. Three of the affected tax credits are included in this report: biomass, 
conservation, and transportation. The other three listed tax credits have already sunset: the 
business energy tax credit, the manufacturing business energy tax credit, and the diesel engines 
tax credit. 
 
315.052 Limitation on transfer or sale of credit. An income tax credit that is allowed under 
this chapter or ORS chapter 316, 317 or 318 and that is transferable may be transferred or sold 
only once, unless expressly provided otherwise by statute. 
  
315.053 Restriction on types of transferees. An income tax credit allowed under ORS 315.141, 
315.331, 315.336, 315.341 or 315.354 or section 12, chapter 855, Oregon Laws 2007, may be 
transferred or sold only to one or more of the following: 
      (1) A C corporation. 
      (2) An S corporation. 
      (3) A personal income taxpayer. 
 
This section of the report describes the issue of tax credit transferability and the related tax 
implications. Oregon currently has six active tax credits that may be sold or transferred in some 
way.15 All six of these credits are included in this report. The statutory language varies across the 
credits along with the underlying policy reasons. This section lists the six tax credits, along with 
the relevant part of statute and a brief description. The section then moves to a summary history 
of relevant IRS rulings and an example. 
 
1. Agriculture Workforce Housing Construction 

315.169 (2) An owner or operator of agriculture workforce housing may transfer all or a 
portion of the credit allowed to the owner or operator under ORS 315.164 to one or more 
contributors but the amount transferred may not total more than the total credit the owner or 
operator may claim. 
 
Statute does not contain direct administrative oversight for these transfers. Statute does 
require the seller and buyer to jointly file notice with the DOR. Generally, the tax credit is 

                                                      
15 An “active” tax credit is one that has not yet sunset. 
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sold as a way for developers to raise additional capital to fund construction projects. These 
transactions appear to be similar to those for the federal Low-Income Housing Tax Credit. 
 

2. Biomass Production or Collection 
315.144 (1) A person that has obtained a tax credit under ORS 315.141 may transfer the 
credit to a taxpayer subject to tax under ORS chapter 316, 317 or 318. 
 
Statute requires any transfer to occur on or before the due date of the tax return. Statute also 
requires the seller and buyer to jointly file notice with the DOR. Statute grants rule making 
authority for the ODOE to set the minimum discount value of the tax credit; it is currently set 
at 90 percent. For example, a $1,000 tax credit can be sold for no less than $900. Statute also 
grants rule-making authority to both departments to jointly establish procedures for 
transferring these tax credits. 
 

3. Energy Conservation Projects 
469B.276 (1) The owner of a project may transfer a tax credit for the project in exchange for 
a cash payment equal to the present value of the potential tax credit, as determined at the 
time of the application for preliminary certification. 
      (2) The State Department of Energy shall establish by rule a formula to be employed in 
the determination of prices of credits transferred under this section. In establishing the 
formula, the department shall incorporate inflation projections and market real rate of 
return. 
      (3) The department shall recalculate credit transfer prices quarterly, employing the 
formula established under subsection (2) of this section. 
 
Statute directs ODOE to establish and administer a credit transfer program, including using a 
formula to set transfer prices. Prices are updated quarterly; their history is shown in the graph 
below. These rates also apply to the Transportation tax credits. 
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4. Transportation Projects 
469B.323 (1) The owner of a transportation project may transfer a tax credit for the project 
in exchange for a cash payment equal to the present value of the tax credit. 
      (2) The State Department of Energy shall establish by rule a formula to be employed in 
the determination of prices of credits transferred under this section. In establishing the 
formula, the department shall incorporate inflation projections and market real rate of 
return. 
      (3) The department shall recalculate credit transfer prices quarterly, employing the 
formula established under subsection (2) of this section. 
 
Statute directs the ODOE to establish and administer a transfer program for this credit. The 
history of the transfer prices is shown in the graph above. 

5. Residential Energy 
469B.106 
(8) The verification form and contractor’s certificate described under this section may be 
transferred to the first purchaser of a dwelling who intends to use the dwelling as a principal 
or secondary residence. 
(9) Any person that pays the present value of the tax credit for an alternative energy device 
provided under ORS 316.116 and 469B.100 to 469B.118 to the person who constructs or 
installs the alternative energy device shall be entitled to claim the credit in the manner and 
subject to rules adopted by the Department of Revenue to carry out the purposes of this 
subsection. The State Department of Energy may establish by rule uniform discount rates to 
be used in calculating the present value of a tax credit under this subsection. 
 
In 2014, Roughly 300 of the 17,000 tax credits were transferred.  

 
6. Affordable Housing Lenders 

317.097 (12) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a lending institution that is a 
community development corporation organized under the Oregon Nonprofit Corporation 
Law may transfer all or part of a tax credit allowed under this section to one or more other 
lending institutions that are stockholders or members of the community development 
corporation or that otherwise participate through the community development corporation in 
the making of one or more qualified loans for which the tax credit under this section is 
allowed. 
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The transferability of this tax credit is unique. A functional aspect of the loans that are 
associated with this credit is that they may be sold. When the loans are sold, the tax credit 
is transferred to the new owner of the loan. The tax credit, in and of itself, is not 
transferred. By design, the credit “follows” the below-market interest rate loan. 

 
Tax Implications 
Under current federal and state law, when a tax credit is transferred or sold, there are potential 
tax consequences for the buyer and seller. As per the IRS, the tax credit is considered a capital 
asset. The taxable events occur in two steps, when it is sold and when it is used. The seller 
receives taxable income at the time of sale. Assuming the buyer purchased the tax credit at less 
than its face value, they receive taxable income at the time of use. 
 
When a taxpayer sells a tax credit they realize a capital gain. If the sale is within one year of 
earning (or being awarded) the tax credit, the income is taxed as short-term capital gain. If the 
sale occurs after one year from the date it was earned/awarded it is considered a long-term 
capital gain. This distinction is only relevant at the federal level, which contains preferential tax 
rates for capital gains. The distinction is irrelevant for Oregon because the state does not have 
different tax rates for capital gains income. 
 
For the buyer of the tax credit, they realize taxable income at the time they use the tax credit to 
satisfy their state tax liability. This income is always considered ordinary income because it does 
not involve the sale or exchange of a capital asset. 
 
The table below contains an example. The Seller’s basis is zero because they earned or were 
awarded the tax credit. Upon the sale, the seller has a taxable capital gain of $500 ($500-$0). The 
buyer of the tax credit then has a basis of $500, the amount paid for the tax credit. When the 
buyer uses the tax credit (i.e. claims it on their Oregon tax return), they are required to also 
report income of $200 in the year the liability was discharged. The full value of the tax credit 
($700) is taxable between the seller and buyer. Relevant Oregon tax credits are: Agriculture 
Worker Housing Construction, Biomass, Residential Energy, Energy Conservation Projects, and 
Transportation Projects. 
 

Transfer of a $700 Tax Credit 
 Basis Sales Price Taxable Income 

Tax Credit Seller $0 $500 $500 
 

 Basis Use Value Taxable Income 
Tax Credit Buyer $500 $700 $200 

 
 
  


