
I Oppose SB 3                                                                                        

Gold miners are not so different from the fishermen who want to kill the salmon and fill 

their freezer with fish the difference is the miner is subject to ESA sec. 7 take guidelines  

That according to the latest NMFS biologic opinion (2016) there won’t be exceedances. 

Quote; “is not likely to result in jeopardy to the species or destruction or adverse 

modification of critical habitat.” See attached NMFS no.WCR-2015-2812 

29 watersheds and 391 NOI’s were evaluated in the Rogue-Siskiyou National forest 

The limits of a 4” or less dredge and less than 25CY the effects in each of the watersheds 

based on the total amount of disturbance would be just 433 feet of linear stream affected. 

Because mining would affect less than 2% there would be 98% of the habitat unaffected. 

The conclusion from the NMFS “the actions are not likely to jeopardize the continued 

existence of coho salmon or result in destruction or adverse modification of their 

designated critical habitats or slow conservation efforts.” 

The permits we have now protect our waters and fish. There could be improved miner 

education or site visits to insure there is no excessive damage to streams. 
In light of New information in NMFS no.WCR-2015-2812,  

SB3 that was SB 1530 last year, this legislation should be re-evaluated.  

 

This section of legislation is in “bad faith” we will give you a permit if you prove you 

have a court case. WHAT! Have you seen anything like this?  
“(3) A prohibition under subsection (1) of this section may be waived in a permit issued to the owner of a federal mining claim, but 

only to the extent that the permit applicant demonstrates that the exercise of the prohibition will violate federal law or constitute a 

regulatory taking requiring compensation under the United States Constitution or the Oregon Constitution.” 
 

How about separation of powers, how about the 14th amendment of the constitution. 
“All persons born or naturalized in the United States and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the 

State wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the 
United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any person 

within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.”  

 
On BLM managed lands with mining claims on stream segments that would fall within the 

checkerboard of the O&C lands, there is virtually no mining on farm land and timber 

company lands. The two figures below represent a typical stream, the first shows the 

checkerboard BLM lands in yellow, the second figure shows in grey all the areas where there 

is no mining within the full length (40miles) of Grave Creek, the green is were the stream is 

mined on 20 acre unpatented mining claims. 
just north of Grants Pass, Grave Creek, OR (40 miles long) 

 
 just north of Grants Pass, Grave Creek, OR (40 miles long) Grey areas not mined and only 60’ in each of bright green areas 



 
 

98% of Salmon habitat unaffected by mining in streams that have gold 

Less than 2% of 1% of all rivers in Oregon even has gold. 

 

Additional benefits of small-scale suction dredge mining include:  
Measureable improvement in water quality due to removal of wastes left by other users of the 

waters or that have eroded into the waterways. 1000’s of pounds of lead fishing weights. 

 
Lead removed from the Umpqua River 2013, more about dredgers removing lead; 

http://outdoorchannel.com/article.aspx?id=16804&articletype=article  

 
 
Dennis Hebard 
3800 Barger drive  
Eugene, OR 97402  
aircraft8976@comcast.net 
 

http://outdoorchannel.com/article.aspx?id=16804&articletype=article
mailto:aircraft8976@comcast.net


SB 3 does not do anything more that the permits we already have, for the most part just a 

restatement that is not needed, other than it prohibits mining in ESH. 

Let’s look at what is required by the federal government on national forest lands. 
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And with our current DEQ 700pm there is no need to jumble up what we already have. 
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GENERAL PERMIT 

NATIONAL POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM 

WASTEWATER DISCHARGE PERMIT 
Department of Environmental Quality 

811 SW Sixth Avenue 

Portland, OR 97204 

Telephone: (503) 229-5630 

Issued pursuant to ORS 468B.050 and Section 402 of the Federal Clean Water Act 

ISSUED TO: 

Name 

Address 

Assigned Permit Number (display on dredge) 

Permit Coverage Expiration Date 

This general permit provides coverage under the National Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System for three kinds of discharges: 

1. Discharges from suction dredges not exceeding 30 horsepower and suction hoses 

with inside diameters no larger than six inches in diameter that do not operate in 

areas designated as essential salmon habitat. Operators seeking coverage for this type 

of discharge must apply for registration under the permit and registration must be 

approved by DEQ. 

2. Discharges from suction dredges not exceeding 16 horsepower and suction nozzles 

with inside diameters no larger than four inches in diameter that operate in areas 

designated as essential salmon habitat. Operators seeking coverage for this type of 

discharge must apply for registration under the permit and registration must be approved 

by DEQ. 

3. Discharges from in-water, non-motorized mining equipment or devices. Operators 

seeking coverage for this type of discharge are not required to apply for registration but 

are required to comply with all applicable permit terms. 

All other mining activities that discharge to surface waters of the state are required to 

apply for an individual permit, except for hand panning which is exempt from permitting 

requirements. 

Issue date:________________________ 

Effective date: May 15, 2015 

Lydia Emer 

Operations Division Administrator 
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SCOPE OF PERMITTED ACTIVITIES 

Until this permit expires or is modified or revoked, a person covered under this permit is 

authorized to discharge wastewater from authorized mining equipment to waters of the 

state in accordance with all the requirements, limitations, and conditions set forth in the 

permit as follows: 
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DEFINITIONS 

1. Background Turbidity means turbidity that represents the ambient turbidity of 

undisturbed waters as measured or observed at least 10 feet upstream or up-current from 

the suction dredge or inwater non-motorized mining equipment operation at the time 

dredging occurs. 

2. Boulder means a rock 12 inches in diameter or greater. 

3. Combination highbanker/suction dredge means a type of mineral processing 

equipment constructed on an elevated support structure (e.g., legs or a box) with water 

supplied to a sluice box by hand or pumping and placer material is delivered to the 

hopper by hand or by an attached suction hose system. 

4. Daylight hours means the hours between sunrise and sunset. 

5. DEQ or Department means Oregon Department of Environmental Quality. 

6. Essential salmon habitat means essential indigenous anadromous salmonid habitat 

pursuant to ORS 196.810(1)(f)(B). 

7. Gravel Bar means a transitional gravel deposit that lacks any rooted vegetation, 

located either between the stream banks and the wetted perimeter of the stream or entirely 

within the wetted perimeter of the stream. 

8. Habitat structure means physical composition of natural or restoration material that 

provides function and complexity in a stream. And includes but is not limited to: 

Boulders 

Woody material such as living or dead trees, shrubs, stumps, large tree limbs, and logs; 

Vegetation such as grasses, shrubs, wildflowers, or weeds; and 

Other natural features necessary to provide fish with areas for spawning, resting, food, 

refuge from predators and shade. 

9. Highbanker means mineral processing equipment that is constructed on an elevated 

support structure (e.g., legs or a box) with water supplied to a sluice box by hand or 

pumping and placer material is delivered to the hopper by hand. 
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10. In-water non-motorized mining equipment or device means any equipment or device 

used for prospecting and small scale mining, including equipment used for gravity 

separation or other processing of precious metals or minerals from stream deposits within 

the wetted perimeter of a stream. These devices include but are not limited to a hand 

sluice box, mini rocker, or hand suction tool. 

11. OAR means Oregon Administrative Rule. 

12. ORS means Oregon Revised Statute 

13. Pollution or water pollution means alteration of the physical, chemical or biological 

properties of any waters of the state, including change in temperature, taste, color, 

turbidity, silt or odor of the waters, or such discharge of any liquid, gaseous, solid, 

radioactive or other substance into any waters of the state, which will or tends to, either 

by itself or in connection with any other substance, create a public nuisance or which will 

or tends to render such waters harmful, detrimental or injurious to public health, safety or 

welfare, or to domestic, commercial, industrial, agricultural, recreational or other 

legitimate beneficial uses or to livestock, wildlife, fish or other aquatic life or the habitat 

thereof. ORS 468B.005(5). 

14. Stream bank means a slope of land adjoining and confining a stream channel. 

15. Suction dredge means a mechanical device with a suction nozzle and hose for 

conveyance of streambed material to a sluice box, where suction is created by a power 

source (electric motor or combustion engine) or gravity. The sluice box and power source 

of a suction dredge are mounted on a floating platform. For purposes of this permit, a 

suction dredge includes a gravity or siphon suction dredge. 

16. Visible Turbidity means turbidity that is visible when compared to background 

turbidity. 

17. Wastes mean sewage, industrial wastes, and all other liquid, gaseous, solid, 

radioactive or other substances that will or may cause pollution or tend to cause pollution 

of any waters of the state. 

ORS 468B.005(9). 

18. Wetted perimeter means the area of the stream that is underwater, or is exposed as a 

nonvegetated dry gravel bar island surrounded on all sides by water that is actively 

moving at the time the activity occurs. 

DISCHARGES NOT AUTHORIZED BY THIS PERMIT 

The coverage for discharges provided by this general permit does not extend to all waters 

of the State. The waters where discharges are not authorized by the general permit are set 

out below. 

Subject to applicable laws, a person wishing to mine in these areas may apply for 

coverage under an individual permit. 

Oregon State Scenic Waterways 

1. This general permit does not authorize discharges from suction dredges in Oregon 

State Scenic Waterways. Pursuant to ORS 390.805 to ORS 390.925 motorized suction 

dredge mining is restricted in Oregon State Scenic Waterways. Location information on 

Oregon State Scenic Waterways will be provided with the application. 

Essential Salmon Habitat 

2. This general permit does not authorize discharges from suction dredges greater than 16 



horsepower or an inside diameter intake nozzles greater than 4 inches in Essential 

Salmon Habitat. Location information on Essential Salmon Habitat waterways will be 

provided with the application. 
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3. This general permit does not authorize discharges from mining outside the wetted 

perimeter of the stream in essential salmon habitat. 

Tribal Lands 

4. This general permit does not authorize discharges from suction dredges or in-water 

nonmotorized mining equipment operating on tribal lands, or waterways that constitute a 

boundary of a tribal reservation. Information on water bodies that serves as tribal 

reservation boundaries will be provided with the application. 

Water Quality Limited Streams 303(d) List 

5. This general permit does not authorize discharges from suction dredges operating on 

any stream segment that is listed as water quality limited in categories 4 and 5 for 

sedimentation, turbidity or toxics other than chlorine, on the list published by DEQ 

pursuant to OAR 340-041-0046 unless a stream segment is subject to a total maximum 

daily load (TMDL) that includes a wasteload allocation for mining under the 700PM 

permit. The 303(d) list as approved or established by EPA that is in effect as of January 1 

of each year will be used to determine if coverage is available. 

Other discharges 

6. This general permit does not authorize discharges from highbanker and combination 

highbanker/suction dredge equipment. 

HOW TO REGISTER FOR COVERAGE UNDER THIS GENERAL PERMIT 

A. Persons Seeking To Register Under This 700PM General Permit 
1. To register for coverage under this permit, Suction dredge operators must take the 

following steps: 

a. Obtain a DEQ application form by: 

i. mail or in person from a DEQ office, or 

ii. downloading the application from the DEQ website; 

b. Submit a completed application to DEQ, requesting coverage under this permit at least 

thirty days prior to the planned activity. The Department may accept applications filed 

less than thirty days from the planned activity on a case by case basis; 

c. Submit an annual fee or the optional five-year fee with the application. Except for 

persons paying a five-year fee for full permit term coverage, an annual fee payment form 

is due each year for persons seeking coverage for that calendar year. Permit registrants 

must submit a new application if contact information, mining location, or the operation 

has changed; and 

d. Pursuant to OAR 340-045-0033(7), any person required to have coverage under a 

general 

permit must pay applicable permit fees as described in Section 3 below to obtain and 

maintain coverage under that permit. DEQ will not assign permit coverage without fee 

payment in advance. 
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2. DEQ will review the application and will take one of the following actions: 



a. Issue written notice of permit registration approval; 

b. Request additional information; or 

c. Deny registration under this permit. The applicant will be notified if the applicant's 

operation cannot be approved for registration under the permit, and if the applicant may 

need to apply for an individual permit. The procedures for denial of an application to 

register and for requesting a hearing on a denial are contained in OAR 340-045-0050. 

3. Fees for sources seeking registration. 

a. To obtain and maintain coverage under this permit, the applicable fees provided in 

OAR 

340-045-0075, Table 70G and ORS 468B.052 must be received by the Department. 

b. Applicants may pay for permit coverage by submitting: 

i) an annual fee for each year the person registers under the general permit; or 

ii) a five-year fee for full permit term coverage under this general permit. 

c. For persons with permit coverage under a five-year registration, DEQ will inform the 

registrant of any applicable 303(d) listings approved by EPA during the period of 

coverage. 

d. Payment of a nonrefundable $150 surcharge is required for obtaining or maintaining 

coverage under DEQ’s 700-PM suction dredge mining permit for calendar year 2015. 

4. To renew coverage prior to the January 1, 2020 expiration date. 

a. Before July 1, 2019, registrants must: 

i. Submit a complete application form to DEQ. The DEQ Director may grant permission 

to submit the application later than July 1, 2019 but no later than the permit expiration 

date. 

ii. Submit all applicable fees with the permit application. 

B. Sources Covered By This Permit But Not Required To Register Under The Permit 

1. In-water non-motorized mining. No application or fee is required for discharges from 

in-water 

non-motorized mining equipment. Persons conducting in-water non-motorized mining 

must have 

a copy of the permit in their possession or readily available for inspection at the mining 

location. 

COVERAGE AND ELIGIBILITY 

1. A person covered by this permit may not discharge wastes to waters of the state except 

in compliance with this permit. 
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2. Suction dredge and in-water non-motorized mining equipment authorized under this 

permit must be 

located within the wetted perimeter. 

3. Any person not wishing to be covered by this permit may apply for an individual 

permit in 

accordance with the procedures in OAR 340-045-0030. 

4. At no time may permit coverage apply to simultaneous operation of more than one 

suction 

dredge or one in-water non-motorized mining device. The person covered by this permit 

may 



supervise another person operating either a single suction dredge or a single in-water 

nonmotorized mining device as long as the person covered by this permit is present. A 

person operating under the supervision of a person covered by the permit must comply 

with all conditions and limitations in the permit. 

5. During mining activities, a person covered by this permit must have a copy of the 

permit in the person’s possession or readily available for inspection at the mining 

location. Registered suction dredge operators must possess the permit copy assigned to 

them through registration. Copies of this permit are available for operators using in-water 

non-motorized equipment at DEQ’s website: http://www.deq.state.or.us/wq or by 

requesting a copy from a DEQ office. 

6. An assigned permit number is provided by DEQ upon registration. DEQ’s assigned 

permit number must be displayed at all times on a suction dredge located within the 

wetted perimeter. 

The assigned permit number identifies the operator – not the equipment – and may be 

transferred from one piece of equipment to another depending on which equipment the 

operator is using. 

The assigned permit number must be displayed in a manner that is visible and legible for 

purposes of identification from banks and shorelines. The identification number shall 

read left to right and be in block characters not less than three inches in height and of a 

color that contrasts with the background. 

SCHEDULE A 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS FOR ALL EQUIPMENT 

1. Discharges from Suction dredges and in-water non-motorized equipment authorized by 

this permit must not create visible turbidity above background beyond 300 feet 

downstream or downcurrent of the mining operation. In no case may visible turbidity 

cover the entire wetted perimeter (from stream bank to opposite stream bank). No wastes 

may be discharged and no activities may be conducted that will cause or contribute to a 

violation of water quality standards as adopted in OAR Chapter 340, Division 41. 

2. If any visible increase in turbidity of wastewater discharges is observed above 

background turbidity beyond any point more than 300 feet downstream or downcurrent 

from the activity at any time, the operation must be modified, curtailed, or stopped 

immediately so that a violation as defined in Schedule A does not exist. Options to 

prevent, mitigate or correct turbid water discharges include, but are not limited to, 

ceasing operations, moving the location of the operation, reducing process flow or using 

a smaller machine. 
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3. Suction dredge and in-water non-motorized mining operations are prohibited during 

non-daylight hours. 

4. Mining must not cause any measurable increase in turbidity in the Diamond Peak, 

Kalmiopsis, Eagle Cap, Gearhart Mountain, Mount Hood, Mount Jefferson, Mount 

Washington, Mountain Lakes, Oregon Islands, Strawberry Mountain, Three Arch Rocks 

and Three Sisters wilderness areas. Measureable increase in turbidity for purposes of this 

permit is any visible turbidity. 

5. Suction dredge equipment must be properly maintained and petroleum products must 

be managed so that no visible oily sheen is created in the water. 



6. Operation of a suction dredge is not allowed in waters less than 500 feet upstream from 

a stream segment of the same stream or a tributary of a stream with a stream segment that 

is listed as water quality limited in categories 4 and 5 for sedimentation, turbidity or 

toxics other than chlorine, on the list published by DEQ pursuant to OAR 340-041-0046 

unless a stream segment is subject to a total maximum daily load (TMDL) that includes a 

wasteload allocation for mining under the 700PM permit. The 303(d) list as approved or 

established by EPA that is in effect as of January 1 of each year will be used for water 

quality limited waters. 

SCHEDULE B 

MONITORING REQUIREMENTS FOR SUCTION DREDGE REGISTRANTS 

1. Registrants must visually monitor the turbid wastewater discharges from the suction 

dredge each day of the operation. Visual monitoring must be performed at least once a 

day during daylight hours. 

2. Registrants must visually monitor the wastewater discharge immediately downstream 

or down current from the mining activity until the turbidity plume is no longer visible. 

3. Registrants must record all of the information listed below in a monitoring log: 

a. assigned permit number; 

b. date of visual monitoring; 

c. time of visual monitoring; 

d. location of visual monitoring: 

i) using township, range and section and latitude and longitude and 

ii) stream name; 

e. suction dredge nozzle inside diameter, hose inside diameter and maximum 

horsepower rating; 

f. date that equipment was checked and date equipment was decontaminated for 

invasive species according to Schedule C, Condition 16; 

g. account of any mercury observed in sluice box or concentrate during cleanout process 

and amount of mercury collected; 

h. whether operations were modified, curtailed or stopped and if so, what actions were 

taken, in order to comply with the 300 foot turbidity limit; 
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i. other noncompliance according to General Condition D3; and 

j. the printed name of the person performing the visual monitoring and recording the 

observations in the monitoring log. 

4. The monitoring log must be legible and available to authorities upon request. 

5. Registrants must submit the monitoring log as part of the DEQ annual report by 

February 28 of each calendar year. Permit registrants must submit an annual report even 

if no dredging occurred. 

Annual reports must be submitted to DEQ Headquarters at 811 SW 6th Avenue, Portland 

OR, 

97204. An annual report form will be available on DEQ’s web page or at a DEQ office. 

6. Registrants must maintain monitoring logs and annual reports required by this permit 

and records 

of all data used to complete the application for this permit for at least three years from the 

expiration date of this permit. 



7. When a registrant becomes aware that it has failed to properly report any relevant facts 

or has 

submitted incorrect information in a permit application or any report to DEQ, the 

registrant must promptly submit or correct the submission of such facts or information. 

SCHEDULE C 

BEST MANAGEMENT PRACTICES FOR 

SUCTION DREDGES OR NON-MOTORIZED EQUIPMENT 

1. Suction dredges or in-water non-motorized mining equipment must be operated to 

ensure that there is no overlap of turbidity plumes from equipment used in the same 

waters. 

2. Suction dredging is not allowed outside the periods set in the in-water work schedule 

(Timing of In-Water Work To Protect Fish and Wildlife Resources) established by the 

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife. 

3. Mining equipment, including suction dredges and in-water non-motorized mining 

equipment must not be used where fish eggs are present. 

4. No activities authorized by this permit, including operation of mining equipment, 

location of mining equipment, or turbid discharge, may obstruct a migrating fish from 

advancing upstream or downstream. 

5. Mining equipment, including suction dredges and in-water non-motorized mining 

equipment must not be used where live freshwater mussels are present. Operations must 

be relocated if live mussels are encountered during excavation. 

6. Mining equipment, including suction dredges and in-water non-motorized mining 

equipment must not be used where Pacific Lamprey ammocoetes are present. If Pacific 

Lamprey ammocoetes are found, the operator must salvage the ammocoetes by sifting 

through 

Permit Number: 700PM 

Page 9 of 15 

streambed material in the area of operation and in the removed substrate and returning 

salvaged ammocoetes to the stream away from the activity. 

7. Dredging or mining material from stream banks is prohibited under this permit. 

8. Undercutting or eroding stream banks and removal or disturbance of boulders, rooted 

vegetation, or embedded woody plants and other habitat structure from stream banks is 

prohibited. 

9. Moving boulders, logs, or other habitat structure within the stream channel is allowed 

by hand or non-motorized equipment. However, in no case may this habitat structure be 

removed entirely from the stream. Boulders and other habitat structures must be returned 

to their original position upon completion of the mining activity. The mining activity is 

considered complete if a person authorized by this permit does not return to that location 

to conduct the activity within 24 hours. 

10. Removal of habitat structure that extends into the stream channel from the stream 

bank is also prohibited. Examples of habitat structure are boulders, woody materials, 

vegetation, and other natural features. 

11. This permit does not authorize operations that may affect bridge footings, dams, and 

other structures in or near the stream. 

12. Suction dredge equipment must be maintained, and petroleum products managed, to 

prevent water pollution as follows: 



a. Discharging oil, grease and fuel from suction dredge activity is prohibited. Permit 

registrants must report spills according to requirements of Schedule D, Section D.2. 

b. Equipment used for suction dredging must not release petroleum products. Equipment 

surfaces must be free of oils and grease, and must be checked for fuel and oil leaks prior 

to start of operation on a daily basis. 

c. Oil absorbent material and an American National Standards Institute (ANSI) or 

Underwriters Laboratories (UL) approved safety container and self-closing nozzle must 

be used when refueling to prevent possible contamination of surface waters or 

groundwater. 

d. Fuel and oil storage must be located at least 25 feet back from the wetted perimeter of 

the stream. Where a 25 foot setback is not possible (due to circumstances such as steep 

bank, storage security, movement of operations), fuel and oil must be stored in secondary 

containment. When it is not practical to store fuel and oil on land, secondary containment 

must be used when storing fuel on the dredge or in a support boat. Secondary 

containment capacity must be able to hold an amount greater than the fuel container 

volume. 
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e. In the event a spill occurs, suction dredge operators must contain, remove and mitigate 

such spills immediately. All waste oil or other clean up materials contaminated with 

petroleum products must be properly disposed off-site. 

13. No visible turbidity plume may reach the intake of a drinking water source. Drinking 

water source information tools to identify downstream intake locations are provided by 

the DEQ Drinking Water Protection Program and the Oregon Department of Water 

Resources. 

14. Except as restricted in essential salmon habitat, suction dredging and in-water non-

motorized mining is allowed on non-vegetated gravel bars up to 10 feet outside the 

wetted perimeter of the stream. 

15. Motorized wheeled or tracked equipment is prohibited below the ordinary high water 

mark except for the suction dredge and life support system (for example, breathing air 

supply). Dredges may be launched and taken out at boat ramps, stream crossings/fords 

and other public water access points that are authorized by land management authorities. 

16. Mining equipment must not carry or contain invasive species. Equipment must be 

decontaminated prior to its placement in Oregon waters and when transferring from one 

water body to another. The Oregon Marine Board provides information including 

decontamination steps on aquatic invasive species. Discharge of decontamination 

solutions to waters of the state is prohibited. 

17. Use of chemical agents such as mercury to improve mineral processing or metal 

extraction from ore or high-grade fines is not allowed under this permit. 

SCHEDULE D 
NPDES GENERAL CONDITIONS – INDUSTRIAL FACILITIES 

Where the above permit requirements are in conflict with these general conditions, the permit 

requirements supersede these general conditions. 

SECTION A. STANDARD CONDITIONS 

A1. Duty to Comply with Permit 

The permittee must comply with all conditions of this permit. Failure to comply with any permit 

condition is a violation of Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 468B.025 and the federal Clean Water 



Act and is grounds for an enforcement action. Failure to comply is also grounds for DEQ to 

terminate, modify and reissue, revoke, or deny renewal of a permit. 

A2. Penalties for Water Pollution and Permit Condition Violations 

The permit is enforceable by DEQ or EPA, and in some circumstances also by third-parties under 

the 

citizen suit provisions 33 USC § 1365. DEQ enforcement is generally based on provisions of state 

statutes and Environmental Quality Commission (EQC) rules, and EPA enforcement is generally 

based on provisions of federal statutes and EPA regulations. 

ORS 468.140 allows DEQ to impose civil penalties up to $10,000 per day for violation of a term, 

condition, or requirement of a permit. The federal Clean Water Act provides for civil penalties 

not to 
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exceed $32,500 and administrative penalties not to exceed $11,000 per day for each violation of 

any 

condition or limitation of this permit. 

Under ORS 468.943, unlawful water pollution, if committed by a person with criminal 

negligence, is 

punishable by a fine of up to $25,000, imprisonment for not more than one year, or both. Each 

day 

on which a violation occurs or continues is a separately punishable offense. The federal Clean 

Water 

Act provides for criminal penalties of not more than $50,000 per day of violation, or 

imprisonment 

of not more than 2 years, or both for second or subsequent negligent violations of this permit. 

Under ORS 468.946, a person who knowingly discharges, places, or causes to be placed any 

waste 

into the waters of the state or in a location where the waste is likely to escape into the waters of 

the 

state is subject to a Class B felony punishable by a fine not to exceed $250,000 and up to 10 years 

in 

prison per ORS chapter 161. The federal Clean Water Act provides for criminal penalties of 

$5,000 

to $50,000 per day of violation, or imprisonment of not more than 3 years, or both for knowing 

violations of the permit. In the case of a second or subsequent conviction for knowing violation, a 

person is subject to criminal penalties of not more than $100,000 per day of violation, or 

imprisonment of not more than 6 years, or both. 

A3. Duty to Mitigate 

The permittee must take all reasonable steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use 

or 

disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable likelihood of adversely affecting human 

health or the environment. In addition, upon request of DEQ, the permittee must correct any 

adverse 

impact on the environment or human health resulting from noncompliance with this permit, 

including such accelerated or additional monitoring as necessary to determine the nature and 

impact 

of the noncomplying discharge. 

A4. Duty to Reapply 

If the permittee wishes to continue an activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 

this permit, the permittee must apply for and have the permit renewed. The application must be 

submitted at least 180 days before the expiration date of this permit. 



DEQ may grant permission to submit an application less than 180 days in advance but no later 

than 

the permit expiration date. 

A5. Permit Actions 

This permit may be modified, revoked and reissued, or terminated for cause including, but not 

limited to, the following: 

a. Violation of any term, condition, or requirement of this permit, a rule, or a statute. 

b. Obtaining this permit by misrepresentation or failure to disclose fully all material facts. 

c. A change in any condition that requires either a temporary or permanent reduction or 

elimination of the authorized discharge. 

d. The permittee is identified as a Designated Management Agency or allocated a wasteload 

under 

a total maximum daily load (TMDL). 

e. New information or regulations. 

f. Modification of compliance schedules. 

g. Requirements of permit reopener conditions. 

h. Correction of technical mistakes made in determining permit conditions. 

i. Determination that the permitted activity endangers human health or the environment. 

j. Other causes as specified in 40 CFR §§ 122.62, 122.64, and 124.5. 

Permit Number: 700PM 

Page 12 of 15 
The filing of a request by the permittee for a permit modification, revocation or reissuance, 

termination, or a notification of planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any 

permit condition. 

A6. Toxic Pollutants 

The permittee must comply with any applicable effluent standards or prohibitions established 

under 

Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 340-041-0033 and 307(a) of the federal Clean Water Act for 

toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge use or disposal established under section 

405(d) of the federal Clean Water Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 

those 

standards or prohibitions, even if the permit has not yet been modified to incorporate the 

requirement. 

A7. Property Rights and Other Legal Requirements 

The issuance of this permit does not convey any property rights of any sort, or any exclusive 

privilege, or authorize any injury to persons or property or invasion of any other private rights, or 

any infringement of federal, tribal, state, or local laws or regulations. 

A8. Permit References 

Except for effluent standards or prohibitions established under section 307(a) of the federal Clean 

Water Act and OAR 340-041-0033 for toxic pollutants, and standards for sewage sludge use or 

disposal established under section 405(d) of the federal Clean Water Act, all rules and statutes 

referred to in this permit are those in effect on the date this permit is issued. 

A9. Permit Fees 

The permittee must pay the fees required by OAR. 

SECTION B. OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE OF POLLUTION CONTROLS 

B1. Proper Operation and Maintenance 

The permittee must at all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and systems of 

treatment 

and control (and related appurtenances) that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper operation and maintenance also includes 



adequate laboratory controls and appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 

requires 

the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or similar systems that are installed by a permittee 

only when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with the conditions of the permit. 

SECTION C. MONITORING AND RECORDS 

C1. Representative Sampling 

Sampling and measurements taken as required herein must be representative of the volume and 

nature of the monitored discharge. All samples must be taken at the monitoring points specified in 

this permit, and must be taken, unless otherwise specified, before the effluent joins or is diluted 

by 

any other waste stream, body of water, or substance. Monitoring points must not be changed 

without 

notification to and the approval of DEQ. 

C2. Monitoring Procedures 

Monitoring must be conducted according to test procedures approved under 40 CFR part 136 or, 

in 

the case of sludge use and disposal, approved under 40 CFR part 503 unless other test procedures 

have been specified in this permit. 

C3. Penalties of Tampering 

The federal Clean Water Act provides that any person who falsifies, tampers with, or knowingly 

renders inaccurate any monitoring device or method required to be maintained under this permit 
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may, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than $10,000 per violation, 

imprisonment 

for not more than two years, or both. If a conviction of a person is for a violation committed after 

a 

first conviction of such person, punishment is a fine not more than $20,000 per day of violation, 

or 

by imprisonment of not more than four years, or both. 

C4. Additional Monitoring by the Permittee 

If the permittee monitors any pollutant more frequently than required by this permit, using test 

procedures approved under 40 CFR part 136 or as specified in this permit, the results of this 

monitoring must be included in the calculation and reporting of the data submitted in the 

discharge 

monitoring report. 

C5. Averaging of Measurements 

Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of measurements must utilize an arithmetic 

mean, except for bacteria which must be averaged as specified in this permit. 

C6. Retention of Records 

Records of monitoring reports required by this permit and records of all data used to complete the 

application for this permit must be retained for a period of at least 3 years from the date of the 

sample, measurement, report, or application. This period may be extended by request of DEQ at 

any 

time. 

C7. Records Contents 

Records of monitoring information must include: 

a. The date, exact place, time, and methods of sampling or measurements; 

b. The individual(s) who performed the sampling or measurements; 

c. The date(s) analyses were performed; 

d. The individual(s) who performed the analyses; 



e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

C8. Inspection and Entry 

The permittee must allow DEQ or EPA upon the presentation of credentials to: 

a. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated facility or activity is located or 

conducted, or where records must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

b. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records that must be kept under the 

conditions of this permit; 

c. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment (including monitoring and control 

equipment), practices, or operations regulated or required under this permit; and 

d. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purpose of assuring permit compliance or as 

otherwise authorized by state law, any substances or parameters at any location. 

C9. Confidentiality of Information 

Any information relating to this permit that is submitted to or obtained by DEQ is available to the 

public unless classified as confidential by the Director of DEQ under ORS 468.095. The 

permittee 

may request that information be classified as confidential if it is a trade secret as defined by that 

statute. The name and address of the permittee, permit applications, permits, effluent data, and 

information required by NPDES application forms under 40 CFR § 122.21 are not classified as 

confidential [40 CFR § 122.7(b)]. 
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SECTION D. REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

D1. Transfers 

This permit may be transferred to a new permittee provided the transferee acquires a property 

interest in the permitted activity and agrees in writing to fully comply with all the terms and 

conditions of the permit and EQC rules. No permit may be transferred to a third party without 

prior 

written approval from DEQ. DEQ may require modification or revocation and reissuance of the 

permit to change the name of the permittee and incorporate such other requirements as may be 

necessary under 40 CFR § 122.61. The permittee must notify DEQ when a transfer of property 

interest takes place. 

D2. Twenty-Four Hour Reporting 

The permittee must report any noncompliance that may endanger health or the environment. Any 

information must be provided orally (by telephone) within 24 hours from the time the permittee 

becomes aware of the circumstances, unless a shorter time is specified in the permit. During 

normal 

business hours, the DEQ regional office must be called. Outside of normal business hours, DEQ 

must be contacted at 1-800-452-0311 (Oregon Emergency Response System). 

A written submission must also be provided within 5 days of the time the permittee becomes 

aware 

of the circumstances. The written submission must contain: 

a. A description of noncompliance and its cause; 

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times; 

c. The estimated time noncompliance is expected to continue if it has not been corrected; 

d. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate and prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance; 

and 

DEQ may waive the written report on a case-by-case basis if the oral report has been received 

within 

24 hours. 

D3. Other Noncompliance 



The permittee must report all instances of noncompliance not reported under General Condition 

D2, 

at the time monitoring reports are submitted. The reports must contain: 

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and times; 

c. The estimated time noncompliance is expected to continue if it has not been corrected; and 

d. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

D4. Duty to Provide Information 

The permittee must furnish to DEQ within a reasonable time any information that DEQ may 

request 

to determine compliance with the permit or to determine whether cause exists for modifying, 

revoking and reissuing, or terminating this permit. The permittee must also furnish to DEQ, upon 

request, copies of records required to be kept by this permit. 

Other Information: When the permittee becomes aware that it has failed to submit any relevant 

facts 

or has submitted incorrect information in a permit application or any report to DEQ, it must 

promptly 

submit such facts or information. 

D5. Signatory Requirements 

All applications, reports or information submitted to DEQ must be signed and certified in 

accordance 

with 40 CFR § 122.22. 
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D6. Falsification of Information 

Under ORS 468.953, any person who knowingly makes any false statement, representation, or 

certification in any record or other document submitted or required to be maintained under this 

permit, including monitoring reports or reports of compliance or noncompliance, is subject to a 

Class 

C felony punishable by a fine not to exceed $125,000 per violation and up to 5 years in prison per 

ORS chapter 161. Additionally, according to 40 CFR § 122.41(k)(2), any person who knowingly 

makes any false statement, representation, or certification in any record or other document 

submitted 

or required to be maintained under this permit including monitoring reports or reports of 

compliance 

or non-compliance will, upon conviction, be punished by a federal civil penalty not to exceed 

$10,000 per violation, or by imprisonment for not more than 6 months per violation, or by both. 

Permit Number: 600 

Expiration Date: January 31, 2017 

GENERAL WATER POLLUTION CONTROL FACILITY PERMIT 

Department of Environmental Quality 

811 SW Sixth Avenue 

Portland, OR 97204 

Telephone: (503) 229-5279 

Issued pursuant to ORS 468B.050 

ISSUED TO: SOURCES COVERED BY THIS PERMIT: 

This permit covers small scale precious metals 

mining operations that use non-chemical ore or 

placer processing methods and dispose of 



wastewater by evaporation or seepage. 

Lauri Aunan, Administrator Effective Date 

Water Quality Division 

SCOPE OF PERMITTED ACTIVITIES 

This 600 General Permit replaces the 600 General Permit issued by the Oregon 

Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) in 1997, and the Mutual Agreement and Order issued by 

DEQ in 

2002. Not withstanding the terms and conditions of this permit, persons registered under 

this 

permit must also comply with all other applicable state and federal agency requirements 

to include 

but not limited to: 

a. Oregon DEQ Land Quality - Hazardous Waste Regulations 

b. Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries 

c. Oregon Department of State Lands 

d. Oregon Department of Water Resources 

e. U.S. Forest Service 

f. U.S. Bureau of Land Management 

g. Oregon Department of Parks and Recreation 

h. Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife 
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Until this permit expires or is modified or revoked, the registrant of this permit is 

authorized to 

operate a wastewater collection, treatment, control, and disposal system in accordance 

with all the 

requirements, limitations, and conditions set forth in the attached schedules as follows: 

Page 

Schedule A - Waste Disposal Limitations . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 

Schedule D - Special Conditions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . 5-6 

Schedule F - General Conditions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7-9 

Unless authorized by a NPDES permit from DEQ, all wastewater discharges to surface 

waters in 

Oregon are prohibited. 

DEFINITIONS 

1. DEQ or Department means Oregon Department of Environmental Quality 

2. Discharge or Disposal means the placement of wastes into public waters, on land, or 

otherwise 

into the environment in a manner that affects or may tend to affect the quality of public 

waters. 

3. Disposal System means a system for disposing of wastes by surface or underground 

methods 

and includes sewerage systems, treatment works, disposal wells, and other systems but 

excludes onsite sewage disposal systems regulated under OAR 340-071-0160, 340-071-

0162, 



or ORS 454.655 and systems that recirculate without discharge. 

4. Nuisance means a substantial and unreasonable interference with another's use and 

enjoyment 

of real property, or the substantial and unreasonable invasion of a right common to 

members of 

the general public. Violation of any condition of this WPCF permit is also a public 

nuisance 

pursuant to Oregon Revised Statute 468B.025(3). 

5. OAR means Oregon Administrative Rule 

6. Wastes means sewage, industrial wastes, and all other liquid, gaseous, solid, 

radioactive, or 

other substances that will or may cause or tend to cause pollution of any waters of the 

state. 

7. Treatment or Waste Treatment means the alteration of the quality of wastewater by 

physical, 

chemical, or biological means or a combination thereof that reduces the tendency of the 

wastes 

to degrade water quality or other environmental conditions 

HOW TO APPLY FOR COVERAGE UNDER THIS GENERAL PERMIT 

1. Metals mining operators seeking coverage under this 600 General Permit (2007-2017) 

for the 

first time and persons registered for coverage under the 600 General Permit issued in 

1997 who 

did not submit a timely renewal application must do the following: 

a. Applicants must complete an application. Applicants may obtain a DEQ application 

form 

by: 

i. Mail or in person from the DEQ regional offices provided below, or 

ii. Downloading the application from the DEQ website. 
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b. Applicants must submit a completed application to any of the DEQ offices provided 

below, 

requesting coverage under this permit at least thirty days prior to the planned activity. 

DEQ 

may accept applications filed less than thirty days from the planned activity on a case by 

case basis. 

c. Applicants must submit all applicable fees with the application. 

d. DEQ will review the application information and will take one of the following 

actions: 

i. Issue written notice of approval. 

ii. Request additional information. 

iii. Deny coverage under this permit. The applicant will be notified if the applicant's 

operation cannot be approved for coverage under the General Permit, and that the 

applicant may need to obtain an individual permit. 



2. Metals mining operators who were registered under the 600 General Permit issued by 

DEQ in 

1997 and submitted timely renewal applications must submit applicable fees and must 

provide 

a new application as provided in 1, above within 90 days of the effective date of this 

permit. 

Persons Seeking Coverage to Renew This 600 General Permit 

1. Permittees registered under this General Permit can operate until the expiration date 

provided 

on the cover page (unless terminated or extended under Other Applicable Conditions, 

below). 

Metal mining operators requiring renewal of this General Permit must submit a complete 

renewal application form to DEQ no later than December 1, 2016, 60 days prior to the 

expiration date of this permit indicated on the cover page. The DEQ Director may grant 

permission to submit the application less than 60 days in advance but no later than the 

permit 

expiration date. 

2. DEQ will review the application and will take one of the following actions: 

a. Issue written notice of approval. 

b. Request additional information. 

c. Deny coverage under this permit. The applicant will be notified if the applicant's 

operation 

cannot be approved for coverage under the General Permit, and that the applicant may 

need 

to obtain an individual permit. 

Other Application Conditions 

1. Coverage under this permit will continue for a permittee after the expiration date if the 

permittee submits a complete renewal application as described above. 
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2. If DEQ does not receive a renewal application as described above, coverage under this 

General 

Permit is no longer valid and the metal mining operation must cease. 

3. Any person not wishing to be covered or limited by this General Permit may apply for 

an 

individual permit in accordance with the procedures in OAR 340-045-0030. DEQ will 

review the 

application information and will either request additional information in writing or will 

notify the 

applicant by mail to operate under the conditions of the new individual permit. 

DEQ Office Locations 

i. Northwest Region ii. Western Region 

2020 SW 4th Avenue, Suite 400 750 Front Street NE, Suite 120 

Portland, OR 97201 Salem, OR 97301-1039 

Tel. No. (503) 229-5263 Tel. No. (503) 378-8240 



iii. Eastern Region iv. DEQ Headquarters 

700 SE Emigrant, Suite 330 811 SW 6th Avenue 6th floor 

Pendleton, OR 97801 Portland, OR 97204-1390 

Tel. No. (541) 276-4063 Tel No. (503) 229-5185 

Tel No. (800) 452-4011 

SWM-SM-00451 

Permit Number: 600 

Page 5 of 9 

SCHEDULE A 

WASTE DISPOSAL LIMITATIONS 

1. This permit applies only to the following precious metal mining or ore processing 

operations: 

a. Off-stream placer mining that disposes of all wastewater by evaporation or seepage 

with no traceable discharge of wastes to groundwater or surface water; 

b. Hardrock mining or ore processing that uses non-chemical ore processing methods 

and disposes of wastewater as described in Condition 1 a. above; and, 

c. Operations that process, with water, no more than 10,000 cubic yards of placer or 

ore material per year, and disposes of wastewater as described in Condition 1 a. 

above. 

2. Mining operations different from those described in Condition 1 above must obtain an 

individual waste discharge permit. 

3. No direct discharge to public waters is allowed. 

4. No activities are allowed that could adversely impact existing or potential beneficial 

uses of 

groundwater. 

SCHEDULE D 

SPECIAL CONDITIONS 

1. All settling pond spoils and other waste solids must be managed in a manner to prevent 

their entry into surface water, and avoid creating a nuisance or a water quality violation. 

2. The permittee must provide for safe passage of fish around or through the active 

mining 

area if the stream supports a migratory fish population. Any removal/fill activity within 

the 

active stream, including construction of fish passage facilities, must comply with all 

applicable DEQ 401 Certification requirements. 

3. The permittee must observe and inspect all waste handling, treatment, and disposal 

facilities 

and any stream above and below the mining operation daily when operating, to ensure 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. A record must be kept of these 

observations 

and made available to the DEQ upon request. 

SWM-SM-00451 

Permit Number: 600 

Page 6 of 9 

4. Sedimentation ponds with a surface area of 20,000 square feet or less are allowed 

provided 



that the dams or dikes are no more than 5 feet in height. Larger ponds must have DEQ 

approval prior to construction. 

5. The discharge of sanitary wastes to the ground surface or surface waters is prohibited. 

Sanitary wastes must be managed in accordance with the following: 

a) Permanent Operations 

Sanitary wastes at permanent operations must be discharged into an approved onsite 

system that is not failing. The system must be installed, operated, and maintained in 

accordance with the requirements of the DEQ or the local jurisdiction. All site 

evaluations and permits must be obtained prior to construction of the system. 

b) Temporary Operations 

Sanitary wastes at temporary operations must be removed from the mining location 

and properly disposed. 

6. Riparian vegetation must not be disturbed unless it is unavoidable. In areas where 

riparian 

vegetation is disturbed, the permittee must reclaim the area to the pre-mining condition 

prior to concluding mining activities. Revegetation activities must be conducted on an 

ongoing basis and must not be postponed until mining is completed for the entire claim. 

Operations that disturb riparian vegetation and process 1500 cubic yards or more of 

placer 

or ore material per year must include a vegetation reclamation plan as part of the permit 

application. 

SWM-SM-00451 

Permit Number: 600 

Page 7 of 9 

SCHEDULE F 

GENERAL CONDITIONS 

These General Conditions apply to all WPCF Permits. 

SECTION A. STANDARD CONDITIONS 

1. Duty to Comply with Permit 

The permittee must comply with all conditions of this permit. Failure to comply with any 

permit condition is a violation of Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 468B.025 and grounds 

for 

an enforcement action. Failure to comply is also grounds for the DEQ to revoke or deny 

renewal of coverage under this general permit. 

2. Property Rights and Other Legal Requirements 

Issuance of this permit does not convey any property rights of any sort, or any exclusive 

privilege, or authorize any injury to persons or property or invasion of any other rights, or 

any infringement of federal, tribal, state, or local laws or regulations. 

3. Liability 

DEQ or its officers, agents, or employees may not sustain any liability on account of the 

issuance of this permit or on account of the construction or maintenance of facilities or 

systems because of this permit. 

4. Permit Actions 

After notice by the DEQ, coverage under this permit may be suspended or revoked 

during 

its term for cause including but not limited to the following: 



a. Violation of any term or condition of this permit, any applicable rule or statute, or 

any order of the Commission; 

b. Obtaining this permit by misrepresentation or failure to disclose fully all relevant 

facts. 

5. Transfer of Permit 

Coverage under this permit may not be transferred to a third party without prior written 

approval from the DEQ. 

6. Permit Fees 
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The permittee must pay all applicable fees required by Oregon Administrative Rules 340- 

045-0070, and 340-045-0075. 

SECTION B. OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE OF POLLUTION 

CONTROLS 

1. Proper Operation and Maintenance 

At all times the permittee must maintain in good working order and properly operate as 

efficiently as possible all treatment or control facilities or systems installed or used by the 

permittee to comply with the terms and conditions of this permit. 

2. Standard Operation and Maintenance 

All waste collection, control, treatment, and disposal facilities or systems must be 

operated 

in a manner consistent with the following: 

a. At all times, all facilities or systems must be operated as efficiently as possible in a 

manner that will prevent discharges, health hazards, and nuisance conditions. 

b. All screenings, grit, and sludge must be disposed of in a manner approved by the 

DEQ to prevent any pollutant from the materials from reaching waters of the state, 

creating a public health hazard, or causing a nuisance condition. 

3. Noncompliance and Notification Procedures 

If the permittee is unable to comply with conditions of this permit because of surfacing 

sewage; a breakdown of equipment, facilities or systems; an accident caused by human 

error or negligence; or any other cause such as an act of nature, the permittee must: 

a. Immediately take action to stop, contain, and clean up the unauthorized discharges 

and correct the problem. 

b. Notify the DEQ's Regional office as soon as possible after taking action to stop and 

contain the unauthorized discharges so that an investigation can be made to evaluate 

the impact and the corrective actions taken, and to determine any additional action 

that must be taken. 

c. Within 5 days of the time the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances, the 

permittee must submit to the DEQ a detailed written report describing the 

breakdown, the actual quantity and quality of waste discharged, corrective action 

taken, steps taken to prevent a recurrence, and any other pertinent information. 

Compliance with these requirements does not relieve the permittee from responsibility to 

maintain continuous compliance with the conditions of this permit or liability for failure 

to 

comply. 
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SECTION C. MONITORING AND RECORDS 

1. Inspection and Entry 

The permittee must at all reasonable times allow authorized representatives of the DEQ 

to: 

a. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a waste source or disposal system is 

located or where any records are required to be kept under the terms and conditions 

of this permit; 

b. Have access to and copy any records required by this permit; 

c. Inspect any treatment or disposal system, practices, operations, monitoring 

equipment, or monitoring method regulated or required by this permit; or 

d. Sample or monitor any substances or permit parameters at any location at reasonable 

times for the purpose of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 

state law. 

2. Retention of Records 

The permittee must retain records required by this permit, and records of all data used to 

complete the application for this permit, for a period of at least 3 years from the date of 

the 

sample, measurement, report or application. The DEQ may extend this period at any 

time. 
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