Overview of HB 2066 -A22 (Sections 23-33)

Tax Incentive
Enterprise Zone

Sections 23-25

Long Term Rural

Enterprise Zone
(LTREZ)

Sections 26-28
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Description

Property tax exemption to newly placed in
service property of qualified business.
Property tax exemption 3 years with option
for additional 1-2 years. For additional 1-2
years, new employees of business must be

compensated as specified.

LTREZ program provides property tax
exemption to qualified property of an

eligible business located within a county

that meets criteria necessary to be

considered a county with chronically low
income or chronic unemployment. The
property tax exemption is available for 7-15
years and is applicable to new property and
improvements of the qualified facility.

Current Law Wage Requirement

If the enterprise zone is a rural enterprise zone
or an urban zone located inside a
metropolitan statistical area of fewer than
400,000 residents, for the property tax
exemption to be extended an additional one
or two years, new employees hired by the firm
must be compensated at an average rate of at
least 150% of the county average annual
wage, as determined at time of authorization,
in each of the one or two years of the
extension.

To qualify, business firm must meet
employment and compensation requirements
relating to employees hired at the facility.
Average annual employee compensation
required to be > 150% of average wage in
county. Must be met with first 5 years of
facility placed in service. Thereafter must
continue to be met, but average county wage
figure remains figure that was initially met.

Change to Current Law w/HB 3146

o |f enterprise zone is in a qualified
rural county (outside MSA with
min. property taxes imposed 2 1.3%
of TAV) compensation requirement
reduced to 130% of county average
annual wage

e For all enterprise zone extensions,
requires average wage received by
new employees > 100% avg. wage
in county

o |f LTREZ facility is located in
qualified rural county (outside MSA
with min. property taxes imposed >
1.3% of TAV) compensation
requirement reduced to 130% of
county average annual wage, with
130% ongoing requirement as well

o |n each year following initially
meeting 150% or 130%
requirement, avg. wage at facility
must be 2 100% of co. avg. wage
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Tax Incentive
Oregon Investment

Advantage

Sections 29-30

Oregon Business
Retention &
Expansion Program

Sections 31-32

Long Term Rural
Enterprise Zones -
Section 33

Description

Provides an exemption from taxable
income available to businesses that build
and operate a qualified facility in a qualified
location. To qualify, facilities must:
operative a minimum 10 years, hire at least
five full-time employees and compensate
employees as required.

Provides forgivable loans to companies that
have at least 150 employees and plans to
hire 50 or more full-time employees in
Oregon. Amount of the loan is limited to
the personal income tax revenues
estimated to be substantially equivalent to
the amount of tax that eligible employees
of an eligible employer will be required to
pay in the two consecutive tax years
beginning with the tax year following the
tax year in which the employer receives
certification. The program is capitalized
with State Lottery Funds.

Location Qualification

Current Law Wage Requirement

Facility must compensate at:

e 150 percent of the county per capita
personal income of the county as of date of
preliminary certification, or

e 100 percent of the county per capita
personal income of the county if the
business provides health insurance coverage
to employees in amount equal to or
exceeding health insurance benefits
provided to employees of the city, port or
county.

Employee compensation required to average
the lesser of: at least 150% of the county or
state average in annual per employee
compensation.

Change to Current Law w/HB 3146

o |f employees hired in county that Is
outside all MSAs, then
compensation must average at
least 130% of county per capita
personal income of the county in
which the facility is located as of
date of preliminary certification

o All facilities required to have avg.
wage of newly hired employees 2
100% avg. wage in county

If employees are to be hired in a
county outside all MSAs then
compensation required to average at
least 130% of the lesser of county or
state average annual per employee
compensation.

Expands location qualification criteria for determining locations where a business firm may qualify for a rural long term enterprise zone
tax incentive to include qualified rural counties as defined in measure.
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