
Unless the Attorney General has given 
an opinion this bill requires a 

referendum, it is out of order to send 
SB 719 to the Committee of the 

Whole from the Committee on the 
Rules. It should be subjected to the 

House Judiciary Committee for 

independent and full review to be 

revised and/or amended. This bill has 

many complex issues of due process 

at issue.  This act is perfunctory and 

makes the House detailed 

consideration superfluous. If the 

Republicans had done this, you and 

the media would be clearly and 
rightfully disturbed.  
 

You can do more than vote no. 

You can make a point of order and 

demand a formal legal opinion 
regarding State Liability from the 
AG on your sole authority 



under: 180.060 Powers and duties of 
Attorney General. (2) The Attorney 

General shall give opinion in 
writing, when requested, upon any 

question of law in which the State of 
Oregon or any public subdivision of 

the state may have an interest, 

submitted to the Attorney General by 

the Governor, any officer, agency, 

department, board or commission of 

the state or any member of the 

legislature.   

 

 

The FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED 
LEGISLATION Measure: SB 719 - A 

does not include the cost of 

reimbursing the loss of use of seized 

firearms. Under the Oregon 

Constitution, Article I, Section 18 Private 

property or services taken for public use require just 

compensation. Under the US Constitution's Fifth 



Amendment's the last 12 words are, "nor shall private property be 
taken for public use, without just compensation."  
 
What would you estimate to be the daily  "just compensation" for deprivation of 
firearms and the replacement security services to supplement the self-defense 
which is any citizen's inalienable self-evident right?  
 
As an example, being a former correctional officer, I believe I have more than 
usual need for private self-defense. I have asked the advice of the Oregon 
Firearms Federation, what charge can be assessed for state use of my firearms 
and private security services could they would recommend for 24/7 coverage of 

my security. Some rentals at ranges are $5 a day for pistols and $10 a day 

for rifles. My time for setting up the release and resumption of ownership is 

$60 an hour with a minimum of $240 for four hours.  

 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1

/Downloads/MeasureAnalysisDocumen

t/37560 

 

The cost of incarceration in a jail is 

historically higher than the cost of 

incarceration in a state prison - which 
is now $94.55 per day. This bill makes 
no accounting or  provision for paying 

counties for incarceration.  

 

https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Downloads/MeasureAnalysisDocument/37560
https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Downloads/MeasureAnalysisDocument/37560
https://olis.leg.state.or.us/liz/2017R1/Downloads/MeasureAnalysisDocument/37560


IF the victim of this law's over-reach 
complies, since the state has 

compelled storage and liability of the 
firearm. IF the person is convicted of 

this misdemeanor, it could mean the 
ATF will treat it as they do domestic 

violence, meaning permanent loss of 

the right to self-defense with a 

firearm.  Is the State going to pay for 

storage fees and liability for these 

weapons for five years. Or, will they 

buy the weapon? 

 

REPORT OF SENATE JUDICIARY: SB 719-A 

makes it a Class A misdemeanor to knowingly possess a deadly weapon 
when the person is subject to an extreme risk protection order. A person 

who commits this offense is also prohibited from possessing a firearm 

for five years from the later of the extreme protection order’s expiration or 
termination or entry of conviction. It is also a Class A misdemeanor under 

SB 719-A to file a petition for an extreme risk protection order with the 
intent to harass the respondent or knowing that the information in the 

petition is false. 
  

 



 
 
SB 719 is not an enforcement action in a criminal case. It is a civil action denying the use of 
property. Regarding the confiscation of firearms with regard to compensation in takings, the holdings 
of the lower courts were based on the assumption the Second Amendment did not provide an 
individual right to own or possess firearms, and the plaintiffs therefore lacked standing to bring a 
Second Amendment challenge. This holding is no longer valid following the U.S. Supreme Court's 
later decisions in Heller and McDonald. Since it is not a criminal case, there is no duty to provide 
competent counsel, meaning there will be no equal protection against false invocations of this as a 
statute. This Bill treats a self-evident inalienable right to self-defense, effectively, as neither civil 
nor criminal law. It could be used to make a victim more vulnerable by preventing their self-
defense with firearms or other weapons.  
          Further,  while the States may not restrict rights given under the US Constitution, States have 
the power and right to expand rights under the 10th Amendment.  The Oregon Constitution clearly 
expands that right to compensation with: 
Article 1, Section 18. Private property or services taken for public use. Private property shall 
not be taken for public use, nor the particular services of any man be demanded, without just 
compensation; nor except in the case of the state, without such compensation first assessed 
and tendered; provided, that the use of all roads, ways and waterways necessary to promote 
the transportation of the raw products of mine or farm or forest or water for beneficial use or 
drainage is necessary to the development and welfare of the state and is declared a public 
use. So, it should be obvious federal case law is not the only consideration in this bill. 
          Clearly, the weapons are denied to contribute to the welfare of the State by the statute's 
advocates. The welfare claimed is exclusively for the purpose of public safety.  With regard to 
suicide, this does not create any particular burden.  It does not prevent someone from being 
intoxicated into consciousness to fall from a great height. I know for a fact it does not prevent self 
strangulation with a twisted sheet. It does not prevent a person with a 440 HP GTO driving at 140 
mph from deliberately hitting a cement truck going the opposite direction at 55 mph. With regard to 
motor vehicles, ISIS has shown they are more than effective murder and mayhem. There must be 50 
ways to take your own life with as little pain and even less violence than the use of a firearm. All of 
them demand constant observation while in custody. 
            This bill clearly denies private safety in the form of self-defense, a form of punishment in 
violation of the equal protection under the 14th Amendment. No law enforcement agency can be 
compelled to protect an individual. The town of Castle Rock, Colorado and its police department 
could not be sued under 42 USC §1983 for failure to enforce a restraining order against 
respondent's husband, as enforcement of the restraining order does not constitute a property right 
for 14th Amendment purposes. 
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/1983 
https://supreme.justia.com/cases/federal/us/545/748/ 
 
 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/1983
https://supreme.justia.com/cases/federal/us/545/748/


If a citizen requires commercial security to replace self defense, do you really suppose a jury would 
deny them the cost of those services in holding Oregon liable?  
  

 
 

 
 
For your information, I am seeking the Expert Advice of the Oregon Firearms 
Federation as to the customary  and just compensation required if anyone has 
their property seized and their safety compromised by this gun bill should I need 
to apply for compensation in small claims court for periods of under a month of 
deprivation of firearms property and the use of private security services.  
 
It should be under $10,000, each, but you may want to create a fund for these 
claims. I intended to include it in the email exhibits in the judiciary,  but I see they 
were not filed.  
 


