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COMMUNITY PROVIDERS ASSOCIATION OF OREGON
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1947 = D017 Oregon Resource Association

June 8, 2017

TO:  Co-Chair Sen. Elizabeth Steiner Hayward
Co-Chair Rep. Dan Rayfield
Members of the Joint Subcommittee on Human Services

FR: Chris Burnett, Executive Director, ORA
Joanne Fuhrman, Legislative Chair, ORA
Brian Varley, President, CPAO
Anna Keenan-Mudrick, Legislative Chair, CPAO
Kyndall Mason, Political and Policy Strategist, SEIU Local 503

We write to you jointly today to support the original Policy Option Package from DHS for
$45,871,720 in general funds for a much needed wage increase for our direct support
professionals (DSPs). DSPs provide support for people with intellectual and/or developmental
disabilities (I/DD) to live and work in a safe and healthy manner as members of their
communities. In Oregon, 14,000 DSPs provide essential care, services and support for over
6,000 Oregonians with I/DD.

Occasional rate increases have not allowed providers to pay competitive wages. The
Legislatively approved 4% rate increase that went into effect January 1, 2016, was helpful but
only a first step. DHS recently reported that the average wage for a DSP in a 24-hour group
home is still only $11.85 after implementation of the 4% increase. That’s just over $24,600 per
year. While this increase was a boost, occasional rate increases have not kept up with the
dramatic disparity in costs of providing an intensive support system and allowed Oregon
providers to provide competitive wages.

DSPs are the critical element of care for those who need their assistance to live a full, inclusive
life - however, these poverty wages are forcing many to choose jobs with higher pay to support
themselves and their families. This is causing critical retention and recruitment issues for
service providers across the state who are facing record levels of turnover and staffing
shortages.

It must change now. And we need your support.



SEIU, ORA and CPAO represent both the represented employees and the providers and their
employees. Over the past 5 weeks, we have all been working together to negotiate HB 2684,
the complementing policy bill to this POP request. The amendment to HB 2684 is aimed at
improving services in-group homes, wages and work conditions for DSPs. The final agreed-to
provisions include supporting higher DSP wages to reduce turnover and improve support
quality; increasing annual fees on providers and dedicating that new funding to online training
for DSPs using endorsed credentialing curriculum to provide career and wage advancing
opportunities for DPSs; new accountability and transparency requirements on providers and an
interim work group to review the substantiated abuse findings, fines and enforcement for
homes in which people with 1/DD reside.

We hope that these policy steps can be coupled with an increase in DSP wages. Together, we
can all support Oregonians with development disabilities.

Thank you.

Service Employees International Union (SEIU)

Community Providers Association of Oregon (CPAO)

Collaborative Employment Innovations, Coast Rehabilitation Services, Community Access Services,
Community Support Services, Danville Services of Oregon, Dungarvin Oregon, Exceed Enterprises, Home
Life, IS Living, MVadvancements, NW Mental Health, Nancy L Glass LCSW, Opportunity Connections,
Oregon Mennonite Residential Services, Oregon Training and Consultation, Parents for Alternate
Support Solutions, Renew Consulting, SERP Enterprises, Star Corporation, Sunny Oaks, Work Unlimited

Oregon Resource Association (ORA)

Abilities at Work, Abilitree, Albertina Kerr Centers, ALSO, Alternative Services Oregon, Alvord Taylor,
Ashland Supportive Housing, Bethesda, Catholic Community Services, Center for Continuous
Improvement, Central Oregon Collective, Community Pathways, Community Services, Cornerstone,
Creative Supports-Brokerage, Douglas Residential Training Facilities, Dungarvin Oregon, Eastco
Diversified Services, Eastern Oregon Support Services Brokerage, Edwards Center, Exceed Enterprises,
Full Access, Galt Foundation, Garten Services, Horizon Project, Housing Independence, Independence
Northwest, Independent Environments, Living Opportunities, Marie Mills Center, McKenzie Personnel
Systems, Mentor Oregon, MVadvancements, New Day Enterprises, Opportunity Foundation Central
Oregon, Oregon Supported Living Program, OTAC, Partnerships In Community Living, Pathway
Enterprises, Pearl Buck Center, Relay Resources, RISE Services, Riverside Training Centers, Ron Wilson
Center, Self-Determination Resources, SourceAmerica National Office (NISH), South Lane Maintenance
Corp., Southern Oregon Aspire, Southern Oregon Goodwill, Specialty Family Homes, Star of Hope, Step
Forward Activities, Sunrise Enterprises, Sunshine Industries Unlimited, Inc., TVW, Umpqua Homes,
WITCO
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HB 2684-3
(LC 2003)
6/8/17 (MNJ/ps)

Requested by Senator GELSER

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO
HOUSE BILL 2684

On page 1 of the printed bill, line 2, after “provisions;” delete the rest
of the line and delete line 3 and insert “and amending ORS 127.646, 443.400,
443.415, 443.425, 443.735 and 456.559.”.

Delete lines 5 through 24 and delete pages 2 through 7 and insert:

“SECTION 1. Sections 2 and 3 of this 2017 Act are added to and
made a part of ORS 443.400 to 443.455.

“SECTION 2. It is the intent of the Legislative Assembly that, when

the Legislative Assembly approves increases in funding of services
provided by residential training facilities or residential training homes,
wages and health benefits paid to direct support professionals in the
residential training facilities or residential training homes be in-
creased at a comparable rate.

“SECTION 3. A residential training facility or residential training

home licensed by the Department of Human Services shall submit

annual staffing data to a nationally standardized reporting survey or-

ganization specified by the Department of Human Services. The de-

partment shall obtain state-specific data from the nationally

standardized reporting survey organization, disaggregated by provider.
“SECTION 4. ORS 443.415 is amended to read:

“443.415. (1) Applications for licensure to maintain and operate a resi-

dential facility shall be made to the Department of Human Services or the
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Oregon Health Authority on forms provided for that purpose by the appro-
priate licensing agency. Each application shall be accompanied by a fee. No
fee is required of any governmentally operated residential facility.

“(2) The fee required under subsection (1) of this section for facilities:

“(a) Defined in ORS 443.400 (7) and (9), shall be $60.

“(b) Defined in ORS 443.400 (8), shall be $50.

“L(b)] (¢) Defined in ORS 443.400 [(8) and] (10), shall be $30.

“[(c)] (d) Defined in ORS 443.400 (5) with:

“(A) One to 15 beds, shall be $360.

“(B) Sixteen to 49 beds, shall be $520.

“(C) Fifty to 99 beds, shall be $1,040.

“(D) One hundred to 150 beds, shall be $1,340.

“(E) More than 150 beds, shall be $1,500.

“(3) Upon receipt of an application and fee, the licensing agency shall
conduct an investigation. The licensing agency shall issue a license to any
applicant for operation of a residential facility in compliance with ORS
443.002 and 443.400 to 443.455 and the rules of the licensing agency.
Licensure may be denied when a residential facility is not in compliance
with ORS 443.002 or 443.400 to 443.455 or the rules of the licensing agency.
Licensure shall be denied if the State Fire Marshal or other authority has
given notice of noncompliance of facilities defined in ORS 443.400 (5), (7) and
(9) pursuant to ORS 479.220.

“SECTION 5. ORS 443.425 is amended to read:

“443.425. (1) Licensure under ORS 443.415 is effective for two years from

the date of issue unless sooner revoked. Each license shall state the name
of the person operating the residential facility; the name of the person who
owns the facility; the address of the premises to which the license applies
and the maximum number of residents to be maintained in such residential
facility at any time whether the residential facility is licensed as a residen-

tial training facility, a residential treatment facility, a residential care fa-

HB 2684-3 6/8/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2684 Page 2
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cility; a residential training home or residential treatment home and such
other information as the Department of Human Services or the Oregon
Health Authority considers necessary.

“(2) A license is renewable upon submission of an application to the de-
partment or the authority and payment of a fee. No fee shall be required of
a governmentally operated residential facility. Filing of an application for
renewal before the date of expiration of a license extends the effective date
of expiration of the license until the licensing agency has acted upon such
application. The licensing agency shall refuse to renew a license if the fa-
cility is not substantially in compliance with all applicable laws and rules,
or if the State Fire Marshal or the authorized representative thereof has
given notice of noncompliance of facilities under ORS 443.400 (5), (7) and (9)
pursuant to ORS 479.220.

“(3) The biennial fee required under subsection (2) of this section for fa-
cilities:

“(a) Defined in ORS 443.400 (7) and (9), shall be $60.

“(b) Defined in ORS 443.400 (8), shall be $50.

“L(b)] (e) Defined in ORS 443.400 [(8) and] (10), shall be $30.

“[(c)] (d) Defined in ORS 443.400 (5) with:

“(A) One to 15 beds, shall be $360.

“(B) Sixteen to 49 beds, shall be $520.

“(C) Fifty to 99 beds, shall be $1,040.

“(D) One hundred to 150 beds, shall be $1,340.

“(E) More than 150 beds, shall be $1,500.

“SECTION 6. ORS 443.735 is amended to read:

“443.735. (1)(a) Applications for a license to maintain and operate an

adult foster home shall be made on forms provided by the licensing agency.
“(b) Each application submitted to the Department of Human Ser-
vices for an adult foster home serving individuals with intellectual or

developmental disabilities shall be accompanied by a fee of $50 per bed

HB 2684-3 6/8/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2684 Page 3
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requested for licensing.

“(c) Each application submitted to the Oregon Health Authority, or
to the Department of Human Services for an adult foster home not
serving individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities, shall
be accompanied by a fee of $20 per bed requested for licensing.

“(2) Upon receipt of an application and fee, the licensing agency shall
conduct an investigation.

“(3) The licensing agency shall not issue an initial license unless:

“(a) The applicant and adult foster home are in compliance with ORS
443.002 and 443.705 to 443.825 and the rules of the licensing agency;

“(b) The licensing agency has completed an inspection of the adult foster
home;

“(c) The licensing agency has completed a criminal records check under
ORS 181A.195 on the applicant and any person, other than a resident, 16
years of age or older who will be residing in the adult foster home. The
criminal records check shall be conducted in accordance with rules adopted
under ORS 181A.195;

“(d) The licensing agency has determined that the registry maintained
under ORS 441.678 contains no finding that the applicant or any nursing
assistant employed by the applicant has been responsible for abuse; and

“(e) The applicant has demonstrated to the licensing agency the financial
ability and resources necessary to operate the adult foster home. The li-
censing agency shall adopt rules as the agency deems appropriate that es-
tablish the financial standards an applicant must meet to qualify for issuance
of a license and that protect financial information from public disclosure.
The demonstration of financial ability under this paragraph shall include,
but need not be limited to, providing the licensing agency with a list of any
unsatisfied judgments, pending litigation and unpaid taxes and notifying the
agency regarding whether the applicant is in bankruptcy. If the applicant is

unable to demonstrate the financial ability and resources required by this

HB 2684-3 6/8/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2684 Page 4
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paragraph, the licensing agency may require the applicant to furnish a fi-
nancial guarantee as a condition of initial licensure.

“(4) The licensing agency may not renew a license under this section un-
less:

“(a) The applicant and the adult foster home are in compliance with ORS
443.002 and 443.705 to 443.825 and the rules of the licensing agency;

“(b) The licensing agency has completed an inspection of the adult foster
home;

“(c) The licensing agency has completed a criminal records check under
ORS 181A.195 on the applicant and any person, other than a resident, 16
years of age or older who will be residing in the adult foster home. The
criminal records check under this paragraph shall be conducted in accord-
ance with rules adopted under ORS 181A.195; and

“(d) The licensing agency has determined that the registry maintained
under ORS 441.678 contains no finding that the applicant or any nursing
assistant employed by the applicant has been responsible for abuse.

“(5)(a) In seeking an initial license and renewal of a license when an
adult foster home has been licensed for less than 24 months, the burden of
proof shall be upon the provider and the adult foster home to establish
compliance with ORS 443.705 to 443.825 and the rules of the licensing agency.

“(b) In proceedings for renewal of a license when an adult foster home
has been licensed for at least 24 continuous months, the burden of proof shall
be upon the licensing agency to establish noncompliance with ORS 443.705
to 443.825 and the rules of the agency.

“(6)(a) Persons who have been convicted of one or more crimes that, as
determined by rules of the licensing agency, are substantially related to the
qualifications, functions or duties of a provider, substitute caregiver or other
household member of an adult foster home shall be prohibited from operat-
ing, working in or residing in an adult foster home.

“(b) The licensing agency shall adopt rules that distinguish the criminal

HB 2684-3 6/8/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2684 Page 5
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convictions and types of abuse that permanently prohibit a person from op-
erating, working in or living in an adult foster home from the convictions
and types of abuse that do not permanently prohibit the person from oper-
ating, working in or living in an adult foster home.

“(c) A provider may not hire, retain in employment or allow to live in
an adult foster home, other than as a resident, any person who the provider
knows has been convicted of a disqualifying crime or has been found re-
sponsible for a disqualifying type of abuse.

“(7) A license under ORS 443.725 is effective for one year from the date
of issue unless sooner revoked. Each license shall state the name of the
resident manager of the adult foster home, the names of all providers who
own the adult foster home, the address of the premises to which the license
applies, the maximum number of residents and the classification of the adult
foster home. If, during the period covered by the license, a resident manager
changes, the provider must within 15 days request modification of the li-
cense. The request must be accompanied by a fee of $10.

“(8) No license under ORS 443.725 is transferable or applicable to any
location, persons operating the adult foster home or the person owning the
adult foster home other than that indicated on the application for licensing.

“(9) The licensing agency shall not issue a license to operate an addi-
tional adult foster home to a provider unless the provider has demonstrated
the qualifications and capacity to operate the provider’s existing licensed
adult foster homes and has demonstrated the ability to provide to the resi-
dents of those adult foster homes care that is adequate and substantially free
from abuse and neglect.

“(10)(a) All moneys collected under ORS 443.725 to 443.780 from adult
foster homes that are licensed to serve persons with mental, emotional or
behavioral disturbances or alcohol or drug dependence shall be deposited in
a special account in the General Fund, and are appropriated continuously for

payment of expenses incurred by the Oregon Health Authority.

HB 2684-3 6/8/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2684 Page 6
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“(b) All moneys collected under ORS 443.725 to 443.780 from adult foster
homes licensed to serve persons who are elderly, have physical disabilities
or have developmental disabilities shall be deposited in the Quality Care
Fund established in ORS 443.001.

“(11) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section or ORS 443.725
or 443.738, the licensing agency may issue a 60-day provisional license to a
qualified person if the agency determines that an emergency situation exists
after being notified that the licensed provider of an adult foster home is no
longer overseeing operation of the adult foster home.

“SECTION 7. The amendments to ORS 443.415, 443.425 and 443.735
by sections 4 to 6 of this 2017 Act apply to applications for licensure

or renewal of licensure made on or after January 1, 2018.
“SECTION 8. ORS 127.646 is amended to read:
“127.646. As used in ORS 127.646 to 127.654:

“(1) ‘Health care organization’ means a home health agency, hospice pro-

gram, hospital, long term care facility or health maintenance organization.

“(2) ‘Health maintenance organization’ has the meaning given that term
in ORS 750.005, except that ‘health maintenance organization’ includes only
those organizations that participate in the federal Medicare or Medicaid
programs.

“(3) ‘Home health agency’ has the meaning given that term in ORS
443.014.

“(4) ‘Hospice program’ has the meaning given that term in ORS 443.850.

“(5) ‘Hospital’ has the meaning given that term in ORS 442.015.
‘Hospital’ does not include a special inpatient care facility.

“(6) ‘Long term care facility’ has the meaning given that term in ORS
442.015, except that ‘long term care facility’ does not include an intermediate
care facility for individuals with [mental retardation] intellectual or de-
velopmental disabilities.

“SECTION 9. ORS 443.400 is amended to read:

HB 2684-3 6/8/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2684 Page 7
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“443.400. As used in ORS 443.400 to 443.455 and 443.991, unless the context
requires otherwise:

“(1) ‘Director’ means the director of the licensing agency for the residen-
tial facility.

“(2) ‘Licensing agency’ means:

“(a) The Department of Human Services, if the residential facility that is
licensed, or that the Director of Human Services determines should be li-
censed, is a residential care facility, residential training facility or residen-
tial training home; or

“(b) The Oregon Health Authority, if the residential facility that is li-
censed, or that the Director of the Oregon Health Authority determines
should be licensed, is a residential treatment facility or residential treatment
home.

“(3) ‘Resident’ means any individual residing in a facility who receives
residential care, treatment or training. For purposes of ORS 443.400 to
443.455, an individual is not considered to be a resident if the individual is
related by blood or marriage within the fourth degree as determined by civil
law to the person licensed to operate or maintain the facility.

“(4) ‘Residential care’ means services such as supervision; protection; as-
sistance while bathing, dressing, grooming or eating; management of money;
transportation; recreation; and the providing of room and board.

“(5) ‘Residential care facility’ means a facility that provides, for six or
more socially dependent individuals or individuals with physical disabilities,
residential care in one or more buildings on contiguous properties.

“(6) ‘Residential facility’ means a residential care facility, residential
training facility, residential treatment facility, residential training home or
residential treatment home.

“(7) ‘Residential training facility’ means a facility that provides, for six
or more individuals with [mental retardation or other] intellectual or devel-

opmental disabilities, residential care and training in one or more buildings

HB 2684-3 6/8/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2684 Page 8
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on contiguous properties.

“(8) ‘Residential training home’ means a facility that provides, for five
or fewer individuals with [mental retardation or other] intellectual or de-
velopmental disabilities, residential care and training in one or more
buildings on contiguous properties, when so certified and funded by the De-
partment of Human Services.

“(9) ‘Residential treatment facility’ means a facility that provides, for six
or more individuals with mental, emotional or behavioral disturbances or
alcohol or drug dependence, residential care and treatment in one or more
buildings on contiguous properties.

“(10) ‘Residential treatment home’ means a facility that provides for five
or fewer individuals with mental, emotional or behavioral disturbances or
alcohol or drug dependence, residential care and treatment in one or more
buildings on contiguous properties.

“(11) ‘Training’ means the systematic, planned maintenance, development
or enhancement of self-care skills, social skills or independent living skills,
or the planned sequence of systematic interactions, activities or structured
learning situations designed to meet each resident’s specified needs in the
areas of physical, social, emotional and intellectual growth.

“(12) ‘Treatment’ means a planned, individualized program of medical,
psychological or rehabilitative procedures, experiences and activities de-
signed to relieve or minimize mental, emotional, physical or other symptoms
or social, educational or vocational disabilities resulting from or related to
the mental or emotional disturbance, physical disability or alcohol or drug
problem.

“SECTION 10. ORS 456.559, as amended by section 6, chapter 61, Oregon

Laws 2016, is amended to read:

“456.559. (1) The Housing and Community Services Department shall:
“(a) Maintain current housing data and information concerning available

programs, status of funding, programs planned or undertaken which might

HB 2684-3 6/8/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2684 Page 9



10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

conflict with, overlap, duplicate or supersede other planned or existing pro-
grams and call these to the attention of appropriate state agencies, govern-
mental bodies and public or private housing sponsors.

“(b) Provide to appropriate state agencies, governmental bodies and public
or private housing sponsors such advisory and educational services as will
assist them in the development of housing plans and projects.

“(c) Subject to the approval of the Oregon Housing Stability Council,
make noninterest bearing advances, in accordance with ORS 456.710 and the
policies of the department, to qualified nonprofit sponsors for development
costs of housing projects until mortgage funds are released to repay the ad-
vances as provided in ORS 456.710.

“(d) Advise and assist appropriate state agencies, governmental bodies
and public or private housing sponsors, cities and counties, in all programs
and activities which are designed or might tend to fulfill the purposes of
ORS 456.548 to 456.725 and ORS chapter 458.

“(e) Encourage and assist in the planning, development, construction, re-
habilitation and conservation of dwelling units for persons and families of
lower income.

“(f) Be the central state department to apply for, receive and distribute,
on behalf of appropriate state agencies, governmental bodies and public or
private housing sponsors in the state, grants, gifts, contributions, loans,
credits or assistance from the federal government or any other source for
housing programs except when the donor, grantor, or lender of such funds
specifically directs some other agency to administer them. Moneys received
under this section shall be deposited with the State Treasurer in an account
separate and distinct from the General Fund. Interest earned by the account
shall be credited to the account.

“(g) For the purposes of acquiring moneys, credits or other assistance
from any agency or instrumentality of the United States or from any public

corporation chartered by the United States, comply with any applicable

HB 2684-3 6/8/17
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agreements or restrictions for the receipt of such assistance and become a
member of any such association or public corporation chartered by the
United States.

“(h) Assist individuals, appropriate state agencies, governmental bodies
and public or private housing sponsors through a program which provides
housing information, planning, educational services and technical assistance.

“{1) Comply with the requirements of ORS 443.225 in assisting in the de-
velopment of any housing for residential care, training or treatment for
persons with [mental retardation,] intellectual or developmental disabilities
or mental or emotional disturbances.

“(2) Except as otherwise provided in ORS 456.625 (7) and sections 1 to 3,
chapter 61, Oregon Laws 2016, the department may not itself develop, con-
struct, rehabilitate or conserve housing units; and neither the department
nor any housing sponsor, including but not limited to any association, cor-
poration, cooperative housing authority or urban renewal agency organized
to provide housing and other facilities pursuant to ORS 456.548 to 456.725,
may own, acquire, construct, purchase, lease, operate or maintain utility fa-
cilities, including facilities for the generation of electricity, for the distrib-
ution of gas and electricity, and for the conveyance of telephone and
telegraph messages.

“(3) In accordance with the provisions of this section and with the advice
of the council, the department shall establish statewide priorities for housing
programs. State agencies shall coordinate their housing programs with the
department. All state agencies intending to apply for federal funds for use
in planning, developing or managing housing, or rendering assistance to
governmental bodies or sponsors or individuals involved therein shall submit
a description of the proposed activity to the department for review not less
than 30 days prior to the intended date of submission of the application to
the federal agency. The department shall determine whether the proposal

would result in a program that would overlap, duplicate or conflict with any

HB 2684-3 6/8/17
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other housing program in the state. If the department finds overlapping or
duplication or conflict, it shall recommend modifications in the application.
The Oregon Department of Administrative Services shall consider these rec-
ommendations in making its decision to approve or disapprove the applica-
tion. The department shall complete its review and forward its
recommendations within 15 working days after receipt of the notification.
Failure of the department to complete the review within that time shall
constitute approval of the application by the department.

“(4) The Director of the Housing and Community Services Department
may participate in discussions and deliberations of the council. The director
may suggest policies and rules to the council, including those necessary to
stimulate and increase the supply of housing for persons and families of

lower income.”.

HB 2684-3 6/8/17
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