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June 27, 2017 

 
 

 
Members of the Oregon House:  
 
 
With SB 828-B, Oregon becomes the first state to implement a new approach to 
scheduling regulations for employers and employees. We would like to acknowledge the 
bi-partisan effort reflected in the final Legislative proposal. We feel that it incorporates 
the input you received from worker and employer advocates and represents necessary 
changes when compared to the original proposal. 
 
The business community relies on consistency and predictability in its operating 
environment whenever possible. We appreciate the opportunity that was provided to 
openly express our concerns and have a number of those issues addressed in the final 
proposal. 
 
Thank you,  
 
 
Northwest Grocery Association 
Oregon Association of Nurseries 
Oregon Restaurant & Lodging Association 
Oregon Vehicles Dealers Association 
Northwest Auto Trades Association 
Oregon State Association of Plumbing, Heating, Cooling 
Professional Land Surveyors of Oregon 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 



 

 
About SB 828-B: Fair Scheduling for Employees & Employers 

 
  
Effective Date:  Operative Date: July 1, 2018 (7-day notice) 
  Enforcement Operative Date: January 1, 2019 
  Operative Date 14-day Notice:  July 1, 2020 
 
Covered employers: SB 828 only applies to employers of 500+ employees (worldwide) if the 
employers are in the retail, food service or hospitality business AND the employees perform the 
type of services relating to retail, hospitality and food service. Chains or franchises are only 
covered if an individual or entity shares ownership of the chain/franchise AND they have 500+ 
employees. 
 
Estimate of schedule: Employers required to provide employees, only at the time of hire, with a 
“good faith estimate” of the median number of hours the employee can expect to work. 
 
Advance notice of work schedule:  July of 2018 - July of 2020:  7-days in advance 
 July 2020    14-days in advance 
 
Penalty for employer requested changes to work schedule: An employer must pay 1-hour of 
penalty pay for adding 30+ minutes to a shift, changing the start/end time of a shift with no loss 
of hours, or scheduling an additional shift or on-call shift within the advance notice window. An 
employer must pay half of the employee’s regular rate of pay for each scheduled hour that the 
employer subtracts hours from a shift, changes the date/start or end time that result in loss of 
hours, cancels the shift, or when an employee is not called in when scheduled for an on-call 
shift.  
 
Penalty wages do not apply when: an employer changes a shift by less than 30 minutes, an 
employee initiates a shift swap, an employee initiates shift changes, for disciplinary reasons, if a 
shift is canceled due to threat to employees/property, loss of utilities, or natural disaster. An 
employer may also offer additional hours if the employee is currently working without penalty. 
 
Right to Input: Employees have the right to provide input and request changes to their work 
schedules at any time, however employers are not obligated to honor those requests. 
 
Right to Rest: Employers must allow a rest period of at least 10-hours between employee shifts. 
 
Voluntary Standby List: Employees may request or consent to join a voluntary standby list. 
Employers may use the Voluntary Standby List to address unanticipated customer needs or 
unexpected employee absences without penalty pay. 
 
Enforcement: The bill will be enforced by Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) with a narrow 
private right of action for retaliation. 
 
Statewide Preemption: SB 828 provides a permanent, statewide preemption of all local 
government scheduling mandates. 


