
From: Haley Sabatini
To: Sen Gelser; Sen.AlanOlsen@state.or.us; Sen.MichaelDembrow@state.or.us; Sen Knopp; Sen MonnesAnderson;

Rosenberg Corey; exhibits@oregonlegislature.gov
Subject: FW: HB 2004-A
Date: Thursday, May 18, 2017 2:38:17 PM
Attachments: Table Termination and Rent Increase Table.2017.v2.pdf

Hello Senator,
 
We fully support this plea to vote no on passing HB 2004-A. Please take the time to read through
and consider the impacts this has on current residents and communities. This bill will not help, and
only hurt, efforts to effectively manage communities justly and fairly.
 
Thank you,
 
Haley Sabatini
Property Director
Meridian at Murrayhill
Phone: (503)579-5522
Fax: (503)579-5523
www.meridianatmurrayhillapartments.com
 
 
 

From: Jeff Bennett [mailto:bennett@warrenallen.com] 
Sent: Thursday, May 18, 2017 2:27 PM
To: Sen.SaraGelser@oregonlegislature.gov; Sen.AlanOlsen@state.or.us;
Sen.MichaelDembrow@state.or.us; Sen.TimKnopp@oregonlegislature.gov;
Sen.LaurieMonnesAnderson@oregonlegislature.gov; corey.rosenberg@oregonlegislature.gov;
exhibits@oregonlegislature.gov
Subject: HB 2004-A
 
Hello, Senators
 
I understand that HB 2004-A is coming up for a committee hearing on May 31, 2017.
 
FOR CAUSE NOTICES… IN THE REAL WORLD
 
I urge each of you to read and understand how For Cause and Repeat Violation Notices really work,
in order to see why the elimination of No Cause Notices is … crazy.
 
Let’s say that you have a tenant who is smoking, making noise, selling drugs, housing guests, running
an AirBnB operation, conduct commercial business in a residential property, manufacturing drugs, or
committing any of a myriad of other bad acts that are difficult to prove. Now, let’s assume that those
same bad acts are driving all of the neighboring tenants crazy. If the landlord serves a For Cause
Notice, the tenant will cure. (All of the foregoing acts are curable defaults.) if the tenant commits
substantially the same bad act, within six months following the For Cause Notice, the landlord can
serve a 10 Day Repeat Violation Notice. However, here’s the catch….
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No Cause Terminations and Rent Increases in 


Oregon (Including Portland, Milwaukie and Bend) 
By Jeffrey S. Bennett, Attorney at Law 


 


Notices of Termination 


 
1


st
 Year of 


Occupancy 


2
nd


 Year of 


Occupancy 
Comments 


Oregon 30 Days 60 Days 


“’First year of occupancy’ includes all periods in which any 


of the tenants has resided in the dwelling unit for one year or 


less.” (See ORS 90.427(1).) 


Bend 30 Days 90 Days 
The first year/second year distinction is important, in Bend. 


Bend extended the 60 Day Notice to 90 days. 


Portland 
90 Days  90 Days 


The first year/second year distinction is irrelevant in 


Portland and Milwaukie 
Milwaukie 


 


Rent Increases 


The Basic Rules: Oregon 


1
st
 Year of Month-


to-Month Tenancy 


2
nd


 Year of Month-


to-Month Tenancy 
Notice Requirements 


No increase allowed  90 days’ notice  


The notices must specify:  


   (a) The amount of the rent increase;  


   (b) The amount of the new rent; and  


   (c) The date on which the increase becomes effective. 


Additional Rules: Portland 


Can’t increase the rent or “associated housing costs” by 5 percent or more over a 12 month period unless… 


   The Landlord gives notice in writing to each affected Tenant…  


      (a) At least 90 days prior to the effective date of the rent increase; or  


      (b) The time period designated in the Rental Agreement, whichever is longer. 


Notices of Rent Increase must specify  


      (a) The amount of the increase,  


      (b) The amount of the new rent or associated housing costs; 


      (c) The date when the increase becomes effective. 


 


The Caveats 


This table is a mere introduction to the foregoing laws. This table does not cover all conceivable scenarios. 


The complete laws are located in Oregon House Bill 4143, Portland’s Affordable Housing Preservation Code (Code Chapter 30.01.085), and 


Milwaukie Ordinance Number 2118. One reading of these laws will reveal their innate deficiencies. These deficiencies create confusion regarding 


rent increase strategies when fixed term leases are, or were, present. The deficiencies also create more questions than they answer.  


Seek competent legal advice before serving any Notice of Termination or Notice of Rent Increase.                © Jeffrey S. Bennett, Attorney at Law 


 







Additional Rules: Portland’s Relocation Assistance Ordinance 
(Updated February 28, 2017) 


Notices of Termination 


Timing 
If the landlord served a 90 Day (No Cause) Notice of Termination upon the tenant, then the landlord 


shall pay the “Relocation Assistance” to the tenant, at least 45 days prior to the termination date set 


forth in the Termination Notice. 


Non-Renewals 


of Fixed-Term 


Leases 


 “…A Landlord that declines to renew or replace an expiring fixed-term lease on substantially the 


same terms except for the amount of Rent or Associated Housing Costs terminates the Rental 


Agreement and is subject to the provisions of this Subsection.” 


Revocations 


(Notices of 


Termination) 


If a landlord served a Notice of Termination Notice, on or before February 2, 2017, and the Notice 


termination date has not yet arrived, then the Landlord has until March 4, 2017 (i.e., 30 days after 


the effective date of these provisions) to either:  
 


     (a) Give the tenant written notice of that the landlord has rescinded the Notice of Termination, or     
 


     (b) Pay the Relocation Assistance. 


Notices of Rent Increase 


Timing 


If (a) the landlord serves a Notice of Rent Increase indicating a Rent increase of 10 percent or more 


within a 12 month period, and  
 


(b) The Tenant then provides written notice to the Landlord of the Tenant's intent to terminate the 


Rental Agreement (the "Tenant's Notice"), within 14 days after a Tenant receives the Notice, then  
 


(c) Within 14 days of receiving the Tenant's Notice, the Landlord shall pay to the Tenant 


“Relocation Assistance.” 


Revocations of  


Notices of 


Rent Increase 


 


(This Strategy 


Is No Longer 


Available!) 


As of the date of the creation of this updated table (February 28, 2017), Landlords are/were no longer 


able to revoke Notices of Rent Increase, in order to avoid having to pay Renter Relocation 


Assistance. 
 


Historical Context: Previously, a Landlord had the limited ability to revoke a Notice of Rent Increase, 


when all of the following facts were present: (a) The Landlord had served a Notice of Rent Increase 


upon a Tenant prior to February 2, 2017, (b) the Tenant served a responsive Notice of Termination 


upon the Landlord on or before February 16, 2017, and (c) the Landlord served a Revocation of 


Notice of Rent Increase upon the Tenant within 14 days thereafter. Without all of those facts being 


present, revocations were impermissible and ineffective.  
 


The window for implementing the revocation/rescission exception closed in February. 


Amount of Relocation Assistance 


Studio: $2,900 Single Room Occupancy: $2,900 1 Bedroom: $3,300 2 Bedroom: $4,200 3 (+) Bedroom: $4,500 


Exceptions 


Week-to-week tenancies 


Landlords who rent out or leases out only one Dwelling Unit in the City of Portland 


Landlords who temporarily rents out the Landlord's principal residence during the Landlord's absence of not more than 


three years 


Tenants that occupy the same Dwelling Unit as the Landlord                              © Jeffrey S. Bennett, Attorney at Law 


 







 
In order to win an FED (eviction action) based upon the 10 Day Repeat Violation, the landlord must
prove, by a preponderance of the evidence, (a) the first bad acts, (b) the second bad acts, (c) valid
service of the first notice, (d) valid service of the second notice, and so on. Try to imagine carrying
that burden of proof, when the tenant’s smoking, noise making, drug selling, drug manufacturing (a)
occurs within the tenant’s premises, (b) hasn’t been directly witnessed by the landlord (e.g., it
occurred after hours), and (c) is denied by the offending tenants. Try to further imagine proving the
misconduct, when neighboring tenants are scared of the offending tenant, have moved away due to
the offending tenant’s misconduct, etc.
 
It’s extraordinarily difficult to build a solid eviction case, given the foregoing facts and challenges. In
fact, its extraordinarily difficult to build a solid eviction case, given an unimaginably large number of
other factual scenarios.
 
In short, For Cause and Repeat Violation Notices are no substitute for No Cause Notices.
 
YOU’VE ONLY LOOKED AT THE TIP OF THE ICEBERG
 
I noted that HB 2004-A attempts to make some exceptions to the prohibition on No Cause Notices
and the requirement that leases be renewed. However, you’ve probably missed a large neighbor of
potential exceptions that no one ever contemplated. Consider these questions: (a) What happens
when a landlord dies and the estate is supposed to sell the property(ies)? (b) What happens if the
landlord is sick, dying, or broke? (c) What happens if the landlord must sell, due to having to move
out of state? (d) What happens if the termination is required by federal laws (e.g., tenant violations
of LIHTC certification laws, HOME laws, Section 8 laws…)? (e) What happens if the landlord wants to
convert an apartment complex to no smoking (is that a change in terms and conditions)? (f) What
happens if the landlord must move (and sell) due to military obligations? (g) What happens in
eminent domain scenarios?
 
In short, the draft statute contemplates a small fraction of possible scenarios, most of which you’re
unlikely to have imagined or considered, due to the lack of adequate discussion, research and
community outreach. If you assembled a room full of seasoned property managers, they’d likely
present scores of other situations the proposed statute fails to address… because the bill’s authors
never thought of them.
 
DEFINITIONS
 
Please further note that “landlord” may not be correctly defined in the draft statute.
 
TIMING
 
Please further note that not every landlord watches legislative enactments on a daily basis. They
may be at work, on vacation, ill, taking care of family, on military duty…. When Portland enacted its
ordinance, on an emergency basis, it blindsided innumerable landlords. It’s wholly absurd to expect
landlords to discover the existence of new laws, and to comply with them instantaneously, when the



legislature takes no action to notify all landlords of the enactments. In other words, landlords need
time to hear of, adjust to, and comply with new laws.
 
LAWS IN MULTIPLE JURISDICTIONS
 
Take a look at the attached table, and imagine having to manage property in Portland, Milwaukie
and Bend. It’s absurd that a landlord must now look at a grid/table, in order to figure out which
landlord/tenant laws apply to which locality.

DAMAGES
 
There is no discussion of how and when damages are to be paid. Are they conditions precedent to
the filing of FEDs? Are they separate and distinct from FEDs?
 
THE WHOLE PREMISE IS MISTAKEN
 
The draft statute contains the following clause, which is derived from the existing statute prohibiting
rent control: “Cities, counties and state agencies may impose temporary rent controls when a
natural or man-made disaster that materially eliminates a significant portion of the rental housing
supply occurs, but must remove the controls when the rental housing supply is restored to
substantially normal levels.”
 
The statute prohibiting rent control focuses upon disasters. (Think: Hurricane Katrina, the Vanport
Floods, etc.) Portland artificially, and deceptively, combined the concept of a “rent crisis” (which may
or may not even exist) with “disasters.” Since disasters are wholly different from crises, in the
current context espoused by Portland rent control advocates, the proposed statute perpetuates the
underlying problem with the current legal, political, and legislative discussions: it arguably fails to
fully or sufficiently define disaster. If the definition of “disaster” is enhance, then Portland wouldn’t
argue opposite of its clear meaning.
 
OTHER POSSIBLE SOLUTIONS
 
One scenario that triggered a media blitz was one landlord’s attempt to terminate multiple tenants’
tenancies, during a school year, when those tenants had kids in school. From a legislative
perspective, one possible fix would be to allow the use of No Cause Notices, but tie the timing into
school years. 

Even if you think the foregoing premises is overly narrow, or misses the point, it illuminates the fact
that there are many possible legislative solutions that (a) are less Draconian, and (b) which you may
not have considered.
 
SUMMARY
 
I could go on, for many pages. However, you’ve likely obtained the gist of your overwhelmingly
obvious problem: You’re trying to solve a problem that arguably doesn’t exist, using methods that



are counterproductive, and failing to recognize about 90% of the variables that exist. The proposed
statute has enough holes in it through which trucks could be driven, enough ambiguities to trigger
many years of litigation, and would inevitably cause landlords to be increasingly unable to effectively
remove bad tenants from premises.
 
FINAL COMMENTS
 
Landlords are not in the business of removing tenants from premises, despite what tenants’
advocates would lead you to believe. Claiming that landlords are in the business of removing tenants
from premises is like saying that Walmart is in the business of leaving its shelves empty. It is the very
existence of landlord and tenant relationships – in which there are landlords and in which tenants
are present in the property – that should be the focus of the discussion. Landlords want tenants.
Landlords don’t want bad tenants. Tenants don’t want bad tenants living next to them. No Cause
Notices are used to remove bad tenants.
 
HB 2004 would increase the number of bad tenants, and trigger a ripple effect you’ve not yet fully
imagined.
 
Respectfully Yours,
 
JB
 
Jeffrey S. Bennett
Attorney at Law
Warren Allen LLP

850 NE 122nd Avenue
Portland, OR 97230
P: (503) 255-8795
F: (503) 255-8836
E: Bennett@warrenallen.com
W: www.warrenallen.com
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