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The Honorable Representative Jennifer Williamson, Chair
House Committee on Rules

Dear Chair Williamson and Members of the committee,

My name is Brook Reinhard. I’'m an Oregon native, a father to four small children, and an
attorney who has worked at a prosecutor’s office and public defenders’ offices in two counties.
am the executive director of Public Defender Services of Lane County. During my career, I have
worked on hundreds of property crime cases, including cases before Measure 57 took effect. I
have represented clients who, quite frankly, needed a prison sentence to stop committing
property crimes. But I have represented far more clients who either pled guilty to a crime they
did not commit, or were incarcerated for far longer than their individual circumstances merited,
simply because of the coercive effect of the property crime minimums currently in place in
Oregon.

The current structure of ORS 137.717 has the unintended effect of labeling people as “repeat
property offenders” who simply should not be in that category. For instance, if a person is on
supervision for a shoplifting offense such as misdemeanor Theft I1, and that supervision was
either currently in place or had ended sometime within the last three years, 137.717(1)(b)(C)
would impose a prison sentence of at least 18 months prison for a crime such as Theft I.

The current law also fails to model the structure of more concrete repeat offender laws like DUII,
which does not increase penalties for criminal behavior until the person has already been
convicted. A person with no criminal history who uses someone’s credit card without permission
and makes purchases at three separate businesses over a weekend could be charged with three
separate counts of Identity Theft. The first two crimes would serve as a predicate for ORS
137.717(1)(b), causing a presumptive sentence of 18 months prison for the third credit card
transaction.

I remember representing clients under the old repeat property crime statute. Imposing prison for
someone who had four prior property convictions on their record more accurately distinguished
between people who were causing substantial harm in the community and people who were
simply dealing with issues of substance abuse or mental health crisis who had made some
mistakes but did not actually deserve a prison sentence.

It is my hope that HB 3078 will also serve to curb the rampant over-incarceration of females in



Oregon’s prisons. I believe one of the core drivers of this trend is the overbroad language of the
crime of Identity Theft, which allows almost any property offense involving a credit card or
check, however minor, to fit under the umbrella of a felony property crime. While this bill does
not address the language that currently allows such broad prosecutorial discretion, it narrows the
scope of who might receive a prison sentence and who should simply be facing intensive
probation instead.

As the committee well knows, the vast majority of people who are incarcerated will get out and
have to rebuild their life in their community. I ask for your support on HB 3078 because prison
should be a last resort, and taxpayers shouldn’t be paying $40,000+ a year for prison beds for
non-violent offenders who can be effective rehabilitated in the community.

[ urge your yes vote.

Sincerely,

Brook Reinhard
Executive Director,
Public Defender Services of Lane County



