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 Public Health Division 

 Oregon Health Authority 

 

SUBJECT:  SB 1044 -A11, Alcohol Consumption in Certified Smoke Shops 

 

Chair Lininger and members of the committee, my name is Karen Girard and I am 

the Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention Section Manager for the 

Oregon Health Authority. I am here today to provide information related to the -A11 

amendment, concerning the allowance of on-premises consumption of alcoholic 

beverages at smoke shops certified by the Oregon Health Authority. 

 

Oregon's Indoor Clean Air Act (ICAA) protects nearly every Oregon employee and 

resident from the health risks of secondhand smoke by prohibiting smoking in most 

public places and workplaces, including bars and restaurants. There are a few 

exceptions written into the law that continue to expose Oregonians to secondhand 

smoke.  These exemptions include certified cigar bars and certified smoke shops. At 

present, there are 10 certified cigar bars and 23 certified smoke shops in Oregon.  

 

Under current law, cigar bars are the only places where people are allowed to smoke 

(only cigars) for the purposes of smoking. Cigar bars were grandfathered in when 

the ICAA passed in 2007. In smoke shops, people are only allowed to smoke 

tobacco products for the sole purpose of making retail purchase decisions.  

 

The -A11 amendment would amend the ICAA to allow for the consumption of 

alcoholic beverages at smoke shops certified by the Oregon Health Authority. 

Currently, the Oregon Health Authority has certified 23 smoke shops, as defined by 

ORS 433.847. Half of these certified smoke shops (11 out of 23) are hookah 

lounges. Hookah users in Oregon are primarily youth and young adults who are 
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attracted to the flavored tobacco products sold at hookah lounges.1  While only 1.5 

percent of adults over age 25 smoke hookahs, 4 percent of eighth graders use 

hookahs, 7.5 percent of eleventh graders use hookahs, and 12.6 percent of people 

aged 18-25 use hookahs. Allowing the sale and consumption of alcohol in hookah 

lounges would introduce alcohol consumption in places frequented by 18, 19, and 

20 year olds.  

 

According to statute, one of the requirements for becoming a certified smoke shop is 

that the business “allows smoking of tobacco product samples only for the purpose 

of making retail purchase decisions.” Thus, smoke shops allow the customer to 

sample tobacco to determine what tobacco product they would like to purchase, 

which is unrelated to the consumption of alcohol. 

 

Currently, it is only legal to smoke cigars and consume alcohol on the same 

premises in 10 cigar bars, which were grandfathered in when the ICAA passed in 

2007. Allowing consumption of alcoholic beverages in smoke shops expands the 

places where people can smoke tobacco and drink alcohol in the same commercial 

establishment. The ICAA explicitly prohibited smoking in bars, with the sole 

exemption being the existing cigar bars, and erodes social norms that have been 

changed by Indoor Clean Air legislation all over the country. 

 

Exposure to secondhand smoke continues to affect Oregonians. In 2015, an 

estimated 544,000 Oregonians reported that they are exposed to secondhand smoke 

indoors. In Oregon, more than three quarters of a million people use tobacco, 

including more than half a million who smoke cigarettes. 

 

Administering and enforcing Oregon’s Indoor Clean Air Act contributes to the 

Public Health Division’s mission of promoting health and preventing the leading 

causes of death, disease and injury. 

 

Thank you for the opportunity to testify today. I am happy to answer any questions 

you might have. 

                                                           
1 Oregon Health Authority. Public Health Division. Oregon Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention section. Oregon Healthy 

Teens 2015; Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System 2015. Unpublished data. 
 


