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HB 2527 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY
Senate Committee On Health Care

Prepared By: Oliver Droppers, LPRO Analyst
Meeting Dates: 5/18, 5/25

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:
Allows pharmacists to prescribe self-administered hormonal contraceptives and administer injectable hormonal
contraceptives. Defines injectable hormonal contraceptives. Specifies that pharmacist consultations are to be a
covered benefit in prescription drug benefit plans. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

FISCAL:             Minimal fiscal impact.
REVENUE:         No revenue impact.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:
 Implementation of House Bill 2879 (2015)
 Role of pharmacists to prescribe and dispense hormonal contraceptives
 Advantages of expanding contraceptive choices for women

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:
The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists supports improved access to contraceptives for women and
has advocated for over-the-counter status for oral contraceptives as one strategy to prevent unintended pregnancy
as research has shown that with increased access to contraception, unintended pregnancies decrease.

In 2013, California was the first state to pass a law allowing women to go directly to a pharmacist to get a
prescription for birth control pills. In 2015, the Legislative Assembly enacted House Bill 2879, which permits Oregon
pharmacists to prescribe and dispense hormonal contraceptive patches and self-administered oral hormonal
contraceptives to women who are at least 18 years of age. Until January 1, 2020, pharmacists may provide
contraceptives to women under 18 years of age, if they have an existing prescription from a physician for
contraceptives. Additionally, all women seeking prescriptions for birth control from their pharmacist complete a
questionnaire designed to screen for potential risks, allowing the prescribing pharmacist to select an appropriate
product. Pharmacists are required to notify their patient's primary prescriber when a medication is prescribed, and
they can only continue to dispense the product for three years unless they receive proof that a patient has seen her
physician since the medication was initially prescribed.

House Bill 2527-A allows Oregon pharmacists to prescribe contraceptive patches and administer injectable
contraceptives approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration.


