



500 Summer Street NE E20 Salem, OR 97301 Voice: 503-947-2340 Fax: 503-947-2341 TTY: 503-947-5080

May 4, 2017

The Honorable Senator Richard Devlin The Honorable Representative Nancy Nathanson State Emergency Board H-178 State Capitol 900 Court Street NE Salem, OR 97301-4048

Re: Permission to apply – Competitive Grant –Participate in the Promoting Integration of Primary and Behavioral Health Care Grant (OHA-HPA-17-5)

Dear Co-Chairpersons:

## Nature of the Request

The Oregon Health Authority (OHA) is seeking approval to apply and participate in the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration (SAMHSA), Promoting Integration of Primary and Behavioral Health Care (PIPBHC) Grant. During the grant period, the state will receive an anticipated amount of \$2,000,000 per year up to five years. The grant is awarded to the State through a competitive application process and SAMHSA anticipates awarding a total of 11 grants across the nation. If Oregon is awarded the grant, a grant project coordinator will be solicited for contract, for day to grant activity monitoring, reporting, and data collection to ensure compliance with Federal requirements.

The program aims to 1) promote full integration and collaboration in clinical practice between primary and behavioral health care, 2) support the improvement of integrated care models for primary care and behavioral health care to improve the overall wellness and physical health status of adults with serious mental illness (SMI) or children with a serious emotional disturbance (SED), and 3) promote and offer integrated services related to screening, diagnosis, prevention and treatment of mental health and substance use disorders, and co-occurring physical health conditions and chronic diseases. Grant will be awarded on July 1, 2017. The due date for application is May 17, 2017.

The Honorable Senator Richard Devlin The Honorable Representative Nancy Nathanson May 4, 2017 Page 2 of 3

## **Agency Action**

In April 2017, a core workgroup was convened to review the existing behavioral health programs and efforts and it was determined that behavioral health organizations participating in the Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHC) Demonstration project are best positioned to participate in the PIPBHC grant. Oregon received. In 2015 Oregon was awarded the SAMHSA funded Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics Planning Grant. Project deliverables included certifying clinics as certified community behavioral health clinics (CCBHCs), establishing a prospective payment system for Medicaid reimbursable services, and preparing an application to participate in a two year demonstration program. Oregon Health Authority (OHA) certified 12 organizations as CCBHCs and launched the Demonstration Program in April 2017. In additional to federal standards set for CCBHC clinics, Oregon has additional standards for these clinics, which includes integrating at least 20 hours of on-site primary care. The new PIPBHC grant opportunity is extremely timely to help CCBHCs achieve that goal more efficiently.

The following are the primary deliverables during the PIPBHC grant period:

- Integrate primary care into participating CCBHCs as is defined in Oregon Standards for the same
- Produce a sustainable plan to keep primary care integrated into behavioral health clinics beyond the grant period
- Improve access to integrated primary and behavioral health care for adults with serious mental illness and substance use disorder, and co-occurring physical health chronic conditions.

## **Action Requested**

OHA requests authority to apply to participate in the Promoting Integration of primary and Behavioral Health Care (PIPBHC) grant. There would be no required state match required. There will be no additional position authority needed.

The Honorable Senator Richard Devlin The Honorable Representative Nancy Nathanson May 4, 2017 Page 3 of 3

## **Legislation Affected**

None

For additional information, please call Royce Bowlin at 503-367-0479.

Sincerely,

Hynne Saxton

Lynne Saxton Director

CC: Linda Ames, Legislative Fiscal Office Tom MacDonald, Department of Administrative Services George Naughton, Department of Administrative Services Ken Rocco, Legislative Fiscal Office