
Brief Summary of Difference 

Between Current Oregon Eviction Law and HB2004A Just Cause Eviction Law 
For more information, contact Sybil Hebb, Oregon Law Center, 503-936-8959 

 

HB 2004A requires landlords to provide a valid reason for evicting tenants, and retains ability to evict for lease 

violations. 

 

Current Oregon Eviction Law 

Below is the list of current ways an Oregon landlord may terminate a month-to-month tenancy under ORS Chapter 

90: 

1. No-cause termination notices. No reason required, may be used at any time even if Tenant is in full 

compliance with rental agreement. Landlord doesn’t have to have a reason, and if Landlord does have 

a reason, doesn’t have to tell the Tenant what it is. 30-day notice, or 60-day notice after the first year 

of occupancy. (Portland and Milwaukie require 90-day notice) ORS 90.427 (3) 

2. For-cause termination notices: 

a. 30-day notice for any material violation of the rental agreement, or for failure to comply with 

tenant duties. The tenant may cure the cause within 14 days. If the tenant commits substantially the 

same violation within 6 months, a 10 day for-cause termination notice can be used, with no right to 

cure the violation/cause. Tenant duties include keeping the premises clean, using the premises in a 

reasonable manner, not disturbing other tenants, etc. ORS 90.392 and ORS 90.325 

b. 10-day termination notice for an unpermitted pet. Tenant may cure. 90.405 

c. 72-hour notice for nonpayment of rent; tenant can cure within the 72 hours. ORS 90.394 

d. 48-hour termination notice for possession or use of alcohol or drugs in alcohol-and-drug-free 

housing. Tenant may cure. ORS 90.398 

e. 24-hour notice for outrageous conduct such as drugs, violence, intimidation, causing significant 

injury or damage, or other outrageous acts; tenant may not cure. ORS 90.396 

f. 24-hour termination notice for an unauthorized person in possession of a dwelling unit. ORS 90.403 

g. 24-hour termination notice for drug or alcohol use in a group recovery home (e.g., Oxford House). 

No FED required. 90.440 

h. 24-hour termination notice for perpetrating domestic violence. 90.445 

HB 2004A: Just-cause Evictions 

Remove no-cause termination notices from the law, after the first six months of a tenancy, due to their potential for 

significant retaliatory, discriminatory, and displacement impact on Oregon renters and communities. Under HB 

2004A, a landlord must have a stated cause in order to terminate. Terminations would be in 1 of 2 categories: 

1. Landlord-based legitimate causes: 

a. Landlord has sold the property to a person who will live in it as a primary residence; Landlord or 

family member wants to move into the property as a primary residence; Repairs or renovations are 

needed that can’t be done while the unit is occupied; Landlord intends to demolish the unit or to 

convert the dwelling into a different use. 

b. Landlord would give tenant 90 days’ notice, and pay an amount equal to one month’s rent towards 

moving expenses. Landlords with 4 or fewer units would not pay relocation expenses. 

 

2. Tenant-based causes: Retain all the current for-cause notices allowed under current law. 

 

3. Exceptions: The new law would not apply to a landlord who lives on the same property as the tenant with 

2 or fewer units. 


