# HCR 1 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

## Senate Committee On Veterans and Emergency Preparedness

**Prepared By:** C. Ross, LPRO Analyst **Meeting Dates:** 4/25, 5/2

### WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Designates eleven Oregon cities "Medal of Honor" communities.

#### **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

#### **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

[-2 amendment] Changes number of wars from seven to eight. Changes number of communities associated with a recipient from 11 to 12. Adds Oakridge to list of communities.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

The Congressional Medal of Honor is the nation's highest award for valor presented to members of the Armed Forces of the United States for acting above and beyond the call of duty during combat. Oregon has been home to 26 Congressional Medal of Honor recipients, representing all four branches of the military and service in seven wars.

The Medal of Honor Exhibit at Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum was created by the Bend Heroes Foundation. It honors all 26 recipients in a central location but Oregon's Congressional Medal of Honor recipients are not presently honored by Congressional Medal of Honor markers in their communities.

House Concurrent Resolution 1 designates the cities of Agness, Bend, Corvallis, Eugene, Hood River, Jordan Valley, Medford, Richland, Portland, Salem and The Dalles as "Medal of Honor" communities or cities.