Oretonsss

Housmg and Commumty Serv1ces

HB 2315: A Technical Fix for the Oregon Affordable Housing Tax Credit

What The Measure Does:

HB 2315 updates the statute guiding the Oregon Affordable Housing Tax Credit
(OAHTC). The bill clarifies how pass-through savings may be calculated to maintain
compliance under the OAHTC.

Background

The OAHTC provides a state tax credit to lenders to reduce the interest rates on loans
used for the development or rehabilitation of affordable housing. Affordable housing
developers receive a reduced mortgage interest rate, and in return they are required to
pass through that savings to their tenants in the form of reduced rent. Affordable
housing projects benefiting from the OAHTC must demonstrate a dollar for dollar “pass-
through” to tenants, which can be calculated in a variety of ways.

OHCS monitors the long-term compliance of each OAHTC property on an annual basis.
In 2015, OHCS learned that some project managers were incorrectly using tenant-based
rental vouchers to demonstrate pass-through for OAHTC projects. To prevent
widespread program non-compliance and to remove any disincentive to accept tenant-
based vouchers, OHCS adopted a new administrative rule in 2015 (see OAR 813-110-
0013(2)(B)). The rule allows units with tenant-based vouchers to demonstrate a limited
amount of pass-through to meet the obligations under the OAHTC.

Solution

HB 2315 clarifies a 2015 administrative rule by removing the statutory language
“regardless of other subsidies provided.” This statutory update gives OHCS additional
flexibility to specify in rule how OAHTC pass-through should be calculated for units with
tenant-based vouchers. HB 2315 will provide important clarity for the agency as we
monitor compliance under the OAHTC and ensure the integrity of this important state
resource.

For additional information, please contact Ariel Nelson at 503-949-0201 or ariel.nelson@oregon.gov



Pass-Through Example 1

Rent (S) Pass-Through (S)
Unit 1 900 0
Unit 2 900 0
Unit 3 900 0
Unit 4 900 0
Unit 5 900 0
Unit 6 800 100
Unit 7 800 100
Unit 8 800 100
Unit 9 800 100
Unit 10 800 100

Average per-unit pass-through each month = $50
Total monthly pass-through = $500

Pass-Through Example 2

Rent (S) Pass-Through (S)
Unit 1 850 50
Unit 2 850 50
Unit 3 850 50
Unit 4 850 50
Unit 5 850 50
Unit 6 850 50
Unit 7 850 50
Unit 8 850 50
Unit 9 850 50
Unit 10 850 50

For additional information, please contact Ariel Nelson at 503-949-0201 or ariel.nelson@oregon.gov



