Ocean Policy Advisory Council

Agency: Department of Land Conservation and Development Authorization: ORS 196.438 Members: Min: 12 Max: 25 Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Senate confirmation required? Yes

Policy Area: Natural Resources

Board Contact:

Patty Snow Coastal and Coastal Services Division 635 Capitol Street NE, Suite 150 Salem, OR 97301-2540 503-934-0072 Fax: 503-378-6033 patty.snow@state.or.us andy.lanier@state.or.us

Current Appointments:

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

David N Allen Elected City Official Term(s): 04-14-2014 - 06-30-2017 09-27-2004 - 06-30-2008	Position Number: 20
Caren Braby Fish & Wildlife Designee Term(s):	Position Number: 15
Jena L Carter Statewide Conservation/Environmental Organization Term(s): 07-01-2017 - 06-30-2021 03-01-2014 - 06-30-2017	Position Number: 10
Chris Castelli Department of State Lands Term(s):	Position Number: 24
Walter Chuck, Jr Ports, Marine Transportation or Navigation Term(s): 07-01-2017 - 06-30-2021 03-01-2014 - 06-30-2017	Position Number: 5
Jaime Fereday Coastal; Public At Large Term(s): 09-26-2016 - 06-30-2020	Position Number: 11
Meagan K Flier Oregon Indian Tribes Term(s): 09-26-2016 - 06-30-2020	Position Number: 8
Loren J Goddard Coastwide Small Ports & Local Government Term(s): 06-01-2014 - 06-30-2018	Position Number: 9

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Ocean Policy Advisory Council Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)	Policy Area: Natural Resources		
Robin L Hartmann Coastal Conservation or Environmental Organization Term(s): 07-01-2014 - 06-30-2018 04-04-2005 - 06-30-2008	Position Number: 7		
Richard T Heap, Jr. South Coast Sport/Recreational Fishing Term(s): 03-15-2017 - 06-30-2017	Position Number: 4		
Dalton Hobbs Agriculture Designee Term(s):	Position Number: 17		
John O Holloway Charter, sport, recreation ocean Term(s): 09-19-2014 - 06-30-2018	Position Number: 3		
Paul Klarin DLCD Designee Term(s):	Position Number: 21		
Bob Main South Coast Government Term(s): 03-15-2017 - 06-30-2017	Position Number: 25		
Scott R McMullen, Chair Commercial ocean; Astoria Term(s): 03-01-2014 - 06-30-2017 04-04-2005 - 06-30-2008	Position Number: 1		
Bradley G Pettinger Commercial ocean; Brookings Term(s): 03-01-2014 - 06-30-2017 04-04-2005 - 06-30-2008	Position Number: 2		
Charlie Plybon Nonfishing Recreation Term(s): 09-19-2014 - 06-30-2018	Position Number: 6		
Fred J Postlewait, Jr Public Member Term(s): 03-15-2017 - 06-30-2020	Position Number: 12		
Jennifer K Purcell Oregon DEQ Designee Term(s):	Position Number: 23		

Ocean Policy Advisory Council

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)	Policy Area: Natural Resources	
Terry N Thompson Tillamook, Lincoln & Clatsop Counties Representative Term(s): 03-24-2014 - 06-30-2017 09-27-2004 - 06-30-2008	Position Number: 18	
Lisa L Van Laanen Parks & Recreation Dept Term(s):	Position Number: 14	
Shelby E Walker Oregon Sea Grant Director Term(s):	Position Number: 22	

Vacant Apppoinments:

Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
13	Jim Myron	Statute/Bill		
	Governor's Designee			
13	Jessica Hamilton Keys	Statute/Bill		
	Governor's Designee			
13	Ed Bowles	Statute/Bill		
	Governor's Designee			
13	Gabriela Goldfarb	All		
	Governor's Designee			
Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
16	George Priest	Statute/Bill		
	DOGAMI Designee			
16	Vicki McConnell, PhD	Statute/Bill		
	DOGAMI Designee			

Executive Appointments Legislative Review Compiled by Oregon Legislative Committee Services

OFFICE: Ocean Policy Advisory Council

<u>APPOINTEES:</u> Jena Carter of Portland; Reappointment Water Chuck Jr. of Newport; Reappointment

APPOINTMENT/CONFIRMATION AUTHORITY: ORS 196.438

<u>TERM:</u> Four-year terms: July 1, 2017 – June 30, 2021

ECONOMIC INTEREST FILING (ORS 244.050): Not required.

STATUTORY QUALIFICATIONS: ORS 196.438

Affirmative action policy: See ORS 182.100. Diversity criteria: See ORS 236.115.

Term of office for members appointed by the Governor is four years Majority of voting members of the council is a quorum for transaction of business Members include:

- Governor or Governor's designee, as a nonvoting member (GOLDFARB)
- Director or director's designee of the following agencies as nonvoting members
 - Department of Environmental Quality (PETTIT)
 - Department of Fish and Wildlife (BRABY)
 - Department of Geology and Mineral Industries (MCCONNELL)
 - Department of Land Conservation and Development (KLARIN)
 - Division of State Lands (CASTELLI)
 - Parks and Recreation Department (WOOD)
 - Department of Agriculture (HOBBS)
 - On behalf of the State Board of Higher Education, the director or director's designee of Oregon State University, Sea Grant College (HOLDREN)
 - Federal Agency Liaison (LOHRMAN)
- A member of the governing body of Coos, Curry, Douglas or Lane County (MAIN)
 - Appointed by the Governor, chosen in consultation with and with the approval of a majority of the members of the governing bodies of Coos, Curry, Douglas and Lane Counties
- A member of the governing body of Clatsop, Lincoln or Tillamook County (THOMPSON)
 - Appointed by the Governor, chosen in consultation with and with the approval of a majority of the members of the governing bodies of Clatsop, Lincoln and Tillamook Counties
- An elected city official from a coastal city bordering the territorial sea (ALLEN)
 - Appointed by the Governor with advice from an Oregon coastal zone management association
- A representative of each of the following ocean interests appointed by the Governor, subject to Senate confirmation
 - Commercial ocean fisheries of the North Coast from Newport north (McMULLEN, Astoria)
 - Commercial ocean fisheries of the South Coast from south of Newport (PETTINGER, Brookings)
 - Charter, sport or recreation ocean fisheries of the North Coast from Newport north (HOLLOWAY, Portland)
 - Charter, sport or recreation ocean fisheries of the South Coast from south of Newport (HEAP Jr., Brookings)

Ocean Policy Advisory Council

Page 2 of 2

- Ports Marine navigation or transportation (CHUCK Jr.)
- Coastal nonfishing recreation interests of surfing, diving, kayaking or windsurfing (PLYBON)
- o A coastal conservation or environmental organization (HARTMANN)
- Oregon Indian tribes appointed after consultation with the Commission on Indian Services (FLIER)
- A coastwide organization representing a majority of small ports and local governments nonvoting member (GODDARD)
- A statewide conservation or environmental organization (CARTER)
- Two representatives of the public, at least one of whom shall be a resident of a county bordering the territorial sea appointed by the Governor (POSTLEWAIT Jr., vacant)

DUTIES AND AUTHORITY: ORS 196.438-196.471

- Voting members of the council shall elect a person from among the membership to chair the council
- Meet once every six months
- Periodically review the Territorial Sea Plan and submit recommendations for the plan to state agencies represented on the council
- Advance policies of ORS 196.420 (Ocean Resources Management) to the federal government and any multistate bodies
- Provide a forum for discussing ocean resource policy, planning and management issues
- Recommend amendments to the Oregon Ocean Resources Management Plan as needed
- Offer advice to the Governor, the State Land Board, state agencies and local governments on specific ocean resources management issues
- Encourage participation of federal agencies in discussion and resolution of ocean resources planning and management issues affecting Oregon
- Ocean Policy Advisory Council may not, except to the extent of fulfilling specific advisory capacity, establish fishing seasons, harvest allocations, geographic restrictions or other harvest restrictions
- Establish project review panels to address and coordinate interests of the state, federal and local governments in specific development proposals
- Adopt guidelines to establish criteria to create review panels

Revised April 9, 2017 Erin Seiler