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April 24, 2017 
  
House Committee on Health Care 
900 Court St. NE - HR E 
Salem, Oregon 97301 
 
Re: SB 754 - T21 
  
Chair Greenlick and members of the House Committee on Health Care, I am writing 
today on behalf of Multnomah County to urge your support for SB 754, raising the legal 
minimum sales age for tobacco and inhalant products to 21 years old. I have been a 
practicing pediatrician in Oregon for over 20 years and also serve as the Tri-County 
Health Officer for Multnomah, Clackamas and Washington Counties.  
 
Multnomah County would like to express support for Section 27 in this bill, which 
repeals existing punitive laws for minors who possess, purchase or use tobacco and 
inhalant delivery products. The last thing youth need is to be caught in a legal system 
for using products they are addicted to. We would further recommend that the language 
in Section 4(1) be removed, so that this law cannot be used to facilitate targeting of any 
youth, especially youth of color. 
 
We know that adolescent brains are uniquely vulnerable to the effects of nicotine, and 
the initiation age of tobacco use is critical. Among adults who become daily smokers, 
approximately 90% report first use before reaching 19 years of age, and almost 100% 
report first use before age 261. The majority of underage users rely on social sources—
like family and friends—to get tobacco2, so raising the minimum legal sales age to 21 
will mean that those who can legally obtain tobacco are less likely to be in the same 
social networks as high school students. Decreasing the number of eligible buyers in 
high school will help reduce youth smoking by decreasing access to tobacco products 
during the age when they are most likely to become addicted. 
 
In conversations about raising the minimum legal sales age to 21, some have 
suggested “grandfathering in” youth who are currently between the ages of 18-20, 
allowing any individual born after the date of enactment to continue to buy tobacco 
products. Evidence from Hawaii has shown that this can cause confusion for retailers in 

                                                
1 US Dept of Health and Human Services. Preventing tobacco use among youth and young adults: A 
report of the Surgeon General. 2012. 
2 Oregon Healthy Teens Survey, 2015 



 
 

 

 

determining who is eligible to purchase tobacco3.  Additionally, grandfathering in this 
way would delay the public health benefit of this policy by three years, meaning our 
youth would continue using tobacco, increasing their potential of becoming addicted.  
 
According to the Institute of Medicine report released in 2015, “Public Health 
Implications of Raising the Minimum Age of Legal Access to Tobacco Products,” if the 
minimum legal age were raised to 21 and implemented now across the US, there would 
be approximately 223,000 fewer premature deaths for those born between 2000 and 
2019.  
 
Increasing the minimum legal sales age for tobacco and inhalant products is a growing 
policy practice across the country, including the states of Hawaii and California, and 
over 200 counties and cities,4 including Lane County, right here in Oregon. Our state 
can support the health of our youth, prevent addiction, and ultimately, save lives in our 
state by raising the legal sales age for tobacco and inhalant products.  
 
Thank you for taking this important action. 
 
Paul Lewis, MD, MPH 
Health Officer Multnomah County, Oregon 
 

                                                
3 Yamauchi, J. (2017) Letter to Lane County Commissioners, February 9, 2017 
4 Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids (2017) States and localities that have raised the minimum legal sale 
age for tobacco products to 21.  


