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What are Oregon’s alcohol taxes and volumes?

Oregon Alcohol Taxes
Fiscal Year 2016

Alcohol Category Taxable Gallons Sold Tax Rate
Malt Beverage (Beer) 92,967,079 $0.08/Gallon
Table Wine 14,486,048 $0.67/Gallon
Dessert Wine (includes Vermouth) 1,091,266 $0.77/Gallon
Liquor 7,502,590 $22.73/Gallon*
*Estimated tax based on average industry mark ups for wholesale and retail.
Source: Distilled Spirits Council of the United States

What is the theft rate for Oregon Liquor Stores as compared to Washington after
privatization?

Oregon average annual theft amount for all liquor stores totals $9,206.

The Washington theft rate after privatization is unknown as stores are not required to report theft
according to the Washington State Liquor Control and Cannabis Board after privatization. A study
presented to the Washington Legislature in 2014 by independent researchers cited a theft amount of
$250,000 from stores during the first full year after privatization compared to $11,000 in 2012 under the
previous state control system. Police reports related to alcohol theft rose from 5 reports in a 7.5 year
period to 83 in a 10 month period after privatization according to the same study.

http://media.oregonlive.com/politics_impact/other/wash.priv.study.pdf



What are the most expensive bottles of liquor sold in Oregon?

Top Ten Most Expensive Bottles of Liquor Sold in 2016

Product Retail Price Per Bottle Bottles Sold Category
HARDY PERFECTION LUMIERE $ 8,399.95 1 BRANDY / COGNAC
THE MACALLAN "M" DECANTER | $ 6,509.95 2 SCOTCH
COURVOISIER L'ESSENCE HORS | $ 3,512.10 1 BRANDY / COGNAC
REMY MARTIN LOUIS XIII $ 3,262.95 14 BRANDY / COGNAC
HENNESSY PARADIS IMPERIAL $ 3,154.00 2 BRANDY / COGNAC
MACALLAN SCOTCH 30 YR $ 2,979.95 5 SCOTCH
THE MACALLAN FINE OAK SCOTH | $ 2,979.95 1 SCOTCH
JOSE CUERVO 250TH ANNIVERS | § 2,400.00 1 TEQUILA
BRORA 37 YR $ 1,999.95 4 SCOTCH
RESERVA DI LA FAMILIA SERR $ 1,811.10 1 RUM

Do you have estimates of who is relying on the medical marijuana program for tax
avoidance?

This is a very difficult question and likely impossible to estimate accurately. According to the Oregon
Health Authority April/2017 statistical report, there are 61,839 marijuana patient cards issued in Oregon
and 26,067 designated caregivers. Patients or their designated caregivers can purchase marijuana tax
free. An annual card for medical marijuana patients costs $200 and in addition a patient needs a
physician to validate the patient’s condition and need which can cost another $150 per year. In total,
this could cost a patient about $350 per year to maintain a card so there is a potential cost benefit
analysis to be done by each patient if tax avoidance is the objective. Half the patients, however, qualify
for reduced medical card fees (Veterans, Oregon Health plan members, Supplemental Security Income)
which reduces their annual card fees from $200 to $20 so there may be a lower threshold for some.

In February of 2017, OLCC licensed marijuana retailers sold a total of $32.8 million in product. $4.7
million or 14% of these sales were to medical card holders or their caregivers and paid no tax. The
percentage of sales going to medical card holders or their caregivers has increased from 11% in
Nov/2016 to 14% in Feb/2017. One driver of this, however, is the number of medical dispensaries which
have significantly declined since the implementation of the recreational program last year.

It should also be noted that medical card holders can also receive marijuana from designated growers.
44,702 patients (72 percent) are associated with a medical program grower who supplies their medical
marijuana to them. 17,137 medical card holders are not associated with a grower and, in theory, are
purchasing their marijuana from a dispensary or retail outlet.



Do other legal states have liability insurance for marijuana industry participants?

This will take some time for follow-up. We will be meeting with other states in the coming month and
query them for their practices related to liability insurance.

Does the redemption value on bottles exceed the tax generated from the beer within them?

It is not possible to determine how many bottles or cans of beer, specifically, were sold in Oregon last
year but below is the data for all beverage containers sold and redeemed for 2016 under the required
bottle bill reporting. The redemption reports are for total containers by material class (metal, glass, and
plastic) and do not distinguish by type of product. Beer in Oregon is sold in many different sizes of
containers including up to two gallon growlers.

Fiscal Year 2016 Bottle Bill Container Data

Plastic Total Aluminum Glass Plastic Total
Aluminum Glass Containers Containers Container Container Container Containers
Containers Sold | Containers Sold Sold Sales Returned Returned Returned Returned
Total 894,097,409 296,842,706 | 533,464,860 |1,724,404,975| 633,559,420 | 200,986,000 | 277,701,571 | 1,112,246,991
Redemption
Value at 5 cents
Per Container $ 44,704,870 | $ 14,842,135 | $26,673,243 | S 86,220,249 | $31,677,971 | 510,049,300 | $13,885,079 | $ 55,612,350

The beer tax on an average bottle or can of beer (12 ounces) is about %’s of a penny or $0.00762 per
bottle. So the current 5 cents and future 10 cents redemption value for a bottle of beer is higher than

the 0.76 cents that was paid for the beer tax.

paid.

In Fiscal Year 2016, a total of $7,812,344 in beer tax was




