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Testimony of D. Michael Dale 
Before the Senate Workforce Committee 

March 29, 2017 
SB 984 – Protecting Oregon’s Longstanding Overtime Statutes 

 
I am the Executive Director of the Northwest Workers' Justice Project.  I have been a 

lawyer since 1975, and have spent most of that time representing low wage workers.  The 
Northwest Workers' Justice Project provides legal representation to low wage contingent 
workers throughout the economy in sectors such as construction, building maintenance, 
landscaping, hotel and restaurant industry, manufacturing, food processing, agriculture and 
reforestation.  This bill is opposed by the Coalition to Stop Wage Theft, of which NWJP is a 
member.  The Coalition includes about 40 civic, labor, religious and business organizations.1 

 
This bill seeks to undercut Oregon’s overtime protections.  It does so by allowing 

manufacturing employers who schedule a worker for a shift of more than ten hours (entitling 
the worker to daily overtime for hour more than ten under ORS 652.020) in a week that the 
worker also works more than 40 hours (entitling the worker to overtime for hours worked over 
40 under rules promulgated under ORS 653.261) to offset one type of overtime premium 
against the obligations of the other statute. 

 
ORS 652.020 was enacted in 1913 after legislative findings that working in a “mill, 

factory or manufacturing establishment is injurious to the physical health and well-being” of 
the employee and that employees should not work more hours in a day than “is consistent with 
his…ability to promote the general welfare by his increasing usefulness as a healthy and 
intelligent citizen.” ORS 652.010. See State v. Bunting, 71 Or. 259, 261, 139 P. 731 (1914) 
(holding the former criminal penalties for violation of ORS 652.010 to be constitutional). The 
statute permits a limited accommodation for certain situations where an employer would need 
an employee to work longer than the ideal maximum of 10 hours a day, but discourages this 
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practice by requiring employees to be paid overtime after ten hours in a 24-hour period. ORS 
652.010. The key purpose of this statute was to avoid excessively long work days. 

 
ORS 653.261, on the other hand, was passed more than 50 years later to give BOLI 

power to regulate minimum conditions of employment, including requiring a weekly overtime 
premium after 40 hours a week, as part of a general minimum wage scheme applying to most 
workers. ORS 653.261(1). 1967 OR.LAWS, c.596. The attendant BOLI regulation, then, states 
that “all work [except for certain exempt work] performed in excess of forty (40) hours per 
week must be paid for at the rate of not less than one and one-half times the regular rate of 
pay….” OAR 839-020-0030(1).  

 
The legislative and administrative records show that these are two separate overtime 

schemes and that they were never intended to protect the employer from paying both 
obligations. However, SB 984 would allow employers to set off payments of overtime premium 
made under one statute against the overtime earned under the other statute. The Wage and 
Hour Division, which enforces the state's overtime regulations and officially interprets wage 
and hour law, believes that the state's daily and weekly overtime regulations operate 
independently of one another and that therefore there is no basis for offsetting the overtime 
wages earned pursuant to one of the state's overtime provisions against the other in those 
cases where an employee has earned both daily and weekly overtime. To do so would either 
remove the incentive in the law to limit work days to no more than ten hours, or work weeks to 
no more than 40 hours. After this issue first arose in the Wage and Hour Division, the Division 
adopted an official interpretation reflecting this interpretation. See attached policy statement. 
As an official BOLI interpretation of law, this statement can be relied on by the public. 

 
Proponents of SB 984 will no doubt refer to an unofficial BOLI technical assistance 

bulletin that once suggested a contrary policy.  This guidance made clear on its face that it did 
not reflect legal advice of the agency and could not be relied upon by the public.  

 
For the policy reasons reflected in BOLI’s official interpretation of the statute, this bill 

should not move forward. 



FIELD OPERATIONS MANUAL 

VOLUME: I- Wage Collection 
ORS: 652.020 

III - Minimum Wage/Overtime/Working 
653.261 

Conditions 

SUBJECT: Relationship of Daily and Weekly Overtime OAR: 839-020-0030 
Requirements 

SOURCE: Administration DATE: 12116 

0 POLICY IZl INTERPRETATION 0 REFERENCE PAGE: l of l 

Generally, unless exempt, employees in Oregon who are subject to the state's minimum wage law are 
entitled to receive overtime pay at a rate of one and one-half times their regular rate of pay for hours 
worked beyond 40 in a work week. However, certain statutes in the state's wage collection law also 
provide for overtime to be paid on a daily basis. Specifically, ORS 652.020 requires that persons 
employed in any mill, factory or manufacturing establishment be paid at an overtime rate of one and one­
half times their regular rate of pay for hours worked after 10 in a day. 

Neither ORS 653 .261 , which authorizes the Bureau of Labor and Industries to adopt rules concerning 
maximum hours of work and overtime pay for hours worked after 40 in a week, nor ORS 652.020 
stipulates that overtime liability earned under its provisions should be offset by overtime earned pursuant 
to a separate regulation for work performed during the same work week. The two statutes enact distinct 
overtime requirements and serve different purposes with respect to restrictions on hours worked by 
employees. Whereas ORS 653 .261 permits the adoption of rules designed to preserve the health of 
employees by requiring the payment of premium pay when an employee exceeds the weekly maximum, 
ORS 652.020 specifically restricts the daily hours of work in a manufacturing establishment and requires 
the payment of a premium when the number of hours of work exceed the daily maximum on any given 
day. There is no indication in either law that these two overtime regulations are intended to work in 
tandem, so that only one or the other would be applied when an employee earns both daily and weekly 
overtime. 

Therefore, it is the Wage and Hour Division's position that employers, when determining the amount of 
overtime earned by an employee who, during a work week, has worked more than 10 hours per day in a 
manufacturing establishment and more than 40 hours in the week, must calculate the amount of overtime 
earned by the employee under each regulation and pay both overtime amounts to the employee. 

Example: A manufacturing establishment employee must be paid overtime for any hours worked over 10 
in a day and 40 in a work week. 

Day 
Monday 
Tuesday 
Wednesday 
Thursday 
Friday 

Hours 
12 
8 
5 
5 
11 

Total Hours Worked= 41 
Daily Overtime Hours Worked = 3 
Weekly Overtime Hours Worked= 1 
The employer must pay for four hours of overtime. 
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