The Federal and Oregon Earned Income Tax Credits

Federal History

- 1975: Created with the Tax Reduction Act as a temporary refundable credit against social security taxes
- o 1978: increased maximum credit, allowed advance payments, and created the plateau range
- o 1986: the income limits and phase-outs became indexed to inflation
- o 1990: adjusted for family size
- o 1993: extended to taxpayers without children
- o 2001: expanded the married phase-out range
- o 2009: expanded the married phase-out range and increased credit for larger families

Eligibility Criteria (tax year 2016)

- o AGI and earned income must be less than specified amounts
 - \$47,955 (\$53,505 if married) with three or more qualifying children
 - \$44,648 (\$50,198 if married) with two qualifying children
 - \$39,296 (\$44,846 if married) with one qualifying child
 - \$14,880 (\$20,430 if married) with no qualifying children
- Earned income includes wages/salaries & tips that are taxable and net earnings from selfemployment
- o Investment income must be no more than \$3,400
- A qualifying child must meet relationship, age, and residency tests
- Maximum credit is as follows: \$506 (no children); \$3,373 (one child); \$5,572 (two children);
 \$6,296 (3+ children)



Oregon History

- o 1997: SB 388 created a nonrefundable credit equal to 5% of the federal credit
- o 2006: became refundable
- o 2008: increased to 6% of the federal credit
- $\circ\quad$ 2013: increased to 8% of the federal credit
- 2016: increased to 11% if a qualifying child age 2 or younger, effective tax year 2017-2019
- Maximum credit: \$40 (no children); \$270 (one child); \$446 (two children); \$502 (3+ children)
- o 2020: scheduled to sunset

