
Please Oppose HB 2858 
HB 2858 is excessive and overbroad; increases costs for insurance consumers & taxpayers  

 

Oregon has strong insurance regulation and consumer protection laws.  HB 2858 undermines Oregon’s existing fair, affordable 
remedy/restitution process.  It will clog the courts with two lawsuits for every claim, leading to higher settlements. 

 
HB 2858 impacts all lines of insurance including personal lines, health and workers’ compensation.  It 
creates a covert system of administrative “litigation” outside the protection of the court system and will 
“weaponize” the Department of Consumer and Business Affairs.  It creates expansive and overreaching 
administrative procedures for trial lawyers to file claims and engage in civil discovery that is far beyond 
what is allowed by Oregon courts.  
 
In the vast majority of insurance cases, Oregon courts do not allow trial lawyers to harass insurers with 
depositions of adjusters and other personnel, nor allow them to force discovery of insurer claims files, 
proprietary information or attorney client privileged communications between insurers and lawyers.  
 
HB 2858 would dramatically change the landscape and allow all these things in administrative 
proceedings, totally without the involvement or supervision of the courts.  Taxpayers and insurance 
consumers will pay for it.  The bill makes minor and technical violations of the insurance code the source 
of new causes of action and will overwhelm already overburdened courts with new lawsuits. 
 

❖ Creates new causes of action in state and federal courts, including minor and technical violations of 
the insurance code. Uses the power of government to force higher settlements, regardless of merit. 

❖ Creates a contentious, cumbersome process that requires DCBS to investigate all insurance 
complaints – including allegations that a claimant believes a violation “is about to occur.” 

❖ Shifts the cost of “discovery” from attorneys for plaintiffs and defendants to Oregon taxpayers, by 
imposing new disclosure requirements on DCBS in claims disputes. 

❖ Allows lawyers to file two lawsuits on a single insurance claim – one against the defendant for 
damages, and one against the defendant’s insurance company for claims handling procedures. 

❖ Adds anti-competitive disclosure requirements, exposing trade secrets currently protected.  
❖ Expands workload requiring staffing and budget increases at DCBS. 
❖ Disrupts a competitive insurance market that today offers consumers and small businesses some of 

the lowest auto & property insurance rates in the nation. 

CALIFORNIA: A California court decision allowed the doctrine of “two-lawsuits-per-claim” starting in 1979. Another court struck 

down the doctrine in 1988. During that decade, litigation, the number of claims and the cost of handling claims skyrocketed, 
increasing insurance premiums for bodily injury up to 53 percent. After the repeal, the spike in lawsuits, premiums and claims 
costs declined dramatically. Source: RAND Institute for Civil Justice 2001  
 

FLORIDA: The average bodily injury claim payment per insured vehicle grew 68 percent between 1995 and 2013 – when 

Florida also experimented with the “two-lawsuits-per-claim” doctrine. Source: Insurance Research Council, 2014 
 

WEST VIRGINIA: A 2011 study showed that within five years after reforms were adopted by the West Virginia Legislature to 

eliminate the “two-lawsuits-per-claim” doctrine, insurance claims costs in that state were reduced by $200 million.  
Source: Insurance Research Council, 2011 

 
WASHINGTON: After adjusting for inflation, losses have increased 20 percent in Washington for the major property lines of 

insurance following passage of a law allowing plaintiffs to file additional lawsuits against their own insurance companies for 
claims procedures. Source: SNL Financial, 2007-2015; inflation adjusted by PCI 
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