Sovernment Ethics Commission, Oregon Agency: None Authorization: ORS 244.250, HB 2019 Members: Min: 9 Max: 9 Term Length: 4 years Limit: 1 Senate confirmation required? Yes	Policy Area: Intergovernmental Relat Board Contact: Ron Bersin 3218 Pringle Road SE, Suite 220 Salem, OR 97302 503-378-5105 Fax: 503-373-1456 ron.a.bersin@state.or.us Virginia.LUTZ@oregon.gov
rrent Appointments: Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)	
Richard P Burke Senate Minority Office; Liberatarian Term(s): 09-23-2016 - 09-22-2020	Position Number: 8
Marilyn R Cover Democrat Term(s): 05-01-2013 - 04-30-2017	Position Number: 1
Daniel T Golden House Republican Recommendation, Republican Term(s): 06-01-2014 - 05-31-2018	Position Number: 5
Alison R Kean, JD Senate Democrat Recommendation, Democrat Term(s): 02-17-2016 - 02-16-2020	Position Number: 6
Mary F Kremer Senate Republican Recommendation, Republican Term(s): 03-13-2013 - 03-12-2017 05-10-2011 - 03-12-2013	Position Number: 7
Chuck Lee Senate Majority Office; Independent Term(s): 09-23-2016 - 09-22-2020	Position Number: 9
Kenneth S Montoya Republican Term(s): 07-01-2013 - 06-30-2017 11-25-2011 - 06-30-2013	Position Number: 3
Nathan Sosa House Democratic Recommendation; Democrat Term(s): 03-15-2017 - 03-14-2021	Position Number: 4

Government Ethics Commission, Oregon

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Charles S Tauman, Chair House Democratic Recommendation; Democrat Term(s): 12-13-2012 - 12-12-2016

Position Number: 4

Policy Area: Intergovernmental Relat

Vacant Appointments

Johanne Hooper, Vice-Chair Democrat Term(s): 06-26-2014 - 06-25-2018 09-17-2012 - 06-25-2014

Position Number: 2

Executive Appointments Legislative Review Compiled by Oregon Legislative Committee Services

OFFICE: Government Ethics Commission, Oregon

APPOINTEES: Nathan Sosa of Hillsboro; New appointment replacing Tauman

APPOINTMENT/CONFIRMATION AUTHORITY: ORS 244.250

TERM: Four-year term: March 15, 2017 – March 14, 2021

ECONOMIC INTEREST FILING (ORS 244.050): Required.

STATUTORY QUALIFICATIONS: ORS 244.250

Affirmative action policy: See ORS 182.100. Diversity criteria: See ORS 236.115.

- Nine members; 8 members appointed through recommendation of leadership of the Democratic and Republican parties in each house of the Legislative Assembly; 1 member appointed by Governor, no more than two of whom from the same political party.
 - o Senate Republican recommendation: Republican, KREMER
 - House Republican recommendation: Republican, GOLDEN
 - Senate Democratic recommendation: Democrat, KEAN
 - House Democratic recommendation: Democrat, **SOSA**
 - Senate Majority Office: independent, LEE
 - o Senate Minority Office: independent, BURKE
 - o Governor's Appointee: Democrat: COVER
 - House Speaker Recommendation: Democrat: HOOPER
 - o Governor's Appointee: Republican: MONTOYA
- Four-year term; not eligible for more than one full term, but may serve out an unexpired term;
- State and local public officials subject to the requirement for filing a statement of economic interest are not eligible to serve on the Commission; and
- No more than 3 members may be from the same political party

DUTIES AND AUTHORITY: ORS 244.260, 244.280, 244.290

- Elect chairperson and vice-chairperson and adopt rules;
- Upon its own instigation or signed complaint of any person, the Commission may make investigations with respect to complaints filed under ORS Chapter 244, subject to provisions of section 9, Article IV of the Oregon Constitution;
- Issue and publish opinions;
- Prescribe reporting forms;
- Prepare, publish, and provide a manual of recommended uniform reporting methods;
- Prepare and publish reports as the Commission finds necessary;
- May retain or appoint legal counsel only when Commission finds it inappropriate and contrary to the public interest for the Office of the Attorney general to represent concurrently more than one public official or agency in any matter before the Commission because such representation would create or rent to create a conflict of interest and is not subject to ORS provisions relating to appointment by Attorney General of separate representation.

Revised March 6, 2017 Erin Seiler