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Act or ORS chapter 723, or by other state law or rule or federal law or
regulation, a financial institution may not make the information available
to any person other than:

“(1) The customer to whom the ] and

“(2) A trustee, conservator, gua’i"digh, personal representative or agent of

the customer to whom the information applies.-,

= £

':'E'mg"' ‘

“SECTION 178. %RS 475B 580, 475B.640 and 475B.650 and sectlon 4,
chapter 97, Oregon Laws 2016, are repealed.

CONFORMING AMENDMENTS
EFFECTIVE 91ST DAY AFTER ADJOURNMENT SINE DIE

“SECTION 179. ORS 2

P

profession or to use a partlcular occupational or professional title, all annual

licenses issued to individuals by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis

Transportatlon and recreational huntlng an&?ﬁng licen¥®s, as defined by

Bk % to susgen&mﬁm@% the respectlve
: 5

that a child support case reg‘orﬁﬁgs%emg mamtamed by the Department of
Justice, that the %&ﬂ@ is bemg enforced by the administrator under the pro-
visions of ORS 25.080 and that one or both of the following conditions apply:

“(a) That the party holding the license, certificate, permit or registration

is in arrears under any child support judgment or order, in an amount equal

HB 2198-1 3/4/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2198 Page 158




10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

to the greater of three months of support or $2,500, and:

“(A) Has not entered into an agreement with the administrator with re-
spect to the child support obligation; or

“(B) Is not in compliance with an agreement entered into with the ad-
ministrator; or

“(b) That the party holding the license, certificate, permit or registration
has failed, after receiving appropriate notice, to comply with a subpoena or
other procedural order relating to a paternity or child support proceeding
and:

“(A) Has not entered into an agreement with the administrator with re-
spect to compliance; or

“(B) Is not in compliance with such an agreement.

“(2) The Department of Justice by rule shall specify the conditions and
terms of agreements, compliance with which precludes the suspension of the

license, certificate, permit or registration.
“SECTION 180. ORS 25.756 is amended to read:

“25.756. The Department of Justice shall enter into agreements regarding

the identification of persons who are subject to the provisions of ORS 25.750
to 25.783 and who hold licenses, certificates, permits or registrations with:

“(1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission;

“(2) All entities that issue licenses, certificates, permits or registrations
that a person is required by state law to possess to engage in an occupation,
profession or recreational hunting or fishing or to use a particular occupa-
tional or professional title; and

“(3) The Department of Transportation.

“SECTION 181. ORS 25.780 is amended to read:

“25.780. In addition to any other grounds for suspension provided by law:

“(1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission and any en-
tity that issues licenses, certificates, permits or registrations that a person

is required by state law to possess to engage in an occupation, profession

HB 2198-1 3/4/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2198 Page 159




10

11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19

20

© 21

22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29

30

or recreational hunting or fishing or to use a particular occupational or
professional title shall suspend without further hearing the licenses, certif-
icates, permits or registrations of a person upon certification by the admin-
istrator that the person is subject to an order suspending the license,
certificate, permit or registration. The certification must include the infor-
mation specified in ORS 25.750 (1).

“(2) The Department of Transportation shall suspend without further
hearing the driver license or driver permit of a person upon certification by
the administrator that the person is subject to an order suspending the li-
cense or permit. The certification must include the information specified in
ORS 25.750 (1).

“SECTION 182. ORS 165.117 is amended to read:

“165.117. (1) Before completing a transaction, a scrap metal business en-

gaged in business in this state shall:

“(a) Create a metal property record for the transaction at the time and
in the location where the transaction occurs. The record must:

“(A) Be accurate and written clearly and legibly in English;

“(B) Be entered onto a standardized printed form or an electronic form
that is securely stored and is capable of ready retrieval and printing; and

“(C) Contain all of the following information:

“(1) The signature of the individual with whom the scrap metal business
conducts the transaction.

“(i1) The time, date, location and monetary amount or other value of the
transaction.

“(111) The name of the employee who conducts the transaction on behalf
of the scrap metal business.

“(iv) The name and telephone number of the individual with whom the
scrap metal business conducts the transaction and a street address or, if a
post office box is listed on the government-issued photo identification de-

scribed in sub-subparagraph (vi) of this subparagraph, a post office box, to
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which the scrap metal business will mail payment to the individual.

“(v) A description of, and the license number and issuing state shown on
the license plate affixed to, the motor vehicle, if any, used to transport the
individual who conducts, or the nonferrous metal property or private metal
property that is the subject of, the transaction.

“(vi) A photocopy of a current, valid driver license or other government-
issued photo identification belonging to the individual with whom the scrap
metal business conducts the transaction.

“(vil) A photograph of, or video surveillance recording depicting, a re-
cognizable facial image of the individual with whom the scrap metal business
conducts the transaction.

“(viil) A general description of the nonferrous metal property or private
metal property that constitutes the predominant part of the transaction. The
description must include any identifiable marks on the property, if readily
discernible, and must specify the weight, quantity or volume of the
nonferrous metal property or private metal property.

“(b) Require the individual with whom the scrap metal business conducts
a transaction to sign and date a declaration printed in conspicuous type, ei-
ther on the record described in this subsection or on a receipt issued to the

individual with whom the scrap metal business conducts the transaction,
that states:

113

I, , AFFIRM UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THAT THE
PROPERTY I AM SELLING IN THIS TRANSACTION IS NOT, TO THE
BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE, STOLEN PROPERTY.

114

“(c) Require the employee of the scrap metal business who conducts the
transaction on behalf of the scrap metal business to witness the individual
sign the declaration, and also to sign and date the declaration in a space

provided for that purpose.
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“{d) For one year following the date of the transaction, keep a copy of the
record and the signed and dated declaration described in this subsection. If
the scrap metal business uses a video surveillance recording as part of the
record kept in accordance with this subsection, the scrap metal business need
not keep the video surveillance recording for one year, but shall retain the
video surveillance recording for a minimum of 30 days following the date of
the transaction. The scrap metal business shall at all times keep the copies
at the current place of business for the scrap metal business.

“(2) A scrap metal business engaged in business in this state may not do
any of the following:

“(a) Purchase or receive kegs or similar metallic containers used to store
or dispense alcoholic beverages, except from a person that manufactures the
kegs or containers or from a person licensed by the Oregon Liquor Control
and Cannabis Commission under ORS 471.155.

“(b) Conduct a transaction with an individual if the individual does not
at the time of the transaction consent to the creation of the record described
in subsection (1) of this section and produce fof inspection a valid driver li-
cense or other government-issued photo identification that belongs to the
individual.

“(c) Conduct a transaction with an individual in which the scrap metal
business pays the individual other than by electronic funds transfer, stored
value card or stored value device, or by mailing a nontransferable check,
made payable to the individual, for the amount of the transaction to the
street address or post office box the individual provided under subsection
(1)(a)(C)(iv) of this section. Payment must be made not earlier than three
business days after the date of the transaction. The check, electronic funds
transfer or stored value device must be drawn on or must draw from an ac-
count that the scrap metal business maintains with a financial institution,
as defined in ORS 706.008. A stored value card may be issued by a money

transmission business licensed under ORS 717.200 to 717.320 or exempt from
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the licensing requirement under ORS 717.210.

“(d) Purchase metal property from a nonprofit corporation other than by
electronic funds transfer, stored value card or stored value device, or by
mailing a nontransferable check, made payable to the nonprofit corporation,
for the amount of the purchase price to the business address provided under
subsection (4)(a)(B) of this section. Payment must be made not earlier than
three business days after the date of the purchase. The check, electronic
funds transfer or stored value device must be drawn on or must draw from
an account that the scrap metal business maintains with a financial insti-
tution, as defined in ORS 706.008. A stored value card may be issued by a
money transmission business licensed under ORS 717.200 to 717.320 or exempt
from the licensing requirement under ORS 717.210.

“(e) Cash or release a check issued in payment for a transaction or for
a purchase described in paragraph (d) of this subsection other than as pro-
vided in this paragraph or paragraph (c) or (d) of this subsection. If a check
is not delivered to the intended recipient within 10 days of the date of the
transaction or the purchase, the scrap metal business may release the check
directly to the individual or nonprofit corporation with the written approval
of a law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the scrap metal busi-
ness. If a check is returned as undelivered or undeliverable, the scrap metal
business shall:

“(A) Release the check directly to the individual or nonprofit corporation
with the written approval of a law enforcement agency having jurisdiction
over the scrap metal business; or

“(B) Retain the check until the individual or nonprofit corporation to
which the check was mailed provides a valid address in accordance with
subsection (1)(a)(C)(@iv) or (4)(a)(B) of this section. If after 30 days following
the date of the transaction or the purchase described in paragraph (d) of this
subsection the individual or nonprofit corporation fails to provide a valid

address, the scrap metal business may cancel the check and the individual

HB 2198-1 3/4/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2198 Page 163




1 or nonprofit corporation shall forfeit to the scrap metal business the amount
2 due as payment.

3 “(8) If a scrap metal business obtains the approval of a law enforcement
4 agency under subsection (2)(e) of this section, the scrap metal business shall
5 retain the written approval for one year following the date the approval is
6 Trecelved.

7 “(4) Before purchasing or receiving metal property from a commercial
8 seller, a scrap metal business shall:

9 “(a) Create and maintain a commercial account with the commercial
10 seller. As part of the commercial account, the scrap metal business shall
11 enter accurately, clearly and legibly in English onto a standardized printed

12 form, or an electronic form that is securely stored and is capable of ready

13 retrieval and printing, the following information:

14 “(A) The full name of the commercial seller;

15 “(B) The business address and telephone number of the commercial seller;
16 and

17 “(C) The full name of each employee, agent or other individual the com-

18 mercial seller authorizes to receive payment for metal property from the

19 scrap metal business.
20 “(b) Record as part of the commercial account at the time the scrap metal

21  business purchases or receives metal property from a commercial seller the

22 following information:

23 “(A) The time, date and location at which the commercial seller delivered
24 the metal property for purchase or receipt;

25 “(B) The monetary amount or other value of the metal property;

26 “(C) A description of the type of metal property that constitutes the pre-
27 dominant part of the purchase or receipt; and

28 “(D) The signature of the individual who delivered the metal property to

29 the scrap metal business.

30 “(5) A scrap metal business may require an individual from whom the

HB 2198-1 3/4/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2198 Page 164



10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

business obtains metal property to provide the individual’s thumbprint to the
scrap metal business.

“(6) A scrap metal business shall make all records and accounts required
to be maintained under this section available to any peace officer on demand.

“(Ty(a) Violation of this section is a specific fine violation, and the
presumptive fine for the violation is $1,000.

“(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a) of this subsection, the presumptive
fine for a violation of a provision of this section is $5,000 if the scrap metal

business has at least three previous convictions for violations of a provision

of this section.
“SECTION 183. ORS 165.805 is amended to read:

“165.805. (1) A person commits the crime of misrepresentation of age by

a minor 1if:

“(a) Being less than a certain, specified age, the person knowingly pur-
ports to be of any age other than the true age of the person with the intent
of securing a right, benefit or privilege which by law is denied to persons
under that certain, specified age; or

“(b) Being unmarried, the person knowingly represents that the person is
married with the intent of securing a right, benefit or privilege which by law
is denied to unmarried persons.

“(2) Misrepresentation of age by a minor is a Class C misdemeanor.

“(3) In addition to and not in lieu of any other penalty established by law,
a person who, using a driver permit or license or other identification issued
by the Department of Transportation of this state or its equivalent in an-
other state, commits the crime of misrepresentation of age by a minor in
order to purchase or consume alcoholic liquor may be required to perform
community service and the court shall order that the person’s driving privi-
leges and right to apply for driving privileges be suspended for a period not
to exceed one year. If a court has issued an order suspending driving privi-

leges under this section, the court, upon petition of the person, may with-
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draw the order at any time the court deems appropriate. The court
notification to the department under this subsection may include a recom-
mendation that the person be granted a hardship permit under ORS 807.240
if the person is otherwise eligible for the permit.

“(4) The prohibitions of this section do not apply to any person acting
under the direction of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission
or a regulatory specialist or under the direction of state or local law
enforcement agencies for the purpose of investigating possible violations of
laws prohibiting sales of alcoholic beverages to persons who are under a
certain, specified age.

“(5) The prohibitions of this section do not apply to a person under the
age of 21 years who is acting under the direction of a licensee for the pur-
pose of investigating possible violations by employees of the licensee of laws
prohibiting sales of alcoholic beverages to persons who are under the age
of 21 years.

“SECTION 184. ORS 167.402 is amended to read:

“167.402. (1) As used in this section, ‘vending machine’ means a mechan-

ical, electronic or similar device that, upon the insertion of tokens, money
or another form of payment, dispenses tobacco products or inhalant delivery
systems.

“(2) A person may not sell or dispense tobacco products or inhalant de-
livery systems from a vending machine, except in an establishment where the
premises are permanently and entirely off-limits to minors under rules
adopted by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission.

“(3) A person who violates this section commits a Class B violation. Each
day that the person commits the violation constitutes a separate offense.

“SECTION 185. ORS 181A.010 is amended to read:

“181A.010. As used in ORS 181A.010 to 181A.350, unless the context re-

quires otherwise:

“(1) ‘Criminal justice agency’ means:
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“(a) The Governor;

“(b) Courts of criminal jurisdiction;

“(c) The Attorney General;

“(d) District attorneys, city attorneys with criminal prosecutorial func-
tions, attorney employees of the office of public defense services and
nonprofit public defender organizations established under confract with the
Public Defense Services Commission;

“(e) Law enforcement agencies;

“(f) The Department of Corrections;

“(g) The Oregon Youth Authority;

“(h) The State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision;

“(1) The Department of Public Safety Standards and Training;

“(j). The enforcement division of the Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission in performing duties related to investigating and en-
forcing the criminal laws of this state that the commission is charged to
enforce;

“(k) Regional information systems that share programs to track, identify
and remove cross-jurisdictional criminal and terrorist conspiracies; and

“(L) Any other state or local agency with law enforcement authority.

“(2) ‘Criminal offender information’ includes records and related data as
to physical description and vital statistics, fingerprints received and com-
piled for purposes of identifying criminal offenders and alleged offenders,
records of arrests and the nature and disposition of criminal charges, in-
cluding sentencing, confinement, parole and release.

“(3) ‘Department’ means the Department of State Police established under
ORS 181A.015.

“(4) ‘Deputy superintendent’ means the Deputy Superintendent of State
Police appointed under ORS 181A.035.

“(5) ‘Designated agency’ means any state, county or municipal government

agency where Oregon criminal offender information is required to implement
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a federal or state statute, executive order or administrative rule that ex-
pressly refers to criminal conduct and contains requirements or exclusions
expressly based on such conduct or for agency employment purposes, licens-
ing purposes or other demonstrated and legitimate needs when designated
by order of the Governor.

“(6) ‘Disposition report’ means a form or process prescribed or furnished
by the department, containing a description of the ultimate action taken
subsequent to an arrest.

“(7) ‘Law enforcement agency’ means:

“(a) County sheriffs, municipal police departments, police departments
established by a university under ORS 352.121 or 353.125 and state police;

“(b) Other police officers of this state or another state, including humane
special agents as defined in ORS 181A.345;

“(c) A tribal government as defined in ORS 181A.680 that employs au-
thorized tribal police officers as defined in ORS 181A.680; and

“(d) Law enforcement agencies of the federal government.

“(8) ‘State police’ means the sworn members of the state police force ap-
pointed under ORS 181A.050.

“(9) ‘Superintendent’ means the Superintendent of State Police appointed
under ORS 181A.030.

“SECTION 186. ORS 181A.265, as amended by section 40, chapter 117,

Oregon Laws 2016, is amended to read:

“181A.265. (1) The Department of State Police or another criminal justice
agency that the State Chief Information Officer designates shall operate a
Criminal Justice Information Standards program that coordinates informa-
tion among state criminal justice agencies. The program must:

“(a) Ensure that in developing new information systems, data can be re-
trieved to support evaluating criminal justice planning and programs, in-

cluding, but not limited to, evaluating the ability of the programs to reduce

future criminal conduct;
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“(b) Ensure that maximum effort is made for the safety of public safety
officers;

“(c) Establish methods and standards for data interchange and informa-
tion access between criminal justice information systems, in compliance with
information technology rules, policies and standards that the State Chief
Information Officer adopts;

“(d) Design and implement improved applications for exchange of agency
information; and

“(e) Implement the capability to exchange images between criminal justice
agencies.

“(2) The program shall develop a plan to accelerate data sharing and in-
formation integration among criminal justice agencies. The plan must in-
clude, but is not limited to including, priorities, timelines, development costs,
resources needed, the projected ongoing cost of support, critical success fac-
tors and any known barriers to accomplishing the plan. The plan must align
with and support the Enterprise Information Resources Management Strat-
egy described in ORS 291.039. Representatives of criminal justice agencies
and public safety agencies, including but not limited to local law enforce-
ment agencies, courts of criminal jurisdiction, district attorneys, city attor-
neys with criminal prosecutive functions, public defender organizations
established under ORS chapter 151, community corrections directors, jail
managers and county juvenile departments, shall be invited to participate in
the planning process. The program shall present the plan to the State Chief
Information Officer no later than May 30 of each even-numbered year for
development of the Governor’s budget. The program shall submit the plan to
the Joint Legislative Committee on Information Management and Technol-
ogy no later than December 31 of each even-numbered year.

“(3) Notwithstanding the meaning given ‘criminal justice agency’ in ORS
181A.010, as used in this section and ORS 181A.270, ‘criminal justice

agency’ includes, but is not limited to:
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“(a) The Judicial Department;

“(b) The Attorney General;

“(c) The Department of Corrections;

“(d) The Department of State Police;

“(e) Any other state agency with law enforcement authority designated
by order of the Governor,

“(f) The Department of Transportation;

“(g) The State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision;

“(h) The Department of Public Safety Standards and Training;

“(1) The State Department of Fish and Wildlife;

“(3) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission;

“(k) The Oregon Youth Authority;

“(L) The Youth Development Division; and

“(m) A university that has established a police department under ORS
352.121 or 353.125.

“SECTION 187. ORS 181A.275 is amended to read:

“181A.275. (1) There is established a Criminal Justice Information Stan-

dards Advisory Board to advise the Department of State Police or the crim-
inal justice agency that the State Chief Information Officer designates under
ORS 181A.265 (1) about the department’s or the agency’'s duties under ORS
181A.265. The board consists of the following members:

“(a) The State Court Administrator or the administrator’s designee;

“(b) The Director of the Department of Corrections or the director’s
designee;

“(c) The Superintendent of State Police or the superintendent’s designee;

“(d) The executive director of the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission
or the executive director’s designee;

“(e) The Director of Transportation or the director’s designee;

“(f) The chairperson of the State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Super-

vision or the chairperson’s designee;
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“(g) The Director of the Department of Public Safety Standards and
Training or the director’s designee;

“(h) A chief of police designated by the Oregon Association Chiefs of
Police;

“(1) A sheriff designated by the Oregon State Sheriffs’ Association;

“(j) A jail manager designated by the Oregon Sheriff's Jail Command
Council;

“(k) A county juvenile department director designated by the Oregon Ju-
venile Department Directors’ Association;

“(L) A community corrections agency director designated by the Oregon
Association of Community Corrections Directors;

“(m) A district attorney designated by the Oregon District Attorneys As-
soclation;

“(n) The State Chief Information Officer or the State Chief Information
Officer’s designee;

“(0) The Director of the Oregon Youth Authority or the director’s
designee;

“(p) The State Fish and Wildlife Director or the director’s designee;

“(q@) The administrator of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis
Cominission or the administrator’s designee; and

“(r) The Youth Development Director or the director’s designee.

“(2) The board shall meet at such times and places as the board deems
necessary.

“(3) The members of the board are not entitled to compensation but are
entitled to expenses as provided in ORS 292.495.

“SECTION 188. ORS 181A.355 is amended to read:

“181A.355. As used in ORS 181A.355 to 181A.670, unless the context re-

quires otherwise:

“(1) ‘Abuse’ has the meaning given that term in ORS 107.705.
“(2) ‘Board’ means the Board on Public Safety Standards and Training
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appointed pursuant to ORS 181A.360.

“(3) ‘Certified reserve officer’ means a reserve officer who has been des-
ignated by a local law enforcement unit, has received training necessary for
certification and has met the minimum standards and training requirements
established under ORS 181A 410.

“(4) ‘Commissioned’ means being authorized to perform various acts or
duties of a police officer, certified reserve officer or reserve officer and act-
ing under the supervision and responsibility of a county sheriff or as other-
wise provided by law.

“(5) ‘Corrections officer’ means an officer or member employed full-time
by a law enforcement unit who:

“(a) Is charged with and primarily performs the duty of custody, control
or supervision of individuals convicted of or arrested for a criminal offense
and confined in a place of incarceration or detention other than a place used
exclusively for incarceration or detention of juveniles; or

“(b) Has been certified as a corrections officer described in paragraph (a)
of this subsection and has supervisory or management authority for cor-
rections officers described in paragraph (a) of this subsection.

“(6) ‘Department’ means the Department of Public Safety Standards and
Training.

“(7) ‘Director’ means the Director of the Department of Public Safety
Standards and Training.

“(8) ‘Domestic violence’ means abuse between family or household mem-
bers.

“(9) ‘Emergency medical dispatcher’ means a person who has responsibil-
ity to process requests for medical assistance from the public or to dispatch
medical care providers.

“(10) ‘Family or household members’ has the meaning given that term in

ORS 107.705.

“(11) ‘Fire service professional’ means a paid or volunteer firefighter, an
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officer or a member of a public or private fire protection agency that is en-
gaged primarily in fire investigation, fire prevention, fire safety, fire control
or fire suppression or providing emergency medical services, light and heavy
rescue services, search and rescue services or hazardous materials incident

response. ‘Fire service professional’ does not mean forest fire protection

agency personnel.

“(12) ‘Law enforcement unit’ means:

“(a) A police force or organization of the state, a city, university that has
established a police department under ORS 352.121 or 353.125, port, school
district, mass transit district, county, county service district authorized to
provide law enforcement services under ORS 451.010, tribal government as
defined in ORS 181A.680 that employs authorized tribal police officers as
defined in ORS 181A.680, the Criminal Justice Division of the Department
of Justice, the Department of Corrections, the Oregon State Lottery Com-
mission, the Security and Emergency Preparedness Office of the Judicial
Department or common carrier railroad the primary duty of which, as pre-
scribed by law, ordinance or directive, is one or more of the following:

“(A) Detecting crime and enforcing the criminal laws of this state or laws
or ordinances relating to airport security;

“(B) The custody, control or supervision of individuals convicted of or
arrested for a criminal offense and confined to a place of incarceration or
detention other than a place used exclusively for incarceration or detention
of juveniles; or

“(C) The control, supervision and reformation of adult offenders placed
on parole or sentenced to probation and investigation of adult offenders on
parole or probation or being considered for parole or probation;

“(b) A police force or organization of a private entity with a population
of more than 1,000 residents in an unincorporated area the employees of
which are commissioned by a county sheriff;

“(c) A district attorney’s office;
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“(d) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission with regard
to regulatory specialists; or

“(e) A humane investigation agency as defined in ORS 181A.340.

“(13) ‘Parole and probation officer’ means:

“(a) An officer who is employed fulltime by the Department of Cor-
rections, a county or a court and who is charged with and performs the duty
of:

“(A) Community protection by controlling, investigating, supervising and
providing or making referrals to reformative services for adult parolees or
probationers or offenders on post-prison supervision; or

“(B) Investigating adult offenders on parole or probation or being con-
sidered for parole or probation; or

“b) An officer who:

“(A) Is certified and has been employed as a full-time parole and pro-
bation officer for more than one year;

“(B) Is employed part-time by the Department of Corrections, a county
or a court; and

“(C) Is charged with and performs the duty of:

“(1) Community protection by controlling, investigating, supervising and
providing or making referrals to reformative services for adult parolees or
probationers or offenders on post-prison supervision; or

“(i1) Investigating adult offenders on parole or probation or being con-
sidered for parole or probation.

“(14) ‘Police officer’ means:

“(a) An officer, member or employee of a law enforcement unit employed
full-time as a peace officer who is:

“(A) Commissioned by a city, port, school district, mass transit district,
county, county service district authorized to provide law enforcement ser-
vices under ORS 451.010, tribal government as defined in ORS 181A.680, the

Criminal Justice Division of the Department of Justice, the Oregon State
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Lottery Commission, a university that has established a police department
under ORS 352.121 or 353.125, the Governor or the Department of State Po-
lice; and

“(B) Responsible for enforcing the criminal laws of this state or laws or
ordinances relating to airport security;

“(b) An investigator of a district attorney’s office if the investigator is
or has been certified as a peace officer in this or another state;

“(c) A humane special agent commissioned under ORS 181A.340;

“(d) A judicial marshal appointed under ORS 1.177 who is trained pursu-
ant to ORS 181A.540; or

“(e) An authorized tribal police officer as defined in ORS 181A.680.

“(15) ‘Public or private safety agency’ means a unit of state or local
government, a special purpose district or a private firm that provides, or has
authority to provide, fire fighting, police, ambulance or emergency medical
services.

“(16) ‘Public safety personnel’ and ‘public safety officer’ include cor-
rections officers, youth correction officers, emergency medical dispatchers,
parole and probation officers, police officers, certified reserve officers, re-
serve officers, telecommunicators, regulatory specialists and fire service

professionals.

“(17) ‘Regulatory specialist’ has the meaning given that term in ORS
471.001.

“(18) ‘Reserve officer’ means an officer or member of a law enforcement
unit who is:

“(a) A volunteer or employed less than full-time as a peace officer com-
missio_ned by a city, port, school district, mass transit district, county,
county service district authorized to provide law enforcement services under
ORS 451.010, tribal government as defined in ORS 181A.680, the Criminal
Justice Division of the Department of Justice, the Oregon State Lottery

Commission, a university that has established a police department under
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ORS 352.121 or 353.125, the Governor or the Department of State Police;

“(b) Armed with a firearm; and

“(c) Responsible for enforcing the criminal laws and traffic laws of this
state or laws or ordinances relating to airport security.

“(19) ‘Telecommunicator’ means a person employed as an emergency
communications worker as defined in ORS 243.736 or a public safety dis-
patcher whose primary duties are receiving, processing and transmitting
public safety information received through the emergency communications
system as defined in ORS 403.105.

“(20) ‘Youth correction officer’ means an employee of the Oregon Youth
Authority who is charged with and primarily performs the duty of custody,
control or supervision of youth offenders confined in a youth correction fa-
cility.

“SECTION 189. ORS 181A.550 is amended to read:

“181A.550. (1) Except for a person who has requested and obtained an

extension from the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training un-
der subsection (2) of this section, subject to subsection (3) of this section the
Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may not employ a person
as a regulatory specialist for more than 18 months unless the person is a
citizen of the United States who has been certified under ORS 181A.410 as
being qualified as a regulatory specialist and the certification has not:

“(a) Lapsed; or

“(b) Been revoked under ORS 181A.630, 181A.640 and 181A.650 (1) and not
reissued under ORS 181A.630 (2).

“(2) The department, upon the facts contained in an affidavit accompa-
nying the request for extension, may find good cause for failure to obtain
certification within the time period described in subsection (1) of this sec-
tion. If the department finds that there is good cause for the failure, the
department may extend for up to one year the period that a person may serve

as a regulatory specialist without certification. The grant or denial of an
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extension 1s within the sole discretion of the department.

“(8) The citizenship requirement in subsection (1) of this section does not
apply to a person employed as a regulatory specialist on March 16, 2012, who
continues to serve as a regulatory specialist without a lapse under sub-
section (4) of this section.

“(4) The certification of a regulatory specialist shall lapse after three or
more consecutive months of not being employed as a regulatory specialist
unless the regulatory specialist is on leave from the commission. Upon re-
employment as a regulatory specialist, the person whose certification has
lapsed may apply to be certified under ORS 181A.355 to 181A.670.

“(5) The commission shall pay the costs of training required for a regu-
latory specialist to be certified by the department.

“SECTION 190. ORS 181A.840 is amended to read:

“181A.840. As used in ORS 181A.360, 181A.840 to 181A.891, 181A.895 and
181A.995:

“(1) ‘Certification’ means recognition by the Department of Public Safety
Standards and Training that a private security professional meets all of the
qualifications listed in ORS 181A.855.

“(2) ‘Executive manager’ means a person:

“(a) Who is authorized to act on behalf of a company or business in
matters of licensure and certification;

“(b) Who is authorized to hire and terminate personnel;

“(c) Whose primary responsibility is the management of certified private
security professionals; and

“(d) Who has final responsibility for a company’s or business’s compliance
with ORS 181A.840 to 181A.891.

“(8) ‘Instructor’ means any person who has been certified by the depart-
ment as meeting the requirements to provide instruction to private security

providers or applicants.

“(4) ‘License’ means recognition by the department that an executive
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manager or supervisory manager meets the requirements adopted by the
Board on Public Safety Standards and Training as necessary to provide pri-
vate security services.

“(5) ‘Primary responsibility’ means an activity that is fundamental to, and
required or expected in, the regular course of employment and is not merely
incidental to employment.

“(6) ‘Private security professional’ means an individual who performs, as
the individual’s primary responsibility, private security services for consid-
eration, regardless of whether the individual, while performing the private
security services, is armed or unarmed or wears a uniform or plain clothes,
and regardless of whether the individual is employed part-time or full-time
to perform private security services.

“(7) ‘Private security provider’ means any individual who performs the
functions of a private security professional, executive manager, supervisory
manager or instructor.

“(8) ‘Private security services’ means the performance of at least one of
the following activities:

“(a) Observing and reporting unlawful activity.

“(b) Preventing or detecting theft or misappropriation of goods, money
or other items of value.

“(c) Protecting individuals or property, including but not limited to pro-
prietary information, from harm or misappropriation.

“(d) Controlling access to premises being protected or, with respect to a
licensee of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission, control-

ling access to premises at an entry to the premises or any portion of the
premises where minors are prohibited.

“(e) Securely moving prisoners.

“(f) Taking enforcement action by detaining persons or placing persons

under arrest under ORS 133.225.

“(g) Providing canine services for guarding premises or for detecting un-
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lawful devices or substances.

“(9) ‘Supervisory manager’ means an employee of or a person supervised
by an executive manager who has as a primary responsibility the supervision
of certified private security professionals.

“SECTION 191. ORS 181A.845 is amended to read:

“181A.845. (1) ORS 181A.840 to 181A.891 do not apply to:

“(a) A person certified by the Department of Public Safety Standards and

Training as a police officer or a parole and probation officer.

“(b) A law enforcement officer of the United States.

“(c) An officer or employee of this state, Oregon Health and Science
University established by ORS 353.020 or the United States while performing
duties of the office or employment.

“(d) A person appointed or commissioned by the Governor to perform law
enforcement or security services.

“(e) An attorney admitted to practice law in this state while engaged in
the practice of law.

“(f) An insurance adjuster licensed in this state while performing duties
authorized by the license.

“(g) A person who monitors alarm systems that are not designed to detect
threats to public safety or personal well-being.

“(h) A person while protecting the person’s property.

“(i) A person who repairs and installs intrusion alarms while repairing
or installing intrusion alarms.

“(j) A person acting as an investigator as defined in ORS 703.401.

“(k) A person performing crowd management or guest services, inciuding,
but not limited to, a person described as a ticket taker, an usher, a parking
attendant or event staff.

“(L) A person who has a valid service permit issued by the Oregon Liquor
Control and Cannabis Commission pursuant to ORS 471.360 and who is an

employee of a licensee of the commission when the person is performing age
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verification and controlling access to premises of the licensee, if the person

1s not:

“(A) Armed;

“(B) Permitted to initiate confrontational activities, including physical
contact and the confiscation of property; or

“(C) Hired with the primary responsibility of taking enforcement action
as described in ORS 181A.840 (8)(f).

“(m) A person performing security services at a facility regulated by the
United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission if the facility is operated by
the person’s employer.

“(n) An individual while on active duty as a member of the armed services
or while performing duties as a law enforcement officer.

“(0) An employee of a financial institution who has been designated as a
security officer for the financial institution pursuant to the Bank Protection
Act of 1968 (12 U.S.C. 1881 et seq.) and regulations adopted under the act.

“(p) A person who provides security services as a volunteer or for de
minimis consideration other than money for an event operated for the benefit
of a corporation that is organized not for profit pursuant to ORS chapter 65
or any predecessor of ORS chapter 65 or that is exempt from taxation under
section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue Code as an organization described in
section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code.

“(q) A student enrolled in a community college as defined in ORS 341.005
while engaged in nonconfrontational activities that contribute to campus
safety under the direct or indirect supervision of a law enforcement profes-
sional or private security professional certified or licensed by the Depart-
ment of Public Safety Standards and Training, provided the community
college has conducted a criminal background check on the student.

“(2) The exemption provided by subsection (1)(k) of this section applies
only:

“(a) To a person who is not:
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“(A) Armed;

“(B) Permitted to initiate confrontational activities, including physical
contact and the confiscation of property; or

“(C) Hired with the primary responsibility of taking enforcement action
as described in ORS 181A.840 (8)(f);

“(b) If there is at least one person on-site who is certified or licensed
under ORS 181A.870 for every 10 or fewer uncertified persons performing the
services described in subsection (1)(k) of this section;

“(c) If any enforcement action, as described in ORS 181A.840 (8)(f), other
than incidental or temporary action, is taken by or under the supervision
of a person certified or licensed under ORS 181A.870; and

“(d) During the time when a crowd has assembled for the purpose of at-
tending or taking part in an organized event, including pre-event assembly,
event operation hours and post-event departure activities.

“(3) The exemption provided by subsection (1)(L) of this section does not
apply during an organized event that is on a scale substantially outside the
ordinary course of the licensee’s business.

“SECTION 192. ORS 221.770 is amended to read:

“221.770. (1) A share of certain revenues of this state shall be apportioned

among and distributed to the cities of this state for general purposes as
provided in this section. A city shall not be included in apportionments or
receive distributions under this section for a fiscal year commencing on July
1 unless the city:

“(a) Elects to receive distributions under this section for the fiscal year
by enactment of an ordinance or resolution expressing that election and fil-
ing a copy of that ordinance or resolution with the Oregon Department of
Administrative Services not later than July 31 of the fiscal year;

“(b) Holds at least one public hearing, after adequate public notice, at
which citizens have the opportunity to provide written and oral comment to

the authority responsible for approving the proposed budget of the city for

HB 2198-1 3/4/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2198 Page 181




10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29

30

the fiscal year on the possible uses of the distributions, including offset
against property tax levies by the city for the fiscal year, and certifies its
compliance with this paragraph to the Oregon Department of Administrative
Services not later than July 31 of the fiscal year;

“(c) Holds at least one public hearing, after adequate public notice, at
which citizens have the opportunity to provide written and oral comment to,
and ask questions of, the authority responsible for adopting the budget of the
city for the fiscal year on the proposed use of the distributions in relation
to the entire budget of the city for the fiscal year, including possible offset
of the distributions against property tax levies by the city for the fiscal year,
and certifies its compliance with this paragraph to the Oregon Department
of Administrative Services not later than July 31 of the fiscal year; and

“(d) Levied a property tax for the year preceding the year in which reve-
nue sharing is due under ORS 471.810 and this section.

“(2) Not later than 35 days after the last day of each calendar quarter
ending March 31, June 30, September 30 and December 31, the Oregon Liquor
Control and Cannabis Commission shall determine the amount of the net
revenue under ORS 471.805, received during the preceding calendar quarter
and shall certify that amount to the Oregon Department of Administrative
Services.

“(3) In addition to amounts otherwise apportioned to cities under ORS
471.810, not later than 20 days after the date the Oregon Department of Ad-
ministrative Services receives a certification under subsection (2) of this
section, the department shall apportion among the cities of this state in the
manner provided in subsection (4) of this section an amount equal to 14
percent of the amount so certified, and shall pay to each city the amount so
apportioned to the city. Payments shall be made from the Oregon Liquor
Control and Cannabis Commission Account.

“(4) The amount apportioned to each city under subsection (3) of this

section shall be a percentage of the total amount to be apportioned among
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the cities determined by dividing the adjusted population of the city by the
sum of the adjusted populations of all cities. The adjusted population of a
city shall be determined by multiplying the city’s population by the sum of:

“(a) The city’s local consolidated property taxes per capita divided by the
average consolidated property taxes per capita for all cities in the state; and

“(b) The amount of state income per capita divided by the amount of city
income per capita.

“(5) The amount apportioned to each city shall be further limited to an
amount no greater than the amount of all property taxes levied by the city
during the year previous to the year in which distributions are made.

“(6) For purposes of the formula set forth in subsection (4) of this section,
‘city population’ is the population of a city as last determined under ORS
190.510 to 190.590.

“(7)(a) For purposes of the formula set forth in subsection (4) of this
section, ‘local consolidated property taxes’ has the meaning given in sub-
section (8) of this section, for a city divided by the population of the city
as last determined under ORS 190.510 to 190.590.

“(b) The Oregon Department of Administrative Services shall determine
the amounts of property taxes for each city during the fiscal year closing
on June 30 preceding the fiscal year commencing on July 1 for which cal-
endar quarter apportionments are made, and that determination shall be used
for each calendar quarter apportionment for that fiscal year commencing on
July 1.

“(8) For purposes of subsection (7) of this section ‘consolidated property
taxes’ are the total of all compulsory contributions in the form of ad valorem
taxes on property located within a city levied during a one-year period by
the city, a county, any school district and any special governmental district
for public purposes and in amounts as compiled by the Department of Reve-

nue on the basis of application of consolidated tax rates to assessor code

area valuations.
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“(9) For purposes of the formula set forth in subsection (4) of this section,
‘income per capita’ is the estimated average annual money income of resi-
dents of this state and of residents of each city of this state, respectively,
based upon the latest information available from the most recent federal
decennial census.

“(10) A city receiving a distribution under this section may return all or
any part of the distribution to the Oregon Department of Administrative
Services, which shall deposit the returned distribution or part thereof in the

General Fund to be available for payment of the general expenses of the

state.

“SECTION 193. ORS 221.785 is amended to read:

“221.785. (1) Notwithstanding ORS 221.770, 323.455, 366.785 to 366.820 and
471.810, when a proceeding challenging the validity of the incorporation of

a city is commenced before a court or administrative agency of this state
within two years after the incorporation, if the court or agency determines
that the incorporation is invalid, moneys otherwise payable to the city under
ORS 221.770, 323.455, 366.785 to 366.820 and 471.810 shall not be distributed
to the city, but shall be deposited with the State Treasurer as provided in
subsection (3) of this section.

“(2) Not later than 30 days after the issuance of an order or judgment
declaring the incorporation of a city invalid, the party challenging the in-
corporation shall send a certified copy of the order or judgment to the State
Treasurer, Department of Transportation, Department of Revenue and the
Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission.

“(3) Upon receiving a certified copy of the order or judgment under sub-
section (2) of this section, the state officer or department having responsi-
bility for the distribution of moneys under ORS 221.770, 323.455, 366.785 to
366.820 and 471.810 shall deposit those moneys in an escrow account admin-
istered by the State Treasurer.

“(4) Upon final determination of the validity of an incorporation by
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judgment rendered by the highest court in which a decision could be had, the
moneys in the escrow account established under subsection (3) of this section
shall be distributed as follows:

“(a) If the incorporation is determined to be valid, to the city.

“(b) If the incorporation is determined to be invalid, each city in this
state shall receive such share of the moneys as its population bears to the
total population of the cities of the state.

“(5) The State Treasurer, upon receiving a certified copy of the judgment
of the court which constitutes the final determination of the validity of the -
challenged incorporation shall distribute moneys in the escrow account as
provided in subsection (4) of this section.

“(6) The State Treasurer shall retain interest earned on moneys deposited
in the escrow account and shall distribute the interest in the same manner
as other moneys in the account are distributed.

“SECTION 194. ORS 238.005 is amended to read:

“238.005. For purposes of this chapter:

“(1) ‘Active member’ means a member who is presently employed by a
participating public employer in a qualifying position and who has completed
the six-month period of service required by ORS 238.015.

“(2) ‘Annuity’ means payments for life derived from contributions made
by a member as provided in this chapter.

“(3) ‘Board’ means the Public Employees Retirement Board.

“(4) ‘Calendar year’ means 12 calendar months commencing on January
1 and ending on December 31 following.

“(5) ‘Continuous service’ means service not interrupted for more than five
years, except that such continuous service shall be computed without regard
to interruptions in the case of:

“(a) An employee who had returned to the service of the employer as of
January 1, 1945, and who remained in that employment until having estab-

lished membership in the Public Employees Retirement System.
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“(b) An employee who was in the armed services on January 1, 1945, and
returned to the service of the employer within one year of the date of being
otherwise than dishonorably discharged and remained in that employment
until having established membership in the Public Employees Retirement
System.

“(6) ‘Creditable service’ means any period of time during which an active
member is being paid a salary by a participating public employer and for
which benefits under this chapter are funded by employer contributions and
earnings on the fund. For purposes of computing years of ‘creditable
service,” full months and major fractions of a month shall be considered to
be one-twelfth of a year and shall be added to all full years. ‘Creditable
service’ includes all retirement credit received by a member.

“(7) ‘Earliest service retirement age’ means the age attained by a member
when the member could first make application for retirement under the pro-
visions of ORS 238.280.

“(8) ‘Employee’ includes, in addition to employees, public officers, but
does not include:

“(a) Persons engaged as independent contractors.

“(b) Seasonal, emergency or casual workers whose periods of employment
with any public employer or public employers do not total 600 hours in any
calendar year.

“(c) Persons provided sheltered employment or made-work by a public
employer in an employment or industries program maintained for the benefit
of such persons.

“(d) Persons employed and paid from federal funds received under a fed-
eral program intended primarily to alleviate unemployment. However, any
such person shall be considered an ‘employee’ if not otherwise excluded by
paragraphs (a) to (c) of this subsection and the public employer elects to
have the person so considered by an irrevocable written notice to the board.

“(e) Persons who are employees of a railroad, as defined in ORS 824.020,
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and who, as such employees, are included in a retirement plan under federal
railroad retirement statutes. This paragraph shall be deemed to have been
in effect since the inception of the system.

“(9) ‘Final average salary’ means whichever of the following is greater:

“(a) The average salary per calendar year paid by one or more partic-
ipating public employers to an employee who is an active member of the
system in three of the calendar years of membership before the effective date
of retirement of the employee, in which three years the employee was paid
the highest salary. The three calendar years in which the employee was paid
the largest total salary may include calendar years in which the employee
was employed for less than a full calendar year. If the number of calendar
years of active membership before the effective date of retirement of the
employee is three or fewer, the final average salary for the employee is the
average salary per calendar year paid by one or more participating public
employers to the employee in all of those years, without regard to whether
the employee was employed for the full calendar year.

“(b) One-third of the total salary paid by a participating public employer
to an employee who is an active member of the system in the last 36 calendar
months of active membership before the effective date of retirement of the
employee.

“(10) ‘Firefighter’ does not include a volunteer firefighter, but does in-

clude:

“(a) The State Fire Marshal, the chief deputy fire marshal and deputy
state fire marshals; and

“(b) An employee of the State Forestry Department who is certified by the
State Forester as a professional wildland firefighter and whose primary du-
ties include the abatement of uncontrolled fires as described in ORS 477.064.

“(11) ‘Fiscal year’ means 12 calendar months commencing on July 1 and
ending on June 30 following.

“(12) ‘Fund’ means the Public Employees Retirement Fund.
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“(13) ‘Inactive member’ means a member who is not employed in a quali-
fying position, whose membership has not been terminated in the manner
described by ORS 238.095 and who is not retired for service or disability.

“(14) ‘Institution of higher education’ means a public university listed in
ORS 352.002, the Oregon Health and Science University and a community
college, as defined in ORS 341.005.

“(15) ‘Member’ means a person who has established membership in the
system and whose membership has not been terminated as described in ORS
238.095. ‘Member’ includes active, Inactive and retired members.

“(16) ‘Member account’ means the regular account and the variable ac-
count.

“(17) ‘Normal retirement age’ means:

“(a) For a person who establishes membership in the system before Jan-
uary 1, 1996, as described in ORS 238.430, 55 years of age if the employee
retires at that age as a police officer or firefighter or 58 years of age if the
employee retires at that age as other than a police officer or firefighter.

“(b) For a person who establishes membership in the system on or after
January 1, 1996, as described in ORS 238.430, 55 years of age if the employee
retires at that age as a police officer or firefighter or 60 years of age if the
employee retires at that age as other tha\n a police officer or firefighter.

“(18) ‘Pension’ means annual payments for life derived from contributions
by one or more public employers.

“(19) ‘Police officer’ includes:

“(a) Employees of institutions defined in ORS 421.005 as Department of
Corrections institutions whose duties, as assigned by the Director of the
Department of Corrections, include the custody of persons committed to the
custody of or transferred to the Department of Corrections and employees
of the Department of Corrections who were classified as police officers on

or before July 27, 1989, whether or not such classification was authorized

by law.
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“(b) Employees of the Department of State Police who are classified as
police officers by the Superintendent of State Police.

“(c) Employees of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission
who are classified as regulatory specialists by the administrator of the com-
mission.

“(d) Sheriffs and those deputy sheriffs or other employees of a sheriff
whose duties, as classified by the sheriff, are the regular duties of police
officers or corrections officers.

“(e) Police chiefs and police personnel of a city who are classified as po-
lice officers by the council or other governing body of the city.

“(f) Police officers who are commissioned by a university under ORS
352.121 or 353.125 and who are classified as police officers by the university.

“(g) Parole and probation officers employed by the Department of Cor-
rections, parole and probation officers who are transferred to county em-
ployment under ORS 423.549 and adult parole and probation officers, as
defined in ORS 181A.355, who are classified as police officers for the pur-
poses of this chapter by the county governing body. If a county classifies
adult parole and probation officers as police officers for the purposes of this
chapter, and the employees so classified are represented by a labor organ-
ization, any proposal by the county to change that classification or to cease
to classify adult parole and probation officers as police officers for the pur-
poses of this chapter is a mandatory subject of bargaining.

“(h) Police officers appointed under ORS 276.021 or 276.023.

“(1) Employees of the Port of Portland who are classified as airport police
by the Board of Commissioners of the Port of Portland.

“(J) Employees of the State Department of Agriculture who are classified
as livestock police officers by the Director of Agriculture.

“(k) Employees of the Department of Public Safety Standards and Train-

ing who are classified by the department as other than secretarial or clerical

personnel.
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“(L) Investigators of the Criminal Justice Division of the Department of
Justice.

“(m) Corrections officers as defined in ORS 181A.355.

“(n) Employees of the Oregon State Lottery Commission who are classi-
fied by the Director of the Oregon State Lottery as enforcement agents pur-
suant to ORS 461.110.

“(0) The Director of the Department of Corrections.

“(p) An employee who for seven consecutive years has been classified as
a police officer as defined by this section, and who is employed or transferred
by the Department of Corrections to fill a position designated by the Direc-
tor of the Department of Corrections as being eligible for police officer sta-
tus.

“(q@) An employee of the Department of Corrections classified as a police
officer on or prior to July 27, 1989, whether or not that classification was
authorized by law, as long as the employee remains in the position held on
July 27, 1989. The initial classification of an employee under a system im-
plemented pursuant to ORS 240.190 does not affect police officer status.

“(r) Employees of a school district who are appointed and duly sworn
members of a law enforcement agency of the district as provided in ORS
332.531 or otherwise employed full-time as police officers commissioned by
the district.

“(s) Employees at youth correction facilities and juvenile detention facil-
ities under ORS 419A.050, 419A.052 and 420.005 to 420.915 who are required
to hold valid Oregon teaching licenses and who have supervisory, control or
teaching responsibilities over juveniles committed to the custody of the De-
partment of Corrections or the Oregon Youth Authority.

“(t) Employees at youth correction facilities as defined in ORS 420.005
whose primary job description involves the custody, control, treatment, in-
vestigation or supervision of juveniles placed in such facilities.

“(u) Employees of the Oregon Youth Authority who are classified as ju-
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venile parole and probation officers.

“(v) Employees of the Department of Human Services who are prohibited
from striking under ORS 243.726 and whose duties include the care of resi-
dents of residential facilities, as defined in ORS 443.400, that house individ-
uals with intellectual or developmental disabilities.

“(20) ‘Prior service credit’ means credit provided under ORS 238.442 or
under ORS 238.225 (2) to (6) (1999 Edition).

“(21) ‘Public employer’ means the state, one of its agencies, any city,
county, or municipal or public corporation, any political subdivision of the
state or any instrumentality thereof, or an agency created by one or more
such governmehtal organizations to provide governmental services. For pur-
poses of this chapter, such agency created by one or more governmental or-
ganizations is a governmental instrumentality and a legal entity with power
to enter into contracts, hold property and sue and be sued.

“(22) ‘Qualifying position’ means one or more jobs with one or more par-
ticipating public employers in which an employee performs 600 or more hours
of service in a calendar year, excluding any service in a job for which a
participating public employer does not provide benefits under this chapter
pursuant to an application made under ORS 238.035.

“(23) ‘Regular account’ means the account established for each active and
inactive member under ORS 238.250.

“(24) ‘Retired member’ means a member who 1s retired for service or dis-
ability,

“(25) ‘Retirement credit’ means a period of time that is treated as credit-
able service for the purposes of this chapter.

“(26)(a) ‘Salary’ means the remuneration paid an employee in cash out of
the funds of a public employer in return for services to the employer, plus
the monetary value, as determined by the Public Employees Retirement
Board, of whatever living quarters, board, lodging, fuel, laundry and other

advantages the employer furnishes the employee in return for services.
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“(b) ‘Salary’ includes but is not limited to:

“(A) Payments of employee and employer money into a deferred compen-
sation plan, which are deemed salary paid in each month of deferral;

“(B) The amount of participation in a tax-sheltered or deferred annuity,
which 1s deemed salary paid in each month of participation;

“(C) Retroactive payments described in ORS 238.008; and

“(D) Wages of a deceased member paid to a surviving spouse or dependent
children under ORS 652.190.

“(c) ‘Salary’ or ‘other advantages’ does not include:

“(A) Travel or any other expenses incidental to employer’s business which
is reimbursed by the employer;

“(B) Payments for insurance coverage by an employer on behalf of em-
ployee or employee and dependents, for which the employee has no cash op-
tion; |

“(C) Payments made on account of an employee’s death;

“(D) Any lump sum payment for accumulated unused sick leave;

“(E) Any accelerated payment of an employment contract for a future
period or an advance against future wages;

“(F) Any retirement incentive, retirement severance pay, retirement bonus
or retirement gratuitous payment;

“(G) Payments for periods of leave of absence after the date the employer -
and employee have agreed that no future services qualifying pursuant to ORS
238.015 (3) will be performed, except for sick leave and vacation;

“(H) Payments for instructional services rendered to public universities
listed in ORS 352.002 or the Oregon Health and Science University when
such services are in excess of full-time employment subject to this chapter.
A person employed under a contract for less than 12 months is subject to this
subparagraph only for the months to which the contract pertains; or

“(I) Payments made by an employer for insurance coverage provided to a

domestic partner of an employee.
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“(27) ‘School year’ means the period beginning July 1 and ending June 30
next following.

“(28) ‘System’ means the Public Employees Retirement System.

“(29) ‘Variable account’ means the account established for a member who
participates in the Variable Annuity Account under ORS 238.260.

“(30) ‘Vested’ means being an active member of the system in each of five
calendar years.

“(381) ‘Volunteer firefighter’ means a firefighter whose position normally
requires less than 600 hours of service per year.

“SECTION 195. ORS 244.045 is amended to read:
“244.045. (1) A person who has been a Public Utility Commissioner, the

Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services, the Admin-
istrator of the Division of Finance and Corporate Securities, the Adminis-
trator of the Insurance Division, the Administrator of the Oregon Liquor
Control and Cannabis Commission or the Director of the Oregon State
Lottery shall not:

“(a) Within one year after the public official ceases to hold the position
become an employee of or receive any financial gain, other than reimburse-
ment of expenses, from any private employer engaged in the activity, occu-
pation or industry over which the former public official had authority; or

“(b) Within two years after the public official ceases to hold the position:

“(A) Be a lobbyist for or appear as a representative before the agency
over which the person exercised authority as a public official;

“(B) Influence or try to influence the actions of the agency; or

“(C) Disclose any confidential information gained as a public official.

“(2) A person who has been a Deputy Attorney General or an assistant
attorney general shall not, within two years after the person ceases to hold
the position, lobby or appear before an agency that the person represented
while employed by the Department of Justice.

“(3) A person who has been the State Treasurer or the Deputy State
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Treasurer shall not, within one year after ceasing to hold office:

“(a) Accept employment from or be retained by any private entity with
whom the office of the State Treasurer or the Oregon Investment Council
negotiated or to whom either awarded a contract providing for payment by
the state of at least $25,000 in any single year during the term of office of
the treasurer;

“(b) Accept employment from or be retained by any private entity with
whom the office of the State Treasurer or the Oregon Investment Council
placed at least $50,000 of investment moneys in any single year during the
term of office of the treasurer; or

“(c) Be a lobbyist for an investment institution, manager or consultant,
or appear before the office of the State Treasurer or Oregon Investment
Council as a representative of an investment institution, manager or con-
sultant.

“(4) A public official who as part of the official’s duties invested public
funds shall not within two years after the public official ceases to hold the
position:

“(a) Be a lobbyist or appear as a representative before the agency, board
or commission for which the former public official invested public funds;

“(b) Influence or try to influence the agency, board or commission; or

“(c) Disclose any confidential information gained as a public official.

“(5)(a) A person who has been a member of the Department of State Po-
lice, who has held a position with the department with the responsibility for
supervising, directing or administering programs relating to gaming by a
Native American tribe or the Oregon State Lottery and who has been des-
ignated by the Superintendent of State Police by rule shall not, within one
year after the member of the Department of State Police ceases to hold the
position:

“(A) Accept employment from or be retained by or receive any financial

gain related to gaming from the Oregon State Lottery or any Native Ameri-
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can tribe;

“(B) Accept employment from or be retained by or receive any financial
gain from any private employer selling or offering to sell gaming products
or services;

“(C) Influence or try to influence the actions of the Department of State
Police; or

“(D) Disclose any confidential information gained as a member of the
Department of State Police.

“(b) This subsection does not apply to:

“(A) Appointment or employment of a person as an Oregon State Lottery
Commissioner or as a Tribal Gaming Commissioner or regulatory agent
thereof;

“(B) Contracting with the Oregon State Lottery as a lottery game retailer;

“(C) Financial gain received from personal gaming activities conducted
as a private citizen; or

“(D) Subsequent employment in any capacity by the Department of State
Police.

“(c) As used in this subsection, ‘Native American tribe’ means any re-
cognized Native American tribe or band of tribes authorized by the Indian
Gaming Regulatory Act of October 17, 1988 (Public Law 100-497), 25 U.S.C.
2701 et seq., to conduct gambling operations on tribal land.

“(6) A person who has been a member of the Legislative Assembly may
not receive money or any other consideration for lobbying as defined in ORS
171.725 performed during the period beginning on the date the person ceases
to be a member of the Legislative Assembly and ending on the date of
adjournment sine die of the next regular session of the Legislative Assembly
that begins after the date the person ceases to be a member of the Legislative
Assembly.

“SECTION 196. ORS 244.050 is amended to read:

“244.050. (1) On or before April 15 of each year the following persons shall
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file with the Oregon Government Ethics Commission a verified statement of
economic interest as required under this chapter:

“(a) The Governor, Secretary of State, State Treasurer, Attorney General,
Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries, district attorneys and
members of the Legislative Assembly.

“(b) Any judicial officer, including justices of the peace and municipal
judges, except any pro tem judicial officer who does not otherwise serve as
a judicial officer.

“(c) Any candidate for a public office designated in paragraph (a) or (b)
of this subsection.

“(d) The Deputy Attorney General.

“(e) The Deputy Secretary of State.

“(f) The Legislative Administrator, the Legislative Counsel, the Legisla-
tive Fiscal Officer, the Secretary of the Senate and the Chief Clerk of the
House of Representatives.

“(g) The president and vice presidents, or their administrative equiv-
alents, In each public university listed in ORS 352.002.

“(h) The following state officers:

“(A) Adjutant General.

“(B) Director of Agriculture.

“(C) Manager of State Accident Insurance Fund Corporation.

“(D) Water Resources Director.

“(E) Director of Department of Environmental Quality.

“(F) Director of Oregon Department of Administrative Services.

“(G) State Fish and Wildlife Director.

“(H) State Forester.

“(I) State Geologist.

“(J) Director of Human Services.

“(K) Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services.

“(L) Director of the Department of State Lands.
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“(M) State Librarian.

“(N) Administrator of Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission.
“(0) Superintendent of State Police.

“(P) Director of the Public Employees Retirement System.

“(Q) Director of Department of Revenue.

“(R) Director of Transportation.

“(S) Public Utility Commissioner.

“(T) Director of Veterans’ Affairs.

“(U) Executive director of Oregon Government Ethics Commission.
“(V) Director of the State Department of Energy.

“(W) Director and each assistant director of the Oregon State Lottery.
“(X) Director of the Department of Corrections.

£

(Y) Director of the Oregon Department of Aviation.
“(Z) Executive director of the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission.
“(AA) Director of the Oregon Business Development Department.

“(BB) Director of the Office of Emergency Management.

“(CC) Director of the Employment Department.

“(DD) Chief of staff for the Governor.

“(EE) Administrator of the Office for Oregon Health Policy and Research.
“(FF) Director of the Housing and Community Services Department.
“(GG) State Court Administrator.

“(HH) Director of the Department of Land Conservation and Develop-

ment.

“(II) Board chairperson of the Land Use Board of Appeals.

“(JJ) State Marine Director.

“(KK) Executive director of the Oregon Racing Commission.

“(LL) State Parks and Recreation Director.

“(MM) Public defense services executive director.

“(NN) Chairperson of the Public Employees’ Benefit Board.

“(00) Director of the Department of Public Safety Standards and Train-
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ing.

“(PP) Executive director of the Higher Education Coordinating Commis-
sion.

“(QQ) Executive director of the Oregon Watershed Enhancement Board.

“(RR) Director of the Oregon Youth Authority.

“(SS) Director of the Oregon Health Authority.

“(TT) Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction.

“(1) The First Partner, the legal counsel, the deputy legal counsel and all
policy advisors within the Governor’s office,

“(3) Every elected city or county official.

“(k) Every member of a city or county planning, zoning or development
commission.

“(L) The chief executive officer of a city or county who performs the du-
ties of manager or principal administrator of the city or county.

“(m) Members of local government boundary commissions formed un_der
ORS 199.410 to 199.519.

“(n) Every member of a governing body of a metropolitan service district
and the auditor and executive officer thereof.

“(0) Each member of the board of directors of the State Accident Insur-
ance Fund Corporation.

“(p) The chief administrative officer and the financial officer of each
common and union high school district, education service district and com-
munity college district.

“(q) Every member of the following state boards and commissions:

“(A) Board of Geologic and Mineral Industries.

“(B) Oregon Business Development Commission.

“(C) State Board of Education.

“(D) Environmental Quality Commission.

“(E) Fish and Wildlife Commission of the State of Oregon.

“(F) State Board of Forestry.
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“(G) Oregon Government Ethics Commission.
“(H) Oregon Health Policy Board.
“(I) Oregon Investment Council.
“(J) Land Conservation and Development Commission.
“(K) Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission.
“(L) Oregon Short Term Fund Board.
“(M) State Marine Board.
“(N) Mass transit district boards.
“(0) Energy Facility Siting Council.
“(P) Board of Commissioners of the Port of Portland.
“(Q) Employment Relations Board.
“(R) Public Employees Retirement Board.
“(S) Oregon Racing Commission.
“(T) Oregon Transportation Commission.
“(U) Water Resources Commission.
“(V) Workers’” Compensation Board.
“(W) Oregon Facilities Authority.
“(X) Oregon State Lottery Commission.
“(Y) Pacific Northwest Electric Power and Conservation Planning Coun-
cil.
“(Z) Columbia River Gorge Commission.
“(AA) Oregon Health and Science University Board of Directors.
“(BB) Capitol Planning Commission.
“(CC) Higher Education Coordinating Commission.
“(DD) Oregon Growth Board.
“(EE) Early Learning Council.
“(r) The following officers of the State Treasurer:
“(A) Deputy State Treasurer.
“(B) Chief of staff for the office of the State Treasurer.

“(C) Director of the Investment Division.
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“(s) Every member of the board of commissioners of a port governed by
ORS 777.005 to 777.725 or 777.915 to 777.953.
“(t) Every member of the board of directors of an authority created under

ORS 441.525 to 441.595.

“(u) Every member of a governing board of a public university listed in
ORS 352.002.

“(v) Every member of the board of directors of an authority created under
ORS 465.600 to 465.621.

“(2) By April 15 next after the date an appointment takes effect, every
appointed public official on a board or commission listed in subsection (1)
of this section shall file with the Oregon Government Ethics Commission a
statement of economic interest as required under ORS 244.060, 244.070 and
244.090.

“(3) By April 15 next after the filing deadline for the primary election,
each candidate described in subsection (1) of this section shall file with the
commission a statement of economic interest as required under ORS 244.060,
244.070 and 244.090,

“(4) Within 30 days after the filing deadline for the general election, each
candidate described in subsection (1) of this section who was not a candidate
in the preceding primary election, or who was nominated for public office
described in subsection (1) of this section at the preceding primary election
by write-in votes, shall file with the commission a statement of economic
interest as required under ORS 244.060, 244.070 and 244.090.

“(5) Subsections (1) to (4) of this section apply only to persons who are
incumbent, elected or appointed public officials as of April 15 and to persons
who are candidates on April 15. Subsections (1) to (4) of this section also
apply to persons who do not become candidates until 30 days after the filing
deadline for the statewide general election.

“(6) If a statement required to be filed under this section has not been

received by the commission within five days after the date the statement is
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due, the commission shall notify the public official or candidate and give the
public official or candidate not less than 15 days to comply with the re-
quirements of this section. If the public official or candidate fails to comply
by the date set by the commission, the commission may impose a civil pen-
alty as provided in ORS 244.350.

“SECTION 197. ORS 244.050, as amended by section 10, chapter 88,

Oregon Laws 2016, is amended to read:

“244.050. (1) On or before April 15 of each year the following persons shall
file with the Oregon Government Ethics Commission a verified statement of
economic interest as required under this chapter:

“(a) The Governor, Secretary of State, State Treasurer, Attorney General,
Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries, district attorneys and
members of the Legislative Assembly.

“(b) Any judicial officer, including justices of the peace and municipal
judges, except any pro tem judicial officer who does not otherwise serve as
a judicial officer.

“(c) Any candidate for a public office designated in paragraph (a) or (b)
of this subsection.

“(d) The Deputy Attorney General.

“(e) The Deputy Secretary of State.

“(f) The Legislative Administrator, the Legislative Counsel, the Legisla-
tive Fiscal Officer, the Legislative Policy and Research Director, the Secre-
tary of the Senate and the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives.

“(g) The president and vice presidents, or their administrative equiv-
alents, in each public university listed in ORS 352.002.

“(h) The following state officers:

“(A) Adjutant General.

“(B) Director of Agriculture.

“(C) Manager of State Accident Insurance Fund Corporation.

“(D) Water Resources Director.
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“(E) Director of Department of Environmental Quality.

“(F) Director of Oregon Department of Administrative Services.

“(G) State Fish and Wildlife Director.

“(H) State Forester.

“(I) State Geologist.

“(J) Director of Human Services.

“(K) Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services.
“(L) Director of the Department of State Lands.

“(M) State Librarian.

“(N) Administrator of Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission.
“(O) Superintendent of State Police.

“(P) Director of the Public Employees Retirement System.

“(Q) Director of Department of Revenue.

“(R) Director of Transportation.

“(S) Public Utility Commissioner.

“(T) Director of Veterans’ Affairs.

“(U) Executive director of Oregon Government Ethics Commission.

“(V) Director of the State Department of Energy.

“(W) Director and each assistant director of the Oregon State Lottery.
“(X) Director of the Department of Corrections.

“(Y) Director of the Oregon Department of Aviation.

“(Z) Executive director of the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission.
“(AA) Director of the Oregon Business Development Department.

“(BB) Director of the Office of Emergency Management.

“(CC) Director of the Employment Department.

“(DD) Chief of staff for the Governor.

“(EE) Administrator of the Office for Oregon Health Policy and Research.
“(FF) Director of the Housing and Community Services Department.
“(GG) State Court Administrator.

“(HH) Director of the Department of Land Conservation and Develop-
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ment.

“(IT) Board chairperson of the Land Use Board of Appeals.

“(JJ) State Marine Director.

“(KK) Executive director of the Oregon Racing Commission.

“(LL) State Parks and Recreation Director.

“(MM) Public defense services executive director.

“(NN) Chairperson of the Public Employees’ Benefit Board.

“(0O0) Director of the Department of Public Safety Standards and Train-
ing.

“(PP) Executive director of the Higher Education Coordinating Commis-
sion.

“(QQ) Executive director of the Oregon Watershed Enhancement Board.

“(RR) Director of the Oregon Youth Authority.

“(8S) Director of the Oregon Health Authority.

“(TT) Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction.

“(1) The First Partner, the legal counsel, the deputy legal counsel and all
policy advisors within the Governor’s office.

“(J) Every elected city or county official.

“(k) Every member of a city or county planning, zoning or development
commission.

“(L) The chief executive officer of a city or county who performs the du-
ties of manager or principal administrator of the city or county.

“(m) Members of local government boundary commissions formed under
ORS 199.410 to 199.519.

“(n) Every member of a governing body of a metropolitan service district
and the auditor and executive officer thereof.

“(o) Each member of the board of directors of the State Accident Insur-
ance Fund Corporation.

“(p) The chief administrative officer and the financial officer of each

common and union high school district, education service district and com-
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munity college district.

“(q) Every member of the following state boards and commissions:
“(A) Board of Geologic and Mineral Industries.

“(B) Oregon Business Development Commission.

“(C) State Board of Education.

“(D) Environmental Quality Commission.

“(E) Fish and Wildlife Commission of the State of Oregon.
“(F) State Board of Forestry.

“(G) Oregon Government Ethics Commission.

“(H) Oregon Health Policy Board.

“(I) Oregon Investment Council.

“(J) Land Conservation and Development Commission.
“(K) Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission.
“(L) Oregon Short Term Fund Board.

“(M) State Marine Board.

“(N) Mass transit district boards.

“(0) Energy Facility Siting Council.

“(P) Board of Commissioners of the Port of Portland.
“(Q) Employment Relations Board.

“(R) Public Employees Retirement Board.

“(S) Oregon Racing Commission.

“(T) Oregon Transportation Commission.

“(U) Water Resources Commission.

“(V) Workers’ Compensation Board.

“(W) Oregon Facilities Authority.

“(X) Oregon State Lottery Commission.

“(Y) Pacific Northwest Electric Power and Conservation Planning Coun-

“(Z) Columbia River Gorge Commission.

“(AA) Oregon Health and Science University Board of Directors.
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“(BB) Capitol Planning Commission.
“(
“(DD) Oregon Growth Board.

“(EE) Early Learning Council.

BB)
CC) Higher Education Coordinating Commission.

“(r) The following officers of the State Treasurer:

“(A) Deputy State Treasurer.

“(B) Chief of staff for the office of the State Treasurer.

“(C) Director of the Investment Division.

“(s) Every member of the board of commissioners of a port governed by
ORS 777.005 to 777.725 or 777.915 to 777.953.

“(t) Every member of the board of directors of an authority created under

ORS 441.525 to 441.595.

“(u) Every member of a governing board of a public university listed in
ORS 352.002.

“(v) Every member of the board of directors of an authority created under
ORS 465.600 to 465.621.

“(2) By April 15 next after the date an appointment takes effect, every
appointed public official on a board or commission listed in subsection (1)
of this section shall file with the Oregon Government Ethics Commission a
statement of economic interest as required under ORS 244.060, 244.070 and
244.090.

“(8) By April 15 next after the filing deadline for the primary election,
each candidate described in subsection (1) of this section shall file with the
commission a statement of economic interest as required under ORS 244.060,
244.070 and 244.090.

“(4) Within 30 days after the filing deadline for the general election, each
candidate described in subsection (1) of this section who was not a céndidate
in the preceding primary election, or who was nominated for public office
described in subsection (1) of this section at the preceding primary election

by write-in votes, shall file with the commission a statement of economic
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interest as required under ORS 244.060, 244.070 and 244.090.

“(5) Subsections (1) to (4) of this section apply only to persons who are
incumbent, elected or appointed public officials as of April 15 and to persons
who are candidates on April 15. Subsections (1) to (4) of this section also
apply to persons who do not become candidates until 30 days after the filing
deadline for the statewide general election.

“(6) If a statement required to be filed under this section has not been
received by the commission within five days after the date the statement is
due, the commission shall notify the public official or candidate and give the
public official or candidate not less than 15 days to comply with the re-
quirements of this section. If the public official or candidate fails to comply
by the date set by the commission, the commission may impose a civil pen-
alty as provided in ORS 244.350.

“SECTION 198. ORS 279A.025 is amended to read:

“279A.025. (1) Except as provided in subsections (2) to (4) of this section,

the Public Contracting Code applies to all public contracting.

“(2) The Public Contracting Code does not apply to:

“(a) Contracts between a contracting agency and:

“(A) Another contracting agency;

“(B) The Oregon Health and Science University;

“(C) A public university listed in ORS 352.002;

“(D) The Oregon State Bar;

“(E) A governmental body of another state;

“(F) The federal government;

“(G) An American Indian tribe or an agency of an American Indian tribe;

“(H) A nation, or a governmental body in a nation, other than the United
States; or

“(I) An intergovernmental entity formed between or among:

“(1) Governmental bodies of this or another state;

“(i1) The federal government;
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“(111) An American Indian tribe or an agency of an American Indian tribe;

“(iv) A nation other than the United States; or

“(v) A governmental body in a nation other than the United States;

“(b) Agreements authorized by ORS chapter 190 or by a statute, charter
provision, ordinance or other authority for establishing agreements between
or among governmental bodies or agencies or tribal governing bodies or
agencies;

“(c) Insurance and service contracts as provided for under ORS 414.115,
414.125, 414.135 and 414.145 for purposes of source selection;

“(d) Grants;

“(e) Contracts for professional or expert witnesses or consultants to pro-
vide services or testimony relating to existing or potential litigation or legal
matters in which a public body is or may become interested;

“(f) Acquisitions or disposals of real property or interest in real property;

“(g) Sole-source expenditures when rates are set by law or ordinance for
purposes of source selection;

“(h) Contracts for the procurement or distribution of textbooks;

“(1) Procurements by a contracting agency from an Oregon Corrections
Enterprises program; |

“(3) The procurement, transportation [or], distribution or sales of distilled
liquor, as defined in ORS 471.001, or the appointment of agents under ORS
471.230 or 471.750 by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission;

“(k) Contracts entered into under ORS chapter 180 between the Attorney
General and private counsel or special legal assistants;

“(L) Contracts for the sale of timber from lands owned or managed by the
State Board of Forestry and the State Forestry Department;

“(m) Contracts for activities necessary or convenient for the sale of tim-
ber under paragraph (L) of this subsection, either separately from or in
conjunction with contracts for the sale of timber, including but not limited

to activities such as timber harvesting and sorting, transporting, gravel pit
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development or operation, and road construction, maintenance or improve-
ment;

“(n) Contracts for forest protection or forest related activities, as de-
scribed in ORS 477.406, by the State Forester or the State Board of Forestry;

“(o) Contracts entered into by the Housing and Community Services De-
partment in exercising the department’s duties prescribed in ORS chapters
456 and 458, except that the department’s public contracting for goods and
services is subject to ORS chapter 279B;

“(p) Contracts entered into by the State Treasurer in exercising the
powers of that office prescribed in ORS 178.010 to 178.100 and ORS chapters
286A, 287A, 289, 293, 294 and 295, including but not limited to investment
contracts and agreements, banking services, clearing house services and
collateralization agreements, bond documents, certificates of participation
and other debt repayment agreements, and any associated contracts, agree-
ments and documents, regardless of whether the obligations that the con-
tracts, agreements or documents establish are general, special or limited,
except that the State Treasurer’s public contracting for goods and services
is subject to ORS chapter 279B;

“(q) Contracts, agreements or other documents entered into, issued or es-
tablished in connection with:

“(A) The issuance of obligations, as defined in ORS 286A.100 and
287A.310, of a public body;

“(B) The making of program loans and similar extensions or advances of
funds, aid or assistance by a public body to a public or private body for the
purpose of carrying out, promoting or sustaining activities or programs au-
thorized by law; or

“(C) The investment of funds by a public body as authorized by law, and
other financial transactions of a public body that by their character cannot
practically be established under the competitive contractor selection proce-
dures of ORS 279B.050 to 279B.085;
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“(r) Contracts for employee benefit plans as provided in ORS 243.105 (1),
243.125 (4), 243.221, 243.275, 243.291, 243.303 and 243.565;

“(s) Contracts for employee benefit plans as provided in ORS 243.860 to
243.886; or '

“(t) Any other public contracting of a public body specifically exempted
from the code by another provision of law.

“(3) The Public Contracting Code does not apply to the contracting ac-
tivities of:

“(a) The Oregon State Lottery Commission;

“(b) The legislative department;

“(c) The judicial department;

“(d) Semi-independent state agencies listed in ORS 182.454, except as
provided in ORS 279.835 to 279.855 and 279A.250 to 279A.290;

“(e) Oregon Corrections Enterprises;

“(f) The Oregon Film and Video Office, except as provided in ORS
279A.100 and 279A.250 to 279A.290;

“(g) The Travel Information Council, except as provided in ORS 279A.250
to 279A.290;

“(h) The Oregon 529 Savings Network and the Oregon 529 Savings Board,;

“(1) The Oregon Innovation Council;

“(j) The Oregon Utility Notification Center; or

“(k) Any other public body specifically exempted from the code by another
provision of law.

“(4) ORS 279A.200 to 279A.225 and 279B.050 to 279B.085 do not apply to
contracts made with qualified nonprofit agencies providing employment op-
portunities for individuals with disabilities under ORS 279.835 to 279.855.

“SECTION 199. ORS 297.210 is amended to read:

“297.210. (1)(a) The Secretary of State, as State Auditor, shall have the

accounts and financial affairs of state departments, boards, commissions, in-

stitutions and state-aided institutions and agencies of the state reviewed or
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audited as the Secretary of State considers advisable or necessary.

“(b) The Secretary of State, as State Auditor, may conduct performance
audits of school districts and education service districts. For audits con-
ducted under this paragraph:

“(A) The Secretary of State shall identify by rule factors and standards
by which the secretary will determine whether to initiate an audit as au-
thorized under this paragraph or to enter into a contract with the Depart-
ment of Education to conduct an audit as provided by ORS 327.141.

“(B) Prior to initiating an audit, the Secretary of State shall:

“(1) Give notice to the school district or the education service district of
the secretary’s intent to initiate the audit; and

“(11) Provide the school district or the education service district with the
opportunity to provide to the secretary any information related to the sub-
ject of the audit.

“(C) Following the review of any information provided under subpara-
graph (B) of this paragraph, the Secretary of State may:

“(1) Decline to proceed with the audit; or

“(11) Cause the audit to be conducted.

“(D) The Secretary of State may charge a school district or an education
service district for a portion of the costs incurred for an audit authorized
by this paragraph. Amounts charged as provided by this subparagraph shall
be in lieu of any amounts that may be charged as provided by ORS 297.230.

“(c) The Secretary of State, as State Auditor, may conduct audits of the
use of fund transfers from the state to counties, including but not limited to
transfers of video lottery revenues, state highway funds, cigarette tax reve-
nues and Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission funds.

“(d) The Secretary of State may subpoena witnesses, require the pro-
duction of books and papers and rendering of reports in such manner and
form as the Secretary of State requires and may do all things necessary to

secure a full and thorough investigation.
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“(e) The Secretary of State shall report, in writing, to the Governor. The
report shall include a copy of the report on each audit.

“(f) In addition to the report described in paragraph (e) of this subsection,
the Secretary of State shall provide a report to a school district board or the
board of directors of an education service district following an audit con-
ducted as provided by paragraph (b) of this subsection.

“(2) The Secretary of State may audit or review any institution or de-
partment of the state government at any time the executive head of the in-
stitution or department, for any reason, retires from the head’s office or
position. The secretary need not conduct an audit or review under this sub-
section if:

“(a) The institution or department has been the subject of an audit or
review of financial controls within the six months immediately preceding the
retirement of the executive head of the institution or department; or

“(b) The secretary has not received a report within the 12 months imme-
diately preceding the retirement of the executive head of the institution or
department indicating that the executive -head of the institution or depart-
ment was unable or unwilling to follow state law, rules, policies or proce-
dures.

“(3) The Secretary of State shall employ auditors upon such terms and for
such compensation as the Secretary of State determines are advantageous
and advisable.

“(4) If a person fails to comply with any subpoena issued under subsection
(1) of this section, a judge of the circuit court of any county, on application
of the Secretary of State, shall compel obedience by proceedings for contempt
as in the case of disobedience of the requirements of a subpoena issued from
the circuit court.

“(5) If the Secretary of State determines during the conduct of any ac-
tivity authorized under this chapter that fraud or other criminal activity may

be occurring or may have occurred, the secretary shall notify the appropriate
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federal, state or local law enforcement agency of the potential fraud or other
criminal activity. This subsection applies regardless of the source of any
moneys that are involved or may be involved in the fraud or other criminal
activity.

“SECTION 200. ORS 431A.183 is amended to read:

“431A.183. (1) The Oregon Health Authority shall:

“(a) Coordinate with law enforcement agencies to conduct random, unan-

nounced inspections of wholesalers and retailers of tobacco products or
inhalant delivery systems to ensure compliance with the laws of this state
designed to discourage the use of tobacco products and inhalant delivery
systems by minors, including ORS 163.575, 163.580, 167.400, 167.402 and
431A.175; and

“(b) Submit a report describing:

“(A) The activities carried out to enforce the laws listed in paragraph (a)
of this subsection during the previous fiscal year;

“(B) The extent of success achieved in reducing the availability of tobacco
products and inhalant delivery systems to minors; and

“(C) The strategies to be utilized for enforcing the laws listed in para-
graph (a) of this subsection during the year following the report.

“(2) The authority shall adopt rules concerning random inspections of
places that distribute or sell tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems
that are consistent with any federal law or regulation relating to the in-
spection of such places. The rules shall provide that inspections may take
place:

“(a) Only in areas open to the public;

“(b) Only during the hours that tobacco products or inhalant delivery
systems are distributed or sold; and

“(c) No more frequently than once a month in any single establishment
unless a compliance problem exists or is suspected.

“(3) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission, pursuant to
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an agreement or otherwise, may assist the authority with the authority’s i;_
duties under subsection (1)(a) of this section and the enforcement of ORS .
431A.175.

“SECTION 201. ORS 459.992 is amended to read:

“459.992. (1) The following are Class A misdemeanors:

“(a) Violation of rules or ordinances adopted under ORS 459.005 to 459.105
and 459.205 to 459.385.

“(b) Violation of ORS 459.205.

“(c) Violation of ORS 459.270.

“(d) Violation of ORS 459A.080.

“(e) Violation of ORS 459.272.

“(2) Each day a violation referred to by subsection (1) of this section
continues constitutes a separate offense. Such separate offenses may be
joined in one indictment or complaint or information in several counts.

“(3) Violation of ORS 459A.705, 459A.710, 459A.718 (5) or 459A.720 1s a
Class A misdemeanor.

“(4) In addition to the penalty prescribed by subsection (3) of this section,
the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission or the State Depart-
ment of Agriculture may revoke or suspend the license of any person who
willfully violates ORS 459A.705, 459A.710, 459A.718 (5) or 459A.720, who is
required by ORS chapter 471 or 635, respectively, to have a license.

“SECTION 202. ORS 459A.700 is amended to read:

“459A.700. As used in ORS 459.992 (3) and (4) and 459A.700 to 459A.740,
unless the context requires otherwise:

“(1) ‘Beverage’ means a fluid described in ORS 459A.702.

“(2) ‘Beverage container’ means a container described in ORS 459A.702.

“(3) ‘Commission’ means the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Com-
mission.

“(4) ‘Consumer’ means every person who purchases a beverage in a

beverage container for use or consumption.
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“(5) ‘Dealer’ means every person in this state who engages in the sale of
beverages in beverage containers to a consumer, or means a redemption
center certified under ORS 459A.735.

“(6) ‘Distributor’ means every person who engages in the sale of beverages
in beverage containers to a dealer in this state including any manufacturer
who engages in such sales.

“(7) ‘Importer’ means any dealer or manufacturer who directly imports
beverage containers into this state.

“(8) ‘In this state’ means within the exterior limits of the State of Oregon
and includes all territory within these limits owned by or ceded to the
United States of America.

“(9) ‘Manufacturer’ means every person bottling, canning or otherwise
filling beverage containers for sale to distributors, importers or dealers.

“(10) ‘Place of business of a dealer’ means the location at which a dealer
sells or offers for sale beverages in beverage containers to consumers.

“(11) ‘Use or consumption’ includes the exercise of any right or power
over a beverage incident to the ownership thereof, other than the sale or the
keeping or retention of a beverage for the purposes of sale.

“(12) ‘Water and flavored water’ means any beverage identified through
the use of letters, words or symbols on its product label as a type of water.

“SECTION 203. ORS 459A.702 is amended to read:

“459A.702. (1) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, ORS

458A.700 to 459A.740 apply to any individual, separate, sealed glass, metal
or plastic bottle or can, except for cartons, foil pouches and drink boxes, that
contains the following beverages, intended for human consumption and in a
quantity less than or equal to three fluid liters:

“‘(a) Water and flavored water;

“(b) Beer or other malt beverages; and

“(c) Mineral waters, soda water and similar carbonated soft drinks.

“(2) One year after the date on which the Oregon Liquor Control and
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Cannabis Comrmission determines that at least 60 percent of the beverage
containers returned for the refund value specified in ORS 459A.705 are re-
turned statewide to redemption centers approved under ORS 459A.735, or on
January 1, 2018, whichever comes first, ORS 459A.700 to 459A.740 apply to
any individual, separate, sealed glass, metal or plastic bottle or can, except
for cartons, foil pouches, drink boxes and metal containers that require a
tool to be opened, that contains:

“(a) The following beverages, intended for human consumption and in a
quantity less than or equal to three fluid liters:

“(A) Water and flavored water;

“(B) Beer or other malt beverages; and

“(C) Mineral waters, soda water and similar carbonated soft drinks.

“(b) Any beverage other than those specified in paragraph (a) of this
subsection that is intended for human consumption and is in a quantity more
than or equal to four fluid ounces and less than or equal to one and one-half
fluid liters, except distilled liquor, wine, dairy or plant-based milks, infant
formula and any other exemptions set forth in rule of the Oregon Liquor

Control and Cannabis Commission.
“SECTION 204. ORS 459A.705 is amended to read:
“459A.705. (1) Except as provided in subsections (2) and (3) of this section,

every beverage container sold or offered for sale in this state shall have a

refund value of not less than five cents.
“(2)(a) Every beverage container sold or offered for sale in this state shall
have a refund value of not less than 10 cents, beginning on the later of:
“(A) Eight months after the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Com-
mission determines that, in each of the two previous calendar years, the
number of beverage containers returned for the refund value specified in this
section was less than 80 percent of the total number of beverage containers

that were sold in this state; or

“(B) January 1 of the calendar year following the determination by the
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commission described in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph.

“(b) The commission may not make a determination under this subsection
before January 1, 2016.

“(c) In making a determination under this subsection, the commission may
not include the beverage containers and beverages described in ORS 459A.702
(2)(b) before January 1, 2021.

“(3) Every beverage container certified as provided in ORS 459A.725, sold
or offered for sale in this state, shall have a refund value of not less than

two cents.
“SECTION 205. ORS 459A.715 is amended to read:
“459A.715. (1) A dealer may refuse to accept from any person, and a dis-

tributor or importer may refuse to accept from a dealer, any empty beverage
container that does not state thereon a refund value as established by ORS
459A.705.

“(2) A dealer may refuse to accept and to pay the refund value of:

“(a) Empty beverage containers if the place of business of the dealer and
the kind of empty beverage containers are included in an order of the Oregon
Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission approving a redemption center
under ORS 459A.735.

“(b) Any beverage container visibly containing or contaminated by a
substance other than water, residue of the original contents or ordinary dust.

“(c)(A) More than 144 individual beverage containers returned by any one

'person during one day, if the dealer occupies a space of 5,000 or more square

feet in a single area.

“(B) More than 50 individual beverage containers returned by any one
person during one day, if the dealer occupies a space of less than 5,000
square feet in a single area.

“(d) Any beverage container that is damaged to the extent that the brand
appearing on the container cannot be identified.

“(3)(a) In order to refuse containers under subsection (2)(b), (c)(A) or (d)
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of this section, if a dealer occupies a space of 5,000 or more square feet in
a single area, the dealer must post in each area where containers are re-

ceived a clearly visible and legible sign containing the following information:

13

NOTICE:

Oregon Law allows a dealer to refuse to accept:

“l. Beverage containers visibly containing or contaminated by a sub-
stance other than water, residue of the original contents or ordinary dust;

“2. More than 144 individual beverage containers from any one person
during one day; or

“3. Beverage containers that are damaged to the extent that the brand

appearing on the container cannot be identified.

113

“(b) In order to refuse containers under subsection (2)(b), (c)(B) or (d) of
this section, if a dealer occupies a space of less than 5,000 square feet in a
single area, the dealer must post in each area where containers are received

a clearly visible and legible sign containing the following information:

(14

NOTICE:

Oregon Law allows a dealer to refuse to accept:

“l. Beverage containers visibly containing or contaminated by a sub-
stance other than water, residue of the original contents or ordinary dust;

“2. More than 50 individual beverage containers from any one person
during one day; or

“3. Beverage containers that are damaged to the extent that the brand

appearing on the container cannot be identified.

€

“SECTION 206. ORS 459A.717 is amended to read:
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“459A.717. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may
impose a civil penalty of at least $50, but not more than $500, for a violation
of any provision of ORS 459A.700 to 459A.740. Each day a violation occurs
constitutes a separate violation. The authority to impose a civil penalty un-
der this section is in addition to and not in lieu of the revocation and sus-
pension authority under ORS 459.992 (4) and the criminal penalty authorized
by ORS 459.992.

“(2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, if a dealer, as defined
in ORS 459A.700, violates a provision of ORS 459A.738, the commission shall
provide the dealer with written notice informing the dealer of the violation
and stating that the dealer may avoid civil penalty for the violation by cur-
ing the violation within 60 days after issuance of the notice. If the dealer
fails to cure the violation within 60 days after issuance of the notice, the
commission shall impose a civil penalty of at least $200 for the violation.
Each day after the 60-day period that the dealer continues to violate a pro-
vision of ORS 459A.738 is a separate offense subject to a separate civil pen-
alty. The commission 1s not required to provide the dealer with an
opportunity to cure a continuing violation before imposing a civil penalty
for the continuing violation.

“(3) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed as provided in
ORS 183.745.

“(4) All penalties recovered under this section shall be paid into the State
Treasury and credited to the General Fund and are available for general
governmental expenses.

“SECTION 207. ORS 459A.718 is amended to read:

“459A.718. (1) Two or more distributors or importers may establish a dis-

tributor cooperative for the purposes of:
“(a) Collecting the refund value of beverage containers specified in ORS
459A.705 from distributors or importers and refunding to dealers the amount

the dealers paid for the refund value of empty beverage containers;

HB 2198-1 3/4/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2198 Page 218




10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24

25

27

28

29

30

“(b) Paying the refund value specified in ORS 459A.705 for beverage con-
tainers sold in this state; and

“(c) Processing beverage containers sold in this state.

“(2) A distributor cooperative established under this section must service
a majority of the dealers in this state.

“(3) If a distributor cooperative is established, a dealer that uses the dis-
tributor cooperative to redeem and process beverage containers sold in this
state is not required to return beverage containers to a distributor or
importer that does not participate in the distributor cooperative, provided
that the dealer or the distributor cooperative provides an accounting to the
distributor or importer of the beverage containers by brand and kind that
were distributed by the distributor or importer and subsequently redeemed
by the dealer or distributor cooperative.

“(4) Upon receipt of the accounting required by subsection (3) of this
section, a distributor or importer that does not participate in the distributor
cooperative must pay the refund value of the redeemed beverage containers
specified in the accounting to the dealer or distributor cooperative that
provided the accounting.

“(5)(a) For purposes of this subsection, beverage container return data is
the number of beverage containers returned for the refund value specified in
ORS 459A.705 in Oregon during the calendar year and the number of
beverage containers that carry a refund value specified in ORS 459A.705 sold
in Oregon during the calendar year, calculated separately.

“(b) By July 1 of each calendar year, a distributor cooperative shall pro-
vide the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission with a report
that lists, in aggregate form for all distributors and importers that partic-
ipate in the distributor cooperative, the previous calendar year’s beverage
container return data, calculated separately for glass, metal and plastic

beverage containers.

“(c) By July 1 of each calendar year, a distributor or importer that does
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not participate in a distributor cooperative shall provide the commission
with a report that lists the distributor’s or the importer’s beverage container
return data for the previous calendar year, calculated separately for glass,
metal and plastic beverage containers.

“(6)(a) By August 1 of each calendar year, using the beverage container
return data provided in subsection (5)(b) of this section, the Oregon Liquor
Control and Cannabis Commission shall calculate the previous calendar
year’s percentage of beverage containers returned for the refund value spec-
ified in ORS 459A.705 for each distributor cooperative. The commission shall
carry out the calculation separately for glass, metal and plastic beverage
containers and shall post the percentages on the commission’s website.

“(b) By August 1 of each calendar year, using the beverage container re-
turn data provided in subsection (5)(c) of this section, the commission shall
calculate the previous calendar year’s percentage of beverage containers re-
turned for the refund value specified in ORS 459A.705 for each distributor
or importer that does not participate in a distributor cooperative. The com-
mission shall carry out the calculation separately for glass, metal and plastic
beverage containers and shall post the percentages on the commission’s
website.

“(c) By August 1 of each calendar year, using the beverage container re-
turn data provided in subsection (5)(b) and (c) of this section, the commission
shall calculate the previous calendar year’s percentage of beverage contain-
ers returned for the refund value specified in ORS 459A.705 for all distribu-
tors and importers in Oregon. The commission shall carry out the calculation
for all beverage containers, and separately for glass, metal and plastic
beverage containers, and shall post the percentages on the commission’s
website.

“(d) Except for the percentages described in paragraphs (a) to (c) of this
subsection or in a proceeding under ORS 459A.717 for a violation of sub-

section (5) of this section, the commission may not disclose any information
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provided by a distributor, an importer or a distributor cooperative under
subsection (5) of this section.

“(7)(a) In order to determine compliance with the provisions of subsection
(5) of this section, within six months of the date that the commission re-
ceives a report described in subsection (5)(b) and (c) of this section, the
commission may review or audit the records of each reporting distributor
cooperative, or each reporting distributor or importer that does not partic-
ipate in a distributor cooperative.

“(b)(A) If in the course of a review described in paragraph (a) of this
subsection the commission determines that an audit of a distributor cooper-
ative, distributor or importer is necessary, the commission shall require the
distributor cooperative, distributor or importer to retain an independent fi-
nancial audit firm to determine the accuracy of information contained in the
report. The distributor cooperative, distributor or importer that is the sub-
ject of review shall pay the costs of the audit. The audit must be limited to
the records described in paragraph (a) of this subsection.

“(B) The commission shall adopt rules to carry out the provisions of this
paragraph.

“SECTION 208. ORS 459A.725 is amended to read:

“459A.725. (1) To promote the use in this state of reusable beverage con-

tainers of uniform design, and to facilitate the return of containers to man-
ufacturers for reuse as a beverage container, the Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission may certify beverage containers which satisfy the re-
quirements of this section.

“(2) A beverage container may be certified if:

“(a) It is reusable as a beverage container by more than one manufacturer
in the ordinary course of business; and

“(b) More than one manufacturer will in the ordinary course of business
accept the beverage container for reuse as a beverage container and pay the

refund value of the container.
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“(3) The commission may by rule establish appropriate liquid capacities
and shapes for beverage containers to be certified or decertified in accord-
ance with the purposes set forth in subsection (1) of this section.

“(4) A beverage container shall not be certified under this section if by
reason of its shape or design, or by reason of words or symbols permanently
inscribed thereon, whether by engraving, embossing, painting or other per-
manent method, it is reusable as a beverage container in the ordinary course

of business only by a manufacturer of a beverage sold under a specific brand

name.

“SECTION 209. ORS 459A.730 is amended to read:
“459A.730. (1) Unless an application for certification under ORS 459A.725

is denied by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission within
60 days after the filing of the application, the beverage container shall be
deemed certified.

“(2) The commission may review at any time certification of a beverage
container. If after such review, with written notice and hearing afforded to
the person who filed the application for certification under ORS 459A.725,
the commission determines the container is no longer qualified for certifica-
tion, it shall withdraw certification.

“(3) Withdrawal of certification shall be effective not less than 30 days
after written notice to the person who filed the application for certification
under ORS 459A.725 and to the manufacturers referred to in ORS 459A.725
2).

“SECTION 210. ORS 459A.735 is amended to read:

“459A.735. (1) To facilitate the return of empty beverage containers and

to serve dealers of beverages, any person may establish a redemption center,
subject to the approval of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Com-
mission, at which any person may return empty beverage containers and re-
ceive payment of the refund value of such beverage containers.

“(2) Application for approval of a redemption center shall be filed with
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the commission. The application shall state the name and address of the
person responsible for the establishment and operation of the redemption
center, the kind of beverage containers that will be accepted at the redemp-
tion center, the names and addresses of the dealers to be served by the re-
demption center and proposals for up to two convenience zones described in
ORS 459A.738. The application shall include such additional information as
the commission may require.

“(3) The commission shall approve a redemption center if it finds the re-
demption center will provide a convenient service to persons for the return
of empty beverage containers. The order of the commission approving a re-
demption center shall state:

“(a) The location of the convenience zones specified by the commission
under ORS 459A.738 (1);

“(b) The dealers within the convenience zones to be served by the re-
demption center;

“(c) The dealers within the convenience zones not to be served by or not
participating in the redemption center;

“(d) The services to be provided by the redemption center and the equiv-
alent services required to be provided under ORS 459A.738 (5) by a dealer
that does not participate in, and is not served by, the redemption center;

“(e) The kind of empty beverage containers that the redemption center
must accept; and

“(f) Such other provisions to ensure the redemption center will provide
a convenient service to the public as the commission may determine.

“(4)(a) No later than five days after approving a redemption center under
subsection (3) of this section, the commission shall provide written notice to
each dealer that is identified in the order approving the redemption center
as a dealer within the convenience zones not to be served by or not partic-
ipating in the redemption center.

“(b) The notice required under this subsection shall include:
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“(A) All information required to be in the order approving the redemption
center under subsection (3) of this section; and

“(B) Notice of the provisions of ORS 459A.738 that are applicable to the
dealer receiving the notice.

“(5) The commission may review at any time approval of a redemption
center. After written notice to the person responsible for the establishment
and operation of the redemption center, and to the dealers served by the re-
demption center, the commission may, after hearing, withdraw approval of
a redemption center if the commission finds there has not been compliance
with its order approving the redemption center, or if the redemption center
no longer provides a convenient service to the public.

“SECTION 211. ORS 459A.737 is amended to read:

“459A.737. (1) Pursuant to the provisions of ORS 459A.735, the Oregon

Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission:

“(a) Shall approve one beverage container redemption center in a city
having a population of less than 300,000, operated by a distributor cooper-
ative serving a majority of the dealers in this state; and

“(b) May approve one or more additional beverage container redemption
centers.

“(2) Notwithstanding any other provision of ORS 459A.700 to 459A.740, a
beverage container redemption center:

“(a) May not refuse to accept and to pay the refund value of up to 350
individual empty beverage containers, as established by ORS 459A.705, re-
turned by any one person during one day;

“(b) Must provide hand counting of up to 50 individual empty beverage
containers returned by any one person during one day for the refund value
established by ORS 459A.705;

“(c) May provide drop off service for at least 125 individual empty
beverage containers returned by any one person during one day for the re-

fund value established by ORS 459A.705, and may provide an accounting
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mechanism by which the person may redeem the refund value of the beverage
contalners at a later date; and

“(d) May provide other services as determined necessary by the person
responsible for the operation of the beverage container redemption center.

“(3) The commission may adopt all rules necessary to implement and ad-
minister the provisions of this section and ORS 459A.738.

“SECTION 212. ORS 459A.738 is amended to read:

“459A.738. (1) For each beverage container redemption center, the Oregon

Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall specify up to two conven-
ience zones. The first convenience zone shall be the sector within a radius
of not more than two miles around the beverage container redemption center.
The second convenience zone shall be the sector beginning at the border of
the first convenience zone and continuing to a radius of not more than three
and one-half miles around the beverage container redemption center. The
convenience zones shall be based to the greatest extent practicable upon the
proposals submitted as part of the application for approval of the redemption
center under ORS 459A.735.

“(2) All dealers doing business within the first convenience zone that oc-
cupy a space of 5,000 or more square feet in a single area may participate
in, be served by and be charged the cost of participation in the beverage
container redemption center and, if such a dealer participates in, is served
by and pays the cost of participation in the redemption center, the dealer
may, notwithstanding any other provision of ORS 459A.700 to 459A.740, re-
fuse to accept and to pay the refund value of empty beverage containers.

“(3) All dealers doing business within the second convenience zone that
occupy a space of 5,000 or more square feet in a single area may participate
in, be served by and be charged the cost of participation in the beverage
container redemption center and, if such a dealer participates in, is served
by and pays the cost of participation in the redemption center, the dealer

may, notwithstanding any other provision of ORS 459A.700 to 459A.740, re-
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fuse to accept and to pay the refund value of more than 24 individual empty
beverage containers returned by any one person during one day.

“(4) All dealers doing business within either convenience zone that occupy
a space of less than 5,000 square feet in a single area may, notwithstanding
any other provision of ORS 459A.700 to 459A.740, refuse to accept and to pay
the refund value of more than 24 individual empty beverage containers re-
turned by any one person during one day.

“(5)(a) Any dealer doing business in either convenience zone that occupies
a space of 5,000 or more square feet in a single area that does not participate
in, and is not served by, the beverage container redemption center may not
refuse to accept and to pay the refund value of up to 350 individual empty
beverage containers, as established by ORS 459A.705, returned by any one
person during one day and must, beginning on the date that the redemption
center begins accepting beverage containers, provide services equivalent to
those provided by the redemption center under ORS 459A.737 (2), including
hand counting and drop off service.

“(b) In addition to complying with the requirements specified in para-
graph (a) of this subsection, a dealer described in paragraph (a) of this sub-
section must:

“(A) Post in each area where beverage containers are received a clearly
visible and legible sign that contains the list of services that must be pro-
vided by the dealer; and

“(B) Provide two automated reverse vending machines capable of pro-
cessing metal, plastic and glass beverage containers, or one automated re-
verse vending machine capable of processing metal, plastic and glass
beverage containers for each 500,000 beverage containers sold by the dealer
in the previous calendar year, whichever is greater.

“(c)(A) The provisions of paragraphs (a) and (b) of this subsection do not
apply to a dealer described in paragraph (a) of this subsection if the dealer

sold fewer than 100,000 beverage containers in the previous calendar year.
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To be eligible for the exemption under this paragraph, a dealer described in
paragraph (a) of this subsection must report to the commission the number
of beverage containers sold by the dealer in the previous calendar year.

“(B) The report required under this paragraph must be submitted by a
dealer:

“(1) Except as provided in subsection (6) of this section, no later thén 60
days after issuance of the notice required under ORS 459A.735 (4); and

“(i1) No later than January 1 of each calendar year following the year
that the notice under ORS 459A.735 (4) was issued and for which the dealer
intends to claim the exemption.

“(d) The commission shall ensure compliance with this subsection by a
dealer described in paragraph (a) of this subsection that is not subject to an
exemption under paragraph (c) of this subsection.

“(6) A dealer that plans to begin doing business in either convenience
zone after the date that the beverage container redemption center associated
with the convenience zone begins accepting beverage containers shall, not
less than 60 days prior to the date that the dealer begins doing business:

“(a) Provide notice to the commission explaining whether the dealer will
or will not participate in, be served by and pay the cost of participation in
the redemption center; and

“(b) If the dealer will not participate in the redemption center and will
claim an exemption under subsection (5)(c) of this section, provide doc-
umentation of compliance with the requirements for nonparticipating dealers
under this section and an estimate of the number of beverage containers that
the dealer expects to sell during the first calendar year that the dealer does
business in the convenience zone.

“(7) The provisions of subsections (2) to (6) of this section do not apply
to any dealer for which the driving distance from the place of business of
the dealer to the beverage container redemption center, calculated using the

shortest route, is more than two times the radius specified for the second
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convenience zone or, if only one convenience zone is specified by the com-
mission, two times the radius specified for that convenience zone.

“(8) Not more thén 60 days after issuance of notice from the commission
under ORS 459A.735 (4), a dealer shall provide the commission with written
documentation confirming compliance with each of the requirements of this
section that are applicable to the dealer receiving notice.

“SECTION 213. ORS 459A.739 is amended to read:

“4569A.739. In addition to the authority granted under ORS 459.992, in-

spectors and investigators employed by the Oregon Liquor Control and

Cannabis Commission have authority to inspect any space occupied by a

dealer, as defined in ORS 459A.700, for compliance with ORS 459A.738.
“SECTION 214. ORS 461.217 is amended to read:

“461.217. (1) As used in this section, ‘video lottery game retailer’ means

a contractor under contract with the Oregon State Lottery to place video
lottery game terminals on premises authorized by the contract.

“(2) A video lottery game terminal that offers a video lottery game au-
thorized by the Director of the Oregon State Lottery:

“(a) May be placed for operation only in or on the premises of an estab-
lishment that has a contract with the Oregon State Lottery as a video lottery
game retailer.

“(b) Must be within the control of an employee of the video lottery game
retailer.

“(c) May not be placed in any other business or location.

“(3) A video lottery game terminal may be placed only on the premises
of an establishment licensed by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis
Commission with a full on-premises sales license, a limited on-premises sales
license or a brewery-public house license. A video lottery game terminal may
be placed only in that part of the premises that is posted by the Oregon Li-
quor Control and Cannabis Commission as being closed to minors. In addi-

tion to the requirements of this subsection, the director may by rule

HB 2198-1 3/4/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2198 Page 228




10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29

30

establish other criteria and conditions as the director determines appropriate
for the placement of video lottery game terminals in establishments.

“(4) No more than six video lottery game terminals may be placed in or
on premises described in subsection (3) of this section.

“(5) No more than 10 video lottery game terminals may be placed in or
on the premises of a race meet licensee licensed under ORS 462.020 that
qualifies as a video lottery game retailer.

“SECTION 215. ORS 471.001, as amended by section 19, chapter 24,
Oregon Laws 2016, is amended to read:

“471.001. As used in this chapter and ORS chapter 473:

“(1) ‘Alcoholic beverage’ and ‘alcoholic liquor’ mean any liquid or solid
containing more than one-half of one percent alcohol by volume and capable
of being consumed by a human being.

“(2) ‘Commercial establishment’ means a place of business:

“(a) Where food is cooked and served;

“(b) That has kitchen facilities adequate for the preparation and serving
of meals;

“(c) That has dining facilities adequate for the serving and consumption
of meals; and

“(d) That:

“(A) If not a for-profit private club, serves meals to the general public;
or

“B) If a for-profit private club, serves meals to the club’s members and
guests and complies with any minimum membership and food service re-
quirements established by Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission

rules.

“(3) ‘Commission’ means the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Com-
mission.
“(4) ‘Distilled liquor’ means any alcoholic beverage other than a wine,

cider or malt beverage. ‘Distilled liquor’ includes distilled spirits.
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“(6) ‘Licensee’ means any person holding a license issued under this
chapter.
“(6)(a) ‘Malt beverage’ means an alcoholic beverage obtained by the

fermentation of grain that contains not more than 14 percent alcohol by

volume.
“(b) ‘Malt beverage’' includes:

“(A) Beer, ale, porter, stout and similar alcoholic beverages containing

not more than 14 percent alcohol by volume;

“(B) Malt beverages containing six percent or less alcohol by volume and

that contain at least 51 percent alcohol by volume obtained by the

fermentation of grain, as long as not more than 49 percent of the beverage’s
overall alcohol content is obtained from flavors and other added nonbeverage
ingredients containing alcohol; and

“(C) Malt beverages containing more than six percent alcohol by volume
that derive not more than 1.5 percent of the beverage’s overall alcohol con-
tent by volume from flavors and other added nonbeverage ingredients con-
taining alcohol.

“(c) ‘Malt beverage’ does not include cider or an alcoholic beverage ob-
tained primarily by fermentation of rice, such as sake.

“(7) ‘Manufacturer’ means every person who produces, brews, ferments,
manufactures or blends an alcoholic beverage within this state or who im-
ports or causes to be imported into this state an alcoholic beverage for sale
or distribution within the state.

“(8) ‘Permittee’ means a person holding a permit issued under ORS 471.360
to 471.390.

“(9) ‘Premises’ or ‘licensed premises’ means a location licensed under this
chapter and includes all enclosed areas at the location that are used in the
business operated at the location, including offices, kitchens, rest rooms and
storerooms, including all public and private areas where patrons are per-

mitted to be present. ‘Premises’ or ‘licensed premises’ includes areas outside
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of a building that the commission has specifically designated as approved for
alcoholic beverage service or consumption.

“(10) ‘Regulatory specialist’ means a full-time employee of the commission
who is authorized to act as an agent of the commission in conducting in-
spections or investigations, making arrests and seizures, aiding in prose-
cutions for offenses, issuing citations for violations and otherwise enforcing
this chapter, ORS 474.005 to 474.095, 474.115, 475B.010 to 475B.395, 475B.550
to 475B.590 and 475B.600 to 475B.655, commission rules and any other stat-
utes the commission considers related to regulating liquor, marijuana or
marijuana-derived products.

“(11) ‘Wine’ means any fermented vinous liquor or fruit juice, or other
fermented beverage fit for beverage purposes that is not a malt beverage,
containing more than one-half of one percent of alcohol by volume and not

more than 21 percent of alcohol by volume. ‘Wine’ includes fortified wine.

‘Wine’ does not include cider.
“SECTION 216. ORS 471.038 is amended to read:
“471.038. (1) Nonbeverage food products described in subsection (6) of this

section may be sold at retail by any holder of a license issued by the Oregon
Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission that authorizes the sale of alco-
holic liquor at retail, or in any store operated by the commission under the
provisions of ORS 471.750. Any nonbeverage food product containing more
than one-half of one percent of alcohol by volume must be clearly labeled to
reflect the alcohol content of the product and clearly labeled on the front
of the package to indicate that the product may not be sold to persons under
21 years of age.

“(2) Except as provided by this section, sales of nonbeverage food products
described in subsection (6) of this section are subject to all provisions of this
chapter, including the prohibitions on sales to persons under 21 years of age
and the prohibitions on sales to persons who are visibly intoxicated.

“(3) Nonbeverage food products described in subsection (6) of this section
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may be imported, stored and distributed in this state without a license issued
by the commission. Nonbeverage food products described in subsection (6)
of this section are not subject to the privilege taxes imposed by ORS chapter
473.

“(4) Manufacturers of nonbeverage food products described in subsection
(6) of this section are not subject to the provisions of ORS 471.392 to 471.400,
471.485, 471.490 or 471.495 or any other provision of this chapter relating to
manufacturers of alcoholic liquor. A manufacturer of nonbeverage food pro-
ducts described in subsection (6) of this section may sell and deliver the
product directly to a licensee authorized under this section to sell the prod-
uct at retail.

“(5) The holder of a distillery license issued under ORS 471.230 who is
also a manufacturer of nonbeverage food products described in subsection (6)
of this section may purchase distilled liquor directly from other distilleries.

“(6) The provisions of this section apply only to nonbeverage food pro-
ducts that contain not more than five percent alcohol by weight or 10 per-
cent alcohol by volume, whichever is greater.

“SECTION 217. ORS 471.039 is amended to read:

“471.039. (1) Notwithstanding any provision of this chapter, the Oregon

Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may not require the owners, op-
erators and employees of a cruise ship to have a license or permit issued
under the provisions of this chapter for the purpose of possessing, trans-
porting, storing, selling or serving alcoholic beverages that are described in
subsection (3) of this section.

“(2) The provisions of ORS 471.740 do not apply to alcoholic beverages
that are described in subsection (3) of this section.

“(3) The provisions of this section apply only to alcoholic beverages that
are served aboard a cruise ship and that are served solely for the purpose

of onboard consumption by a cruise ship’s passengers, guests, officers and

employees.
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“(4) For the purposes of this section, ‘cruise ship’ means a marine vessel
used primarily for nonfishing purposes that is licensed to carry at least 500
passengers, provides overnight accommodations for those passengers and op-
erates on the rivers or waterways within the boundaries of the State of
Oregon, including docking and dry docking, fewer than 45 days during a
calendar year.

“SECTION 218. ORS 471.040 is amended to read:

“471.040. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission has
the powers and duties specified in this chapter and ORS 474.105 and 474.115,

and also the powers necessary or proper to enable it to carry out fully and
effectually all the purposes of this chapter and ORS 474.105 and 474.115. It
shall make such rules and regulations pertaining to natural and fortified
wines as will prevent the importation and sale in Oregon of blended, recti-
fied, adulterated or low-quality wines. The jurisdiction, supervision, powers
and duties of the commission extend to any person who buys, sells, manu-
factures, imports or transports any alcoholic liquor within this state. The
commission may sue and be sued.

“(2) Except for the power to adopt rules, the commission may delegate any
of the commission’s powers or duties to the administrator appointed under
ORS 471.720.

“SECTION 219. ORS 471.105 is amended to read:

“471.1056. Before being qualified to purchase alcoholic liquor from the

Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission, a person must be at least

21 years of age.
“SECTION 220. ORS 471.115 is amended to read:

“471.115. The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may

limit the quantity of alcoholic liquor purchased at any one time by any
person. It may limit the amount of purchases within any length of time so
as effectually to prevent the resale of such liquors.

“SECTION 221. ORS 471.130 is amended to read:
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“471.130. (1) All licensees and permittees of the Oregon Liquor Control
and Cannabis Commission, before selling or serving alcoholic liquor to any
person about whom there is any reasonable doubt of the person’s having
reached 21 years of age, shall require such person to produce one of the
following pieces of identification:

“(a) The person’s passport.

“(b) The person’s motor vehicle operator’s license, whether issued in this
state or by any other state, so long as the license has a picture of the person.

“(c) An 1dentification card issued under ORS 807.400.

“(d) A United States military identification card.

“(e) Any other identification card issued by a state that bears a picture
of the person, the name of the person, the person’s date of birth and a
physical description of the person.

“(2) If a person does not have identification as described in subsection (1)
of this section, the permittee or licensee shall require such person to make
a written statement of age and furnish evidence of the person’s true age and
identity. The written statement of age shall be on a form furnished or ap-

proved by the commission, including but not limited to the following infor-

mation:

41

“Date

I am 21 years of age or over.
“Signature
Description of evidence in support of age and identity:

— . Identification No. (if any)

Identification No. (if any)

“(Fill in information pertaining to any two or more pieces of evidence submitted by the person.)
“I hereby certify that I have accurately recorded identification of the evidence submitted to

complete this form.

€«
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“Signature of permittce or licensee
ORS 165.805 provides as follows:

“165.805. (1) A person comuits the crime of misrepresentation of age by a minor if:

“(a) Being less than a certain, specified age, the person knowingly purports to be of any age
other than the person’s true age with the intent of securing a right, benefit or privilege which by
law is denied to persons under that certain, specified age; or

“(b) (Not applicable.)

“(2) Misrepresentation of age by a minor is a Class C misdemeanor.

1

“SECTION 222. ORS 471.155 is amended to read:
“471.155. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall

provide for the licensing of persons and cities within the state to manufac-
ture, distribute, take orders for and sell spirits, wines, beer and other alco-
holic liquors. Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, the holder
of a brewery, winery, wholesale, warehouse, grower sales privilege or
brewery-public house license or the holder of a wine self-distribution permit
shall give, and at all times maintain on file with the commission, a bond
with a corporate surety authorized to transact business in this state. The
bond shall be in form and amount acceptable to the commission, shall be
payable to the commission and conditioned that the licensee or permittee
will pay any fine imposed for any violation of any provision of the Liquor
Control Act and that the licensee or permittee will pay all license fees,
privilege taxes, taxes imposed under ORS 473.045 and other taxes on alco-
holic liquors, together with penalties and interest thereon, levied or assessed
against the licensee or permittee under statutes relating to the importation,
manufacture, distribution, sale or taxation of alcoholic liquors in the State
of Oregon.

“(2) Under such conditions as the commission may prescribe, the holder
of a brewery, winery, wholesale, warehouse, grower sales privilege or

brewery-public house license or the holder of a wine self-distribution permit
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may deposit, in lieu of the bond required by subsection (1) of this section,
the equivalent value in cash, bank letters of credit recognized by the State
Treasurer or negotiable securities of a character approved by the State
Treasurer. The deposit is to be made in a bank or trust company for the
benefit of the commission. Interest on deposited funds or securities shall

accrue to the depositor.
“SECTION 223. ORS 471.157 is amended to read:
“471.157. The licenses described in this chapter may be issued by the

Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission, subject to its regulations
and restrictions and the provisions of the Liquor Control Act.

“SECTION 224. ORS 471.159 is amended to read:
“471.159. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may

not license a location that does not have defined boundaries.

“(2) A licensed premises need not be enclosed by a wall, fence or other
structure, but the commission may require that any licensed premises be
enclosed as a condition of issuing or renewing a license.

“(3) Except as provided in ORS 471.182, the commission may not license
premises that are mobile.

“SECTION 225. ORS 471.162 is amended to read:

“471.162. (1) Hospitals, sanitariums, convalescent homes, rest homes, re-

tirement homes and facilities for the care of the elderly that have been li-
censed or registered by the state may sell and serve alcoholic beverages to
patients, inmates and residents, and to bona fide visitors and guests of pa-
tients, inmates and residents, without a license issued under this chapter.
Facilities authorized to sell and serve alcoholic beverages without a license
under this subsection may not sell or serve alcoholic beverages after 10 p.m.
except upon a physician’s prescription.

“(2) A person who operates a private residence that is not a boarding
house but that accommodates transient guests for a limited duration may sell

and serve wine, malt beverages and cider to registered overnight guests
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without a license. Facilities authorized to sell and serve alcoholic beverages
without a license under this subsection must have six or fewer guest units.

“(8) A person who is an employee or agent of the holder of a license is-
sued under this chapter that authorizes wholesale distribution of alcoholic
beverages may, on behalf of the licensee, sell alcoholic beverages in
factory-sealed containers to retail licensees and wholesalers.

“(4) A pharmacist licensed under the laws of this state may sell alcoholic
beverages without a license. Pharmacists may only sell alcoholic beverages
under the provisions of this section if the alcoholic beverages are drugs as
defined in ORS 689.005. A pharmacist may sell alcoholic beverages under the
provisions of this subsection pursuant to a prescription, in containers of not
more than one quart capacity.

“(5) A wine collector, or the agent of a wine collector, may sell wine in
factory-sealed containers at auction without a license. Any wine sold under
this subsection must have been held by the collector for at least a six-month
period. A wine collector must receive written approval from the Oregon Li-
quor Control and Cannabis Commission before conducting a sale under this
subsection. No more than one sale in a 12-month period may be conducted
by a wine collector under the provisions of this subsection.

“(6) A nonprofit or charitable organization registered in this state may
sell wine, malt beverages and cider, and a total of not more than four liters
of distilled liquor, in factory-sealed containers at an auction or through a
raffle without a license. The organization must receive written approval
from the commission before conducting an auction or raffle under this sub-
section. The organization may conduct no more than one auction or raffle
under this subsection in a 12-month period. The auction or raffle may not
have a duration of more than one day. The organization may sell under this
subsection Wine, malt beverages, cider and distilled liquor purchased by or
donated to the organization. The purchased or donated wine, malt beverages,

cider and distilled liquor must be imported into this state by the commission
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or be manufactured in or imported into this state under a brewery,
brewery-public house, distillery, grower sales privilege, winery or wholesale
malt beverage and wine license.

“(7) A manufacturer may sell proprietary or patent medicines, perfumes,
lotions, flavoring extracts, medicinal tinctures and other preparations unfit
for beverage purposes without a license.

“SECTION 226. ORS 471.166 is amended to read:
“471.166. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may

require that every applicant for issuance or renewal of a license under this
chapter acquire a written recommendation from the governing body of the
county if the place of business of the applicant is outside an incorporated
city, and from the city council if the place of business of the applicant is
within an incorporated city. The commission may take such written recom-
mendation into consideration before granting or refusing the license.

“(2) If the commission requires that an applicant for issuance of a new
license acquire the written recommendation of a local government, the ap-
plicant must give notice to the local government when an application is
made for issuance of the license. If the local government files a favorable
recommendation with the commission within 45 days after the notice is
given, the commission shall proceed with consideration of the application.
The commission shall proceed with consideration of the application as
though the local government had made a favorable recommendation unless,
within 45 days after notice is given to the local government:

“(a) The local government files an unfavorable recommendation with the
commission with a statement of the grounds for the unfavorable recommen-
dation; or

“(b) The local government files a request for additional time with the
commission that sets forth the reason additional time is needed by the local
government, a statement that the local government is considering making

an unfavorable recommendation on the application, and the specific grounds
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on which the local government is considering making an unfavorable rec-
ommendation.

“(3) If the commission requires that an applicant for renewal of a license
acquire the written recommendation of a local government under this sec-
tion, the commission shall give notice to the local government when an ap-
plication is due for renewal of the license. If the local government files a
favorable recommendation with the commission within 60 days after the no-
tice is given, the commission shall proceed with consideration of the appli-
cation. The commission shall proceed with consideration of the application
as though the local government had made a favorable recommendation unless
within 60 days after notice is given to the local government:

“(a) The local government files an unfavorable recommendation with the
commission with a statement of the grounds for the unfavorable recommen-
dation; or

“(b) The local government files a request for additional time with the
commission that sets forth the reason additional time is needed by the local
government, a statement that the local government is considering making
an unfavorable recommendation on the application, and the specific grounds
on which the local government is considering making an unfavorable rec-
ommendation.

“(4) The commission shall suspend consideration of an application subject
to this section for a reasonable period of time if a local government requests
additional time under subsection (2)(b) or (3)(b) of this section and the
grounds given by the local government are valid grounds for an unfavorable
determination under this chapter or rules adopted by the commission. The
commission shall by rule establish the period of time that shall be granted
to a local government pursuant to a request under subsections (2)(b) and
(3)(b) of this section.

“(5) The commission shall by rule establish valid grounds for unfavorable

recommendations by local governments under this section. Valid grounds
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established by the commission under this section for an unfavorable recom-
mendation by a local government must be limited to those grounds consid-
ered by the commission in making an unfavorable determination on a license
application.

“(6) A person filing an application for issuance or renewal of a license
that is subject to this section must remit to the local government the fees
established under subsections (7) and (8) of this section. The commission
shall give notice to the applicant for license renewal of the amount of the
fees and the name of the local government collecting the fees. The commis-
sion is not responsible for collecting the fees charged by the local govern-
ment or for ensuring that the fees have been paid. An applicant for a license
renewal shall certify in the application form filed with the commission that
the applicant has paid any fees required under this section.

“(7) An applicant required to seek a written recommendation from a local
government must pay an application fee to the local government, in an
amount determined by the governing body of the city or county, for each
application for a license. The application fee established by a local govern-
ment under this subsection may not exceed $25.

“(8) After public notice and hearing, the governing body of a city or
county may adopt an ordinance, rule or resolution prescribing licensing
guidelines to be followed in making recommendations on license applications
under this chapter and in allowing opportunity for public comment on ap-
plications. If the guidelines are approved by the commission as consistent
with commission rules, after public notice and hearing the governing body
inay adopt an ordinance, rule or regulation establishing a system of fees that
is reasonable and necessary to pay expenses of processing the written rec-
ommendation. Processing fees under this subsection are in lieu of fees under
subsection (7) of this section. In no case shall the processing fee under this
subsection be greater than $100 for an original application, $75 for a change

in ownership, change in location or change in privilege application, and $35
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for a renewal or temporary application.

“SECTION 227. ORS 471.168, as amended by section 3, chapter 3, Oregon

Laws 2016, is amended to read:

“471.168. (1) For the purpose of providing coverage for injuries suffered
by persons by reason of the conduct of intoxicated persons who were served
alcoholic beverages on licensed premises while visibly intoxicated, all per-
sons holding a license described in this section must either:

“(a) Maintain liquor liability insurance of not less than $300,000; or

“(b) Maintain a bond with a corporate surety authorized to transact
business in this state in the amount of not less than $300,000.

“(2) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may by rule
require liquor liability insurance or bond in an amount larger than the
minimum amount provided for in subsection (1) of this section.

“(3) The requirements of this section apply to full on-premises sales li-
censes, limited on-premises sales licenses and brewery-public house licenses.
The requirements of this section apply to temporary sales licenses, special
events winery licenses, special events grower sales privilege licenses, special
events brewery-public house licenses, special events brewery licenses and
special events distillery licenses if the event that is licensed is open to the
public and attendance at the event is anticipated to exceed 300 individuals
per day. |

“(4) The requirements of this section apply to winery licenses, brewery
licenses and grower sales privilege licenses unless an applicant for issuance
of the license or renewal of the license submits with the application for is-
suance or renewal of the license an affidavit that states that the licensee
will not allow consumption of alcoholic beverages on the premises.

“(5) All licensees subject to the requirements of this section must supply
proof of compliance at the time the license is issued or renewed. The com-
mission by rule shall determine the manner in which proof of compliance

may be made under the provisions of this subsection. The commission may
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require a licensee to present proof of compliance with liquor liability insur-
ance and bond requirements at any time upon request of the commission.

“(6) Failure of a licensee to comply with liquor liability insurance or bond
requirements imposed under this section constitutes a serious threat to pub-
lic health and safety. In addition to any action available to the commission
under ORS 471.313 or 471.315, the commission may immediately suspend or
refuse renewal of a license as provided under ORS 183.430 (2) if the licensee
fails to comply with those insurance or bond requirements.

“(7) If a licensee fails to provide proof of compliance with liquor liability
insurance or bond requirements imposed under this section at the time of
license renewal or when requested by the commission, the failure is suffi-
cient reason for the commission to find for purposes of ORS 183.430 (2) that
the licensee has failed to comply with the insurance or bond requirements.

“SECTION 228. ORS 471.175 is amended to read:

“471.175. (1) The holder of a full on-premises sales license may sell by the

drink at retail wine, malt beverages, cider and distilled liquor. Except as
provided in this section, all alcoholic beverages sold under a full on-premises
sales license must be consumed on the licensed premises.

“(2) A full on-premises sales license may be issued only to:

“(a) A nonprofit private club, as described in subsection (8) of this sec-
tion.

“(b) A public passenger carrier as provided in ORS 471.182.

“(c) A commercial establishment, as defined in ORS 471.001 (2).

“(d) A public location that does not qualify for licensing under para-
graphs (a) to (c) of this subsection if:

“(A) Food is cooked and served at the location;

“(B) The predominant business activity at the location is other than the
preparation or serving of food or the serving of alcohol; and

“(C) The location meets any minimum food service requirements estab-

lished by Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission rule.
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“(e) A caterer, subject to the requirements of ORS 471.184.

“(3) The holder of a full on-premises sales license shall allow a patron to
remove a partially consumed bottle of wine from the licensed premises if the
wine is served in conjunction with the patron’s meal, the patron is not a
minor and the patron is not visibly intoxicated.

“(4) The holder of a full on-premises sales license is entitled to purchase
any distilled liquor from an agent of the commission appointed pursuant to
ORS 471.750 at a discount of not more than five percent off the regular listed
price fixed by the commission, together with all taxes, in a manner pre-
scribed by commission rule. For purposes of compensation by the commission,
the appointed agent shall be credited with such sales at full retail cost. The
commission may not require the licensee to purchase more than one con-
tainer of distilled liquor at a time if the distilled liquor:

“(a) Except as provided in subsection (9) of this section, has a retail sales
price of $30 or more per container;

“(b) Is available through a distributor in the United States that does not
require the commission to acquire more than one case of the distilled liquor
in a single transaction;

“(c) Is not regularly stocked by the commission; and

“(d) Is ordered in a 750 milliliter container size if available in that size.

“(5) The holder of a full on-premises sales license may purchase distilled
liquor only from a retail sales agent of the commission or from another
person licensed under this section who has purchased the distilled liquor
from a retail sales agent of the commission.

“(6) The holder of a full on-premises sales license may sell factory-sealed
containers of wine to a person who organizes a private gathering on the
licensee’s premises if the wine was acquired as part of a larger purchase of
wine by the licensee for the purpose of the gathering and only part of the
larger purchase was consumed at the gathering. Wine sold under this sub-

section may be sold only for an amount adequate to compensate the licensee
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for the amounts paid by the licensee for the wine.

“(7) The holder of a full on-premises sales license may sell for consump-
tion off the licensed premises malt beverages, wines and cider in securely
covered containers provided by the consumer and having capacities of not
more than two gallons each.

“(8) A nonprofit private club, including but not limited to a fraternal or
veterans organization, may qualify for a full on-premises sales license under
this section only if the club meets any minimum membership, nonprofit sta-
tus and food service requirements established by commission rule.

“(9) The commission may annually adjust the price threshold established
in subsection (4)(a) of this section by a percentage equal to the percentage
change in the Portland-Salem, OR-WA Consumer Price Index for All Urban
Consumers for All Items as published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of
the United States Department of Labor. However, the commission may not
adjust the price threshold to be less than $30.

“SECTION 229. ORS 471.180 is amended to read:

“471.180. A full or limited on-premises sales license issued to a hotel or

arena under the provisions of this chapter authorizes the person to whom the
license is issued to provide for in-room supplies of the alcoholic beverages
otherwise authorized to be sold under the license. Any in-room supply of al-
coholic beverages that are available for purchase by patrons of the hotel or
arena shall be kept in a locked cabinet, and shall conform with any rules
that the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may promulgate
to ensure the enforcement of other provisions of this chapter.

“SECTION 230. ORS 471.182 is amended to read:

“471.182. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may

grant a full or limited on-premises sales license to the owner or operator of
a licensed public passenger carrier only as specified in this section. A public
passenger carrier licensed by the commission under this section must serve

food as required by rules of the commission.
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“(2) The commission may issue a full on-premises sales license to:

“(a) An airline for use in operating aircraft that are licensed to carry at
least 40 passengers and that arrive at or depart from an airport in this state.

“(b) A railroad corporation for use in operating passenger trains in this
state.

“(c) The owner or operator of one or more tour boats that are licensed
to carry at least 40 passengers to or from any port of this state and that are
primarily used for nonfishing purposes.

“(3) The commission may issue a limited on-premises sales license to any
of the persons specified in subsection (2) of this section. In addition, the
commission may issue a limited on-premises sales license to the owner or
operator of a licensed public passenger carrier not described in subsection
(2) of this section if the carrier is a mobile vehicle that is licensed to carry

at least 40 passengers.
“SECTION 231. ORS 471.184 is amended to read:

“471.184. (1) The holder of a full or limited on-premises sales license may

cater a temporary event at a location other than the licensed premises if the
event is not open to the general public. Catering of an event under this
subsection must be pursuant to a contract with a client. The contract must
provide that the licensee will furnish food and beverage services for no more
than 100 patrons. The licensee must serve food as required by rules of the
commission. The licensee may cater events under this subsection without
giving advance notice to the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Com-
mission if, before the event occurs, the commission gives written approval
to the licensee authorizing catering pursuant to this subsection. Events
catered under the provisions of this subsection must meet all requirements
for enclosure of premises that may be imposed by the commission for the
purposes of this section. Notwithstanding ORS 471.175 (3) and (7) and 471.178
(2) to (4), the licensee may not permit patrons of the event to remove any

alcoholic beverages from the premises of the event.
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“(2) In addition to catered events under subsection (1) of this section, the
commission may by rule allow the exercise of the privileges of a full or
limited on-premises sales license at temporary events held at locations other
than the licensed premises. The commission may:

“(a) Require notice to the commission before the exercise of license priv-
ileges at temporary events under this subsection;

“(b) Require that written approval by the commission be obtained before
the exercise of license privileges at temporary events under this subsection;

“(c) Establish eligibility criteria for the exercise of license privileges at
temporary events under this subsection; and

“(d) Establish fees reasonably calculated to cover administrative expenses
incurred by the commission in administering this subsection.

“SECTION 232. ORS 471.186 is amended to read:

“471.186. (1) The holder of an off-premises sales license may sell factory-

sealed containers of malt beverages, wine and cider. Factory-sealed contain-
ers of malt beverages sold under the license may not hold more than two and
one-quarter gallons.

“(2) The holder of an off-premises sales license may sell for consumption
off the licensed premises malt beverages, wines and cider in securely covered
containers supplied by the consumer and having capacities of not more than
two gallons each.

“(3) The holder of an off-premises sales license may provide sample tasting
of alcoholic beverages on the licensed premises if the licensee makes written
application to the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission and
receives approval from the commission to conduct tastings on the premises.
Tastings must be limited to the alcoholic beverages that may be sold under
the privileges of the license.

“(4) An off-premises sales license may not be issued for use at a premises
that is mobile.

“(5) Except as provided in ORS 471.402, a manufacturer or wholesaler may
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not provide or pay for sample tastings of alcoholic beverages for the public
on premises licensed under an off-premises sales license.

“(6) The holder of an off-premises sales license may deliver malt
beverages, wine or cider that is sold under the privileges of the license to
retail customers in this state without a direct shipper permit issued under
ORS 471.282, Any deliveries by the holder of an off-premises sales license are
subject to any rules adopted by the commission relating to deliveries made
under this subsection. Deliveries under this subsection:

“(a) May be made only to a person who is at least 21 years of age;

“(b) May be made only for personal use and not for the purpose of resale;
and

“(c) Must be made in containers that are conspicuously labeled with the
words: ‘CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE OF PERSON AGE 21 YEARS
OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY'

“(7) The holder of an off-premises sales license that makes deliveries of
malt beverages, wine or cider under subsection (6) of this section must take
all actions necessary to ensure that a carrier used by the licensee does not
deliver any malt beverages, wine or cider unless the carrier:

“(a) Obtains the signature of the recipient of the malt beverages, wine
or cider upon delivery;

“(b) Verifies by inspecting government-issued photo identification that the
recipient is at least 21 years of age; and

“(c) Determines that the recipient is not visibly intoxicated at the time
of delivery.

“(8) Any person who knowingly or negligently delivers malt beverages,
wine or cider under the provisions of this section to a person under 21 years
of age, or who knowingly or negligently delivers malt beverages, wine or
cider under the provisions of this section to a visibly intoxicated person,
violates ORS 471.410.

“(9) If a court determines that deliveries of malt beverages, wine or cider
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under subsection (6) of this section cannot be restricted to holders of off-
premises sales licenses, and the decision is a final judgment that is no longer
subject to appeal, the holder of an off-premises sales license may not make
deliveries of malt beverages, wine or cider under the provisions of subsection
(6) of this section after entry of the final judgment.

“SECTION 233. ORS 471.190 is amended to read:

“471.190. (1) The holder of a temporary sales license may:

“(a) Sell at retail by the drink wine, malt beverages, cider and distilled
liquor.

“(b) Sell for consumption off the licensed premises wine, malt beverages
and cider in factory-sealed containers.

“(c) Sell for consumption off the licensed premises wine, malt beverages
and cider in securely covered containers supplied by the consumer and hav-
ing capacities of not more than two gallons each.

“(2) Distilled liquor served by the holder of a temporary sales license
must be purchased from a retail sales agent of the Oregon Liquor Control
and Cannabis Commission. The holder of a temporary sales license must
provide food service as required by commission rule.

“(3) A temporary sales license may be issued only to:

“(a) Nonprofit or charitable organizations that are registered with the
state.

“(b) A political committee that has filed a statement of organization un-
der ORS 260.039 or 260.042.

“(c) State agencies.

“(d) Local governments, and agencies and departments of local govern-
ments.

“(e) Persons not otherwise described in this subsection, as long as the
applicant submits a plan that is approved by the commission detailing how
minors will be prevented from gaining access to alcoholic beverages and how

minors will be prevented from gaining access to any portion of the licensed

HB 2198-1 3/4/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2198 Page 248




10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29

30

premises prohibited to minors under ORS 471430 (3) or any rule adopted by
the commission.

“(4) The commission may by rule establish additional eligibility require-
ments for temporary sales licenses.

“(5) Subject to such qualifications as the commission may establish by
rule, persons who hold a full or limited on-premises sales license are eligible
for temporary sales licenses.

“(6) A person holding a temporary sales license is not required to obtain
an intermittent temporary restaurant, seasonal temporary restaurant,
single-event temporary restaurant license or mobile unit license under ORS
chapter 624 if only wine, malt beverages and cider in single-service contain-
ers are served and only nonperishable food items that are exempted from
licensure by the Oregon Health Authority are served.

“(7) Employees and volunteers serving alcoholic beverages for a nonprofit
or charitable organization licensed under this section are not required to
have service permits or to complete an alcohol server education program and
examination under ORS 471.542. The commission by rule may establish edu-
cation requirements for servers described in this subsection.

“(8) Notwithstanding ORS 471.392 to 471.400, a temporary sales license
may be issued to a nonprofit trade association that has a membership pri-
marily composed of persons that hold winery licenses issued under ORS
471.223 or grower sales privilege licenses issued under ORS 471.227.

“SECTION 234. ORS 471.200 is amended to read:

“471.200. (1) A brewery-public house license allows the licensee:

“(a) To manufacture on the licensed premises, store, transport, sell to
wholesale malt beverage and wine licensees of the Oregon Liquor Control
and Cannabis Commission and export malt beverages;

“(b) To sell malt beverages manufactured on or off the licensed premises
at retail for consumption on or off the premises;

“(c) To sell malt beverages in brewery-sealed packages at retail directly
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to the consumer for consumption off the premises;

“(d) To sell on the licensed premises at retail malt beverages manufac-
tured on or off the licensed premises in unpasteurized or pasteurized form
directly to the consumer for consumption off the premises, delivery of which
may be made in a securely covered (;ontainer supplied by the consumer;

“(e) To sell wine and cider at retail for consumption on or off the prem-
ises;

“(f) To sell for consumption off the premises wines and cider in securely
covered containers supplied by the consumer and having capacities of not
more than two gallons each;

“(g) To conduct the activities, except manufacturing, described in para-
graphs (a) to (f) of this subsection at one location other than the premises
where the manufacturing occurs;

“(h) To obtain a special events brewery-public house license entitling the
holder to conduct the activities allowed under paragraphs (b) to (f) of this
subsection at a designated location other than the location set forth in the
brewery-public house license for a period not exceeding five days;

“(i) To distribute malt beverages manufactured at the licensed premises
to any other premises licensed to the same licensee, whether a manufacturer,
wholesaler or retail premises; and

“(3) To distribute for export, in any amount, malt beverages manufactured
at the licensed premises.

“(2) In addition to the privileges specified in subsection (1) of this section,
in any calendar year a brewery-public house licensee may sell at wholesale
and .distribute to licensees of the commission no more than 7,500 barrels of
malt beverages produced by the brewery-public house licensee.

“(3) A brewery-public house licensee, or any person having an interest in
the licensee, is a retail licensee for the purposes of ORS 471.394 and, except
as otherwise provided by this section and ORS 471.396, may not acquire or

hold any right, title, lien, claim or other interest, financial or otherwise, in,
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upon or to the premises, equipment, business or merchandise of any man-
ufacturer or wholesaler, as defined in ORS 471.392. A brewery-public house
licensee, or any person having an interest in the licensee, is also a man-
ufacturer for the purposes of ORS 471.398 and, except as otherwise provided
by this section and ORS 471.400, may not acquire or hold any right, title,
lien, claim or other interest, financial or otherwise, in, upon or to the
premises, equipment, business or merchandise of any other retail licensee,
as defined in ORS 471.392.

“(4) A brewery-public house licensee, or any person having an interest in
the licensee, is a retail licensee for the purposes of ORS 471.398 and, except
as otherwise provided by this section and ORS 471.400, may not accept di-
rectly or indirectly any financial assistance described in ORS 471.398 from
any manufacturer or wholesaler, as defined in ORS 471.392. A brewery-public
house licensee, or any person having an interest in the licensee, is also a
manufacturer for the purposes of ORS 471.398 and, except as otherwise pro-
vided by this section and ORS 471.400, may not provide directly or indirectly
any financial assistance described in ORS 471.398 to any retail licensee, as
defined in ORS 471.392. The prohibitions on financial assistance in ORS
471.398 do not apply to financial assistance between manufacturing and retail
businesses licensed to the same person under the provisions of this section.

“(5) Notwithstanding subsection (3) of this section, a brewery-public house
licensee, or any person having an interest in the licensee, may also hold a
winery license authorized by ORS 471.223. A brewery-public house licensee,
or any person having an interest in the licensee, may also hold a warehouse
license authorized by ORS 471.242.

“(6) Notwithstanding subsection (3) of this section, a brewery-public house
licensee is eligible for limited on-premises sales licenses and temporary sales
licenses.

“(7T)(a) Notwithstanding subsection (3) of this section, and except as pro-

vided in this subsection, a brewery-public house licensee, or any person
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having an interest in the licensee, may also hold a full on-premises sales li-
cense. If a person holds both a brewery-public house license and a full on-
premises sales license, nothing in this chapter shall prevent the sale by the
licensee of both distilled liquor and malt beverages manufactured under the
brewery-public house license.

“(b) The commission may not issue a full on-premises sales license to a
brewery-public house licensee under the provisions of this subsection if the
brewery-public house licensee, or any person having an interest in the
licensee or exercising control over the licensee, is a brewery that brews more
than 200,000 barrels of malt beverages annually or a winery that produces
more than 200,000 gallons of wine annually.

“(8) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, a brewery-public
house licensee, or any person having an interest in the licensee, may also
hold a distillery license. No provision of this chapter prevents a brewery-
public house licensee that also holds a distillery license from being appointed
by the commission as the distillery’s retail outlet agent for the purpose of
selling distilled liquors under ORS 471.230.

“(9) Notwithstanding subsection (3) of this section, the commission by
rule may authorize a brewery-public house licensee to coproduce special
events with other manufacturers.

“(10)(a) Notwithstanding subsection (3) of this section, a brewery-public
house licensee may hold, directly or indirectly, an interest in a manufacturer
or wholesaler, provided that the interest does not result in exercise of con-
trol over, or participation in the management of, the manufacturer’s or
wholesaler’s business or business decisions and does not result in exclusion
of any competitor’s brand of alcoholic liquor.

“(b) Notwithstanding subsection (3) of this section, a manufacturer or
wholesaler, and any officer, director or substantial stockholder of any cor-
porate manufacturer or wholesaler, may hold, directly or indirectly, an in-

terest in a brewery-public house licensee, provided that the interest does not
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result in exercise of control over, or participation in the management of, the
licensee’s business or business decisions and does not result in exclusion of
any competitor’s brand of alcoholic liquor.

“(11) For purposes of ORS chapter 473, a brewery-public house licensee
shall be considered to be a manufacturer.

“SECTION 235. ORS 471.223 is amended to read:

“471.223. (1) As used in this section, ‘control’ means that the licensee:

“(a) Owns the brand under which the wine or cider is labeled; or

“(b) Performs or has the legal right to perform all of the acts common to
a brand owner under the terms of a trademark license or similar agreement
that for the brand under which the wine or cider is labeled has a term of
at least three years.

“(2) A winery license shall allow the licensee:

“(a) To import wine or cider in containers that have a capacity of more
than four liters.

“(b) To import wine or cider in containers that have a capacity of four
liters or less if the brand of wine or cider is under the control of the
licensee.

“(c) To bottle, produce, blend, store, transport or export wines or cider.

“(d) To sell wines or cider at wholesale to the Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission or to licensees of the commission.

“(e) To sell wines or cider at retail directly to the consumer for con-
sumption on or off the licensed premises.

“(f) To sell malt beverages at retail for consumption on or off the licensed
premises.

“(g) To sell for consumption off the premises malt beverages, wines and
cider in securely covered containers supplied by the consumer and having
capacities of not more than two gallons each. |

“(h) To conduct any activities described in paragraphs (a) to (g) of this

subsection at a second or third premises as may be designated by the com-
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mission.

“(1) To purchase from or through the commission brandy or other distilled
liquors for fortifying wines.

“(j) To obtain a special events winery license that shall entitle the holder
to conduct the activities allowed under paragraphs (e) to (g) of this sub-
section at a designated location other than the one set forth in the winery
license for a period not to exceed five days.

“(3) A winery licensee shall allow a patron to remove a partially con-
sumed bottle of wine from the licensed premises if the patron is not a minor
and the patron is not visibly intoxicated.

“(4) In order to hold a winery license the licensee shall:

“(a) Possess at a bonded premises within Oregon a valid producer and
blender basic permit issued by the federal Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and
Trade Bureau; or

“(b) Possess a valid wine blender or valid wholesaler basic permit issued
by the federal Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau and have a writ-
ten contract with a winery licensed under paragraph (a) of this subsection
that authorizes the winery to produce for the licensee a brand of wine or
cider that is under the control of the licensee,

“(5) A winery licensee may sell and ship malt beverages, wine or cider
directly to a resident of this state only if the licensee has a direct shipper
permit issued under ORS 471.282.

“(6)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, a winery
licensee, or any person having an interest in the licensee, may also hold a
full on-premises sales license. If a winery licensee, or a person having an
interest in the licensee, also holds a full on-premises sales license, the pro-
visions of this chapter do not prevent the licensee or person from both sell-
ing wine or cider bottled and produced under the winery license and selling
alcoholic liquor as authorized under the full on-premises sales license.

“(b) The commission may not issue a full on-premises sales license to a
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winery licensee under the provisions of this subsection if the winery licensee,
or any person having an interest in the licensee or exercising control over
the licensee, i1s a brewery that brews more than 200,000 barrels of malt
beverages annually.

“(7) More than one winery licensee may exercise the privileges of a
winery license at a single location. The commission may not refuse to issue
a winery license to a person for the production of wine or cider on specified
premises based on the fact that other winery licensees also produce wine or
cider on those premises.

“(8) If a winery licensee does not possess at a bonded premises within
Oregon a valid producer and blender basic permit issued by the federal Al-
cohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, the licensee may exercise the
privileges described in this section only for wine and cider brands that are
under the control of the licensee.

“SECTION 236. ORS 471.227 is amended to read:

“471.227. (1) A grower sales privilege license shall allow the licensee to

perform the following activities only for fruit or grape wine or cider where
all of the fruit or grapes used to make the wine or cider are grown in Oregon
under the control of the licensee:

“(a) To import, store, transport or export such wines or cider.

“(b) To sell such wines or cider at wholesale to the Oregon Liquor Con-
trol and Cannabis Commaission or licensees of the commission.

“(c) To sell such wines or cider at retail directly to the consumer for
consumption on or off the licensed premises. r

“(d) To sell at retail for consumption off the licensed premises malt
beverages and such wines and cider in securely covered containers provided
by the consumer and having capacities of not more than two gallons each.

“(e) To conduct some or all of the activities allowed under paragraphs (a)
to (d) of this subsection at a second or third premises as may be designated

by the commission.
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“(f) To obtain a special events grower sales privilege license which shall
entitle the holder to conduct the activities allowed under paragraphs (c) and
(d) of this subsection at a designated location other than the one set forth
in the grower sales privilege license for a period not to exceed five days.

“(2) A grower sales privilege licensee shall allow a patron to remove a
partially consumed bottle of wine from the licensed premises if the patron
1s not a minor and the patron is not visibly intoxicated.

“(3) For purposes of ORS 471.392 to 471.400, a grower sales privilege
licensee shall be considered a manufacturer.

“(4) A person holding a winery license in another state is not eligible for
a license under this section.

“(5) A person licensed under this section is not eligible for a limited on-
premises sales license or an off-premises sales license.

“(6) As used in this section, ‘control’ means the grower either owns the
land upon which the fruit or grapes are grown or has a legal right to perform
or does perform all of the acts common to fruit farming or viticulture under
terms of a lease or similar agreement of at least three years’ duration.

“(7) For the purposes of tax reporting, payment and record keeping, the
provisions of law that shall apply to a manufacturer under ORS chapter 473
shall apply to a grower sales privilege licensee, but such a licensee is not a
manufacturer for purposes of ORS 473.050 (5).

“SECTION 237. ORS 471.230 is amended to read:

“471.230. (1) A distillery license allows the licensee to import, manufac-

ture, distill, rectify, blend, denature and store spirits of an alcoholic content
greater than 17 percent alcohol by weight, to sell the spirits to the Oregon
Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission and to transport the spirits out
of this state for sale outside this state. Distillery licensees may purchase and
sell distilled liquor from or to another distillery licensee in containers hav-
ing a capacity greater than one U.S. gallon for blending and manufacturing

purposes. A distillery licensee may not sell any alcoholic beverage within
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this state except to the commission or as provided in this section. However,
any agricultural producer or association of agricultural producers or the le-
gal agents of an agricultural producer or association of agricultural pro-
ducers that manufactures and converts agricultural surpluses, by-products
and wastes into denatured ethyl and industrial alcohol for use in the arts
and industry are not required to obtain a license from the commission.

“(2) If a distillery licensee holds a valid distilled spirits plant basic permit
issued by the federal Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau for the li-
censed premises, the distillery licensee may:

“(a) Permit tastings of distilled liquor approved by the commission for
sale in Oregon and manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee or by
another distillery licensee. Tastings may be of the distilled liquor alone or
with a mix of other liquids. If any of the other liquids are distilled liquors,
they must be distilled liquors on the list of products approved by the com-
mission for retail sale in Oregon and must be purchased by the licensee at
the retail price established by the commission. This paragraph does not au-
thorize sales by the drink of distilled liquor. The tastings may be conducted
on the licensed premises of the distillery and at no more than five other
premises owned or leased by the licensee. The commission may allow more
than one distillery licensee to use the same premises at the same time for
conducting tastings if the premises are a primary production location and the
licensees share the premises or are owned by the same entity. If the man-
ufacturer of the distilled liquor obtains distilled liquor for conducting
tastings from the inventory of the commission, the licensee shall pay the
commission a processing fee.

“(b) Obtain a special events distillery license.

“(c) Apply for appointment by the commission as a distillery retail outlet
agent for purposes of retailing distilled liquor at locations where tastings
are permitted under paragraph (a) of this subsection or subsection (4)(a) of

this section. A distillery retail outlet agent may sell at locations where
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tastings are allowed under paragraph (a) of this subsection only distilled li-
quor that is on the list of products approved by the commission for retail
sale in Oregon and is manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee or
by another distillery licensee that uses the same premises as a primary pro-
duction location or is owned by the same entity as the distillery licensee.

“(3) Notwithstanding ORS 471.392 to 471.400, a distillery licensee may also
hold a full on-premises sales license for a location at the licensed premises
of the distillery and a full on-premises sales license for one other location.
All distilled spirits sold under the full on-premises sales license must be
purchased from the commission.

“(4) A distillery licensee that holds a special events distillery license may
conduct an event on premises designated in the special events distillery li-
cense. Except as provided in this subsection, a special events distillery li-
cense may be valid for a period not exceeding five days. The commission
shall limit the approval of special events distillery licenses for a distillery
licensee at the same location to not more than 62 days during a calendar
year. A distillery licensee conducting a special event may:

“(a) Permit tastings of distilled liquor approved by the commission for
sale in Oregon and manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee.
Tastings may be of the distilled liquor alone or with a mix of other liquids.
If any of the other liquids are distilled liquors, they must be distilled liquors
on the list of products approved by the commission for retail sale in Oregon
and must be purchased by the licensee at the retail price established by the
commission. If the manufacturer of the distilled liquor obtains distilled li-
quor for conducting tastings from the inventory of the commission, the
licensee shall pay the commission a processing fee.

“(b) Permit sales by the drink of distilled liquor. A drink that a distillery
licensee sells under this paragraph must include distilled liquor that the
licensee manufactured in Oregon. Any distilled liquor contained in the drink

must be on the list of products approved by the commission for retail sale
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in Oregon. The distillery licensee selling the drink must purchase all dis-
tilled liquor contained in the drink at the retail price set by the commission
for the month in which the drink is sold.

“(c) If the distillery licensee has been appointed as a distillery retail
outlet agent under subsection (2)(c) of this section, sell distilled liquor in
factory-sealed containers for consumption off the licensed premises. A
distillery retail outlet agent may sell at a location where tastings are al-
lowed under paragraph (a) of this subsection only distilled liquor that is on
the list of products approved by the commission for retail sale in Oregon and
is manufactured in Oregon by the distillery licensee. The distillery retail
outlet agent must sell the distilled liquor at the retail price set by the com-
mission for the month of sale.

“SECTION 238. ORS 471.235 is amended to read:

“471.235. (1) A wholesale malt beverage and wine license shall allow the

importation, storage, transportation, wholesale sale and distribution to
licensees of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission, and the
export of wine, cider and malt beverages, and the importation and sale to the
commission and the export of wine of alcoholic content in excess of 21 per-
cent alcohol by volume. A wholesale malt beverage and wine licensee may
not sell any alcoholic liquor for consumption upon the licensed premises.
However, a wholesale malt beverage and wine licensee may sell naturally
fermented wine or cider in quantities of not less than four gallons nor more
than 55 gallons at any one time to consumers for consumption not on the
licensed premises. Wholesale malt beverage and wine licensees may sell malt
beverages containing not more than nine percent alcohol by volume in
quantities not less than four gallons to any unlicensed organization, lodge,
picnic party or private gathering. The unlicensed organization, lodge, picnic
party or private gathering may not sell the malt beverages. A wholesale malt
beverage and wine license shall permit the licensee also to sell malt

beverages at wholesale only, to persons holding licenses authorizing the
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persons to resell such beverages at retail. Employees of wholesale malt

- beverage and wine licensees may serve sample tastings of malt beverages,

cider and wine at alcoholic beverage industry trade shows, seminars and
conventions and at alcoholic beverage industry sample tastings for employees
of retail licensees.

“(2) Subsection (1) of this section does not prohibit the transportation or
wholesale sale or distribution of malt beverage or wine by a wholesale malt
beverage and wine licensee to any alcoholic treatment center licensed by the
Oregon Health Authority.

“(8) A wholesale malt beverage and wine licensee may impose an addi-
tional handling fee on any wine sold to any retailer in this state if the
quantity of wine sold to the retailer is less than the smallest multiple-

package case avallable to be sold and the handling fee is uniform for all

licensees.
“SECTION 239. ORS 471.242 is amended to read:

“471.242. (1) A warehouse license shall allow the licensee to store, import,

bottle, produce, blend, transport and export nontax paid, bonded wine or
wine on which the tax is paid and to store, import and export nontax paid
malt beverages and cider, or malt beverages and cider on which the tax is

paid. Wine, cider and malt beverages may be removed from the licensed

premises only for:

“(a) Sale for export;

“(b) Sale or shipment to a wholesale malt beverage and wine licensee;

“(c) Sale or shipment to another warehouse licensee;

“(d) Sale or shipment to a winery licensee;

“(e) Shipment of wine or cider produced by a winery licensee to a licensee
of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission authorized to sell
wine or cider at retail if the shipment is made pursuant to a sale to the re-
tail licensee by the holder of a winery license issued under ORS 471.223, a

grower sales privilege license issued under ORS 471.227 or a wholesale malt
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beverage and wine license issued under ORS 471.235; or

“(f) Shipment of malt beverages, wine or cider to a person for personal
use, as described in subsection (7) of this section.

“(2) A license applicant must hold an approved registration for a bonded
wine cellar or winery under federal law.

“(3) For the purposes of tax reporting, payment and record keeping, the
provisions that shall apply to a manufacturer under ORS chapter 473 shall
apply to a warehouse licensee.

“(4) A warehouse must be physically secure in an area zoned for the in-
tended use and be physically separated from any other use.

“(5) For purposes of ORS 471.392 to 471.400, a warehouse licensee shall
be considered a manufacturer.

“(6) For purposes of ORS 473.045, a warehouse licensee shall be considered
a winery licensee.

“(7) Malt beverages, wine or cider may be removed from the premises li-
censed under this section for shipment pursuant to a sale under ORS 471.282.
The warehouse licensee shall take reasonable steps to ensure that shipments
are made in containers that are conspicuously labeled with the words:
‘CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE OF PERSON AGE 21 YEARS OR
OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY. In addition, the warehouse licensee
shall take reasonable steps to ensure that any carrier used by the licensee
does not deliver any malt beverages, wine or cider unless the carrier:

“(a) Obtains the signature of the recipient of the malt beverages, wine
or cider upon delivery;

“(b) Verifies by inspecting government-issued photo identification that the
recipient is at least 21 years of age; and |

“(c) Determines that the recipient is not visibly intoxicated at the time
of delivery.

“SECTION 240. ORS 471.244 is amended to read:

“471.244. (1) No licensee of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis

HB 2198-1 3/4/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2198 Page 261




10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29

30

Commission shall manufacture, import into, or purchase in the State of
Oregon for resale therein any malt beverages, cider or wine unless the
manufacturer of such malt beverages, cider or wine has first obtained from
the commission a certificate of approval, except that with respect to malt
beverages, cider or wine manufactured outside the United States, the certif-
icate of approval may be obtained by the person importing same into the
United States. Such certificate of approval shall be granted only to man-
ufacturers or importers who shall have entered into an agreement with the
commission to furnish a report to the commission, on or before the 20th day
of each month, showing the quantity of malt beverages, cider or wine deliv-
ered to each licensee of the commission during the preceding calendar month,
and to faithfully comply with all laws of the State of Oregon pertaining to
traffic in malt beverages, cider or wine. If any holder of such certificate, or
any officer, agent or employee of such holder, shall violate any term or
provision of such agreement, or submit any false or fictitious report, the
commission may, in its discretion, suspend or revoke such certificate.

“(2) The commission may grant special certificates of approval to man-
ufacturers and importers of malt beverages, cider or wine. A special certif-
icate of approval has the effect of a certificate of approval granted under
subsection (1) of this section, but is valid only for a period of 30 days.

“SECTION 241. ORS 471.251 is amended to read:

“471.251. The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may is-

sue a manufacturer or other person a certificate of approval authorizing the
import of distilled liquor manufactured by a distillery not licensed under
ORS 471.230. The commission may establish by rule:

“(1) The conditions under which a manufacturer or other person may
qualify for a certificate of approval;

“(2) The products covered by the certificate of approval;

“(3) Any conditions or limitations placed on imports under the certificate

of approval; and
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“(4) The grounds for suspension or revocation of a certificate of approval.
“SECTION 242. ORS 471.268 is amended to read:

“471.268. (1) In addition to any other privilege granted to a licensee under

this chapter, a licensee may conduct an organized judging, tasting, exhibi-
tion, contest or competition of malt beverages and wines produced under
ORS 471.403 (2) and (3) or homemade beers, wines and fermented fruit juices,
or related events, at the premises described in a full or limited on-premises
sales license, off-premises sales license, brewery-public house license, brewery
license, winery license or warehouse license of the licensee. However, the
Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may restrict the portion
of the licensed premises that may be used for the judging, tasting, exhibition,
contest, competition or related events and may restrict or prohibit sales of
alcoholic beverages on the portion of the premises that is being used for
conducting the judging, tasting, exhibition, contest, competition or related
events.

“(2) In addition to any other privilege granted to a licensee under this
chapter, a licensee may allow malt beverages and wines produced under ORS
471.403 (2) and (3) or homemade beers, wines and fermented fruit juices to
be stored at the premises described in a full or limited on-premises sales li-
cense, off-premises sales license, brewery-public house license, brewery li-
cense, winery license or warehouse license of the licensee. The malt
beverages or wines and the homemade beers, wines or fermented fruit juices
must be clearly identified by owner and kept separate from the alcoholic
beverage stock of the licensee.

“(3) A licensee may not acquire any ownership interest in malt beverages
and wines produced under ORS 471.403 (2) and (3) or homemade beers, wines
or fermented fruit juices stored under this section. However, this subsection
does not prohibit a licensee from using malt beverages and wines produced
under ORS 471.403 (2) and (3) or homemade beers, wines or fermented fruit

juices in conducting an organized judging, tasting, exhibition, contest or
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competition of the malt beverages and wines or homemade beers, wines or
fermented fruit juices, or related events, if the malt beverages and wines or
the homemade beers, wines or fermented fruit juices are stored with the

licensee for that purpose.
“SECTION 243. ORS 471.274 is amended to read:
“471.274. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may

issue a wine self-distribution permit to a United States manufacturer of wine
or cider. The commission may issue a wine self-distribution permit only to
a manufacturer of wine or cider that:

“(a) Holds a license issued by another state that authorizes the manufac-
ture of wine or cider; and

“(b) Holds a certificate of approval issued under ORS 471.244.

“(2) The holder of a wine self-distribution permit may sell at wholesale
and transport wine or cider that the manufacturer produces directly to the
commission, or to retail licensees in the manner provided by this section. A
wine self-distribution permit allows the holder to sell wine or cider that the
holder produces only to retail licensees who hold a valid endorsement issued
by the commission authorizing receipt of wine or cider from the holder of a
wine self-distribution permit,

“(3) In addition to the information required by ORS 471.311 for licenses,
an applicant for a wine self-distribution permit shall provide the commission
with a copy of the license held by the applicant or with sufficient informa-
tion to allow verification of the license by electronic means or other means
acceptable to the commission. The applicant also shall provide the commis-
sion with any information required by the commission to establish that the
license held by the applicant authorizes the manufacture of wine or cider.

“(4) A person holding a wine self-distribution permit is responsible for
paying all taxes imposed under ORS chapter 473, and for complying with all
reporting requirements imposed by ORS chapter 473, for all wine and cider

sold and transported to retail licensees in this state. The commission may
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revoke, or refuse to issue, a wine self-distribution permit if the holder of a
permit fails to pay taxes or make reports as required by ORS chapter 473.

“(5) A retail licensee may receive wine or cider from the holder of a wine
self-distribution permit only if the licensee has received prior authorization
from the commission. Prior authorization under this subsection must be made
by an endorsement to the license for the premises where the wine or cider
will be received. The commission may not charge or collect a fee for an
endorsement under this subsection.

“(6)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, a retail
licensee that receives wine or cider from holders of wine self-distribution
permits must make a monthly report to the commission, using a form pre-
scribed by the commission, listing the amount of all wine or cider received
from permit holders in the previous month, and the names of the permit
holders from whom the wine or cider was received. Retail licensees shall
retain such purchase records for products received from permit holders as
may be required by the commission.

“(b) The holder of a full or limited on-premises sales license is not re-
quired to file a report under this subsection for any month in which the
licensee receives two or fewer cases of wine from holders of wine self-
distribution permits.

“(7) A manufacturer that is not licensed by the commission may sell and
transport wine or cider directly to a retail licensee, and a retail licensee may
receive wine or cider directly from a manufacturer that is not licensed by
the commission, only if the manufacturer holds a wine self-distribution per-
mit issued under this section.

“(8) The holder of a wine self-distribution permit consents to the juris-
diction of the commission and the courts of this state for the purpose of
enforcing the provisions of this chapter, ORS chapter 473 and any related

laws or rules.

“(9) The holder of a wine self-distribution permit must post a bond or

HB 2198-1 3/4/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2198 Page 265




10

11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29

30

other security, as described in ORS 471.155.

“(10) The commission may revoke, or refuse to 1ssue, a wine self-
distribution permit if the holder of a permit fails to comply with any pro-
vision of this section.

“SECTION 244. ORS 471.282 is amended to read:

“471.282. (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter and ex-

cept as provided by ORS 471.186 (6), a person may sell and ship malt
beverages, wine or cider directly to a resident of Oregon only if the person
holds a direct shipper permit. The Oregon Liguor Control and Cannabis
Commission shall issue a direct shipper permit only to:

“(a) A person that holds a license issued by this state or another state
that authorizes the manufacture of malt beverages, wine or cider;

“(b) A person that holds a license issued by this state or another state
that authorizes the sale of wine or cider produced only from grapes or other
fruit grown under the control of the person;

“(c) A person that holds a license authorizing the sale of malt beverages,
wine or cider at retail; or

“(d) A nonprofit trade association that holds a temporary sales license
under ORS 471.190 and that has a membership primarily composed of persons
holding winery licenses issued under ORS 471.223 or grower sales privilege
licenses issued under ORS 471.227.

“(2) The holder of a direct shipper permit that is a licensee of another
state may deliver malt beverages under the permit only if that other state
makes direct shipper permits, or the equivalent, available for the delivery
of malt beverages by persons holding a license issued by the commission
authorizing the manufacture or retail sale of malt beverages.

“(3)(a) A person may apply for a direct shipper permit by filing an appli-
cation with the commission. The application must be made in such form as
may be prescribed by the commission.

“(b) If the application is based on a license issued by this state, the per-
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son must include in the application the number of the license issued to the
person.

“(c) If the application is based on a license issued by another state, the
person must include in the application a true copy of the license issued to
the person by the other state or include sufficient information to allow ver-
ification of the license by electronic means or other means acceptable to the
commission.

“(d) If the application is based on a license issued by another state, or the
application is by a nonprofit trade association described in subsection (1)(d)
of this section, the person or association must pay a $50 registration fee and
maintain a bond or other security described in ORS 471.155 in the minimum
amount of $1,000.

“(4) Sales and shipments under a direct shipper permit:

“(a) May be made only to a person who is at least 21 years of age;

“(b) May be made only for personal use and not for the purpose of resale;
and

“(c) May not exceed two cases, containing not more than nine liters per
case, to any resident per month.

“(5) Sales and shipments under a direct shipper permit must be made di-
rectly to a resident of this state in containers that are conspicuously labeled
with the words: ‘CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE OF PERSON AGE
21 YEARS OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY.

“(6) A person holding a direct shipper permit must take all actions nec-
essary to ensure that a carrier used by the permit holder does not deliver
any malt beverages, wine or cider unless the carrier:

“(a) Obtains the signature of the recipient of the malt beverages, wine
or cider upon delivery;

“(b) Verifies by inspecting government-issued photo identification that the
recipient is at least 21 years of age; and

“(c) Determines that the recipient is not visibly intoxicated at the time
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of delivery.

“(7)(a) A person holding a direct shipper permit must report to the com-
mission on a quarterly basis all shipments of malt beverages, wine or cider
made to Oregon residents under the permit. The report must be made in a
form prescribed by the commission.

“(b) A person holding a direct shipper permit must allow the commission
to audit the permit holder’s records upon request and shall make those re-
cords available to the commission in this state.

“(c) A person holding a direct shipper permit consents to the jurisdiction
of the commission and the courts of this state for the purpose of enforcing
the provisions of this section and any related laws or rules.

“(8)(a) A person holding a direct shipper permit must timely pay to the
commission all taxes imposed under ORS chapter 473 on malt beverages, wine
and cider sold and shipped under the permit. For the purpose of the privi-
lege tax imposed under ORS chapter 473, all malt beverages, wine or cider
sold and shipped pursuant to a direct shipper permit is sold in this state.

“(b) A person holding a direct shipper permit based on a license issued
by another state must timely pay to the commission all taxes imposed under
ORS chapter 473 on all malt beverages, wine or cider sold and shipped di-
rectly to Oregon residents under the permit. The permit holder, not the
purchaser, is responsible for the tax.

“(9) A direct shipper permit must be renewed annually. If the person holds
the permit based on an annual license issued by another state, the person
may renew the permit by paying a $50 renewal fee and providing the com-
mission with a true copy of a current license issued to the person by the
other state or with sufficient information to allow verification of the license
by electronic means or other means acceptable to the commission. If the
person holds the permit based on an annual license issued by this state, the

person may renew the permit at the same time that the person renews the

license.
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“(10) The commission may refuse to issue or may suspend or revoke a
direct shipper permit if the permit holder fails to comply with the provisions
of this section. A person may sell and ship malt beverages, wine or cider
under a direct shipper permit only for as long as the person has the license
issued by this state or another state that authorizes the person to hold a
direct shipper permit. A direct shipper permit does not authorize the ship-
ment of malt beverages by a permit holder described in subsection (1)(b) of
this section or lacking authority as provided under subsection (2) of this
section.

“(11) Any person who knowingly or negligently delivers malt beverages,
wine or cider under the provisions of this section to a person under 21 years
of age, or who knowingly or negligently delivers malt beverages, wine or
cider under the provisions of this section to a visibly intoxicated person,
violates ORS 471.410.

“(12) A person may not make sales and shipments of malt beverages, wine
or cider directly to Oregon residents unless the person holds a direct shipper
permit issued under this section. Any person who knowingly makes, partic-
ipates in, transports, imports or receives a shipment of malt beverages, wine
or cider that is in violation of this section commits a misdemeanor as pro-
vided in ORS 471.990 (1).

“SECTION 245. ORS 471.292 is amended to read:

“471.292. (1) A license granted under the Liquor Control Act or the
Oregon Distilled Liquor Control Act shall:

“(a) Be a purely personal privilege.

“(b) Be valid for the period stated in the license.

“(c) Be renewable in the manner provided in ORS 471.311, except for a
cause which would be grounds for refusal to issue such license under ORS
471.313.

“(d) Be revocable or suspendible as provided in ORS 471.315.

“(e) Be transferable from the place for which the license was originally
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issued to another location subject to the provisions of the Liquor Control

Act, the Oregon Distilled Liquor Control Act, any rules of the Oregon Liquor

Control and Cannabis Commission and any municipal ordinance or local
regulation.

“(f) Cease upon the death of the licensee, except as provided in subsection
(2) of this section.

“(g) Not constitute property.

“(h) Not be alienable.

“(i) Not be subject to attachment or execution.

“(j) Not descend by the laws of testate or intestate devolution.

“(2) The commission may, by order, provide for the manner and conditions
under which:

“(a) Alcoholic liquors left by any deceased, insolvent or bankrupt person
or licensee, or subject to a security interest, may be foreclosed, sold under
execution or otherwise disposed of.

“(b) The business of any deceased, insolvent or bankrupt licensee may be
operated for a reasonable period following the death, insolvency or bank-
ruptcy.

“(c) A business licensed pursuant to this chapter subject to a security
interest may be continued in business by a secured party as defined in ORS
79.0102 for a reasonable period after default on the indebtedness by the
debtor.

“(d) A license granted under this chapter may be transferred from the
place for which the license was originally issued to another location.

“SECTION 246. ORS 471.294 is amended to read:

“471.294. (1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, all licenses

under this chapter and renewals thereof shall be issued for a period of one

year which shall expire at 12 midnight on March 31, June 30, September 30

or December 31 of each year.

“(2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, a license issued for
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1 the first time to an applicant may be issued for less than a year. The fee for i
2 a license issued for less than a year under this subsection is the annual li- '
3 cense fee prescribed by ORS 471.311. :
4 “(3) The term of a temporary letter of authority or license issued under |
5 ORS 471.302 or any temporary sales license is the period fixed by the Oregon

6 Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission when the letter or license is is-

7 sued.
8 “SECTION 247. ORS 471.297 is amended to read:
9 “471.297. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may

10 grant a temporary letter of authority for a period not to exceed 90 days on |
11 change of ownership applications for licenses granted under this chapter if
12 the applicant pays the fee prescribed by the commission for a temporary
13 letter of authority. The administrator appointed by the commission under
14 ORS 471.720 may extend a temporary letter of authority granted under the
15 provisions of this section for a period not to exceed 30 days if the commission
18 has not granted or denied the application at the end of the 90-day period. A
17 temporary letter of authority issued under this section does not constitute
18 a license for the purposes of ORS chapter 183.

19 “(2) The commission summarily and without prior administrative pro-

20 ceedings may revoke a temporary letter of authority any time if the com-
21 mission finds that any of the grounds for refusing a license under ORS
22 471.313 or canceling or suspending a license under ORS 471.315 exist.

23 “(3) A person subject to subsection (2) of this section shall be given an
24 interview under the direction of the commission if the person requests an
25 interview prior to revocation of a temporary letter of authority. However,
26 the proceedings are not a contested case under ORS chapter 183.

27 “SECTION 248. ORS 471.302 is amended to read:

28 “471.302. (1) Upon receiving an application for an off-premises sales li-

29 cense, the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may grant a

30 temporary letter of authority for a period not exceeding 90 days, if it finds:
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“(a) The applicant is located in an area presently zoned for commercial
use and presents documentation of such zoning to the commission.

“(b) The applicant pays the fee prescribed by the commission for a tem-
porary letter of authority.

“(2) The administrator appointed by the commission under ORS 471.720
may extend a temporary letter of authority granted under the provisions of
this section for a period not to exceed 30 days if the commission has not
granted or denied the application at the end of the 90-day period provided
for in subsection (1) of this section.

“(3) A temporary letter of authority issued under this section does not
constitute a license for the purposes of ORS chapter 183. The commission
summarily and without prior administrative proceedings may revoke a tem-
porary letter of authority at any time if:

“(a) The commission finds that any of the grounds for refusing a license
under ORS 471.313 exist; or

“(b) The city or county in which the applicant is located provides evi-
dence of reasonable grounds to the commission:

“(A) That the temporary letter of authority should be revoked; or

“(B) That an off-premises sales license should not be issued.

“SECTION 249. ORS 471.305 is amended to read:

“471.305. A brewery or a wholesale malt beverage and wine licensee shall

deliver malt beverages only to or on a licensed premises. The sale of alco-
holic liquors under any license issued by the Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission authorizing retail sales by a licensee shall be re-
stricted to the premises described in the license, but deliveries may be made
by the licensee to customers pursuant to bona fide orders received on the
licensed premises prior to delivery.

“SECTION 250. ORS 471.311, as amended by section 4, chapter 3, Oregon

Laws 2016, is amended to read:

“471.311. (1) Any person desiring a license or renewal of a license under
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this chapter shall make application to the Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission upon forms to be furnished by the commission show-
ing the name and address of the applicant, location of the place of business
that is to be operated under the license, and such other pertinent information
as the commission may require. A license may not be granted or renewed
until the applicant has complied with the provisions of this chapter and the
rules of the commission.

“(2) The commission may reject any application that is not submitted in
the form required by rule. The commission shall give applicants an opportu-
nity to be heard if an application is rejected. A hearing under this subsection
is not subject to the requirements for contested case proceedings under ORS
chapter 183.

“(3) The commission shall charge an application fee, not to exceed $150,
to process an application for the issuance of a new license under this chapter
or a license following a change in ownership. The application fee applies
only to an application for a class of license having an annual license fee.
The application fee is nonrefundable, except that the commission shall refund
the fee if the applicant completes, submits and maintains an application and
the commission does not, on or before 75 days following receipt of the com-
pleted application, propose that the license be granted, granted with condi-
tions or refused. The commission shall adopt rules to:

“(Ia) Establish application fees by class of license; and

“(b) Define a completed application for purposes of this subsection.

“(4) Subject to subsection (5) of this section, the commission shall assess
a nonrefundable fee for processing a renewal application for any license au-
thorized by this chapter only if the renewal application is received by the
commission less than 20 days before expiration of the license. If the renewal
application is received prior to expiration of the license but less than 20 days
prior to expiration, the fee shall be 25 percent of the annual license fee. If

a renewal application is received by the commission after expiration of the
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1 license but no more than 30 days after expiration, the fee shall be 40 percent |
2 of the annual license fee. This subsection does not apply to a certificate of ] |
3 approval, a brewery-public house license or any license that is issued for a B
4 period of less than 30 days. | :_
5 “(5) The commission may waive the fee imposed under subsection (4) of
6 this section if the commission finds that failure to submit a timely applica-

7 tion was due to unforeseen circumstances or to a delay in processing the

8 application by the local governing authority that is no fault of the licensee.
9 “(6) The license fee is nonrefundable and must be paid by each applicant
10 upon the granting or committing of a license. Subject to ORS 471.155 and
11 473.065, the annual or daily license fee and the minimum bond required of

12 each class of license under this chapter are as follows:

111

13 _
14 Minimum
15 “License Fee Bond

16  Brewery, including Certilicate

17 of Approval $ 500 $ 1,000
18  Winery $ 250 $ 1,000
19 Distillery $ 100 None 3

20  Wholesale Malt Beverago
21 and Wine $ 275 $ 1,000
22  Warehouse $ 100 $ 1,000

23  Brewery-Public House,

24 “including Certilicate

25 “of Approval $ 250 $ 1,000
26  Limited On-Premises Sales $ 200 None
27  Off-Premises Sales $ 100 None
28 Temporary Sales $ 50 per day

29  Grower sales privilege

30 “license $ 250 $ 1,000
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Special cvents brewery

“license $ 10 per day
Special events winery

“license $ 10 per day
Special events grower

“sales privilege

“license $ 10 per day
Special events

“brewery-public house

“license $ 10 per day
Special events

“distillery

“license $ 10 per day

“(7) The fee for a certificate of approval or special certificate of approval
granted under ORS 471.244 is nonrefundable and must be paid by each ap-
plicant upon the granting or committing of a certificate of approval or spe-
cial certificate of approval. No bond is required for the granting of a
certificate of approval or special certificate of approval. Certificates of ap-
proval are valid for a period commencing on the date of issuance and ending
on December 31 of the fifth calendar year following the calendar year of is-
suance. The fee for a certificate of approval is $175. Special certificates of
approval are valid for a period of 30 days. The fee for a special certificate
of approval is $10.

“(8) Except as provided in subsection (9) of this section, the annual li-
cense fee for a full on-premises sales license is $400. No bond is required for
any full on-premises sales license.

“(9) The annual license fee for a full on-premises sales license held by a
nonprofit private club as described in ORS 471.175 (8), or held by a nonprofit

or charitable organization that is registered with the state, is $200.
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“(10) The annual fee for a wine self-distribution permit is $100, and the

minimum bond is $1,000.
“SECTION 251. ORS 471.313 is amended to read:

“471.313. The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may re-

fuse to license any applicant under the provisions of this chapter if the
commission has reasonable ground to believe any of the following to be true:

“(1) That there are sufficient licensed premises in the locality set out in
the application, or that the granting of a license in the locality set out in
the application is not demanded by public interest or convenience. In deter-
mining whether there are sufficient licensed premises in the locality, the
commission shall consider seasonal fluctuations in the population of the lo-
cality and shall ensure that there are adequate licensed premises to serve the
needs of the locality during the peak seasons.

“(2) That the applicant has not furnished an acceptable bond as required
by ORS 471.311 or is not maintaining the insurance or bond required by ORS
471.168.

“(3) That, except as allowed by ORS 471.392 to 471.400, any applicant to
sell at retail for consumption on the premises has been financed or furnished
with money or property by, or has any connection with, or is a manufacturer
of, or wholesale dealer in, alcoholic liquor.

“(4) That the applicant:

“(a) Is in the habit of using alcoholic beverages, habit-forming drugs or
controlled substances to excess.

“(b) Has made false statements to the commission.

“(c) Is incompetent or physically unable to carry on the management of
the establishment proposed to be licensed.

“(d) Has been convicted of violating a general or local law of this state
or another state, or of violating a federal law, if the conviction is substan-

tially related to the fitness and ability of the applicant to lawfully carry out

activities under the license.

HB 2198-1 3/4/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2198 Page 276




10

11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29

30

“(e) Has maintained an insanitary establishment.

“(f) Is not of good repute and moral character,

“(g) Did not have a good record of compliance with the alcoholic ligquor
laws of this state and the rules of the commission when previously licensed.

“(h) Is not the legitimate owner of the business proposed to be licensed,
or other persons have ownership interests in the business which have not
been disclosed.

“(1) Is not possessed of or has not demonstrated financial responsibility
sufficient to adequately meet the requirements of the business proposéd to
be licensed.

“(j) Is unable to read or write the English language or to understand the
laws of Oregon relating to alcoholic liquor or the rules of the commission.

“(5) That there is a history of serious and persistent problems involving
disturbances, lewd or unlawful activities or noise either in the premises
proposed to be licensed or involving patrons of the establishment in the im-
mediate vicinity of the premises if the activities in the immediate vicinity
of the premises are related to the sale or service of alcohol under the exer-
cise of the license privilege. Behavior which is grounds for refusal of a li-
cense under this section, where so related to the sale or service of alcohol,
includes, but is not limited to obtrusive or excessive noise, music or sound
vibrations; public drunkenness; fights; altercations; harassment; unlawful
drug sales; alcohol or related litter; trespassing on private property; and
public urination. Histories from premises currently or previously operated
by the applicant may be considered when reasonable inference may be made
that similar activities will occur as to the premises proposed to be licensed.
The applicant may overcome the history by showing that the problems are
not serious or persistent or that the applicant demonstrates a willingness
and ability to control adequately the premises proposed to be licensed and
patrons’ behavior in the immediate vicinity of the premises which is related

to the licensee’s sale or service of alcohol under the licensee’s exercise of the
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license privilege.

“SECTION 252. ORS 471.315 is amended to read:

“471.315. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may
cancel or suspend any license issued under this chapter, or impose a civil
penalty in lieu of or in addition to suspension as provided by ORS 471.322,
if the commission finds or has reasonable ground to believe any of the fol-
lowing to be true:

“(a) That the licensee:

“(A) Has violated any provision of this chapter or ORS 474.115 or any rule
of the commission adopted pursuant thereto.

“(B) Has made any false representation or statement to the commission
in order to induce or prevent action by the commission.

“(C) Is not maintaining an acceptable bond as required by ORS 471.311
or is not maintaining the insurance or bond required by ORS 471.168.

“(D) Has maintained an insanitary establishment.

“(E) Is insolvent or incompetent or physically unable to carry on the
management of the establishment of the licensee.

“(F) Is in the habit of using alcoholic liquor, habit-forming drugs or
controlled substances to excess.

“(G) Has knowingly sold alcoholic liquor to persons under 21 years of age
or to persons visibly intoxicated at the time of sale.

“(H) Has allowed the consumption of alcoholic liquor on the licensed
premises by a person who is visibly intoxicated at the time of consumption.

“(I) Has misrepresented to a customer or the public any alcoholic liquor
sold by the licensee.

“(J) Since the granting of the license, has been convicted of a felony, of
violating any of the liquor laws of this state, general or local, or of any
misdemeanor or violation of any municipal ordinance committed on the li-

censed premises.

“(b) That any person licensed to sell at retail for consumption on the
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premises 1s acting as an agent of, or is a manufacturer or wholesaler of al-
coholic liquors, or has borrowed money or property, or has accepted
gratuities or rebates, or has obtained the use of equipment from any man-
ufacturer or wholesaler of alcoholic liquor or any agent thereof.

“(c) That there is a history of serious and persistent problems involving
disturbances, lewd or unlawful activities or noise either in the premises or
involving patrons of the establishment in the immediate vicinity of the
premises if the activities in the immediate vicinity of the premises are re-
lated to the sale or service of alcohol under the exercise of the license
privilege. Behavior that is grounds for cancellation or suspension of a license
under this section, where so related to the sale or service of alcohol, includes
but 1s not limited to obtrusive or excessive noise, music or sound vibrations;
public drunkenness; fights; altercations; harassment or unlawful drug sales;
alcohol or related litter; trespassing on private property; and public
urination. Mitigating factors include a showing by the licensee that the
problems are not serious or persistent or that the licensee has demonstrated
a willingness and ability to control adequately the licensed premises and
patrons’ behavior in the immediate vicinity of the premises which is related
to the licensee’s sale or service of alcohol under the licensee’s exercise of the
license privilege.

“(d) That there is any other reason that, in the opinion of the commission,
based on public convenience or necessity, warrants canceling or suspending
such license.

“(2) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed as provided in
ORS 183.745.

“SECTION 253. ORS 471.316 is amended to read:

“471.316. (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, the

Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall suspend the license

of a licensed premises listed in subsection (4) of this section if the commis-

sion determines that:
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“(a) Unlawful drug use or sales are occurring on the licensed premises;

“(b) The licensee is aware of the unlawful drug use or sales because of
arrests for unlawful drug sales on the licensed premises or seizures of un-
lawful drugs on the licensed premises, or because the licensee or employees
of the licensee have personally witnessed unlawful drug use or sales on the
licensed premises; and

“(c) The licensee fails to take immediate and effective action to prevent
unlawful drug use or sales on the licensed premises.

“(2) In addition to any suspension imposed under this section, the com-
mission may impose a civil penalty under the circumstances described in
subsection (1) of this section not to exceed the maximum amount established
under ORS 471.322 (2). Notwithstanding ORS 471.322 (1), the commission
shall not allow payment of a civil penalty under this subsection in lieu of
the suspension provided for in subsection (1) of this section. A civil penalty
under this section shall be imposed in the manner provided by ORS 183.745.

“(3) The commission may cancel a license listed in subsection (4) of this
section if the license is suspended under the provisions of this section two
or more times within a two-year period.

“(4) This section applies only to premises licensed under:

“(a) A full on-premises sales license.

“(b) A limited on-premises sales license.

“(c) A brewery-public house license.

“SECTION 254. ORS 471.322 is amended to read:

“471.322. (1) If a license issued under this chapter or a service permit is-

sued under ORS 471.360 is suspended for a period of 30 days or less, the
Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may impose against the
affected licensee or permittee in lieu of or in addition to the suspension a
civil penalty fixed by the commission in accordance with subsection (2) of
this section if the commission is satisfied that such a penalty in lieu of or

in addition to suspension is consistent with the purposes of the Liquor
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Control Act and the Oregon Distilled Liquor Control Act. Upon payment of
the penalty in lieu of suspension, the commission shall cancel the suspension.

“(2) Except as provided in ORS 471.327, the penalty which the commission
may impose pursuant to subsection (1) of this section against a licensee shall
not be less than $100 nor more than $5,000. The penalty which the commis-
sion may impose pursuant to subsection (1) of this section against a service
permittee shall not be less than $25 nor more than $500.

“(3) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed as provided in
ORS 183.745.

“SECTION 255. ORS 471.326 is amended to read:

“471.326. If the action of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis

Commission in suspending a license or permit issued under this chapter is
not sustained upon judicial review under ORS chapter 183, the commission
shall promptly refund the amount paid pursuant to ORS 471.322 (1) by check
or order drawn on the State Treasurer from the Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission Account.

“SECTION 256. ORS 471.327 is amended to read:

“471.327. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission, in

suspending any brewery license, wholesale wine license, wholesale malt
beverage license, or certificate of approval, may further impose against the
licensee or the holder of the certificate of approval a civil penalty not to
exceed $5,000, or, in its discretion, may impose such civil penalty without
suspending the license or the certificate of approval.

“(2) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed as provided in
ORS 183.745.

“SECTION 257. ORS 471.329 is amended to read:
“471.329. (1) For the purpose of determining whether there is a history

of serious and persistent problems involving noise under the provisions of
ORS 471.313 (5) and 471.315 (1)(c), or whether the licensee maintains a noisy
establishment in violation of the provisions of ORS 471.425;
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“(a) Noise from the inside of a licensed premises located within the
boundaries of a city or county that has an ordinance regulating excessive
noise may be considered obtrusive or excessive only if the noise violates the
ordinance;

“(b) Noise caused by patrons outside a licensed premises located within
the boundaries of a city or county that has an ordinance regulating excessive
noise may be considered obtrusive or excessive only if the noise violates the
ordinance or if the noise is of a type that a reasonable person would not
expect to hear outside a premises licensed for the sale of alcoholic beverages;
and

“(c) Noise caused by patrons inside or outside a licensed premises located
within the boundaries of a city or county that does not have an ordinance
regulating excessive noise may be considered obtrusive or excessive only if
the noise is of the type that a reasonable person would not expect to hear
inside or outside a premises licensed for the sale of alcoholic beverages.

“(2) For the purpose of determining whether noise is obtrusive under the
provisions of ORS 471.313 (5) and 471.315 (1)(c), or whether the licensee
maintains a noisy establishment in violation of the provisions of ORS
471.425, the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall consider
whether persons complaining about the noise have taken any action to mit-
igate the disturbance alleged to have been caused by the noise.

“SECTION 258. ORS 471.331 is amended to read:

“471.331. (1) Whenever the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Com-

mission proposes to refuse to renew or to suspend or cancel any license is-
sued under this chapter because of adverse neighborhood impact of the
licensee’s operation, notwithstanding ORS 183.435, the commission shall
grant the affected licensee 20 days from notification of the proposed com-
mission action to request a hearing.

“(2) Nofwithstanding ORS 183.482 (3), the Oregon Liquor Control and

Cannabis Commission shall not stay any order refusing a license or sus-
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pending or canceling any license if the order was entered on grounds stated
in ORS 471.313 (5) or 471.315 (1)(c).

“SECTION 259. ORS 471.333 is amended to read:
“471.333. (1) Except as provided in subsections (2) and (3) of this section,

the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall not refuse to
issue, cancel or suspend a license under ORS 471.313, 471.315 or 471.425 for
maintaining an insanitary establishment.

“(2) The commission may refuse to issue, cancel or suspend a license un-
der ORS 471.313, 471.315 or 471.425 for maintaining an insanitary establish-
ment in violation of a city ordinance relating to sanitation only if the
licensee is convicted of violating the ordinance.

“(3) The commission may refuse to issue, cancel or suspend a license un-
der ORS 471.313, 471.315 or 471.425 for maintaining an insanitary establish-
ment in violation of ORS 447.010 to 447.156 and 447.992 or the laws, orders
or rules relating to public health of the Oregon Health Authority or the
State Department of Agriculture only when the agency charged with enforc-
ing those laws, orders or rules finds that the licensee is in violation of them
and renders a final order adverse to the licensee.

“SECTION 260. ORS 471.341 is amended to read:

“471.341. (1) An employee of an offpremises sales licensee who has been

found by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission to have sold
alcoholic beverages to a minor, or to have failed to properly verify identifi-
cation of a person who purchased alcoholic beverages, must attend a clerk
training course approved by the commission as a condition of making sales
of alcoholic beverages to members of the public under an off-premises sales
license.

“(2) The commission shall by rule establish times for employees to com-
plete a required clerk fraining course under this section. An employee re-
quired to complete a clerk training course under this section may continue

to make sales of alcoholic beverages to members of the public until taking
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such training, but may not make any sales of alcoholic beverages after the
expiration of the time allowed by commission rule if the employee has not
completed the training before the expiration of that time.

“(3) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, the holder of an
off-premises sales license may not allow an employee who has been found by
the [Oregon Liquor Control] commission to have sold alcoholic beverages to
a minor, or to have failed to properly verify identification of a person who
purchased alcoholic beverages, to sell alcoholic beverages under the license
unless the employee completes a clerk training course as required by this
section.

“(4) The [Oregon Liquor Control]l commission, as part of the Alcohol Ed-
ucation Program established under ORS 471.541, shall approve all clerk
training courses offered for the purpose of this section. The holder of an
off-premises sales license may establish a clerk training course for employees
of the licensee, but the course must be approved by the commission to meet
the requirements of this section. Clerk training courses approved under this
section must address at least the following topics:

“(a) The importance of not selling alcoholic beverages to minors and
visibly intoxicated persons.

“(b) Guidelines for recognizing minors and visibly intoxicated persons.

“(c) Guidelines for checking and verifying identification, and for recog-
nizing false or altered identification.

“(d) Recommended approaches for refusing sales of alcoholic beverages to
minors and visibly intoxicated persons.

“(5) If an employee of an off-premises sales licensee is found to have sold
alcoholic beverages to a minor, or to have failed to properly verify identifi-
cation of a person who purchased alcoholic beverages, the commission shall
notify the licensee that the employee must complete a clerk training course
approved under this section and may not sell alcoholic beverages to members

of the public after the time established by the commission unless the em-
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ployee completes the training within the time allowed. If the off-premises
sales licensee offers a clerk training course to new employees, and the em-
ployee has previously completed that course, the requirements of this section
may be met by retaking the clerk training course if the course has been ap-
proved by the commission for the purposes of this section.

“(6) Upon completion of a clerk training course by an employee of an
off-premises sales licensee pursuant to the requirements of this section, the
off-premises sales licensee that employs the person must notify the commis-
sion in writing that the employee has successfully completed the training.
The notification must include the name and address of the employee, the
name of the clerk training course attended by the employee, and the date or
dates on which the course was attended. The notification shall be kept by
the commission in the licensee’s file.

“(7) The commission shall assess and collect a fee not to exceed $13 from
each person required to attend a clerk training course under this section.
Amounts collected under this section shall be used for the administrative
expenses incurred by the commission in the performance of the commission’s
duties under the Alcohol Education Program.

“(8) In addition to any other penalty provided for by law, the commission
may impose a civil penalty against any employee of an off-premises sales
licensee who sells alcoholic beverages to members of the public and who is
prohibited from making those sales under this section. A civil penalty under
this subsection may not exceed $500. Civil penalties under this subsection
shall be imposed by the commission in the manner provided by ORS 183.745.

“SECTION 261. ORS 471.342 is amended to read:

“471.342. Upon finding that a retail licensee, as defined in ORS 471.392,

or an employee of a retail licensee has sold alcoholic beverages to a minor,
or has failed to properly verify identification of a person who purchased al-
coholic beverages, the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission

may allow the licensee, in lieu of a civil penalty or denial, suspension or
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cancellation of the license, to acquire and use equipment designed to prevent
sales of alcoholic beverages to minors.

“SECTION 262. ORS 471.344 is amended to read:
“471.344. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall

by rule establish a responsible vendor program. The program shall include
a list of positive measures that a licensee must take to avoid sales of alco-
holic beverages to minors. Any person holding a liquor license that author-
izes the person to sell alcoholic beverages at retail may participate in the
program.

“(2) If a licensee participates in the responsible vendor program and takes
all measures specified by the program as necessary to prevent sales of alco-
holic beverages to minors, the commission may not cancel the license of the
licensee, or deny issuance of a license to the licensee, based on sales of al-
coholic beverages to minors by employees of the licensee.

“SECTION 263. ORS 471.346 is amended to read:

“471.346. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall

by rule develop uniform standards for minor decoy operations used to inves-
tigate licensees and agents operating stores on behalf of the commission
under ORS 471.750 for violations of the laws of this state prohibiting sales
of alcoholic beverages to minors. Uniform standards established by the com-
mission under this section apply to all investigations conducted by the com-
mission that use minor decoys. The commission shall encourage all law
enforcement agencies of this state to use the uniform standards established
under this section for minor decoy operations conducted by the law enforce-
ment agencies.

“(2) To the greatest extent possible, the uniform standards established by
the commission under this section:

“(a) Shall be the same for minor decoy operations conducted by the com-

mission and for minor decoy operations conducted by law enforcement

agencies of this state; and
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“(b) Shall provide for coordination between the commission and law
enforcement agencies of this state in conducting minor decoy operations.

“(3) The uniform standards established by the commission under this
section shall provide that minor decoy operations must be conducted on ei-
ther a random or a targeted basis in cities with populations of 20,000 or
more. Random minor decoy operations shall cover a range of retail outlets.
Targeted minor decoy operations may be conducted for a single licensee or
agent, but may be used only if there is a documented compliance problem
with the specific licensee or agent that is the target of the operation. For
the purpose of implementing standards for random minor decoy operations
under this subsection, the commission shall by rule adopt a methodology that
produces, to the greatest extent possible, an equal chance that any licensee
or agent will be subject to a minor decoy operation.

“(4) Except as provided in subsection (5) of this section, the failure of the
commission or of a law enforcement agency to follow uniform standards es-
tablished by the commission under this section is not grounds for challenging
any complaint, citation or conviction for violation of the laws prohibiting
the sale of alcoholic beverages to minors.

“(5) In determining whether to impose sanctions based on multiple vio-
lations of the laws of this state prohibiting sales of alcoholic beverages to
minors, the commission may not consider any complaint filed against a
licensee for selling alcoholic beverages to a minor, citation issued to a
licensee for selling alcoholic beverages to a minor or conviction of a licensee
for selling alcoholic beverages to a minor if the complaint, citation or con-
viction arose out of a minor decoy operation that was not conducted pursu-
ant to the uniform standards established by the commission under this
section.

“(6) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, the commission
may not consider any sale of alcoholic beverages to a minor that results from

a minor decoy operation that is not conducted in compliance with the stan-
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dards established under this section for the purpose of imposing any civil
penalty against a licensee, making a decision on the renewal, suspension or
cancellation of a license issued under this chapter or otherwise sanctioning
a licensee for the sale of alcoholic beverages to a minor.

“(7) The commission shall give notice of the uniform standards established
under this section to all law enforcement agencies of this state that conduct
minor decoy operations.

“SECTION 264. ORS 471.351 is amended to read:

“471.351. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission has

the right after 72 hours’ notice to the owner or the agent of the owner to
make an examination of the books and may at any time make an examination
of the premises of any person licensed under this chapter, or to check the
alcoholic content of liquors carried by the licensee, for the purpose of de-
termining compliance with this chapter and the rules of the commission.

“(2) The commission shall not require the books of any licensee to be
maintained on the premises of the licensee.

“SECTION 265. ORS 471.360 is amended to read:
“471.360. (1) Except as otherwise provided in ORS 471.375:

“(a) Any person employed by a licensee of the Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission must have a valid service permit issued by the com-
mission if the person:

“(A) Participates in any manner in the mixing, selling or service of alco-
holic liquor for consumption on the premises where served or sold; or

“(B) Participates in the dispensing of malt beverages, wines or cider sold
in securely covered containers provided by the consumer.

“(b) A licensee of the commission may not permit any person who lacks
a service permit required of the person under paragraph (a) of this sub-

section:

“(A) To mix, sell or serve any alcoholic liquor for consumption on li-

censed premises; or
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“(B) To dispense malt beverages, wines or cider sold in securely covered
containers provided by the consumer.

“(c) A permittee shall make the service permit available at any time while
on duty for immediate inspection by any regulatory specialist or by any other
peace officer.

“(2) The commission may waive the requirement for a service permit for
an employee of a licensee whose primary function is not the sale of alcoholic
liguor or food, including but not limited to public passenger carriers, hospi-
tals, or convalescent, nursing or retirement homes.

“SECTION 266. ORS 471.380 is amended to read:

“471.380. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may

refuse to grant a service permit if it has reasonable grounds to believe any

of the following to be true:

“(a) That the applicant is in the habit of using alcoholic beverages or
controlled substances to excess.

“(b) That the applicant has made false statements to the commission.

“(c) That the applicant is incompetent or physically incapable of per-
forming the duties of a permittee.

“(d) That the applicant has been convicted of violating any of the alco-
holic liquor laws of this state, general or local, or has been convicted at any

time of a felony.

“(e) That the application has not been indorsed as required by ORS
471.375.

“(f) That the applicant has not completed the alcohol server education
course and examination required by ORS 471.542.

“(2) Notwithstanding ORS 183.435, an applicant who seeks review of the
refusal of a service permit must request a hearing:

“(a) Within 15 days after notification of the refusal, if the refusal is based

on failure to complete the alcohol server education course and examination;

or
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“(b) Within 30 days after notification of the refusal, if the refusal is based

on any grounds other than failure to complete the alcohol server education

course and examination.
“SECTION 267. ORS 471.385 is amended to read:
“471.385. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may

revoke or suspend a service permit, or impose a civil penalty in lieu of or
in addition to suspension as provided by ORS 471.322, if it finds or has rea-
sonable grounds to believe any of the following to be true:

“(a) That the permittee has made false statements to the commission.

“(b) That the permittee has been convicted of a felony, of violating any
of the liquor laws of the state, general or local, or any misdemeanor or vio-
lation of any municipal ordinance committed on the licensed premises.

“(c) That the permittee has performed or permitted any act which would
constitute a violation of any provision of this chapter or any rule of the
commission, if the act were performed or permitted by any licensee of the
commission.

“(2) The issuance, suspension or revocation of a permit under ORS 471.360
to 471.390 does not relieve a licensee from responsibility for any act of an
employee on the licensee’s premises.

“(3) When there has been a violation of this chapter or any rule adopted
thereunder upon any premises licensed by the commission, the commission
may revoke or suspend either the service permit of the employee who vio-
lated the law or rule or the license of the licensee upon whose premises the
violation occurred, or both the permit and the license.

“(4) The commission may revoke or suspend any license issued by the
commission if the licensee knowingly indorses a person’s application for a
permit when the person has been refused a permit or has had a permit sus-
pended or revoked, or when the licensee fails to comply with any provision
to be performed by the licensee under ORS 471.360 to 471.390.

“(5) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed as provided in
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ORS 183.745.
“SECTION 268. ORS 471.390 is amended to read:
“471.390. (1) If a service permit issued under ORS 471.360 to 471.390 is lost,

mutilated or destroyed, the permittee shall apply immediately for a duplicate
permit on a form to be supplied by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis
Commission and submit a fee of $5.

“(2) If a permittee changes name by marriage or otherwise, the permittee
shall apply immediately for a new service permit by forwarding the permit

and evidence of the change of name to the commission with an application
and a fee of $5.

“SECTION 269. ORS 471.396 is amended to read:
“471.396. (1) The prohibitions of ORS 471.394 (1) do not apply to persons

holding winery licenses, grower sales privilege licenses, brewery-public house

licenses, distillery licenses or brewery licenses, to the extent that retail sales
are authorized by the statutes establishing the privileges of each license.

“(2)(a) The prohibitions of ORS 471.394 (2) and (3) do not apply to a per-
son who wholesales alcoholic liquor and who is not required to be licensed
under the provisions of this chapter if the retail licensee does not sell any
brand of alcoholic liquor sold or distributed by the person and does not sell
any brand of alcoholic liquor produced by any manufacturer doing business
with the person selling at wholesale.

“(b) The prohibitions of ORS 471.394 (2) and (3) do not apply to a man-
ufacturer of alcoholic liquor if the retail licensee does not sell any brand of
alcoholic liquor sold, distributed or produced by the manufacturer and does
not sell any brand of alcoholic liquor sold, distributed or produced by any
subsidiary or other business entity that the manufacturer owns or manages,
or that the manufacturer exercises control over.

“(3) The prohibitions of ORS 471.394 do not apply solely by reason of the

family relationship of a spouse or family member to a manufacturer or

wholesaler if:
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“(a) The manufacturer or wholesaler is licensed by the Oregon Liquor
Control and Cannabis Commission to sell alcoholic liquor at wholesale;

“(b) The license authorizing sale of alcoholic liquor at wholesale was first
issued before January 1, 1965, and has been held continuously since that
date;

“(c) The spouse or family member holds or seeks a license that authorizes
the retail sale of alcoholic liquor for off-premises consumption only; and

“(d) The manufacturer or wholesaler does not directly or indirectly sell
alcoholic liquor to the spouse or family member.

“(4) The prohibitions of ORS 471.394 do not apply solely by reason of the
family relationship of a spouse or family member to the retail licensee if the
manufacturer or wholesaler is licensed by the commission to sell alcoholic
liquor at wholesale and does not directly or indirectly sell alcoholic liquor
to the spouse or family member.

“(b) Notwithstanding ORS 471.394, a manufacturer or wholesaler, and any
officer, director or substantial stockholder of any corporate manufacturer or
wholesaler, may hold, directly or indirectly, an interest in a full or limited
on-premises sales licensee, provided that the interest does not result in ex-
ercise of control over, or participation in the management of, the licensee’s
business or business decisions, and does not result in exclusion of any
competitor’s brand of alcoholic liquor.

“(6) Notwithstanding ORS 471.394, a full or limited on-premises sales
licensee, and any officer, director or substantial stockholder of any corporate
full or limited on-premises sales licensee, may hold, directly or indirectly,
an interest in a manufacturer or wholesaler, provided that the interest does
not result in exercise of control over, or participation in the management
of, the manufacturer’s or wholesaler’s business or business decisions, and
does not result in exclusion of any competitor’s brand of alcoholic liquor.

“(7) Notwithstanding ORS 471.394, an institutional investor with a finan-

cial interest in a wholesaler or manufacturer may hold, directly or indirectly,
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an interest in a retail licensee unless the institutional investor controls, 1is
controlled by, or i1s under common control with, a wholesaler or manufac-
turer. Notwithstanding ORS 471.394, an institutional investor with a finan-
cial interest in a retail licensee may hold, directly or indirectly, an interest
in a wholesaler or manufacturer unless the institutional investor controls,
is controlled by, or is under common control with, a retail licensee. The
provisions of this subsection apply only to an institutional investor that is
a state or federally chartered bank, a state or federally chartered mutual
savings bank, a mutual fund or pension fund, or a private investment firm.
The principal business activity of the institutional investor must be the in-
vestment of capital provided by depositors, participants or investors. The
institutional investor must maintain a diversified portfolio of investments.
The majority of the institutional investor’s investments may not be in busi-
nesses that manufacture, distribute or otherwise sell alcoholic beverages.
The institutional investor, and the officers, directors, substantial sharehold-
ers, partners, employees and agents of the institutional investor, may not
participate in management decisions relating to the sale or purchase of al-
coholic beverages made by a licensee in which the institutional investor
holds an interest.

“(8) Notwithstanding ORS 471.394, a member of the board of directors of
a parent company of a corporation that is a manufacturer may serve on the
board of directors of a parent company of a corporation that is a retail
licensee if:

“(a) The manufacturer or parent company of a manufacturer 1s listed on
a national security exchange;

“(b) All purchases of alcoholic beverages by the retail licensee are made
from holders of wholesale malt beverage and wine licenses, brewery licenses
or winery licenses in this state;

“(c) The interest of the member of the board of directors does not result

in the exclusion of any competitor’s brand of alcoholic beverages on the li-
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censed premises of the retail licensee; and

“(d) The sale of goods and services other than alcoholic beverages by the
retail licensee exceeds 50 percent of the gross receipts of the business con-
ducted by the retail licensee on the licensed premises.

“SECTION 270. ORS 471.400 is amended to read:

“471.400. (1) Notwithstanding ORS 471.394 and 471.398, a manufacturer or

wholesaler may lease or furnish picnic pumps, cold plates, tubs, refrigerated

trailers, refrigerated vans and refrigerated draft systems to a retail licensee
if the equipment is leased or furnished for a special event, if a reasonable
rental or service fee is charged for the equipment and if the period that the
equipment is leased or furnished does not exceed 10 days.

“(2) Notwithstanding ORS 471.394 and 471.398, the Oregon Liquor Control
and Cannabis Commission may specify by rule the manner and circum-
stances under which a manufacturer or wholesaler may provide products and
services to a nonprofit special licensee. |

“(3)(a) Notwithstanding ORS 471.394 and 471.398, the commission shall
allow the sale of nonalcoholic products in the manner in which the nonal-
coholic product is sold by a manufacturer or wholesaler not licensed by the
commission. The commission may limit merchandising practices involving
nonalcoholic products if the commission finds that the limitations are nec-
essary to prevent abuses of ORS 471.394 and 471.398 by the industry as a
whole.

“(b) Any fixtures, equipment or furnishings provided by a manufacturer
or wholesaler in furtherance of the sale of nonalcoholic products may not
be used by the retail licensee to store, service, display, advertise, furnish or
sell, or aid in the sale of, alcoholic products regulated by the commission.
All such fixtures, equipment or furnishings must be identified by the retail
licensee as being furnished by a licensed manufacturer or wholesaler.

“SECTION 271. ORS 471.403 is amended to read:

“471.403. (1) Except as provided in this section, a person may not brew,
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ferment, distill, blend or rectify any alcoholic liquor unless licensed so to
do by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission.

“(2) The holder of a brewery-public house license or a brewery license
may allow patrons to brew malt beverages not to exceed 14 percent alcoholic
content by volume if the brewing is conducted under the direct supervision
of the licensee or employees of the licensee. Malt beverages produced under
this subsection may not be sold by the patron.

“(3) The holder of a winery license may allow patrons to make wine if the
winemaking is conducted under the direct supervision of the licensee or
employees of the licensee. Wine produced under this subsection may not be
sold by the patron.

“(4) A person may make homemade beer, wine and fermented fruit juice
as authorized under ORS 471.037. A person may provide assistance to another
in making the homemade beer, wine or fermented fruit juice, if the person
does not receive financial consideration as defined in ORS 471.037 for pro-
viding the assistance.

“SECTION 272. ORS 471.404 is amended to read:

“471.404. (1) Alcoholic liquor may not be imported into this state by any

person other than a holder of a brewery, winery, distillery or wholesaler’s
license, except as follows:

“(a) Alcoholic liquor ordered by and en route to the Oregon Liquor Con-
trol and Cannabis Commission, under a certificate of approval issued by the

commission.

“(b) Wines for sacramental purposes according to rules adopted by the

commission. _

“(c) Alcoholic liquor that is in transit on a common carrier to a destina-
tion outside Oregon.

“(d) Alcoholic liquor coming into Oregon on a common carrier according
to orders placed by a licensed brewery, winery or wholesaler.

“(e) Grain and ethyl alcohol for scientific, pharmaceutical, manufacturing,
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mechanical or industrial use, under a certificate of approval issued by the
commission.

“(f) Wine or cider that is sold and transported by the holder of a wine
self-distribution permit to a retail licensee that has the endorsement de-
scribed in ORS 471.274 (5).

“(g) Malt beverages, wine or cider shipped directly to a resident of this
state under a direct shipper permit issued pursuant to ORS 471.282.

“(2) The commission may require importers of alcoholic liquor to pay a
reasonable handling fee based on the quantity and type of alcoholic liquor
being imported.

“SECTION 273. ORS 471.405 is amended to read:

“471.405. (1) No person shall peddle or deliver alcoholic beverages to or

at any place, where, without a license, alcoholic beverages are sold or offered
for sale. No licensee shall sell or offer for sale any alcoholic beverage in a
manner, or to a person, other than the license permits the licensee to sell.

“(2) No person shall purchase, possess, transport or import, except for
sacramental purposes, an alcoholic beverage unless it is procured from or
through the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission, except as
provided otherwise in the Liquor Control Act.

“(3) No person not licensed under the Liquor Control Act shall sell, so-
licit, take orders for or peddle alcoholic beverages.

“(4) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (2) of this section, an
individual entering the state may have in possession an amount not to exceed
four liters (135.2 fluid ounces) of distilled liquor, two cases of wine or cider
(620 fluid ounces) and two cases of malt beverages (676 fluid ounces). These
quantities of alcoholic beverages are exempt from fees collected by the com-
mission.

“(5) Upon conviction for unlawfully purchasing or importing alcoholic
beverages into this state, the person convicted shall forfeit to the commission

the alcoholic beverage so purchased or imported. The commission shall
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thereupon seize the forfeited beverage and it shall then become the
commission’s property.
“SECTION 274. ORS 471.410 is amended to read:

“471.410. (1) A person may not sell, give or otherwise make available any

alcoholic liquor to any person who is visibly intoxicated.

“(2) No one other than the person’s parent or guardian may sell, give or
otherwise make available any alcoholic liquor to a person under the age of
21 years. A parent or guardian may give or otherwise make alcoholic liquor
available to a person under the age of 21 years only if the person is in a
private residence and is accompanied by the parent or guardian. A person
violates this subsection who sells, gives or otherwise makes available alco-
holic liquor to a person with the knowledge that the person to whom the
liquor is made available will violate this subsection.

“(3)(a) A person who exercises control over private real property may not
knowingly allow any other person under the age of 21 years who is not a
child or minor ward of the person to consume alcoholic liquor on the prop-
erty, or allow any other person under the age of 21 years who is not a child
or minor ward of the person to remain on the property if the person under
the age of 21 years consumes alcoholic liquor on the property.

“(b) This subsection:

“(A) Applies only to a person who is present and in control of the lo-
cation at the time the consumption occurs;

“(B) Does not apply to the owner of rental property, or the agent of an
owner of rental property, unless the consumption occurs in the individual
unit in which the owner or agent resides; and

“(C) Does not apply to a person who exercises control over a private
residence if the liquor consumed by the person under the age of 21 years is
supplied only by an accompanying parent or guardian.

“(4) This section does not apply to sacramental wine given or provided

as part of a religious rite or service.
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“(5) Except as provided in subsections (6) and (7) of this section, a person

who violates subsection (1) or (2) of this section commits a Class A
misdemeanor. Upon violation of subsection (2) of this section, the court shall
impose at least a mandatory minimum sentence as follows:

“(a) Upon a first conviction, a fine of at least $500.

“(b) Upon a second conviction, a fine of at least $1,000.

“(c) Upon a third or subsequent conviction, a fine of at least $1,500 and
not less than 30 days of imprisonment.

“(6)(a) A person who violates subsection (2) of this section is subject to
the provisions of this subsection if the person does not act knowingly or
intentionally and:

“(A) Is licensed or appointed under this chapter; or

“(B) Is an employee of a person licensed or appointed under this chapter
and holds a valid service permit or has attended a program approved by the
Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission that provides training to
avold violations of this section.

“(b) For a person described in paragraph (a) of this subsection:

“(A) A first conviction is a Class A violation.

“(B) A second conviction is a specific fine violation, and the presumptive
fine for the violation is $860.

“(C) A third conviction i1s a Class A misdemeanor. The court shall impose
a mandatory fine of not less than $1,000.

“(D) A fourth or subsequent conviction is a Class A misdemeanor. The
court shall impose a mandatory fine of not less than $1,000 and a mandatory
sentence of not less than 30 days of imprisonment.

“(7) For an employee of an off-premises sales licensee who violates sub-
section (2) of this section while operating a checkout device and does not
act knowingly or intentionally, a first conviction is a Class A violation.

“(8) The court may waive an amount that is at least $200 but not more

than one-third of the fine imposed under subsection (5) of this section, if the
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violator performs at least 30 hours of community service.

“(9) Except as provided in subsection (8) of this section, the court may
not waive or suspend imposition or execution of the mandatory minimum
sentence required by subsection (5) or (6) of this section. In addition to the
mandatory sentence, the court may require the violator to make restitution
for any damages to property where the alcoholic liquor was illegally con-
sumed or may require participation in volunteer service to a community
service agency.

“(10)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, a person
who violates subsection (3) of this section commits a Class A violation.

“(b) A second or subsequent violation of subsection (3) of this section is
a specific fine violation, and the presumptive fine for the violation is $1,000.

“(11) Nothing in this section prohibits any licensee under this chapter
from allowing a person who is visibly intoxicated from remaining on the li-

censed premises so long as the person is not sold or served any alcoholic li-

quor.
“SECTION 275. ORS 471.412 is amended to read:

“471.412. (1) A licensee or permittee may not allow a person to consume

or to continue to consume alcoholic beverages on the licensed premises after
observing that the person is visibly intoxicated.

“(2) A licensee or permittee is not in violation of subsection (1) of this
section if the licensee or permittee makes a good faith effort to remove any
unconsumed alcoholic beverages from the person’s possession when the
licensee or permittee observes that the person is visibly intoxicated.

“(3) Nothing in this section applies to determining liability under ORS
471.565.

“(4) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the Oregon Liquor
Control and Cannabis Commission shall only impose letters of reprimand
for the first three violations of this section within a two-year period. For

license renewal purposes, the first three violations of this section in a two-
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year period do not apply in determining the past record of compliance under
ORS 471.313 (4)(g).

“SECTION 276. ORS 471.425 is amended to read:

“4771.425. (1) No person shall make false representations or statements to

the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission in order to induce or
prevent action by the commission.

“(2) No licensee of the commission shall maintain a noisy, lewd, disor-
derly or insanitary establishment or supply impure or otherwise deleterious
alcoholic beverages.

“(8) No licensee of the commission shall misrepresent to a customer or
to the public any alcoholic liquor sold by such licensee.

“SECTION 277. ORS 471.430 is amended to read:

“471.430. (1) A person under 21 years of age may not attempt to purchase,
purchase or acquire alcoholic beverages. Except when such minor is in a
private residence accompanied by the parent or guardian of the minor and
with such parent’s or guardian’s consent, a person under 21 years of age may
not have personal possession of alcoholic beverages.

“(2) For the purposes of this section, personal possession of alcoholic
beverages includes the acceptance or consumption of a bottle of such
beverages, or any portion thereof or a drink of such beverages. However, this
section does not prohibit the acceptance or consumption by any person of
sacramental wine as part of a religious rite or service.

“(3) Except as authorized by rule or as necessitated in an emergency, a
person under 21 years of age may not enter or attempt to enter any portion
of a licensed premises that is posted or otherwise identified as being pro-
hibited to the use of minors.

“(4)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, a person
who violates subsection (1) or (3) of this section commits a Class B violation.

“(b) A person commits a Class A violation if the person violates sub-

section (1) of this section by reason of personal possession of alcoholic
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beverages while the person is operating a motor vehicle, as defined in ORS
801.360.

“(5) In addition to and not in lieu of any other penalty established by law,
a person under 21 years of age who violates subsection (1) of this section
through misrepresentation of age may be required to perform community
service and the court shall order that the person’s driving privileges and
right to apply for driving privileges be suspended for a period not to exceed
one year. If a court has issued an order suspending driving privileges under
this section, the court, upon petition of the person, may withdraw the order
at any time the court deems appropriate. The court notification to the De-
partment of Transportation under this subsection may include a recommen-
dation that the person be granted a hardship permit under ORS 807.240 if the
person 1s otherwise eligible for the permit.

“(6) If a person cited under this section is at least 13 years of age but less
than 21 years of age at the time the person is found in default under ORS
153.102 or 419C.472 for failure to appear, in addition to and not in lieu of
any other penalty, the court shall issue notice under ORS 809.220 to the de-
partment for the department to suspend the person’s driving privileges under
ORS 809.280 (4).

“(7) In addition to and not in lieu of any penalty established by law, the
court may order a person who violates this section to undergo assessment
and treatment as provided in ORS 471.432. The court shall order a person to
undergo assessment and treatment as provided in ORS 471432 if the person
has previously been found to have violated this section.

“(8) The prohibitions of this section do not apply to a person under 21
years of age who is acting under the direction of the Oregon Liquor Control
and Cannabis Commission or under the direction of state or local law
enforcement agencies for the purpose of investigating possible violations of

laws prohibiting sales of alcoholic beverages to persons who are under 21

years of age.
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" “(9) The prohibitions of this section do not apply to a person under 21
years of age who is acting under the direction of a licensee for the purpose
of investigating possible violations by employees of the licensee of laws
prohibiting sales of alcoholic beverages to persons who are under 21 years
of age.

“(10)(a) A person under 21 years of age is not in violation of, and is im-
mune from prosecution under, this section if:

“(A) The person contacted emergency medical services or a law enforce-
ment agency in order to obtain medical assistance for another person who
was in need of medical assistance due to alcohol consumption and the evi-
dence of the violation of this section was obtained as a result of the person’s
having contacted emergency medical services or a law enforcement agency;
or

“(B) The person was in need of medical assistance due to alcohol con-
sumption and the evidence of the violation of this section was obtained as
a result of the person’s having sought or obtained the medical assistance.

“(b) Paragraph (a) of this subsection does not exclude the use of evidence
obtained as a result of a person’s having sought medical assistance in pro-
ceedings for crimes or offenses other than a violation of this section.

“SECTION 278. ORS 471.442 is amended to read:

“471.442. (1) No wine or cider shall be sold or offered for sale within this

state unless it complies with the minimum standards fixed pursuant to law.
“(2) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may require
a manufacturer, importer or wholesaler to provide samples of a particular
wine or cider, and to provide a laboratory analysis demonstrating to the
satisfaction of the commission that the particular wine or cider complies
with the minimum standards in this state.
“(3) No wine or cider offered for sale within this state may be altered or

tampered with in any way by any person not licensed to do so by the com-

mission.
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“(4) The commission may prohibit the sale of any wine or cider for a
reasonable period of time while it is determining whether the wine or cider
complies with minimum standards in this state.

“SECTION 279. ORS 471.446 is amended to read:

“471.446. (1) No retail licensee shall purchase any wine or cider for resale

except in sealed containers, the seals of which shall remain unbroken when
it is sold for consumption off the premises.

“(2) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may refuse
to sell, or may prohibit any licensee from selling, any brand of alcoholic li-
quor which in its judgment is deceptively labeled or branded as to content,
or contains injurious or adulterated ingredients.

“SECTION 280. ORS 471.473 is amended to read:

“471.473. (1) A person appointed to operate a store established by the

Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission under ORS 471.750 qual-
ifies for the payment of business loss compensation under this section if:

“(a) The system for selling containers of distilled liquor at retail in this
state changes after the person assumes operation of the store; and

“(b) The system change results from a law that prohibits the commission
from purchasing or selling distilled liquor.

“(2) The purpose of business loss compensation is to offset the actual or
presumed sales reduction and actual or perceived devaluation of a liquor
store business following a system change described in subsection (1) of this
section. The commission shall pay a person qualifying under this section
business loss compensation equal to four percent of the average annual gross
distilled liquor sales made by the store during the five years that preceded
the system change, whether or not the person was the store operator during
the entire five-year period. If the store has operated less than five years prior
to the system change, the commission shall pay compensation equal to four
percent of the average annual gross distilled liquor sales made by the store

prior to the system change.
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“(3)(a) The commission shall pay any business loss compensation due un-

der this section from the suspense account described in ORS 471.805. Except
as otherwise required by federal or state law or by contract, the commission
shall give the payment of business loss compensation priority over the pay-
ment of other debts from the suspense account.

“(b) Notwithstanding ORS 279A.250 to 279A.290 or the revolving fund
balance limit established in ORS 471.805, if a change in the system for selling
containers of distilled liquor at retail in this state results in business loss
compensation being payable under this section, and the commission declares
within five years after the system change that a warehouse established by
the commission under ORS 471.750 or the inventory of the commission is
surplus property, the net proceeds from sale of the warehouse or inventory
remaining after deduction of sales costs shall be deposited to the suspense
account described in ORS 471.805. All moneys deposited under this paragraph
shall be kept in a subaccount within the suspense account that indicates the
source of the moneys. Notwithstanding ORS 471.805, moneys deposited to the
suspense account under this paragraph may not be transferred to the Oregon
Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission Account if any business loss
compensation is owed and remains unpaid. This paragraph does not restrict
the source for paying business loss compensation from the suspense account
or alter the priority of business loss compensation payment established in
paragraph (a) of this subsection.

“(4) If a person that receives business loss compensation under this sec-
tion brings any action against the commission for damages resulting from a
change in the system for selling containers of distilled liquor at retail in this
state, the business loss compensation received by the person as a result of
that system change shall be an offset against any damages awarded the per-
son in the action. This subsection does not create any new cause of action.

“(5) Business loss compensation received by a person under this section

does not affect the claiming of any tax deduction by the person for depreci-
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ation of equipment, fixtures or other property improvements, but is ordinary
business income of the person, taxable as provided by law.

“SECTION 281. ORS 471.475 is amended to read:

“471.475. No person who owns, operates or conducts a private or public

club or place and who is not in possession of a license issued by the Oregon
Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission permitting the mixing, storing
and serving of alcoholic liquor at said premises, and no agent, servant or
employee of such person, for a financial consideration by way of a charge for
service, membership fee, admission fee, initiation fee, club dues, contribu-
tions, or othér fee or charge, shall serve or permit to be served, or use or
permit to be used, any room, place, bar, glasses, mixers, locker, storage place,
chairs, tables, cash registers, music devices, furniture, furnishings, equipment

or facilities, for the mixing, sforing, serving or drinking of alcoholic liquor.
“SECTION 282. ORS 471.478 is amended to read:
“471.478. On and after January 1, 1978:

“(1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission by rule shall
require the identification of kegs of malt beverages sold directly to consum-
ers who are not licensees of the commission and the signing of a receipt
therefor by the purchaser in order to allow the kegs to be traced if the
contents are consumed in violation of the Liquor Control Act. The keg
identification shall be in the form of a numbered label prescribed and sup-
plied by the commission which identifies the seller and which is removable
or obliterated when the keg is processed for refilling. The receipt shall be
on a form prescribed and supplied by the commission and shall include the
name and address of the purchaser; motor vehicle operator’s license number,
if any; the automobile registration of the motor vehicle in which the keg
was removed from the seller’s premises, if any; and such other identification
as the commission by rule may require. The receipt shall contain a statement
that must be signed by the purchaser that, under penalty of false swearing,

the purchaser will not allow consumption of any malt beverage in the keg
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in violation of ORS 471.410. A copy of the receipt shall be given to the pur-
chaser and the seller shall retain the original receipt for such period as the
commission by rule may require.

“(2) Possession of a keg containing malt beverages which is not identified
as required by subsection (1) of this section is a Class A misdemeanor.

“(3) A person who signs a receipt described in subsection (1) of this sec-
tion in order to obtain a keg, knowing the receipt to be false, or who falsifies
any information required on the receipt, is guilty of false swearing as pre-
scribed by ORS 162.075.

“(4) As used In this section, ‘keg’ means any brewery-sealed, individual

container of malt beverage having a liquid capacity of more than seven gal-

lons.

“SECTION 283. ORS 471.480 is amended to read:
“471.480. (1) Any employee 18 years of age or older of a person who holds

an off-premises sales license from the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis
Commission may sell any alcoholic liquor authorized by such license on the
licensed premises.

“(2) Any employee 18 years of age or older of a person who holds a
wholesale malt beverage and wine license from the Oregon Liquor Control
and Cannabis Commission may assist the licensee in the delivery of any
alcoholic liquor authorized by such license.

“(3) During any inspection of a licensed premises, the commission may
require proof that a person performing work at the premises meets any ap-
plicable minimum age requirement created under this chapter or under com-
mission rules. If the person does not provide the commission with acceptable
proof of age upon request, the commission may require the person to imme-
diately cease any activity that is subject to a minimum age requirement until
the commission receives acceptable proof of age. If the activity is the sole
lawful basis for the person to be present on the premises, the commission

may require that the person leave the premises. This subsection does not
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apply to a person temporarily at the premises to make a service, maintenance
or repair call, to make a delivery or for other purposes independent of the
premises operations.

“(4) If a person performing work that is subject to a minimum age re-
quirement has not provided proof of age requested by the commission under
subsection (3) of this section, the commission may request that the licensee
or a manager of the premises provide proof that the person meets any ap-
plicable minimum age requirement created under this chapter or under com-
mission rules. Failure of the licensee or manager to respond to a request
made under this subsection by providing acceptable proof of age for a person
is prima facie evidence that Ithe licensee has allowed the person to perform
work at the licensed premises in violation of a minimum age requirement.

“SECTION 284. ORS 471.482 is amended to read:

“471.482. (1) The holder of a license issued under this chapter may employ

persons 18, 19 and 20 years of age who may take orders for, serve and sell
alcoholic liquor in any part of the licensed premises when that activity is
incidental to the serving of food except in those areas classified by the
Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission as being prohibited to the
use of minors. However, no person who is 18, 19 or 20 years of age shall be
permitted to mix, pour or draw alcoholic liquor except when pouring is done
as a service to the patron at the patron’s table or drawing is done in a por-
tion of the premises not prohibited to minors.

“(2) A person who is 18, 19 or 20 years of age may enter areas classified
by the commission as being prohibited to the use of ‘minors only for the
purpose of ordering and picking up alcoholic liquor for service in other parts
of the premises. However, the person shall not remain in the areas longer
than is necessary to perform those duties.

“(3) The commission by rule may permit access to prohibited areas by any
minor for nonalcoholic liquor employment purposes as long as the minor does

not remain longer than is necessary to perform the duties.
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“(4) During any inspection of a licensed premises, the commission may
require proof that a person performing work at the premises meets any ap-
plicable minimum age requirement created under this chapter or under com-
mission rules. If the person does not provide the commission with acceptable
proof of age upon request, the commission may require the person to imme-
diately cease any activity that is subject to a minimum age requirement until
the commission receives acceptable proof of age. If the activity is the sole
lawful basis for the person to be present on the premises, the commission
may require that the person leave the premises. This subsection does not
apply to a person temporarily at the premises to make a service, maintenance
or repair call, make a delivery or for other purposes independent of the
premises operations.

“(5) If a person performing work that is subject to a minimum age re-
quirement has not provided proof of age requested by the commission under
subsection (4) of this section, the commission may request that the licensee
or a manager of the premises provide proof that the person meets any ap-
plicable minimum age requirement created under this chapter or under com-
mission rules. Failure of the licensee or manager to respond to a request
made under this subsection by providing acceptable proof of age for a person
is prima facie evidence that the licensee has allowed the person to perform
work at the licensed premises in violation of a minimum age requirement.

“SECTION 285. ORS 471.495 is amended to read:

“471.495. Any wholesale licensee who receives a check, order, negotiable

instrument or voucher in payment for malt beverages, cider or wine, who
receives an instrument from a retail licensee which, upon presentation, is
not paid by the party on whom it is drawn, shall report such fact forthwith
to the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission.

“SECTION 286. ORS 471.500 is amended to read:

“471,600, The provisions of ORS 471.485, 471.490 and 471.495 shall not ap-

ply to any common carrier licensed by the Oregon Liquor Control and
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Cannabis Commission.

“SECTION 287. ORS 471.510 1s amended to read:

“471.510. ORS 471.506 shall not prohibit the sale of pure alcohol for sci-
entific or manufacturing purposes, or of wines to church officials for
sacramental purposes, nor shall it prevent any person residing in the county
or city from ordering and having delivered to the home of the person, for the
personal use of self and family, alcoholic liquors purchased from the Oregon
Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission or from persons duly licensed to
sell them under the Liquor Control Act.

“SECTION 288. ORS 471.541 is amended to read:

“471.541. The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall

establish an Alcohol Education Program. The Alcohol Education Program
shall consist of all the duties of the commission in administering clerk

training courses under ORS 471.341 and alcohol server education courses

under ORS 471.542.
“SECTION 289. ORS 471.542 is amended to read:
“471.5642. (1) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, the

Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall require a person
applying for issuance or renewal of a service permit or any license that au-
thorizes the sale or service of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the
premises to complete an approved alcohol server education course and ex-
amination as a condition of the issuance or renewal of the permit or license.

“(2) A person applying for issuance or renewal of a license that authorizes
the sale or service of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises
need not complete an approved alcohol server education course and exam-
ination as a condition of the issuance or renewal of the license if:

“(a) The license has been restricted by the commission to prohibit sale
or service of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises; or

“(b) The person applying for issuance or renewal of the license submits

a sworn statement to the commission stating that the person will not engage
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in sale or service of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises,
will not directly supervise or manage persons who sell or serve alcoholic
beverages on the premises, and will not participate in establishing policies
governing the sale or service of alcoholic beverages on the premises.

“(3) The commission by rule shall establish requirements that licensees
and permittees must comply with as a condition of requalifying for a license
or permit. The licensee or permittee must comply with those requirements
once every five years after completing the initial alcohol server education
course and examination. The requirements established by the commission to
requalify for a license may include retaking the alcohol server education
course and examination. The requirements established by the commission to
requalify for a service permit shall include retaking the alcohol server edu-
cation course and examination.

“(4) The commission may extend the time periods established by this sec-
tion upon a showing of hardship. The commission by rule may exempt a
licensee from the requirements of this section if the licensee does not par-
ticipate in the management of the business.

“(5) The standards and curriculum of alcohol server education courses
shall include but not be limited to the following:

“(a) Alcohol as a drug and its effects on the body and behavior, especially
driving ability.

“(b) Effects of alcohol in combination with commonly used legal, pre-
scription or nonprescription, drugs and illegal drugs.

“(c) Recognizing the problem drinker and community treatment programs
and agencies.

“(d) State alcohol beverage laws such as prohibition of sale to minors and
sale to intoxicated persons, sale for on-premises or off-premises consumption,
hours of operation and penalties for violation of the laws.

“(e) Drunk driving laws and liquor liability statutes.

“(f) Intervention with the problem customer, including ways to cut off
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service, ways to deal with the belligerent customer and alternative means
of transportation to get the customer safely home.

“(g) Advertising and marketing for safe and responsible drinking patterns
and standard operating procedures for dealing with customers.

“(6) The commission shall impose a fee not to exceed $2.60 a year for each
license subject to the alcohol server education requirement, and a fee not to
exceed $13 for each service permit application. These fees shall be used for
administrative costs of the Alcohol Education Program established under
ORS 471.541 and shall be in addition to any other license or permit fees re-
quired by law or rule.

“(7) The commission shall adopt rules to impose reasonable fees for ad-
ministrative costs on alcohol server education course instructors and pro-
viders.

“(8) The commission shall provide alcohol server education courses and
examinations through independent contractors, private persons or private or
public schools certified by the commission. The commission shall adopt rules
governing the manner in which alcohol server education courses and exam-
inations are made available to persons required to take the course. In
adopting rules under this subsection, the commission shall consider alterna-
tive means of providing courses, including but not limited to providing
courses through audiotapes, videotapes, the Internet and other electronic
media.

“SECTION 290. ORS 471.547 is amended to read:

“471.547. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall

establish an Alcohol Server Education Advisory Committee. The advisory
committee shall consist of the following members:

“(a) One person who represents the commission.

“(b) One person who represents the Oregon State Police.

“(c) One person who represents the Oregon District Attorneys Associ-

ation.
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“(d) One person who represents the Oregon Health Authority.

“(e) One person who represents the Department of Transportation.

“(f) One person who represents a nonprofit organization the purpose of
which is to reduce the incidence of drunk driving.

“(g) One person who has general expertise in education.

“(h) One person who has expertise in health education.

“(1) One person who represents classtoom alcohol server education pro-
viders.

“(3) One person who represents online alcohol server education providers.

“(k) At least one person who is a service permittee under ORS 471.360.

“(L) Not more than two persons who represent insurance companies.

“(m) Not more than three persons who represent retail licensees.

“(2) The purpose of the advisory committee is to assist in the development
of:

“(a) The standards, curriculum and materials for the alcohol server edu-
cation courses required under ORS 471.542;

“(b) The examination required by ORS 471.542, and procedures for ad-
ministering that examination;

“(c) The certification procedures, enforcement policies and penalties for
alcohol server education course instructors and providers; and

“(d) The time requirements for completion of an alcohol server education
course and examination and the conditions for probationary extension.

“SECTION 291. ORS 471.549 is amended to read:

“471.549. In addition to such other sanctions as may be authorized by law,

the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may impose a civil
penalty not to exceed $1,000 against any alcohol server education course in-
structor or provider who violates a rule promulgated by the commission
pursuant to ORS 471.542. The civil penalty may be in addition to or in lieu
of any suspension, revocation or cancellation of the certification of an alco-

hol server education course instructor or provider.
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“SECTION 292. ORS 471.551 is amended to read:

“471.551. (1) Any person in possession of a valid retail liquor license, who

sells liquor by the drink for consumption on the premises or sells for con-
sumption off the premises, shall post a sign informing the public of the ef-
fects of alcohol consumption during pregnancy.

“(2) The sign shall:

“(a) Contain the message: ‘Pregnancy and alcohol do not mix. Drinking

alcoholic beverages, including wine, coolers and beer, during pregnancy can

cause birth defects.’

“(b) Be either:

“(A) A large sign, no smaller than eight and one-half inches by 11 inches
in size with lettering no smaller than five-eighths of an inch in height; or

“(B) A reduced sign, five by seven inches in size with lettering of the
same proportion as the large sign described in paragraph (a) of this sub-
section.

“(c) Contain a graphic depiction of the message to assist nonreaders in
understanding the message. The depiction of a pregnant female shall be
universal and shall not reflect a specific race or culture.

“(d) Be in English unless a significant number of the patrons of the retail
premises use a language other than English as a primary language. In such
cases, the sign shall be worded in both English and the primary language
or languages of the patrons.

“(e) Be displayed on the premises of all licensed retail liquor premises as
either a large sign at the point of entry, or a reduced sized sign at points
of sale.

“(3) The person described in subsection (1) of this section shall be en-
couraged to also post signs of any size at places where alcoholic beverages
are displayed.

“(4) Notwithstanding ORS 471.561, the holder of a retail liquor license

may produce the sign required by this section insofar as the sign is consist-
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ent with the standards established pursuant to this section, ORS 616.286 and
624.060 and the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission, and is
displayed in accordance with subsection (2)(e) of this section.

“SECTION 293. ORS 471.553 is amended to read:
“471.553. The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall

consult with representatives of business and industry as well as interested

citizens groups, including the March of Dimes and the Junior League, to

determine the most cost-effective, convenient method to produce and post the

sign described in ORS 471.551, which shall be distributed by the commission.
“SECTION 294. ORS 471.557 is amended to read:

“471.557. The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may so-

licit private funds, if necessary, to produce and distribute the signs.
“SECTION 295. ORS 471.559 is amended to read:

“471.559. (1) If no warning sign is posted:

“(a) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall furnish
a warning sign.

“(b) The retailer shall have five days from the receipt of the warning sign
to post it appropriately.

“(2) If there is a violation of this section or of ORS 471.551, the violator
shall be subject to:

“(a) A written warning from the commission for the first violation ac-
companied by a copy of the sign.

“(b) A civil penalty of not to exceed $25 payable to the commission for a
second violation.

“(c) A civil penalty of not to exceed $25 for the third and subsequent vi-
olations for each day the sign is not posted.

“(3) The civil penalty imposed under subsection (2) of this section shall
be separate from any other sanction or penalty imposed by the commission
and shall not be used in any progressive violation schedule.

“(4) The penalty provided by this section shall be the sole penalty for
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violation of this section or ORS 471.551 or the rules adopted under section
1, chapter 324, Oregon Laws 1991.

“(5) Violation of this section or ORS 471.551 or the rules adopted under
section 1, chapter 324, Oregon Laws 1991, shall not be grounds for refusal
to issue a license, cancellation of a license or suspension of a license issued
under this chapter.

“(6) Nothing in this section or ORS 471.551 or the rules adopted under
section 1, chapter 324, Oregon Laws 1991, creates any new cause of action
or any private right of any person.

“SECTION 296. ORS 471.561 is amended to read:

“471.561. By June 30, 1992, the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis

Commission shall produce and complete distribution of the warning signs,
free of charge, to all holders of retail liquor licenses. The commission shall
produce and distribute additional signs as liquor licenses are granted.

“SECTION 297. ORS 471.565 is amended to read:

“471.665. (1) A patron or guest who voluntarily consumes alcoholic

beverages served by a person licensed by the Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission, a person holding a permit issued by the commission
or a social host does not have a cause of action, based on statute or common
law, against the person serving the alcoholic beverages, even though the al-
coholic beverages are served to the patron or guest while the patron or guest
1s visibly intoxicated. The provisions of this subsection apply only to claims
for relief based on injury, death or damages caused by intoxication and do
not apply to claims for relief based on injury, death or damages caused by
negligent or intentional acts other than the service of alcoholic beverages
to a visibly intoxicated patron or guest.

“(2) A person licensed by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis
Commission, person holding a permit issued by the commission or social host
is not liable for damages caused by intoxicated patrons or guests unless the

plaintiff proves by clear and convincing evidence that:
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“(a) The licensee, permittee or social host served or provided alcoholic
beverages to the patron or guest while the patron or guest was visibly
intoxicated; and

“(b) The plaintiff did not substantially contribute to the intoxication of
the patron or guest by:

“(A) Providing or furnishing alcoholic beverages to the patron or guest;

“(B) Encouraging the patron or guest to consume or purchase alcoholic
beverages or in any other manner; or

“(C) Facilitating the consumption of alcoholic beverages by the patron
or guest in any manner.

“(3) Except as provided in subsection (4) of this section, an action for
damages caused by intoxicated patrons or guests off the premises of a person
licensed by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission, a person
holding a permit issued by the commission or a social host may be brought
only if the person asserting the claim has given the licensee, permittee or
social host the notice required by subsection (5) of this section within the
following time periods:

“(a) If a claim is made for damages arising out of wrongful death, notice
must be given within one year after the date of death, or within one year
after the date that the person asserting the claim discovers or reasonably
should have discovered the existence of a claim under this section, whichever
is later.

“(b) If a claim is made for damages for injuries other than wrongful death,
notice must be given within 180 days after the injury occurs, or within 180
days after the person asserting the claim discovers or reasonably should have
discovered the existence of a claim under this section, whichever is later.

“(4) The time provided for the giving of notice under subsection (3) of this
section does not include any period during which:

“(a) The claimant is under 18 years of age;

“(b) The claimant is unable to give notice by reason of the injury or by

HB 2198-1 3/4/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2198 Page 316




10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

reason of being financially incapable, as defined in ORS 125.005, or is inca-
pacitated, as defined in ORS 125.005; or

“(c) The claimant is unable to determine that the licensee, permittee or
social host is liable because the patron or guest who caused the damages
asserts a right against self-incrimination and cannot be compelled to reveal
the identity of the licensee, permittee or social host, or cannot be compelled
to reveal facts that would establish the liability of the licensee, permittee
or social host.

“(5) A licensee, permittee or social host shall be considered to have been
given notice for the purposes of this section if:

“(a) The licensee, permittee or social host is given formal notice in the
manner specified in subsection (6) of this section;

“(b) The licensee, permittee or social host receives actual notice as de-
scribed in subsection (7) of this section;

“(c) An action is commenced by or on behalf of the claimant within the
period of time specified by subsections (3) and (4) of this section; or

“(d) Any payment on the claim is made to the claimant by or on behalf
of the licensee, permittee or social host.

“(6) Formal notice of a claim subject to this section must be in writing,
must be mailed to the licensee, permittee or social host, or personally served
on the licensee, permittee or social host, and must contain all of the fol-
lowing:

“(a) A statement that a claim for damages is made against the licensee,
permittee or social host.

“(b) A description of the time, place and circumstances giving rise to the
claim, so far as known to the claimant.

“(c) The name of the claimant and mailing address for the claimant to
which correspondence regarding the claim may be mailed.

“(7) For the purposes of this section, ‘actual notice’ means any commu-

nication to a licensee, permittee or social host that gives the licensee,
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permittee or social host actual knowledge of the time, place and circum-

stances of the claim, if the communication is such that a reasonable person
would conclude that a particular person intends to assert a claim against the

licensee, permittee or social host.
“SECTION 298. ORS 471.567 is amended to read:
“471.567. (1) Notwithstanding ORS 471.130 and 471.565, no licensee,

permittee or social host shall be liable to third persons injured by or through

persons under the age of 21 years who obtained alcoholic beverages from the
licensee, permittee or social host unless it is demonstrated that a reasonable
person would have determined that identification should have been requested
or that the identification exhibited was altered or did not accurately describe
the person to whom the alcoholic liquor was sold or served.

“(2) A person who is under 21 but at least 18 years of age and who
through misrepresentation of age causes an Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission licensee to be fined or have a license suspended or
revoked shall be civilly liable for damages sustained by the licensee. The
court may award reasonable attorney fees to the prevailing party in an
action under this subsection. I'

“(3) Subsection (2) of this section does not apply to a person under the
age of 21 years who is acting under the direction of the Oregon Liquor
Control and Cannabis Commission or under the direction of state or local
law enforcement agencies for the purpose of investigating possible violations
of laws prohibiting sales of alcoholic beverages to persons who are under the
age of 21 years.

“(4) Subsection (2) of this section does not apply to a person under the
age of 21 years who is acting under the direction of a licensee for the pur-
pose of investigating possible violations by employees of the licensee of laws

prohibiting sales of alcoholic beverages to persons who are under the age

of 21 years.
“SECTION 299. ORS 471.605 1s amended to read:
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“471.605. The state police, sheriffs, constables and all police officers
within the State of Oregon shall enforce all provisions of the Liquor Control
Act and assist the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission in de-
tecting violations of that statute and apprehending offenders. Each such en-
forcing officer having notice, knowledge or reasonable ground of suspicion
of any violation of that statute shall immediately notify the district attorney,
and furnish the district attorney with names and addresses of any witnesses,
or other information within the officer’s knowledge, of such violation.

“SECTION 300. ORS 471.610 is amended to read:

“471.610. Whenever any officer arrests any person for violation of the

Liquor Control Act, the officer may take into possession all alcoholic liquor
and other property which the person so arrested has in possession, or on the
premises, which is apparently being used in violation of that statute. If the
person so arrested is convicted, and it is found that the liquor and other
property has been used in violation of the law, the same shall be forfeited
to the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission, and shall be de-
livered by the court or officer to the commission. The commission is au-
thorized to destroy or make such other disposition thereof as it considers to
be in the public interest. In any such case, all alcoholic liquor purchased or
acquired from any source, and all property, including bars, glasses, mixers,
lockers, chairs, tables, cash registers, music devices, gambling devices, fur-
niture, furnishings, equipment and facilities for the mixing, storing, serving
or drinking of alcoholic liquor shall be confiscated and forfeited to the state,
and the clear proceeds shall be deposited with the State Treasury in the
Common School Fund in the manner provided in this section.

“SECTION 301. ORS 471.615 1s amended to read:

“471.615. The county courts, district attorneys and municipal authorities,

immediately upon the conviction of any licensee of the Oregon Liquor Con-
trol and Cannabis Commission of a violation of any provision of the Liquor

Control Act or the violation of any other law of this state or ordinance of
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any municipality therein, in which violation alcoholic liquor had any part,
shall notify the commission thereof. Such officials shall notify the commis-
sion of any acts, practices or other conduct of any such licensee which may
be subversive of the general welfare or contrary to the spirit of the Liquor
Control Act and shall recommend such action on the part of the commission
as will remove the evil.

“SECTION 302. ORS 471.630 is amended to read:

“471.630. The Attorney General, the Oregon Liquor Control and

Cannabis Commission or its administrators, or the district attorney of the
county wherein a nuisance as defined in ORS 471.620 exists, or where it has
existed but has temporarily ceased and there is good and sufficient cause to
believe that it will be maintained in the future, may institute an action in
the circuit court for such county in the name of the state to abate, and to
temporarily and permanently enjoin, such nuisance. The court has the right
to make temporary and final orders as in other injunction proceedings. The
plaintiff shall not be required to give bond in such action.

“SECTION 303. ORS 471.645 is amended to read:

“471.645. If a temporary injunction is granted, the court may issue further

restraining orders as described in ORS 471.635; and forthwith may issue an
order closing such place against its use for any purpose until the final de-
cision, or the court may allow such place to be occupied or used during the
pendency of the injunction proceedings by requiring the defendants to fur-
nish an irrevocable letter of credit issued by an insured institution as defined
in ORS 706.008 or a bond with sufficient surety, to be approved by the court,
in the penal sum of not less than $2,500, payable to the state. The bond or
letter of credit shall be conditioned that alcoholic liquor will not be manu-
factured, possessed, sold, served, bartered, or given away, or furnished, or
otherwise disposed of thereon or therein, or kept thereon or therein with the
intent to sell, barter, serve, or give away, or otherwise dispose of alcoholic

liquor contrary to law, and that the defendants will pay all fines, costs and
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damages assessed against them for any violation of such conditions. The
State of Oregon in an action brought by the Attorney General, the Oregon
Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission or its administrators, or the dis-
trict attorney, may take whatever steps necessary to recover the whole

amount as a penalty for the use of the county wherein the premises are sit-

uated.

“SECTION 304. ORS 471.666 is amended to read:
“471.666. (1) The court, upon conviction of the person arrested under ORS

471.660, shall order the alcoholic liquor delivered to the Oregon Liquor
Control and Cannabis Commission, and shall, subject to the ownership
rights of innocent third parties, order a sale at public auction by the sheriff
of the county of the property seized. The sheriff, after deducting the expense
of keeping the property and the cost of sale, shall pay all the liens, according
to their priorities, which are established by intervention or otherwise at such
hearing or in other proceedings brought for that purpose, and shall pay the
balance of the proceeds into the general fund of the county. No claim of
ownership or of any right, title or interest in or to such vehicle that is
otherwise valid shall be held invalid unless the state shows to the satisfac-
tion of the court, by clear and convincing evidence, that the claimant had
knowledge that the vehicle was used or to be used in violation of law. All
liens against property sold under this section shall be transferred from the
property to the proceeds of the sale.

“(2) If no person claims the vehicle or conveyance, the taking of the same
and the description thereof shall be advertised in some daily newspaper
published in the city or county where taken, or if no daily newspaper is
published in such city or county, in a newspaper having weekly circulation
in the city or county, once a week for two weeks and by handbills posted in
three public places near the place of seizure, and shall likewise notify by
mail the legal owner, in the case of an automobile, if licensed by the State

of Oregon, as shown by the name and address in the vehicle registration re-
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cords of the Department of Transportation. If no claimant appears within
10 days after the last publication of the advertisement, the property shall be
sold and the proceeds, after deducting the expenses and costs, shall be paid
into the general fund of the county.

“SECTION 305. ORS 471.695 is amended to read:
“471.695. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may

require each applicant for a full or limited on-premises sales license to sub-
mit to fingerprinting. If the applicant is a corporation, the fingerprints of
each officer, director and major stockholder of the corporation may be re-
quired by the commission. Prior to approving any change in officers, direc-
tors or major stockholders, the commission may require the fingerprints of
the new officials.

“(2) The commission shall require that all employees of the commission
who work in the licensing or enforcement divisions or who have access to
criminal background information be fingerprinted.

“(3) Fingerprints acquired under this section may be used for the purpose
of requesting state or nationwide criminal records checks under ORS
181A.195.

“(4) As used in this section, ‘major stockholder’ means any person who
owns, directly or indirectly, more than 10 percent of any class of any equity
security of the corporation.

“SECTION 306. ORS 471.700 is amended to read:

“471.700. In carrying out its duties under ORS 471.315, the Oregon Liquor
Control and Cannabis Commission shall not suspend or cancel a license on

grounds of any violation of ORS 167.108 to 167.164 until:

“(1) The licensee has been convicted thereof in a court of competent ju-
risdiction; or
“(2) An employee of the licensee has been convicted thereof in a court of

competent jurisdiction and the violation occurred on the licensed premises.
“SECTION 307. ORS 471.703 is amended to read:
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“471.703. (1) The police shall notify the Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission of the name of the alleged provider of alcoholic liquor
when:

“(a) The police investigate any motor vehicle accident where someone
other than the operator is injured or incurs property damage;

“(b) The operator appears to have consumed alcoholic liquor;

“(c) A citation is issued against the operator that is related to the con-
sumption of alcoholic liquor or could have been issued if the operator had
survived; and

“(d) The provider of the alcoholic liquor is alleged to be a licensee or
permittee of the commission.

“(2) The notice shall include the name and address of the operator in-
volved and the name and address of the person who named the alleged pro-
vider, if the person is other than the operator.

“(3) Upon receipt of the notice described in subsection (1) of this section,
the commission shall cause the licensee or permittee named as the alleged
provider to be notified of receipt of the notice and of its content. A copy of
the notice shall be retained in the files of the commission and shall be open
to inspection by the person injured or damaged by the motor vehicle operator
or a representative of the person.

“(4) The police shall notify the alleged social host when the circumstances
described in subsection (1) of this section occur and the alleged social host
is named as the provider of the alcoholic liquor. The notice shall include the
information described in subsection (2) of this section.

“SECTION 308. ORS 471.710 is amended to read:

“471.710. (1) The Governor may remove any commissioner for inefficiency,

neglect of duty, or misconduct in office, giving to the commissioner a copy
of the charges made and an opportunity of being publicly heard in person
or by counsel, in the commissioner’s own defense, upon not less than 10 days’

notice. If such commissioner is removed, the Governor shall file in the office
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of the Secretary of State a complete statement of all charges made against

such commissioner, the findings thereon, and a complete record of the pro-

ceedings.
“(2) No person, other than the [member] commissioners appointed in
accordance with ORS 471.705 who [is] are designated from the food and al-

coholic beverage retail industry and from the cannabis retail industry, is
eligible to hold the office of commissioner, or to be employed by the Oregon
Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission if:

“(a) The person has any financial interest in any business licensed by the
commission or in any business which manufactures alcoholic beverages sold
in Oregon;

“(b) Anyone in the person’s household or immediate family has a financial
interest described in paragraph (a) of this subsection;

“(c) Anyone in the person’s household or immediate family is employed
by a business licensed by the commission, unless the person is not in a po-
sition to take action or make decisions which could affect the licensed
business; or

“(d) The person or anyone in the person’s household or immediate family
has a business connection with any business licensed by the commission,
unless the person is not in a position to take action or make decisions which
could affect the licensed business.

“(3)(a) A retail sales agent appointed by the commission, or a person in
the household or immediate family of a retail sales agent, may not have any
financial interest in or business connection with:

“(A) A person or business that is licensed as a distillery;

“(B) A person or business that holds a full on-premises sales license[;
or]

“(C) A distillery whose products are sold in Oregon; or

“(D) A person or business that holds a license issued under ORS
475B.070, 475B.090 or 475B.100.
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“(b) Paragraph (a) of this subsection does not apply to a distillery retail
outlet agent appointed by the commission under ORS 471.230.

“(4) Nothing in this section prohibits a person from having a financial
interest resulting from investments made by the Public Employees Retire-
ment System or through mutual funds, blind trusts or similar investments
where the person does not exercise control over the nature, amount or timing
of the investment.

“(5) The commission by rule may establish additional restrictions to pro-
hibit potential conflicts of interest. The commission by rule shall define
‘immediate family’ and ‘business connection’ as used in this section.

“SECTION 309. ORS 471.715 is amended to read:

“471.715. (1) The [member] commissioners from the food and alcoholic

beverage retail industry and from the cannabis retail industry shall not
serve as chairperson. The chairperson shall preside at all meetings of the
Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission or, in the chairperson’s
absence, some other [member] commissioner may serve as chairperson.

“(2) The commission shall meet at such times and places within this state
as it determines. A majority of the commissioners constitutes a quorum for
the transaction of any business, for the performance of any duty or for the
exercise of any power of the commission.

“SECTION 310. ORS 471.720 is amended to read:

“471.720. The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall

appoint an administrator who shall serve at its discretion. The administra-
tor shall be subject to policy direction by the commissioners, and shall be
the secretary of the commission and custodian of commission records. The
administrator shall manage the commission, administer the laws, and ap-
point, assign and coordinate personnel of the commission within budget
limitations and the State Personnel Relations Law.

“SECTION 311. ORS 471.725 is amended to read:

“471.725. The function, duties and powers of the Oregon Liquor Control
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and Cannabis Commission include the following:

“(1) To buy, have in its possession, bottle, blend, rectify, transport and
sell, for present or future delivery, in its own name, alcoholic liquor in the
manner set forth in this chapter.

“(2) To purchase, acquire, rent, lease or occupy any building, rooms,
stores or land and acquire, own, lease and sell equipment and fixtures re-
quired for its operations.

“(3) To lease or sublet to others property which it acquires or owns and
which is not immediately required for its operations. However, no real
property shall be purchased without the consent and approval of the Gover-
nor.

“(4) To borrow money, guarantee the payment thereof and of the interest
thereon, by the transfer or pledge of goods or in any other manner required
or permitted by law.

“(5) To 1issue, sign, indorse and accept checks, promissory notes, bills of
exchange and other negotiable instruments.

“(6) In the event the United States Government provides any plan or
method whereby the taxes upon alcoholic liquors are collected at the source,
to enter into any and all contracts and comply with all regulations, even to
the extent of partially or wholly abrogating any statutory provisions which
might be in conflict with federal law or regulations, to the end that the
commission receives the portion thereof allocated to this state, to be dis-
tributed as provided by statute.

“(7) To secure and pay for such policies of insurance as may be necessary"
to adequately protect it from loss by fire, theft or other casualty.

“SECTION 312. ORS 471.730 is amended to read:

“471.730. The function, duties and powers of the Oregon Liquor Control

and Cannabis Commission include the following:
“(1) To control the manufacture, possession, sale, purchase, transporta-

tion, importation and delivery of alcoholic liquor in accordance with the
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provisions of this chapter and ORS 474.105 and 474.115.

“(2) To grant, refuse, suspend or cancel licenses and permits for the sale
or manufacture of alcoholic liquor, or other licenses and permits in regard
thereto, and to permit, in its discretion, the transfer of a license of any
person.

“(38) To collect the taxes and duties imposed by statutes relating to alco-
holic liquors, and to issue, and provide for cancellation, stamps and other
devices as evidence of payment of such taxes or duties.

“(4) To investigate and aid in the prosecution of every violation of stat-
utes relating to alcoholic liquors, to seize alcoholic liquor manufactured,
sold, kept, imported or transported in contravention of this chapter and ORS
474.105 and 474.115, and apply for the confiscation thereof, whenever required
by statute, and cooperate in the prosecution of offenders before any court
of competent jurisdiction.

“(5) To adopt such regulations as are necessary and feasible for carrying
out the provisions of this chapter and ORS 474.105 and 474.115 and to amend
or repeal such regulations. When such regulations are adopted they shall
have the full force and effect of law.

“(6) To exercise all powers incidental, convenient or necessary to enable
it to administer or carry out any of the provisions of this chapter and ORS
474.105 and 474.115.

“(7) To control, regulate and prohibit any advertising by manufacturers,
wholesalers or retailers of alcoholic liquor by the medium of newspapers,
letters, billboards, radio or otherwise.

“(8) To sell, license, regulate and control the use of alcohol for scientific,
pharmaceutical, manufacturing, mechanical, industrial and other purposes,
and to provide by regulation for the sale thereof for such uses.

“SECTION 313. ORS 471.732 is amended to read:

“471.732. (1) The Legislative Assembly finds and declares that the regu-

lation of health and sanitation matters in premises licensed by the Oregon
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Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission under this chapter can best be
performed by the Oregon Health Authority and the State Department of
Agriculture.

“(2) It is the policy of the Legislative Assembly and the intent of ORS
471.333 and 624.010 and this section that premises licensed by the Oregon
Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission under this chapter shall be sub-
ject to the laws governing health and sanitation matters, including any ap-
plicable licensing requirements, and to the rules adopted thereunder by the

authority and the department.
“SECTION 314. ORS 471.735 is amended to read:
“471.735. The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall

have the power to investigate by sample or chemical analysis, the quality
of all wines manufactured, imported, sold or offered for sale within this
state, and to seize, confiscate and destroy all wines sold or offered for sale
within this state which do not conform in all respects to the minimum
standards provided for by the laws of this state.

“SECTION 315. ORS 471.740 is amended to read:

“471.740. Except as provided in this chapter, the Oregon Liquor Control

and Cannabis Commission is vested with the exclusive right to purchase,
sell, have in possession for sale, import or transport alcoholic beverages.
“SECTION 316. ORS 471.745 is amended to read:
“471.745. The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall fix

the prices at which alcoholic liquors containing over five percent alcohol by
volume may be purchased from it, and has power to bottle, blend, rectify,
manufacture or sell alcoholic liquors for itself, or for or to any person or
commission within or without this state.

“SECTION 317. ORS 471.747 is amended to read:

“471.747. (1) As used in this section, ‘granulated alcohol’ means powders,

crystals or other dry preparations designed to produce an alcoholic beverage

when added to a liquid.
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“(2) Granulated alcohol may not be sold at retail in this state. Granulated
alcohol may be sold at wholesale only for scientific, industrial, manufactur-
ing or other purposes identified by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis
Commission under terms and conditions the commission considers appropri-
ate to safeguard against the misuse of granulated alcohol.

“SECTION 318. ORS 471.750 is amended to read:

“471.750. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall

establish such stores and warehouses in such places in the state as in its
judgment are required by pﬁblic convenience or necessity, for the sale of
spirituous liquors, wines and other alcoholic liquors containing over five
percent alcohol by volume, in sealed containers for consumption off the
premises. The commission shall keep on hand in such stores or warehouses
such quantities and kinds of alcoholic liquors as are reasonably required to
supply the public demand.

“(2) Any person qualified to purchase such liquors from the commission
has the right to present to the commission, or at any of its stores, an appli-
cation for any kind or brand of alcoholic liquor that the person may desire
and that may be manufactured or obtainable in any place in the United
States, and the commission shall obtain such liquor and sell it to the appli-
cant. The commission may not require that an application for a kind or
brand of alcoholic liquor include a commitment to purchase a minimum
amount of the liquor or require that a purchase be for more than one con-
tainer of a kind or brand of alcoholic liquor if the liquor:

“(a) Except as provided in subsection (5) of this section, has a retail sales
price of $30 or more per container;

“(b) Is available through a distributor in the United States that does not
require the commission to acquire more than one case of the distilled liquor
in a single transaction;

“(c) Is not regularly stocked by the commission; and

“(d) Is ordered in a 750 milliliter container size if available in that size.
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“(3) The commission may not establish a store in any county or incorpo-
rated city of this state where a local prohibitory law is in effect. The com-
mission shall adopt rules governing advertising by stores operated by the
commission. The commission may appoint agents in the sale of said liquor
under such agreement as the commission may negotiate with said agents or
their representative.

“(4) Rules relating to advertising adopted by the commission under sub-
section (3) of this section shall allow signs and displays within its stores for
the purpose of supplying consumer information to customers, including but
not limited to discounts, sales and other specials. Commission discretion
with respect to those signs and displays shall be limited to regulation of the
content, size, number per brand, type and duration of the sign or display.
Signs and displays may be supplied by manufacturers, wholesalers or dis-
tributors, and may bear the name of a particular distillery, supplier or brand
of liquor. The use of signs and displays shall be optional with the agent ap-
pointed by the commission. Signs or displays authorized by the commission
may not be placed in positions within the store where the sign or display
would be readily visible from outside of the store.

“(5) The commission may annually adjust the price threshold established
in subsection (2)(a) of this section by a percentage equal to the percentage
change in the Portland-Salem, OR-WA Consumer Price Index for All Urban
Consumers for All Items as published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of
the United States Department of Labor. However, the commission may not
adjust the price threshold to be less than $30.

“SECTION 319. ORS 471.752 is amended to read:

“471.752. (1) An agent appointed under ORS 471.750 may participate in a
health benefit plan available to state employees pursuant to ORS 243.105 to

243285 at the expense of the agent and may participate in the state deferred
compensation plan established under ORS 243.401 to 243.507. For such pur-

poses, agents shall be considered eligible state employees.
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“(2) A person who is the surviving spouse or child of a deceased agent
or the spouse or child of an agent of the Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission who has a disability shall be given preference in the
appointment of a successor agent, if otherwise qualified, the spouse having
greater preference. The experience of such applicant in the business opera-
tion of the deceased agent or the agent who has a disability shall be the
primary consideration in determining the qualifications of the applicant.

“SECTION 320. ORS 471.754 is amended to read:
“471.754. The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall

develop recycling education materials for distribution through stores estab-
lished by the commission under ORS 471.750 that encourage the patrons of
the store to recycle bottles sold through the stores.

“SECTION 321. ORS 471.757 is amended to read:

“471.757. (1) At such times as the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis

Commission may prescribe and upon forms furnished by the commission, any
license applicant or licensee of the commission may be required to submit a
sworn statement to the commission showing the name, address and the na-
ture and extent of the financial interest of each person, individual and cor-
porate, having a financial interest in the business operated under the license.

“(2) The commission shall review the statement and may refuse to issue
a license to any license applicant, or may suspend, cancel or refuse to renew
the license of any licensee, when conditions exist in relation to any person
having a financial interest in the business or in the place of business which
would constitute grounds for refusing to issue a license or for cancellation
or suspension of a license if such person were the license applicant or
licensee. However, in cases where the financial interest is held by a corpo-
ration, only the officers and directors of the corporation, any individual or
combination of individuals who own a controlling financial interest in the
business and any manager of the business shall be considered persons having

a financial interest within the meaning of this subsection.
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“SECTION 322. ORS 471.760 is amended to read:
“471.760. Each member of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis

Commission, or any of its authorized agents, shall, for the purposes contem-
plated by this chapter and ORS 474.105 and 474.115, have power to issue
subpoenas, compel the attendance of witnesses, administer oaths, certify to
official acts, take depositions within or without this state, as provided by
law, and compel the production of pertinent books, payrolls, accounts, pa-
pers, records, documents and testimony.

“SECTION 323. ORS 471.765 is amended to read:
“471.765. If a person in attendance before the Oregon Liquor Control and

Cannabis Commission or a commissioner refuses, without reasonable cause,
to be examined or to answer a legal and pertinent question, or to produce
a book or paper when ordered so to do by the commission, the commission
may apply to the judge of the circuit court of any county where such person
is in attendance, upon proof by affidavit of the fact, for a rule or order re-
turnable in not less than two nor more than five days, directing such person
to show cause before the judge who made the order, or any other judge of
such county, why the person should not be punished for contempt. Upon the
return of such order, the judge shall examine such person under oath and the
person shall be given an opportunity to be heard. If the judge determines
that such person has refused, without reasonable cause or legal excuse, to
be examined or to answer a legal or pertinent question, or to produce a book
or paper which the person was ordered to bring or produce, the judge may
forthwith punish the offender for contempt of court.

“SECTION 324. ORS 471.770 is amended to read:

“471.770. No person shall be excused from testifying or from producing

any books, papers or documents in any investigation or inquiry by or upon
any hearing before the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission
or any commissioner when ordered so to do by the commission or any of its

authorized agents, upon the ground that the testimony, evidence, books, pa-
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pers or documents required of the person may tend to incrirﬁinate the person
or subject the person to penalty or forfeiture. No person shall be prosecuted,
punished or subjected to any penalty or forfeiture for or on account of any
act, transaction, matter or thing concerning which the person shall, under
oath, have, by order of the commission, or a commissioner, or any of its au-
thorized agents, testified to or produced documentary evidence of; but no
person so testifying shall be exempt from prosecution or punishment for any
perjury committed by the person in testimony.

“SECTION 325. ORS 471.775, as amended by section 20, chapter 24,
Oregon Laws 2016, is amended to read:

“471.775. (1) The provisions of ORS 183.440 shall apply to subpoenas issued

by each member of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission
or any of its authorized agents.

“(2) Subject to subsection (3) of this section, regulatory specialists have
authority as provided under this chapter, ORS chapter 153, ORS 133.005 to
133.400, 133.450, 133.525 to 133.703, 133.721 to 133.739, 161.235, 161.239,
161.245[, 475B.010 to 475B.395, 475B.550 to 475B.590 and 475B.600 to
475B.655] and chapter 743, Oregon Laws 1971, to conduct inspections or in-
vestigations, make arrests and seizures, aid in prosecutions for offenses, issue
criminal citations and citations for violations and otherwise enforce this
chapter, ORS 474.005 to 474.095[,] and 474.115, [475B.010 to 475B.395, 475B.550
to 475B.590 and 475B.600 to 475B.655,] commission rules and any other laws
of this state that the commission considers related to alcoholic liquor,
[marijuana and marijuana-derived products,] including but not limited to
laws regarding the production, processing, manufacture, importation, trans-
portation, possession, distribution, sale or consumption of alcoholic
beverages, the manufacture or use of false identification or the entry of
premises licensed to sell alcoholic liquor[, marijuana or marijuana-derived
products].

“(3) A regulatory specialist may not:
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“(a) Be sworn in as a federal law enforcement official and act in that
capacity while performing duties under subsection (2) of this section; or

“(b) Carry a firearm[;].

“[(¢) Conduct inspections and investigations of a primary residence or for
purposes of ensuring compliance with ORS 475B.245 and 475B.375; or]

“[(d) Except as provided under the provisions of ORS 475B.010 to 475B.395,

conduct inspections and investigations for purposes of ensuring compliance
with ORS 475B.400 to 475B.525.]

“SECTION 326. ORS 471.790 is amended to read:
“471.790. No member of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Com-

mission may be sued for doing or omitting to do any act in the performance
of duties as prescribed in the Liquor Control Act. No member of the com-
mission personally shall be liable for any loss caused by the default or fail-
ure of the depository of funds of the commission. All funds of the commission
deposited in any bank or trust company are entitled to priority of payment
as public funds of the state, if the commission funds are only kept in depos-
itories designated by the State Treasurer and under security of the same
character required by law for depositories of state funds.

“SECTION 327. ORS 471.795 is amended to read:

“471.795. No provision of the Liquor Control Act prevents any member

or employee of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission from
purchasing and keeping in possession, for the personal use of self or members
of the family of the member or employee, any alcoholic liquor in the same

manner as it may be purchased or kept by any other person under that

statute.

“SECTION 328. ORS 471.800 is amended to read:
“471.800. If by the laws of another state or by the rules and regulations

of any administrative body or authorized agency thereof or therein, market
restrictions are imposed that prevent or tend to prevent the sale of wine

manufactured in Oregon in free and unrestricted competition with like kinds
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of wine manufactured in such other state, the Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission is authorized and directed to impose similar re-
strictions in Oregon upon such wine manufactured in such other state and
offered for sale in Oregon.

“SECTION 329. ORS 471.810 is amended to read:

“471.810. (1) At the end of each month, the Oregon Liquor Control and

Cannabis Commission shall certify the amount of moneys available for dis-

tribution in the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission Account
and, after withholding such moneys as it may deem necessary to pay its
outstanding obligations, shall within 35 days of the month for which a dis-
tribution is made direct the State Treasurer to pay the amounts due, upon
warrants drawn by the Oregon Department of Administrative Services, as
follows:

“(a) Fifty-six percent, or the amount remaining after the distribution un-
der subsection (4) of this section, credited to the General Fund available for
general governmental purposes wherein it shall be considered as revenue
during the quarter immediately preceding receipt;

“(b) Twenty percent to the cities of the state in such shares as the pop-
ulation of each city bears to the population of the cities of the state, as de-
termined by Portland State University last preceding such apportionment,
under ORS 190.510 to 190.610;

“(c) Ten percent to counties in such shares as their respective populations
bear to the total population of the state, as estimated from time to time by
Portland State University; and

“(d) Fourteen percent to the cities of the state to be distributed as pro-
vided in ORS 221.770 and this section.

“(2) The commission shall direct the Oregon Department of Administra-
tive Services to transfer 50 percent of the revenues from the taxes imposed
by ORS 473.030 and 473.035 to the Mental Health Alcoholism and Drug Ser-
vices Account in the General Fund to be paid monthly as provided in ORS

HB 2198-1 3/4/17
Proposed Amendments to HB 2198 Page 335




10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

430.380.

“(3) If the amount of revenues received from the taxes imposed by ORS
473.030 for the preceding month was reduced as a result of credits claimed
under ORS 473.047, the commission shall compute the difference between the
amounts paid or transferred as described in subsections (1)(b), (c) and (d) and
(2) of this section and the amounts that would have been paid or transferred
under subsections (1)(b), (¢) and (d) and (2) of this section if no credits had
been claimed. The commission shall direct the Oregon Department of Ad-
ministrative Services to pay or transfer amounts equal to the differences
computed for subsections (1)(b), (c) and (d) and (2) of this section from the
General Fund to the recipients or accounts described in subsections (1)(b),
(c) and (d) and (2) of this section.

“(4) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, no city or county shall
receive for any fiscal year an amount less than the amount distributed to the
city or county in accordance with ORS 471.350 (19656 Replacement Part),
471.810, 473.190 and 473.210 (1965 Replacement Part) during the 1966-1967
fiscal year unless the city or county had a decline in population as shown
by its census. If the population declined, the per capita distribution to the
city or county shall be not less than the total per capita distribution during
the 1966-1967 fiscal year. Any additional funds required to maintain the level
of distribution under this subsection shall be paid from funds credited under
subsection (1)(a) of this section.

“(d) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, amounts to be dis-
tributed from the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission Ac-
count that are attributable to a per bottle surcharge imposed by the Oregon
Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission, shall be credited to the General
Fund.

“SECTION 330. ORS 471.817 is amended to read:

“471.817. Each nonprofit organization formed by licensees to provide al-

ternative transportation for patrons of the licensees shall report annually to
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the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission. The commission may
acknowledge receipt of the notice and shall keep a list of such organizations
that have given notice. The commission shall provide information to the
Department of Revenue on request for purposes of sections 2 and 4, chapter

700, Oregon Laws 1985.
“SECTION 331. ORS 473.020 is amended to read:
“473.020. The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall

administer this chapter, and shall prescribe forms and make such rules and

regulations as it deems necessary to enforce its provisions.
“SECTION 332. ORS 473.030 is amended to read:

“473.030. (1) A tax is imposed upon the privilege of engaging in business
as a manufacturer or as an importing distributor of malt beverages at the
rate of $2.60 per barrel of 31 gallons on all such beverages.

“@) A tax is imposed upon the privilege of engaging in business as a
manufacturer or as an importing distributor of wines at the rate of 65 cents
per gallon on all such beverages.

“(@3) In addition to the tax imposed by subsection (2) of this section, a
manufacturer or an importing distributor of wines containing more than 14
percent alcohol by volume shall be taxed at the rate of 10 cents per gallon.

“(4) In addition to the taxes imposed by subsections (2) and (3) of this
section, a manufacturer or an importing distributor of wines shall be taxed
at the rate of two cents per gallon. Notwithstanding any other provision
of law, all moneys collected by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis
Commission pursuant to this subsection shall be paid into the account es-
tablished by the Oregon Wine Board under ORS 182.470,

“(5) The rates of tax imposed by this section upon malt beverages apply
proportionately to quantities in containers of less capacity than those
quantities specified in this section.

“(6) The taxes imposed by this section shall be measured by the volumel

of wine or malt beverages produced, purchased or received by any manufac-
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turer. If the wine or malt beverage remains unsold and in the possession of
the producer at the plant where it was produced, no tax imposed or levied
by this section is required to be paid until the wine or malt beverage has
become sufficiently aged for marketing at retail, but this subsection shall
not be construed so as to alter or affect any provision of this chapter relat-
ing to tax liens or the filing of statements.

“SECTION 333. ORS 473.045 i1s amended to read:

“473.045. (1) A tax is hereby imposed upon the sale or use of all agricul-

tural products used in a winery for making wine.

“(2) The amount of the tax shall be $25 per ton of grapes of the vinifera
varieties, whether true or hybrid.

“(3) An equivalent tax is imposed upon the sale or use of vinifera or hy-
brid grape products imported for use in a winery licensed under ORS chapter
471 for making wine. Such tax shall be $25 per ton of grapes used to produce
the imported grape product. The tax shall be determined on the basis of one
ton of grapes for each 150 gallons of wine made from such vinifera or hybrid
grape products.

“(4) A tax on the sale or use of products that are not subject to subsection
(2) or (3) of this section that are used to make wine in this state shall be
imposed at a rate of $.021 per gallon of wine made from those products.

“(5) In the case of vinifera or hybrid grape products harvested in this
state, $12.50 of such tax shall be levied and assessed against the person
selling or providing such grape products to the winery. If the purchasing
winery is licensed under ORS chapter 471, that winery shall deduct the tax
levied under this subsection from the price paid to the seller. If the pur-
chasing winery is not licensed under ORS chapter 471, the seller shall report
all sales on forms provided by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis
Commission and pay $12.50 per ton as a tax directly to the commission.

“(6) Taxes paid by sellers under subsection (5) of this section shall be

collected by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission on behalf
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of the Oregon Wine Board. The commission may retain an amount sufficient
to cover the cost of collecting the taxes paid under subsection (5) of this
section and shall transfer the remainder of those taxes to the board for de-
posit as provided in ORS 576.775. Failure to pay a tax imposed under sub-
section (5) of this section subjects the violator to the penalty provided in
ORS 473.992.

“(7) Except for the tax specified in subsection (4) of this section the taxes
specified under this section shall be levied and assessed to the licensed
winery at the time of purchase of the product by the winery or of
importation of the product, whichever is later. The tax specified in sub-
section (4) of this section shall be levied and assessed to the licensed winery
at the time the wine is made.

“(8) The taxes imposed by this section shall be paid by the licensed winery
and collected by the commission subject to the same powers as taxes imposed
and collected under ORS chapter 473. The tax obligation for a calendar year
shall be paid in two installments. Half shall be due on December 31 of the

current calendar year. The remaining half shall be due the following June
30.

“SECTION 334. ORS 473.047 is amended to read:

“473.047. (1) As used in this section, ‘qualified marketing activity’ means

marketing activity:

“(a) That promotes the sale of wine or wine products;

“(b) That does not promote specific brands of wine or wine products or
exclusively promote the products of any particular winery; and

“(c) That has been approved by the Oregon Wine Board.

“(2) A credit against the privilege tax otherwise due under ORS 473.030
(2) is allowed to a manufacturer or importing distributor of wine for the
qualified marketing activity expenditures made by the manufacturer or im-

porting distributor in the calendar year prior to the year for which the credit

is claimed.
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“(3) The credit allowed under this section shall be 28 percent of the sum
of the following:

“(a) One hundred percent of the cost of qualified marketing activity to
the extent that the cost of the activity does not exceed the amount of taxes
the manufacturer or importing distributor of wine owed under ORS 473.030
(2) on the first 40,000 gallons, or 151,000 liters, of wine sold annually in
Oregon; and

“(b) Twenty-five percent of the tax owed under ORS 473.030 (2) for quali-

fied marketing activity on wine sales above 40,000 gallons, or 151,000 liters,

of wine sold annually in Oregon.

“(4) The credit allowed under this section may not exceed the tax liability
of the manufacturer or importing distributor of wine under ORS 473.030 (2)
for the calendar year following the year in which qualified marketing activ-
ity occurred.

“(5) A manufacturer or importing distributor of wine that wishes to claim
the credit allowed under this section shall submit with the manufacturer’s
or importing distributor’s tax return form a certificate issued by the board
verifying that the marketing activity was a qualified marketing activity. The
credit shall be claimed on the form and include the information required by
the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission by rule.

“(6) The credit shall be claimed against the taxes reported on the return
filed under ORS 473.060 for each month in the calendar year following the
year in which the qualified marketing activity occurred, until the credit is
completely used or the year ends, whichever occurs first.

“(7) The board shall by rule further define, consistent with the definition
in subsection (1) of this section, the marketing activities that constitute
qualified marketing activity.

“SECTION 335. ORS 473.050 is amended to read:

“473.050. In computing any privilege tax imposed by ORS 473.030 or
473.035:
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“(1) No malt beverage, cider or wine is subject to tax more than once.

“(2) No tax shall be levied, collected or imposed upon any malt beverage,
cider or wine sold to the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission
or exported from the state.

“(3) No tax shall be levied, collected or imposed upon any malt beverage
given away and consumed on the licensed premises of a brewery licensee, or
sold to or by a voluntary nonincorporated organization of army, air corps
or navy personnel operating a place for the sale of goods pursuant to regu-
lations promulgated by the proper authority of each such service.

“(4) No tax shall be levied, collected or imposed upon any malt beverage,
cider or wine determined by the commission to be unfit for human con-
sumption or unsalable.

“(5) No tax shall be levied, collected or imposed upon the first 40,000
gallons, or 151,000 liters, of wine sold annually in Oregon from a United
States manufacturer of wines producing less than 100,000 gallons, or 379,000
liters, annually.

“SECTION 336. ORS 473.060 is amended to read:

“473.060. (1) The privilege taxes imposed by ORS 473.030 and 473.035 shall

be paid to the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission. The taxes

covering the periods for which statements are required to be rendered by
ORS 473.070 shall be paid before the time for filing such statements expires
or, as concerns wines, on or before the 20th day of the month after such
wines have been withdrawn from federal bond. If not so paid, a penalty of
10 percent and interest at the rate of one percent a month or fraction of a
month shall be added and collected. The commission may refund any tax
payment imposed upon or paid in error by any licensee, and may waive the
collection or refund the payment of any tax imposed and collected on wine,
cider or malt beverages subsequently exported from this state, sold to a fed-
eral instrumentality or to the commission, or determined by the commission

to be unfit for human consumption or unsalable.
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“(2) The commission may waive any interest or penalty assessed to a
manufacturer subject to the tax imposed under ORS 473.030 or 473.035 if the
commission, 1n its discretion, determines that the manufacturer has made a
good faith attempt to comply with the requirements of this chapter.

“(3) Except in the case of fraud, the commission may not assess any in-

terest or penalty on any tax due under ORS 473.030 or 473.035 following the

expiration of 36 months from the date on which was filed the statement re-
quired under ORS 473.070 reporting the quantity of wine, cider or malt
beverages upon which the tax is due.

“(4) A manufacturer may appeal a tax imposed under ORS 473.030 or
473.035 in the manner of a contested case under ORS chapter 183.

“SECTION 337. ORS 473.065 is amended to read:

“473.065. (1) If a manufacturer’s total tax liability under ORS 473.030 (1)

in the previous calendar year was less than $1,000, the manufacturer may
deposit with the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission an
amount in cash equal to the manufacturer’s total tax liability under ORS
473.030 (1) for the previous calendar year in lieu of the bond required by ORS
471.155 (1).

“(2) If a manufacturer’s actual tax liability under ORS 473.030 (1) is less
than the amount deposited under subsection (1) of this section, the man-
ufacturer may request that the commission refund the excess funds or may
apply those funds toward the manufacturer’s tax liability under ORS 473.030
(1) for the next calendar year.

“(3) If a manufacturer’s actual tax liability under ORS 473.030 (1) is
greater than the amount deposited under subsection (1) of this section, the
manufacturer shall pay to the commission the additional amount owed in the
manner required under ORS 473.060.

“(4) Unless the commission determines that a winery, grower sales privi-
lege or warehouse licensee or direct shipper or wine self-distribution permit

holder presents an unusual risk for nonpayment of any license fees, privilege
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taxes, agricultural products taxes or other tax, penalty or interest imposed
under this chapter or ORS chapter 471, the commission shall waive the bond
required under ORS 471.155 (1) for the licensee or permit holder if:

“(a) The licensee or permit holder was not liable for a privilege tax under
this chapter in the immediately preceding calendar year and does not expect
to be liable for a privilege tax under this chapter in the current calendar
year; or

“(b) The licensee or permit holder of a business established during the
current calendar year does not expect to be liable for a privilege tax under

this chapter in the current calendar year. As used in this paragraph, ‘busi-

ness’ means:
“(A) A winery.
“(B) A business operated pursuant to a license issued under ORS 471.227.
“(C) A warehouse.
“(D) A business operated pursuant to a permit issued under ORS 471.274.

“(E) A business operated pursuant to a permit issued under ORS 471.282.
“SECTION 338. ORS 473.070 is amended to read:

“473.070. (1) On or before the 20th day of each month, every manufacturer

shall file with the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission a
statement of the quantity of wine, cider and malt beverages produced, pur-
chased or received by the manufacturer during the preceding calendar month.

“(2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, a manufacturer of
wine that was not liable for a privilege tax under this chapter in the prior
calendar year and that does not expect to be liable for a privilege tax under
this chapter in the current calendar year, or a manufacturer of wine that is
newly established during the current calendar year and that does not expect
to be liable for a privilege tax under this chapter in the current calendar
year, may file a single annual statement of the quantity of wine produced,
purchased or received by the manufacturer during the current calendar year.

The annual statement shall be filed with the commission on or before Janu-
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ary 20 of the following year.
“SECTION 339. ORS 473.080 is amended to read:

“473.080. If any manufacturer fails, neglects or refuses to file a statement

required by ORS 473.070 or files a false statement, the Oregon Liquor Control
and Cannabis Commission shall estimate the amount of wine, cider and malt
beverages produced, purchased or received by the manufacturer and assess
the privilege tax thereon. The manufacturer shall be estopped from com-
plaining of the amount so estimated.

“SECTION 340. ORS 473.100 is amended to read:

“473.100. (1) Whenever any manufacturer is delinquent in the payment of
the privilege tax provided for in ORS 473.030 and 473.035, the Oregon Liquor

Control and Cannabis Commission or its duly authorized representative
shall seize any property subject to the tax and sell, at public auction, prop-
erty so seized, or a sufficient portion thereof to pay the privilege tax due,
together with any penalties imposed under ORS 473.060 for such delinquency
and all costs incurred on account of the seizure and sale.

“(2) Written notice of the intended sale and the time and place thereof,
shall be given to such delinquent manufacturer and to all persons appearing
of record to have an interest in the property, at least 10 days before the date
set for the sale. The notice shall be enclosed in an envelope addressed to the
manufacturer at the last-known residence or place of business of the man-
ufacturer in this state, if any; and in the case of any person appearing of
record to have an interest in such property, addressed to such person at the
last-known place of residence of the person, if any. The envelope shall be
deposited in the United States mail, postage prepaid. In addition, notice shall
be published for at least 10 days before the date set for such sale, in a
newspaper of general circulation published in the county in which the prop-
erty seized is to be sold. If there is no newspaper of general circulation in
such county, the notice shall be posted in three public places in such county

for the 10-day period. The notice shall contain a description of the property
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to be sold, a statement of the amount of the privilege taxes, penalties and
costs, the name of the manufacturer and the further statement that, unless
the privilege taxes, penalties and costs are paid on or before the time fixed
in the notice for the sale, the property, or so much thereof as may be nec-
essary, will be sold in accordance with law and the notice.

“SECTION 341. ORS 473.110 is amended to read:

“473.110. At the sale, the property shall be sold by the Oregon Liquor

Control and Cannabis Commission or by its duly authorized agent in ac-
cordance with law and the notice. The commission shall deliver to the pur-
chaser a bill of sale for the personal property, and a deed for any real
property so sold. The bill of sale or deed vests title in the purchaser. The
unsold portion of any property seized under ORS 473.100 may be left at the
place of sale at the risk of the manufacturer. If upon any such sale, the
money received exceeds the amount of all privilege taxes, penalties and costs
due the state from the manufacturer, the excess shall be returned to the
manufacturer, and a receipt therefor obtained. However, if any person having
an interest in or lien upon the property has filed with the commission, prior
to the sale, notice of interest or lien, the commission shall withhold any such
excess pending a determination of the rights of the respective parties thereto
by a court of competent jurisdiction. If the receipt of the manufacturer is
not available, the commission shall deposit such excess money with the State
Treasurer, as trustee for the owner, subject to the order of the manufacturer,
the heirs, successors or assigns of the manufacturer.

“SECTION 342. ORS 473.120 is amended to read:

“473.120. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall

immediately transmit notice of the delinquency mentioned in ORS 473.100 to
the Attorney General. The Attorney General shall at once proceed to collect
all sums due to the state from the manufacturer under this chapter by
bringing suit against the necessary parties to effect forfeiture of the bonds

of the manufacturer, reducing any deficiency to judgment against the man-
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ufacturer.

“(2) The remedies of the state provided in ORS 473.090 to 473.120 are cu-
mulative and no action taken by the commission or Attorney General con-
stitutes an election on the part of the state or any of its officers to pursue
one remedy to the exclusion of any other remedy provided in this chapter.

“SECTION 343. ORS 473.130 is amended to read:

“473.130. In any suit brought to enforce the rights of the state, the as-

sessment made by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission
under ORS 473.080, or a copy of so much thereof as is applicable in such suit,
duly certified by the commission and showing unpaid privilege taxes assessed
against any manufacturer, is prima facie evidence:

“(1) Of the assessment of the privilege tax and the delinquency thereof.

“(2) Of the amount of the privilege tax, interest, penalties and costs due
and unpaid to the state.

“(3) That the manufacturer is indebted to this state in the amount of such
privilege tax, interest and penalties therein appearing unpaid.

“(4) That the law relating to assessment and levy of such privilege tax
has been fully complied with by all persons required to perform administra-
tive duties under this chapter.

“SECTION 344. ORS 473.140 is amended to read:

“473.140. Every manufacturer shall keep a complete and accurate record

of all sales of wine, cider and malt beverages, a complete and accurate record
of the number of gallons imported, produced, purchased, manufactured,
brewed or fermented, and the date of importation, production, purchase,
manufacturing, brewing or fermentation. The records shall be in such form
and contain such other information as the Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission may prescribe. The commission, by rule or regulation,
may require the delivery of statements by distributors to purchasers, with
wine, cider and malt beverages, and prescribe the matters to be contained

therein. Such records and statements shall be preserved by the distributor
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and the purchaser respectively, for a period of two years, and shall be offered

for inspection at any time upon oral or written demand by the commission
or its duly authorized agents.

“SECTION 345. ORS 473.150 is amended to read:
“473.150. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission may,

at any time, examine the books and records of a holder of a wine self-
distribution permit or of any manufacturer of wine, cider or malt beverages,
and may appoint auditors, investigators and other employees that the com-
mission considers necessary to enforce its powers and perform its duties un-
der this section.

“(2) Every holder of a wine self-distribution permit and every manufac-
turer shall maintain and keep for two years all records, books and accounts
required by this chapter and shall provide copies of those records, books and
accounts to the commission when requested by the commission.

“SECTION 346. ORS 473.160 is amended to read:

“473.160. Every person transporting wine, cider or malt beverages within

this state, whether such transportation originates within or without this
state, shall keep a true and accurate record of wine, cider or malt beverages
transported. The record shall include ingredients which may be used in the
manufacture, production, brewing or fermentation of the wine, cider or malt
beverages, showing such facts with relation to those beverages, their ingre-
dients and their transportation, as the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis
Commission may require. The records shall be open to inspection by the
representative of the commission at any time. The commission may require
from any such person sworn returns of all or any part of the information
shown by the records.

“SECTION 347. ORS 473.170 is amended to read:

“473.170. (1) No manufacturer shall:

“(a) Fail to pay the privilege tax prescribed in ORS 473.030 and 473.035

when 1t is due; or
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“(b) Falsify the statement required by ORS 473.070.
“(2) No person shall:

“(a) Refuse to permit the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commis-
sion or any of its representatives to make an inspection of the books and
records authorized by ORS 473.140 to 473.160;

“(b) Fail to keep books of account prescribed by the commission or re-
quired by this chapter;

“(c) Fail to preserve the books for two years for inspection of the com-
mission; or

“(d) Alter, cancel or obliterate entries in the books of account for the
purpose of falsifying any record required by this chapter to be made, main-
tained or preserved.

“SECTION 348. ORS 474.115 is amended to read:

“474.115. (1) Tt shall be unlawful for any wholesaler to sell any brand of

malt beverage in this state except in the territory described in an agreement
with the manufacturer or importer authorizing sale by the wholesaler of the
brand within a designated territory. Within the designated territory the
wholesaler must service as provided in subsection (2) of this section all of
the customers without discrimination. The territorial agreement must be in
writing and must specify the brand or brands it covers. Where a manufac-
turer or importer sells several brands, the agreement need not apply to all
brands sold by the manufacturer or importer and may :apply only to one
brand. No manufacturer or importer shall provide by the written agreement
for the distribution of a brand to more than one distributor for all or any
part of the designated territory. All such agreements shall be filed with the
Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission.

“(2) Every malt beverage wholesaler licensed shall service for the purpose
of quality control all of the malt beverages it sells to its customers. Each
wholesaler shall provide quality control services and comply with quality

control standards as are specified in writing from time to time by the owner
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of the trademark of the brand or brands of malt beverage if:

“(a) These services or standards are reasonable and are reasonably related
to the maintenance of quality control; and

“(b) The wholesaler has received written notice of them.

“(8) An exclusive territorial designation in any agreement shall be
changed only upon the written notice of the manufacturer and shall be filed
pursuant to this section and ORS 474.105. The commission shall require the
manufacturer to verify that the level of service within the designated terri-
tory will not be affected by the change. The notice shall only be given after
recognizing all rights of the wholesaler and duties of the manufacturer con-
tained in any written agreement between them. However, if a wholesaler is
prevented from servicing the territory due to fire, flood, labor disputes or
other causes beyond reasonable control, and if first given permission by the
duly licensed exclusive wholesaler of that area and approved by the man-
ufacturer and the commission, another licensed wholesaler not within the
designated area may sell the specified brands of malt beverage in that des-
ignated area. ‘

“(4)(a) It shall be unlawful for any wholesaler, either directly or indi-
rectly, to grant or to afford a quantity discount in connection with the sale
of malt beverages to any retailer in this state.

“(b) No provision of any agreement between any manufacturer and
importer shall expressly or by implication, or in its operation, establish or

maintain the resale price of any brand or brands of malt beverage by the

wholesaler.
“SECTION 349. ORS 565.515 is amended to read:
“565.515. The state fair director may authorize the conducting of any

lawful business at fairground properties and facilities. A business operating
on fairground properties or facilities under authorization from the state fair
director is not required to obtain a local business license for the operation.

However, nothing in this section shall interfere with the laws of this state
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requiring a license for the operation of a restaurant or requiring a license
to be obtained from the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission
for the sale or distribution of alcoholic liquors.

“SECTION 350. ORS 576.768 1s amended to read:

“576.768. (1) The report submitted by the Oregon Wine Board under ORS
182.472 must include a description of the long term strategic plan created by

the board and a description of the progress made in implementing the state-
wide strategic objectives of the board during the most recent biennium.

“(2) Notwithstanding ORS 182.462:

“(a) The board shall prepare and submit annual plans and a budget re-
commended by the board for promotion and for research during the next
fiscal year.

“(b) The board shall adopt rules specifying the procedures, criteria and
timelines for the preparation and approval of the annual plans and budget
for promotion and for research.

“(c) The Director of the Oregon Business Development Department shall
review the budget and plans submitted under this section. In reviewing the
annual plans and budget, the director shall consider whether the information
supplied by the board is factual and consistent with ORS 576.750 to 576.775
and the positive development of the Oregon wine grape growing and wine
making industries. The director shall either approve the budget and plans
prior to the commencement of the next fiscal year or disapprove and return
the budget and plans to the board with conditions necessary for approval
prior to the commencement of the next fiscal year. In reviewing the budget
and plans, the director may consult with and receive coordinated support
from:

“(A) The State Department of Agriculture;

“(B) The Oregon Tourism Commission;

“(C) Oregon State University;

“(D) The Office of Community Colleges and Workforce Development; and
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“(E) The Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission.
“SECTION 351. ORS 576,771 is amended to read:

“576.771. (1) If a person selling or providing grape product to a winery

performs part of the processing function of a winery, the person shall report
the sale or provision of the grape product and pay the tax imposed under
ORS 473.045 (5).

“(2) A person or winery required to pay a tax under ORS 473.045 (5) shall
keep accurate records sufficient to enable the Oregon Liquor Control and
Cannabis Commission to determine by inspection and audit the accuracy of
the taxes paid or due the Oregon Wine Board and of reports made or due to
the commission.

“(3) The commission or a designee of the commission may inspect and
audit the records referred to in subsection {2) of this .section for the purpose
referred to In subsection (2) of this section.

“(4) A person or winery may not refuse to permit an inspection and audit
under subsection (3} of this section during business hours.

“(5) In addition to the penalties prescribed in ORS 473.992, a person or
winery that delays transmittal of tax payments under ORS 473,845 (5} beyond
the due date specified in ORS 473.045 shall pay five percent of the overdue
amount for the first full or partial month of delay and one percent of the
overdue amount for each full or partial month of delay thereafter.

“(6) If a winery willfully refuses to turn over tax moneys withheld under
ORS 473.045 (5}, the winery shall pay an additional amount equal to twice
the amount of the tax moneys not turned over.

“SECTION 352. ORS 659A.320 is amended to read:

“659A.320. (1) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, it is

an unlawful employment practice for an employer to obtain or use for em-
ployment purposes information contained in the credit history of an appli-
cant for employment or an employee, or to refuse to hire, discharge, demote,

suspend, retaliate or otherwise discriminate against an applicant or an em-
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ployee with regard to promotion, compensation or the terms, conditions or
privileges of employment based on information in the credit history of the
applicant or employee.

“(2) Subsection (1) of this section does not apply to:

“(a) Employers that are federally insured banks or credit unions;

“(b) Employers that are required by state or federal law to use individual
credit history for employment purposes;

“{c} The application for employment or the employment of a public safety
officer who will be or who is:

“(A) A member of a law enforcement unit;

“(B) Employed as a peace officer commissioned by a city, port, school
district, mass transit district, county, university under ORS 352.121 or
353.125, Indian reservation, the Superintendent of State Police under ORS
181A.340, the Criminal Justice Division of the Department of Justice, the
Oregon State Lottery Commission or the Governor or employed as a regula-
tory specialist by the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission; and

“{C) Responsible for enforcing the criminal laws of this state or laws or
ordinances related to airport security; or

“(d) The obtainment or use by an employer of information in the credit
history of an applicant or employee because the information is substantially
job-related and the employer’s reasons for the use of such information are
disclosed to the employee or prospective employee in writing.

“(3) An employee or an applicant for employment may file a complaint
under ORS 659A.820 for violations of this section and may bring a civil
action under ORS 659A.885 and recover the relief as provided by ORS
659A.885 (1} and (2).

“(4) As used in this section, ‘credit history’ means any written or other
communication of any information by a consumer reporting agency that
bears on a consumer’s creditworthiness, creditl standing or credit capacity.

“SECTION 353. ORS 802.250 is amended to read:
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“802.250. (1) An eligible public employee may request that any driver or
vehicle record kept by the Department of Transportation that contains or is
required to contain the eligible employee’s residence address contain instead
the address of the public agency employing the eligible employee. A request
under this section shall:

“(a) Be in a form specified by the department that provides for verifica-
tion of the eligible employee’s employment.

“(b) Contain verification by the employing public agency of the eligible
employee’s employment with the public agency.

“(2) Upon receipt of a request and verification under subsection (1) of this
section, the department shall remove the eligible employee’s residence ad-
dress from its records, if necessary, and substitute therefor the address of the
public agency employing the eligible employee. The department shall indicate
on the records that the address shown is an employment address. While the
request is in effect, the eligible employee may enter the address of the public
agency employing the eligible employee on any driver or vehicle form issued
by the department that requires an address.

“(3) A public agency that verifies an eligible employee’s employment un-
der subsection (1) of this section shall notify the department within 30 days
if the eligible employee ceases to be employed by the public agency. The el-
igible employee shall notify the department of a change of address as pro-
vided in ORS 803.220 or 807.560.

“(4) If an eligible employee is killed in the line of duty, a person who is
a household member of the eligible employee may request that any driver or
vehicle record kept by the department that contains or is required to contain
the household member’s residence address continue to contain the address
of the public agency that employed the eligible employee for up to four years
after the date of the death of the eligible employee. On or before the date
on which the four-year period ends, the household member shall notify the

department of a change of address as provided in ORS 803.220 or 807.560. A
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request under this subsection shall be in a form specified by the department.
“(5) As used in this section, ‘eligible employee’ means:
“(a) A member of the State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision.
“(b) The Director of the Department of Corrections and an employee of
an institution defined in ORS 421.005 as Department of Corrections insti-

tutions, whose duties, as assigned by the superintendent, include the custody

of persons committed to the custody of or transferred to the institution.

“(c) A parole and probation officer employed by the Department of Cor-
rections and an employee of the Department of Corrections Release Center
whose duties, as assigned by the Chief of the Release Center, include the
custody of persons committed to the custody of or transferred to the Release
Center.

“(d) A police officer appointed under ORS 276.021 or 276.023.

“(e) An employee of the State Department of Agriculture who is classified
as a brand inspector by the Director of Agriculture.

“(f) An investigator of the Criminal Justice Division of the Department
of Justice.

“(g) A corrections officer as defined in ORS 181A.355.

“(h) A federal officer. As used in this paragraph, ‘federal officer’ means
a special agent or law enforcement officer employed by:

“(A) The Federal Bureau of Investigation;

“(B) The United States Secret Service;

“(C) The United States Citizenship and Immigration Services;

“(D) The United States Marshals Service;

“(E) The Drug Enforcement Administration;

“(F) The United States Postal Service;

“(G) The United States Customs and Border Protection;

“(H) The United States General Services Administration;

“(I) The United States Department of Agriculture;

“(J) The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives;
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“(K) The Internal Revenue Service;

“(L) The United States Department of the Interior; or

“(M) Any federal agency if the person is empowered to effect an arrest
with or without warrant for violations of the United States Code and is au-
thorized to carry firearms in the performance of duty.

“(i) An employee of the Department of Human Services or the Oregon
Health Authority whose duties include personal contact with clients or pa-
tients of the department or the authority.

“(j) Any judge of a court of this state.

“(k) An employee of the Oregon Youth Authority whose duties include
personal contact with persons committed to the legal or physical custody of

the authority.
“(L) A district attorney, as defined in ORS 131.005, or deputy district at-

torney.

“(m) An employee who provides educational services to persons who are
clients or patients of the Department of Human Services or the Oregon
Health Authority, who are under the jurisdiction of the Psychiatric Security
Review Board or who are under the custody or supervision of the Department
of Corrections, the State Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision, a
community corrections agency, the Oregon Youth Authority or a juvenile
department. As used in this paragraph, ‘employee who provides educational
services’ means a person who provides instruction, or services related to the
instruction, of a subject usually taught in an elementary school, a secondary
school or a community college or who provides special education and related
services in other than a school setting and who works for:

“(A) An education service district or a community college district; or

“(B) A state officer, board, commission, bureau, department or division in
the executive branch of state government that provides educational services.

“(n) An employee of the Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commis-

sion who is:
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“(A) A regulatory specialist; or

“(B) A regulatory manager.

“(o) A police officer as defined in ORS 801.395.

“(p) An employee whose duties include personal contact with criminal
offenders and who is employed by a law enforcement unit, as defined in ORS
181A.355.

“(q) A civil code enforcement officer, as defined in ORS 192.501.

“SECTION 354. Section 4, chapter 106, Oregon Laws 2013, is amended to

read;

“Sec. 4. Report. No later than March 1 of each odd-numbered year, the
Oregon Liquor Control and Cannabis Commission shall submit a report to
the Legislative Assembly regarding beverage container redemption centers
approved pursuant to the provisions of ORS 459A.737. The report must in-
clude, for the two previous calendar years:

“(1) The number of beverage containers that are returned for refund value
as a percentage of the total number of beverage containers sold in this state.

“(2) The number of beverage container redemption centers operating in
this state and the number of redemption centers for which applications are
pending with the commission.

“(3) The number of beverage containers that are returned for refund value
in areas designated by the commission and the number of beverage contain-
ers returned for refund value in each area in the year before the beverage
container redemption center began operation.

“(4) The number of beverage containers that are returned for refund value
to beverage container redemption centers in this state and the number of
beverage containers that are returned for refund value to dealers in this

state.

“SECTION 355. Section 1, chapter 221, Oregon Laws 2015, is amended to

read:

“Sec. 1. (1) As used in this section, ‘tax-exempt’ means recognized as
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tax-exempt under section 501{(c) of the Internal Revenue Code.

“(2) A tax-exempt nonprofit organization may supply to the Oregon Liquor
Control and Cannabis Commission copies of informational materials about
human trafficking. The organization may not charge the commission for the
materials. The form of the materials may include, but need not ke limited to,
adhesive stickers. The materials may not include information on topics other
than human trafficking. The materials must be limited in content to objec-
tively verifiable information, except that the materials may include logos,
symbols, graphics or sibmilar devices and may include a cover letter fo com-
mission licensees to urge the licensees to post the adhesive materials or
other materials at the licensees’ premises.

“(3) Except as provided in this subsection, if a tax-exempt nonprofit or-
ganization supplies the commission with informational materials as described
in subsection (2) of this section, the commission shall include a copy of the
materials with each license renewal notice that the commission sends to an
on-premises sales, off-premises sales or lrewery-public house licensee. The
number of copies of the materials that the commission sends to licensees may
not exceed the number of copies that the organization supplies to the com-
mission. If the commission determines that the informational materials have
offensive or inappropriate content, the commission may refuse to include the

materials with license renewal notices or otherwise assist in distributing the

materials.

“OPERATIVE DATES

“SECTION 356. (1) Sections 18, 21, 123 and 158 to 161 of this 2017 Act

and the amendments to statutes and session law by sections 154 to 156,

162 and 163 of this 2017 Act become operative on January 1, 2018.
“(2) The Oregon Liguor Control Commission and the Oregon Health

Authority may take any action before the operative date specified in
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subsection (1) of this section that is necessary to enable the commis-
sion and authority to exercise, on and after the operative date speci-
fied in subsection (1) of this section, all the duties, powers and
functions conferred on the commission and authority by sections 18,
21, 123 and 158 to 161 of this 2017 Act and the amendments to statutes
and session law by sections 154 to 156, 162 and 163 of this 2017 Act.
“SECTION 357. (1) Section 24 of this 2017 Act, the amendments to
section 18 of this 2017 Act by section 22 of this 2017 Act, the amend-

ments to statutes and session law by sections 25 to 42, 125 to 130 and

164 to 177 of this 2017 Act and the repeal of statutes and session law
by sections 43, 131 and 178 of this 2017 Act become operative on March
30, 2019.

“(2) The Oregon Ligquor Control Commission, the Oregon Health
Authority and the Medical Use of Cannabis Board may take any action
before the operative date specified in subsection (1) of this section that
is necessary to enable the commission, authority and board to exer-
cise, on and after the operative date specified in subsection (1) of this
section, all the duties, powers and functions conferred on the com-
mission, authority and board by section 24 of this 2017 Act, the
amendments to section 18 of this 2017 Act by section 22 of this 2017
Act, the amendments to statutes and session law by sections 25 to 42,
125 to 130 and 164 to 177 of this 2017 Act and the repeal of statutes and
session law by sections 43, 131 and 178 of this 2017 Act.

“UNIT CAPTIONS

“SECTION 358. The unit captions used in this 2017 Act are provided

only for the convenience of the reader and do not become part of the
statutory law of this state or express any legislative intent in the
enactment of this 2017 Aect.
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“SECTION 359. This 2017 Act takes effect on the 91st day after the

date on which the 2017 regular session of the Seventy-ninth Legislative

RSN

5 Assembly adjourns sine die.”.
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