EXCISE TAXES

Taxes on Cigarettes and Other Tobacco Products
Excise taxes are imposed on distribution of all tobacco

products in Oregon. Taxes are levied on each cigarette and
as a percent of wholesale price of other tobacco products.
As of January 1, 2017 the tax rate on cigarettes is 66 mills

per cigarette or $1.32 per pack of 20 cigarettes. Under

current law the tax is scheduled to increase to $1.33
beginning January 1, 2018. The distribution of tax revenue
per pack of cigarettes is shown at right. Note that the

numbers do not sum to $1.32 due to rounding and TURA

refers to the Tobacco Use Reduction Account. Distributions
to cities and counties are based on their respective populations.

Cigarette Tax Distribution

DOT Elderly Trans:
Counties:

Cities:

TURA:

OHA Mental Health:
General Fund:

Oregon Health Plan:

as of1/1/2017

$0.02
$0.02
$0.02
$0.03
$0.14
$0.22

Note:Numbersdonotadd upto $1.32 dueto rounding

The Other Tobacco Products (OTP) tax is applied slightly differently
depending upon the product. Moist snuff is taxed at $1.78 per ounce with a
minimum tax of $2.14 per retail container.? Cigars are taxed at 65% of their

wholesale sales price but the tax is capped

$0.86

Distribution of Other Tobacco
Products Tax (1/1/2017)

General Fund: 53.84%
OR Health Plan: 41.54%
TURA: 4.62%

at $0.50 per individual cigar. All other

Cigarette and Other Tobacco Products Taxes ($ Millions)

tobacco products not taxed as moist snuff or

cigars are taxed at 65% of their wholesale
sales price. Distributions of revenues from
the Other Tobacco Products tax are
displayed in the table and chart at the
bottom of the page.

Under current law, inhalant deliver systems
(e-cigarettes and other vapor products) are
not subject to established cigarette or other
tobacco products taxes.

Master Settlement Agreement

Fiscal Cigarette Cigarettes Other Tobacco Total

Year Tax Rate Revenue Change Revenue Change Revenue Change
2005-06 $1.18 238.7 9.6% 312  20.0% 269.9 10.7%
2006-07 $1.18 240.2 0.6% 309 -0.8% 2711 0.4%
2007-08 $1.18 2222  -1.5% 32.8 5.9% 255.0 -6.0%
2008-09 $1.18 2153 -3.1% 329 0.4% 2482  -2.6%
2009-10 $1.18 2019 -6.3% 374  13.7% 239.3 -3.6%
2010-11 $1.18 211.6 4.8% 512 36.8% 262.8 9.8%
2011-12 $1.18 203.5 -3.9% 52.2 2.0% 255.7 -2.7%
2012-13 $1.18 1985 -2.4% 56.7 8.7% 255.2  -0.2%
2013-14 $1.31 200.6 1.1% 56.2 -0.9% 256.8 0.6%
2014-15 $1.31 206.1 2.7% 55.7 -0.8% 261.8 1.9%
2015-16 $1.32 209.8 1.8% 57.4 2.9% 267.2 2.1%

Additional tobacco revenue is received under the Master Settlement Agreement (MSA). Through June 30,

2016, Oregon has received over $1.3 billion in total payments and expects to receive about $135 million for the
2017-19 biennium. MSA revenue has often been pledged to repay bonded indebtedness.
Combined Distribution of Tobacco Taxes ($ Millions)

OTP Receipts Composition
Most Recent 2 Yr Average

MoistSnuff [ 77 9%

Cigars NoCap [ 13%
OoTP | 8%
Cigars Cap | 1.5%

0% 20% 40% 60% 80%

100%

Fiscal General Health Mental TURA Special Local

Year Fund Plan  Health Transit  Gowt's
2005-06 59.4 180.7 8.1 41 8.9
2006-07 60.6 185.3 8.3 4.6 9.2
2007-08 59.0 176.1 8.0 4.6 9.2
2008-09 57.1 168.5 7.7 41 8.3
2009-10 57.4 161.9 7.4 35 7.8
2010-11 66.3 173.2 7.9 4.0 8.1
2011-12 66.1 170.8 7.7 3.9 7.9
2012-13 67.5 168.0 8.4 3.8 7.7
2013-14 66.3 163.5 7.7 8.3 3.7 7.4
2014-15 67.1 160.1 15.7 8.2 3.6 7.2
2015-16 67.2 161.9 189 8.2 3.6 7.3

Page Sources: Oregon Department of Revenue, DAS CFO, DAS Quarterly Economic & Revenue Forecast

1 Under current law, moist snuff rates are scheduled to be indexed to inflation for reporting periods beginning on or after July 1, 2022. Rates are indexed to one

quarter of the change in U.S. City Average Consumer Price Index.

2 HB 2672 (2009) changed the method of taxation for moist snuff. Prior to HB 2672, moist snuff was taxed at 65% of the product’s wholesale sales price. HB

2672 (2009) changed the method of taxation from wholesale sales price to the current law weight based approach.
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Cigarette Tax Rates as of January 1, 2017 - Rankings by Cigarette Excise Tax

State Cigarette Excise & Statewide Sales Taxes State Cigarette Excise Taxes Per Pack
as of Jan. 1, 2017 ($'s per Pack) as of January 1, 2017

Rank State Excise Sales
1 New York 4.35 0.41 Missouri-51 mm $0.17
2 Connecticut 3.90 0.53 Virginia-50 mmm $0.30
3  Rhode Island 3.75 0.59 Georgia-49 mmmm $0.37
4 Massachusetts 3.51 0.56 North Dakota-48 mmmmm $0.44
5 Hawaii 3.20 0.36 North Carolina-47 mmmmm $0.45
6 Vermont 3.08 0.47 South Carolina-46 mmmmmm $0.57
7 Washington 3.03 0.52 Idaho-45 mmmmE $0.57
8 Minnesota 3.00 0.00 Wyoming-44 mmmmmmm $0.60
9 NewlJersey 2.70 0.52 Kentucky-43 s $0.60
10 Pennsylvania 2.60 0.40 Tennessee-42 mmmmm— $0.62
11 Wisconsin 2.52 0.38 Nebraska-41 s $0.64
12 Dist .of Columbia 2.50 0.00 Alabama-40 mmmm— $0.68
13 Michigan 2.00 0.40 Mississippi-39  mmmmm— $0.68
14 Maryland 2.00 0.40 Colorado-38  mG— 50.84
15 Arizona 2.00 0.39 California-37 m——— $0.87
16 Maine 2.00 0.37 Indiana-36 m— $1.00
17 Alaska 2.00 0.00 Oklahoma-35 m——— $1.03
18 Illinois 1.98 0.46 Louisiana-34 ——— $1.08
19 Nevada 1.80 0.37 Arkansas-33 S $1.15
20 New Hampshire 1.78 0.00 West Virginia-32 ma——— $1.20
21 Utah 1.70 0.38 Kansas-31 s 51.29
22 Montana 1.70 0.00 Oregon-30 NG $1.32
23 New Mexico 1.66 0.33 Florida-25  EEG_—_—_—1.34
24 Ohio 1.60 0.33 lowa-28 EEE————— $1.36
25 Delaware 1.60 0.00 Texas27  NE—— 141
26 South Dakota 153 0.27 South Dakota-26 m—————— $1.53
27 Texas 141 0.37 Delawall'e-ZS e $1.60
28 lowa 136 0.35 . Meci';'zz [—— S;G:S
29 Florida 1.34 0.34 |
Montana-22 EEEEEEEE——— 51.70
30 Oregon 1.32 0.00
Utah-21 e $1.70
31 Kansas 1.29 0.35 )
New Hampshire-20 EEEEE—————— $1.78
32 West Virginia 1.20 0.30 Nevada-19 ne—— 5150
33 Arkansas 1.15 0.36 .
lllinois-18  n————— $1.98
34 Louisiana 1.08 0.24 Alaska-17  E— $2.00
35 Oklahoma 1.03 0.00 Maine-16  ne—— 2.00
36 Indiana 1.00 0.38 Arizona-15 EEE—— S 00
37 California 0.87 0.41 Maryland-14  — $2.00
38 Colorado 0.84 0.16 Michigan-13  e—— $2.00
39 Mississippi 0.68 0.37 Dist .of Columbia-12  ——————— $2.50
40 Alabama 0.68 0.21 Wisconsin-11 $2.52
41 Nebraska 0.64 0.30 Pennsylvania-10 I $2.60
42 Tennessee 0.62 0.36 New Jersey-9  mEmE—— $2.70
43 Kentucky 0.60 0.30 Minnesota-8 I $3.00
44  Wyoming 0.60 0.21 Washington-7  m———— $3.03
45 Idaho 0.57 0.31 Vermont-6 I $3.08
46 South Carolina 0.57 0.30 Hawaii-5 s $3.20
47 North Carolina 0.45 0.23 Massachusetts-4 I $3.51
48 North Dakota 0.44 0.24 Rhode Island-3  ————— $3.75
49 Georgia 0.37 0.20 Connecticut2 I $3.90
50 Virginia 0.30 0.27 New York-1 I $4.35
51 Missouri 0.17 0.20 $0.00 $1.00 $2.00 $3.00 $4.00 $5.00
Note: On 4/1/17, California's tax increases to $2.87 per pack
Sources: Excise tax rates from Federation of Tax Administrators http://www.taxadmin.org/tax-rates

Tax Burden on Tobacco, Orzechowski and Walker
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Cigarette Tax Distribution — as of 1/1/2018

Total Tax
$1.33 per pack
66.5 mills

ORS 323.030(4)
$0.15| 7.5 mills

ORS 323.031
$0.60 | 30 mills

Distribution ORS 323.455(5)

Distribution ORS 323.457

DOR Admi
(E)Xpen‘ig;'” ORS 323.030(1)
$0.58 | 29 mills
[
Distribution ORS 323.455
| |
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