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March 2, 2017

TO: The Honorable Senator Elizabeth Steiner Hayward, Co-Chair
The Honorable Representative Dan Rayfield, Co-Chair
Joint Committee on Ways and Means, Subcommittee on Human Services

FROM: Collette Young, Administrator
Center for Public Health Practice
Public Health Division
Oregon Health Authority

SUBJECT: HB 5027, fee ratification

Co-Chairs Steiner-Hayward and Rayfield and members of the committee: | am Collette
Young, Administrator of the Public Health Division’s Center for Public Health Practice. I
am here in support of HB 5027, the Oregon Health Authority's fee ratification bill.

HB 5027 includes two sets of fees for ratification: Oregon Environmental Laboratory
Accreditation Program (or ORELAP) fees and Toxic-Free Kids Act fees.

Oregon Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program (ORELAP)

In June 2016, ORELAP application and field of accreditation fees were increased by 20
percent for out-of-state labs and a new tier of testing complexity, "Advanced
Technology," was added to the list of ORELAP fees for both in-state and out-of-state
labs.

The Advanced Technology fees accommodate the accreditation of highly complex
technologies, including in-state cannabis testing laboratories that test for pesticides and
solvent residue. The criteria for designation as an advanced technology field of
accreditation include the level of technologic complexity listed in the fields of
accreditation, the amount of time required for rigorous evaluation of raw data and
documentation, and the complexity of the on-site assessment. Based on this criteria, some
technologies have moved to a higher level of field of accreditation for in-state and out-of-
state laboratories.
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ORELAP does not accredit out-of-state laboratories for cannabis testing. ORELAP
accredits out-of-state laboratories that test drinking water samples for Oregon water
systems and it tests samples for the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality where
there is not in-state accredited laboratory capacity or the expertise needed to do business
with Oregon companies.

The fee changes support Policy Option Package 409. The fee ratification is needed to
ensure the program has sufficient funds to continue accrediting laboratories. The fee
ratification will generate an estimated $262,033 in additional fees for ORELAP during
the 17-19 biennium. The additional fees will help support the two positions that were
authorized by 15-17 Policy Option Package 501 for cannabis testing laboratory
accreditation. If the fee changes are not ratified, the program will not be able to continue
to accredit all of the laboratories it currently accredits, potentially jeopardizing the ability
to have drinking water and cannabis tested as required by statute.

Out-of-state laboratory accreditation fees have not been increased since 2011. There has
been no opposition to the 20 percent increase.

Oregon laboratory accreditation fees have not been increased since 2002 and are not
increased by this fee change. New fees were established for Oregon laboratories for
accreditation of advanced technologies and to enable cannabis testing laboratories to test
for pesticides and solvent residue as required in ORS 475B.555 and pursuant to Oregon
Liquor Control Commission licensure.

Toxic-Free Kids Act (TFKA)

HB 5027 also establishes in statute fees that enables OHA to implement and administer
the 2015 Toxic-Free Kids Act (TFKA) i.e. ORS 431A.253-431A.280. This Act requires
manufacturers of children’s products sold or offered for sale in Oregon to report products
that contain one or more high priority chemicals of concern for children’s health.

The cost to OHA to implement the TFKA is estimated to average $480,000 per year. To
initiate development of the Toxic-Free Kids Program, the Legislature appropriated
$87,673 for the 15-17 biennium. OHA requested $229,389 for the 17-19 biennium. The
balance needed to enact TFKA comes in the form of fees paid by manufacturers who
gross over $5 million in global sales annually.
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OHA put these fees in rule (OAR 333-016-2080) that took effect February 1, 2017,
following a standard rulemaking process including a rulemaking advisory committee and
public comment period.

I would be happy to provide any additional information you need and thank you for the
opportunity to provide testimony.


http://public.health.oregon.gov/HealthyEnvironments/HealthyNeighborhoods/ToxicSubstances/Documents/OAR%20333-016%20FINAL%20text_FEES_2-01-17.pdf

