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The	Honorable	Jeff	Barker,	Chair	
House	Judiciary	Committee,	Members	
	

RE:		House	Bill	2615	–	testimony	in	support	
	
Dear	Chair	Barker	and	Members,	
	
The	Oregon	Criminal	Defense	Lawyers	Association	is	an	organization	of	attorneys	who	
represent	individuals	in	juvenile	dependency	and	juvenile	delinquency	proceedings,	adult	
criminal	prosecutions	and	appeals,	civil	commitment	and	post-conviction	relief	proceedings	
throughout	the	state	of	Oregon.		Thank	you	for	the	opportunity	to	submit	the	following	
comments	in	support	of	HB	2615.	
	
Why	HB	2615	is	necessary:		HB	2615	addresses	a	charging	practice	by	which	persons	who	
commit	non-violent	theft	of	items	of	minimal	value	are	exposed	to,	and	often	are	sentenced	to	
prison.	
	
Under	current	theft	statutes,	district	attorneys	frequently	prosecute	the	attempted	theft	of	
items	of	minimal	value	as	a	Class	C	felony	under	a	theory	unique	to	“return	fraud.”		“Return	
fraud”	is	a	term	of	art	not	codified	in	law.		It	refers	to	a	manner	of	shoplifting	whereby	a	person	
takes	an	item	off	a	merchant’s	shelf	and,	rather	than	exiting	the	store	with	the	item,	instead	
submits	it	to	the	return	counter	for	either	cash	or	credit,	usually	accompanied	with	assurances	
that	the	item	previously	was	purchased	but	the	individual	had	lost	the	receipt.	
	
District	attorneys	prosecute	instances	of	“return	fraud”	as	Class	C	felonies	under	the	Theft	by	
Receiving	theory	in	Oregon’s	theft	statute,	even	for	items	of	minimal	value.		HB	2615	asks	the	
Legislature	to	decide	whether	it	approves	of	this	use	of	the	Theft	by	Receiving	statute,	or	
whether	“return	fraud”	ought	to	be	prosecuted	under	other	sections	of	Oregon’s	theft	statutes	
which	distinguish	felony	theft	from	misdemeanor	theft	based	on	the	dollar	value	of	the	item	
taken.	
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Oregon’s	theft	statutes	and	crime	seriousness	levels:			Oregon	has	many	theft	statutes	
allowing	for	different	theories	of	theft	and	for	theft	of	special	items	such	as	metal.		In	all	but	a	
few	instances,	the	crime	seriousness	level	is	determined	by	the	dollar	value	of	the	property.			
When	discussing	theft	of	merchandise,	property	of	less	than	$100	is	a	Class	C	misdemeanor	
[ORS	164.043];	property	between	$100	and	$1000	is	a	Class	A	misdemeanor	[ORS	164.045];	
property	over	$1000	is	a	Class	C	felony	[ORS	164.055]	
	
Two	exceptions	are	always	felonies,	regardless	of	value:		Two	theories	of	committing	theft	are	
always	felonies,	regardless	of	value	of	the	merchandise:	
	

• Theft	by	Extortion	[ORS	164.075].		In	every	instance	of	Theft	by	Extortion,	it	is	a	Class	B	
felony	regardless	of	value.		This	makes	sense.		Employing	intimidation,	threat	or	fear	to	
obtain	property	is	inherently	more	ominous,	more	dangerous	and	more	culpable	than	
merely	taking	or	appropriating	property.			

	
• Theft	by	Receiving	[ORS	164.095].		In	every	instance	of	Theft	by	Receiving,	it	is	a	Class	C	

felony	regardless	of	value.		Felony	status	is	appropriate	because,	by	knowingly	taking	or	
selling	stolen	property,	the	person	is	commercializing	theft	and	poses	a	greater	public	
nuisance	than	the	common	shoplifter	who	appropriates	property	for	themselves.		This	
provision,	adopted	from	the	1971	Model	Penal	Code,	seeks	to	punish	the	“fence”	who	
knowingly	buys	and	sells	stolen	goods,	thereby	incentivizing	further	shoplifts.		

	
Appellate	case	law	addressing	“return	fraud”	as	Theft	by	Receiving:		For	a	long	time,	“return	
fraud”	was	charged	under	the	generic	theory	of	Theft	by	Taking	which,	as	noted,	was	tethered	
to	the	dollar	value	of	the	merchandise.		The	case	of	State	v.	Rocha,	233	Or.App.	1	(2009)	
changed	that.		In	Rocha,	an	alert	and	zealous	deputy	district	attorney	realized	it	might	be	
possible	to	prosecute	a	“return	fraud”	case	under	the	theory	of	Theft	by	Receiving	based	on	the	
argument	that	the	defendant	“stole”	the	merchandise	at	the	time	she	removed	it	from	the	shelf	
with	no	intent	of	paying	for	it	such	that	when	she	walked	down	the	aisle	and	presented	the	
merchandise	to	the	return	counter	for	cash	or	value,	she	“sold”	the	merchandise	she	had	just	
stolen	two	minutes	prior.		The	Court	of	Appeals	analyzed	its	prior	opinions	and	agreed	it	would	
be	possible	to	sustain	a	prosecution	under	that	theory.	Since	the	Rocha	decision,	almost	all	
instances	of	“return	fraud”	have	been	prosecuted	as	Class	C	felonies.	

It	should	be	noted	here	that	if	the	defendant	actually	left	the	store	without	paying	for	the	item,	
the	government	could	not	use	the	Theft	by	Receiving	theory.		Rather,	the	appropriate	charge	
would	be	Theft	by	Taking	which,	as	stated	above,	is	tethered	to	the	dollar	value	of	the	
merchandise.		

	“Return	fraud”	merchandise	is	almost	always	less	than	felony	level:			In	the	majority	of	
instances	of	“return	fraud”	the	value	is	less	than	$100,	making	these	Class	C	misdemeanor	level.		
In	one	known	instance,	a	defendant	was	charged	with	a	Class	C	felony	for	seeking	the	return	of	
an	item	less	than	$5.		
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The	impact	of	charging	“return	fraud”	as	Class	C	felonies:		Charging	these	instances	of	“return	
fraud”	as	Class	C	felonies	has	immediate	and	collateral	consequences.		The	immediate	impact	is	
the	cost	of	prosecution	(they	must	be	initiated	by	a	grand	jury)	and	increased	cost	of	defense,	
the	felonization	of	the	individual,	and	state	funding	for	incarceration	and	supervision.		The	
largest	impact	has	been	felt	since	the	advent	of	Ballot	Measure	57.		Should	the	defendant	have	
two	prior	misdemeanor	crimes,	she	is	subject	to	BM	57	mandatory	sentencing.			Even	if	placed	
on	supervision	(often	a	“strict	compliance”	probation),	if	probation	is	ultimately	revoked	the	
offender	will	go	to	prison	for	the	non-violent	taking	of	property	of	minimal	value.		

The	“fix”	in	HB	2615:		The	Legislature	has	never	spoken	to	whether	it	endorses	the	use	of	the	
Theft	by	Receiving	statute	for	“return	fraud”	prosecutions.		HB	2615	squarely	presents	the	
question	to	the	Legislature:	does	it	endorse	this	use	of	the	Theft	by	Receiving	statute?	

If	the	answer	is	no,	then	the	fix	is	relatively	simple.		HB	2615	clarifies	that	the	crime	of	Theft	by	
Receiving	in	ORS	164.095	does	not	apply	to	the	return	of	merchandise	taken	from	a	mercantile	
establishment.		By	removing	this	theory	of	prosecution	from	Theft	by	Receiving,	it	leaves	
available	to	the	prosecution	the	theories	of	Theft	by	Taking	[ORS	164.015]	and	Theft	by	
Deception	[ORS	164.085],	both	of	which	are	tethered	to	the	dollar	value	of	the	merchandise.				

Thank	you	for	your	consideration	of	these	comments.		We	are	happy	to	address	any	questions	
or	comments.			
	

Gail	L.	Meyer,	JD	
Legislative	Representative	

Oregon	Criminal	Defense	Lawyers	Association	
gmeyer@ocdla.org		

 
 


