
Scott Brewen – Director



Non-Motorized Advisory 
Committee

 Members Included:
 Environmental Conservation 

Groups
 Livery Operators
 Rafters/Kayakers/Canoeist
 Dragon Boaters
 Rowers

 Marine Patrol Officers
 County and Oregon State 

Police

 Federal Agencies'
 USFS and BLM

 State Agencies



Boating Trends
Statewide Comprehensive Outdoor Plan

Conducted by Oregon State Parks and Recreations Department - 2011
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Boating Fatalities 1997 - 2016



Boating Safety Enforcement



Obstructions and Safety



Boating Education



Non-motorized Craft



HB 2320- Non-motorized 
Boating Permit. 
 A person 14 years of age and older, all lengths
 Exemptions. A non-motorized permit is not required if

 Boating on a federally designated Wild and Scenic River 
where a fee system is in place

 Engaged in law enforcement, public safety, or official business 
of a federal, state or municipal agency as defined in rule

 The boat is launched from a border state onto border waters
 The operator holds a non-motorized boating permit, 

registration, or similar authorization issued by another state 
and accepted by the Board by rule

 Allows NM permit to be combined with AIS permit



HB 2320 - Fees
 (1) $4 for a one week permit (+ $1 AIS)
 (2) $12 for an annual permit (+ $5 AIS)
 (3) $20 for a biennial permit (+ $10 AIS)
 (4) The annual fee for an operator of a NM boat livery is:

 (a) $60 for an operator who owns 6 to 10 nm boats;
 (b) $110 for an operator who owns 11 to 20 nm boats; or
 (c) $200 for an operator who owns 21 or more nm boats.





2015 Budget Note
The Marine Board is directed to continue public 
outreach to non-motorized boaters with respect to a 
methodology for licensing non-motorized boats and 
return to the 2017 Legislative Assembly with a formal 
proposal and a legislative concept for implementation of 
the fee.



Questions?
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