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ONA and OHCA Urge Your Support of SB 1585

Sections 1 and 2 Summary
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Sections 1 and 2 of SB 1585 (2016) amend legislation passed in 2015 that was supported by a broad coalition
of the nursing community, including ONA. SB 72 (2015) established the Oregon Nursing Advancement Fund
to help fund the Oregon Center for Nursing’s research and analysis of Oregon’s nursing workforce. The
Oregon Center for Nursing is a nonprofit organization dedicated to ensuring legislators, employers, policy
makers, educators and health care providers have independently reviewed nursing workforce information to
help make the most informed policy decisions. The bill instructs the Oregon State Board of Nursing to collect
a $9 surcharge from all nurses receiving a new license, and for nurses renewing their license.

SB 1585 clarifies the intent of SB 72 in three areas: (1) requests the $9 surcharge be applied to nurses who
are licensed by indorsement as well as nurses who are licensed by examination and nurses licensed by
renewal; (2) gives more flexibility to the State Board of Nursing to remit (3) clarifies that the nonprofit
organization must be meet the requirements described in the IRS code 501(c)3 and ORS Section 65 to qualify
for distribution.

Sections 3 and 4 Summary

Sections 3 and 4 of SB 1585 (2016) amend a legislation passed in 2013 that was supported by OHCA and
Department of Human Services. HB 2216 (2013) established the Quality and Efficiency Incentive program to
reduce bed capacity in nursing facilities across Oregon and make the long-term care system more cost
efficient. According to the law, with DHS as the mediator, if nursing facilities in service areas with high
vacancy rates voluntarily worked together to buy and close nursing facilities by December 31, 2015, the
buyer would receive incentive pay from the state in their reimbursement rates. For these deals to go
through, DHS would need to approve the sale of one facility to another (and make sure that the sale meets a
handful of requirements that are laid out in rule.)

SB 1585 changes two things — It makes it so that the buy-and-close deals don’t have to be completed by the
deadline, they just have to have been submitted to DHS for approval by that time. It also pushes the deadline
back to June 30, 2016

-1 Amendment Summary

The -1 amendment adopted by the Human Services Subcommittee was drafted at the request of OHCA in
coordination with the Department of Human Services and the Providence Child Center. The amendment gives
the Department of Human Services permission to develop a separate pediatric subacute reimbursement rate
for specific long-term care nursing services for children. Currently DHS is only allowed to have one pediatric
subacute reimbursement rate. An additional rate would provide flexibility and allow for children with very
high subacute long term care needs to be cared for in a more appropriate, less costly environment.
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