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HB 2320-B10
(LC 256)
7/1/15  (JLM/ps)

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO RESOLVE CONFLICTS TO
B-ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL 2320

On page 2 of the printed B-engrossed bill, line 2, after “181.840” insert
“and section 1, chapter 462, Oregon Laws 2015 (Enrolled Senate Bill 908)”.

On page 31, after line 23, insert:

“SECTION 32a. If Senate Bill 908 becomes law, section 1, chapter
462, Oregon Laws 2015 (Enrolled Senate Bill 908) (amending ORS
137.225) is repealed and ORS 137.225, as amended by section 32 of this
2015 Act, is amended to read:

“137.225. (1)(a) Except as provided in paragraph (c) of this subsection,
at any time after the lapse of three years from the date of pronouncement
of judgment, any defendant who has fully complied with and performed the
sentence of the court and whose conviction is described in subsection (5) of
this section by motion may apply to the court where the conviction was en-
tered for entry of an order setting aside the conviction[; or]. A person who
is still under supervision, or who is still incarcerated, as part of the
sentence for the offense that is the subject of the motion has not fully
complied with or performed the sentence of the court.

“(b) At any time after the lapse of one year from the date of any arrest,
if no accusatory instrument was filed, or at any time after an acquittal or
a dismissal of the charge, the arrested person may apply to the court that
would have jurisdiction over the crime for which the person was arrested,
for entry of an order setting aside the record of the arrest. For the purpose

of computing the one-year period, time during which the arrested person has
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secreted himself or herself within or without this state is not included.

“(e) A person whose sentence of probation was revoked may not
apply to the court for entry of an order setting aside the conviction
for which the person was sentenced to probation for a period of 10
years from the date of revocation.

“(2)(a) A copy of the motion and a full set of the defendant’s fingerprints
shall be served upon the office of the prosecuting attorney who prosecuted
the crime or violation, or who had authority to prosecute the charge if there
was no accusatory instrument filed, and opportunity shall be given to contest
the motion. The fingerprint card with the notation ‘motion for setting aside
conviction,” or ‘motion for setting aside arrest record’ as the case may be,
shall be forwarded to the Department of State Police. Information resulting
from the fingerprint search along with the fingerprint card shall be returned
to the prosecuting attorney.

“(b) When a prosecuting attorney is served with a copy of a motion to set
aside a conviction under this section, the prosecuting attorney shall provide
a copy of the motion and notice of the hearing date to the victim, if any, of
the crime by mailing a copy of the motion and notice to the victim’s last-
known address.

“(c) When a person makes a motion under subsection (1)(a) of this section,
the person must pay a fee of $80 to the Department of State Police. The
person shall attach a certified check payable to the Department of State
Police in the amount of $80 to the fingerprint card that is served upon the
prosecuting attorney. The office of the prosecuting attorney shall forward
the check with the fingerprint card to the Department of State Police.

“(d) In addition to the fee established under paragraph (c) of this sub-
section, when a person makes a motion under subsection (1)(a) of this section
the person must pay the filing fee established under ORS 21.135.

“(3) Upon hearing the motion, the court may require the filing of such

affidavits and may require the taking of such proofs as the court deems
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proper. The court shall allow the victim to make a statement at the hearing.
Except as otherwise provided in subsection [(13)] (12) of this section, if the
court determines that the circumstances and behavior of the applicant from
the date of conviction, or from the date of arrest as the case may be, to the
date of the hearing on the motion warrant setting aside the conviction, or
the arrest record as the case may be, the court shall enter an appropriate
order that shall state the original arrest charge and the conviction charge,
if any and if different from the original, date of charge, submitting agency
and disposition. The order shall further state that positive identification has
been established by the Department of State Police and further identified as
to Department of State Police number or submitting agency number. Upon
the entry of the order, the applicant for purposes of the law shall be deemed
not to have been previously convicted, or arrested as the case may be, and
the court shall issue an order sealing the record of conviction and other of-
ficial records in the case, including the records of arrest whether or not the
arrest resulted in a further criminal proceeding.

“(4) The clerk of the court shall forward a certified copy of the order to
such agencies as directed by the court. A certified copy must be sent to the
Department of Corrections when the person has been in the custody of the
Department of Corrections. Upon entry of the order, the conviction, arrest
or other proceeding shall be deemed not to have occurred, and the applicant
may answer accordingly any questions relating to its occurrence.

“(5) The provisions of subsection (1)(a) of this section apply to a con-
viction [of] for:

“(a) A Class B felony, except for a violation of ORS 166.429 or any crime
classified as a person felony as that term is defined in the rules of the
Oregon Criminal Justice Commission, only if:

“(A)i) Twenty years or more have elapsed from the date of the
conviction sought to be set aside or of the release of the person from

imprisonment for the conviction sought to be set aside, whichever is
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later; and

“(ii) The person has not been convicted of or arrested for any other
offense, excluding motor vehicle violations, after the date the person
was convicted of the offense sought to be set aside. Notwithstanding
subsection (1) of this section, a conviction or arrest that has been set
aside under this section shall be considered for the purpose of deter-
mining whether this subparagraph is applicable; or

“(B) The Class B felony is described in paragraphs (b) to (e) of this
subsection.

“[(b) A Class C felony, except for criminal mistreatment in the first degree
under ORS 163.205 when it would constitute child abuse as defined in ORS
419B.005 or any sex crime.]

“[(c) The crime of possession of the narcotic drug marijuana when that
crime was punishable as a felony only.]

“I(d) A crime punishable as either a felony or a misdemeanor, in the dis-
cretion of the court, except for:]

“[(A) Any sex crime; or]

“[(B) The following crimes when they would constitute child abuse as de-
fined in ORS 419B.005:]

“[(i)) Criminal mistreatment in the first degree under ORS 163.205; and]

“l(i1) Endangering the welfare of a minor under ORS 163.575 (1)(a).]

“l(e) A misdemeanor, including a violation of a municipal ordinance, for
which a jail sentence may be imposed, except for endangering the welfare of
a minor under ORS 163.575 (1)(a) when it would constitute child abuse as
defined in ORS 419B.005 or any sex crime.]

“[(f) A violation, whether under state law or local ordinance.]

“l(g) An offense committed before January 1, 1972, that if committed after
that date would be:]

“I(A) A Class C felony, except for any sex crime or for the following crimes

when they would constitute child abuse as defined in ORS 419B.005:]
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“[(i1) Criminal mistreatment in the first degree under ORS 163.205; and]

“[(i1) Endangering the welfare of a minor under ORS 163.575 (1)(a).]

“I(B) A crime punishable as either a felony or a misdemeanor, in the dis-
cretion of the court, except for any sex crime or for the following crimes when
they would constitute child abuse as defined in ORS 419B.005:]

“[(i) Criminal mistreatment in the first degree under ORS 163.205; and]

“l(it1) Endangering the welfare of a minor under ORS 163.575 (1)(a).]

“[(C) A misdemeanor, except for endangering the welfare of a minor under
ORS 163.575 (I)(a) when it would constitute child abuse as defined in ORS
419B.005 or any sex crime.]

“l(D) A violation.]

“(b) Any crime punishable as a misdemeanor, including judgment
of conviction for a misdemeanor pursuant to ORS 161.705.

“(c) Unlawful possession of a controlled substance classified in
Schedule 1.

“(d) An offense constituting a violation under state law or local
ordinance.

“(e) An offense committed before January 1, 1972, that, if commit-
ted after that date, would qualify for an order under this section.

“(6) Notwithstanding subsection (5) of this section, the provisions
of subsection (1)(a) of this section do not apply to a conviction for:

“(a) Criminal mistreatment in the second degree under ORS 163.200
if the victim at the time of the crime was 65 years of age or older.

“(b) Criminal mistreatment in the first degree under ORS 163.205 if
the victim at the time of the crime was 65 years of age or older, or
when the offense constitutes child abuse as defined in ORS 419B.005.

“(c) Endangering the welfare of a minor under ORS 163.575 (1)(a),
when the offense constitutes child abuse as defined in ORS 419B.005.

“(d) Criminally negligent homicide under ORS 163.145, when that

offense was punishable as a Class C felony.
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“(e) Assault in the third degree under ORS 163.165 (1)(h).

“(f) Any sex crime, unless:

“(A) The sex crime is listed in ORS 181.830 (1)(a) and:

“(i) The person has been relieved of the obligation to report as a sex
offender pursuant to a court order entered under ORS 181.832 or
181.833; and

“(ii) The person has not been convicted of, found guilty except for
insanity of or found to be within the jurisdiction of the juvenile court
based on a crime for which the court is prohibited from setting aside
the conviction under this section; or

“(B) The sex crime constitutes a Class C felony and:

“(i) The person was under 16 years of age at the time of the offense;

“(ii) The person is:

“(I) Less than two years and 180 days older than the victim; or

“(II) At least two years and 180 days older, but less than three years
and 180 days older, than the victim and the court finds that setting
aside the conviction is in the interests of justice and of benefit to the
person and the community;

“(iii) The victim’s lack of consent was due solely to incapacity to
consent by reason of being less than a specified age;

“(@iv) The victim was at least 12 years of age at the time of the of-
fense;

“(v) The person has not been convicted of, found guilty except for
insanity of or found to be within the jurisdiction of the juvenile court
based on a crime for which the court is prohibited from setting aside
the conviction under this section; and

“(vi) Each conviction or finding described in this subparagraph in-
volved the same victim.

“[(6)] (7) Notwithstanding subsection (5) of this section, the provisions
of subsection (1) of this section do not apply to:
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“(a) A conviction for a state or municipal traffic offense.

“(b) A person convicted, within the 10-year period immediately preceding
the filing of the motion pursuant to subsection (1) of this section, of any
other offense, excluding motor vehicle violations, whether or not the other
conviction is for conduct associated with the same criminal episode that
caused the arrest or conviction that is sought to be set aside. A single vi-
olation, other than a motor vehicle violation, within the last 10 years
is not a conviction under this subsection. Notwithstanding subsection (1)
of this section, a conviction that has been set aside under this section shall
be considered for the purpose of determining whether this paragraph is ap-
plicable.

“(c) A person who at the time the motion authorized by subsection (1) of
this section is pending before the court is under charge of commission of any
crime.

“[(7) Notwithstanding subsection (5) of this section, the provisions of sub-
section (1)(a) of this section do not apply to:]

“l(a) Criminal mistreatment in the second degree under ORS 163.200 if the
victim at the time of the crime was 65 years of age or older.]

“I(b) Criminal mistreatment in the first degree under ORS 163.205 if the
victim at the time of the crime was 65 years of age or older.]

“I(c) Criminally negligent homicide under ORS 163.145, when that offense
was punishable as a Class C felony.]

“[(8) Notwithstanding subsection (5) of this section, the provisions of sub-
section (1)(a) of this section apply to a conviction for:]

“I(a) A Class B felony described in subsection (5)(a) of this section only
if:]

“[(A) Twenty years or more have elapsed from the date of the conviction
sought to be set aside or of the release of the person from imprisonment for the
conviction sought to be set aside, whichever is later; and]

“[(B) The person has not been convicted of or arrested for any other offense,
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excluding motor vehicle violations, after the date the person was convicted of
the offense sought to be set aside. Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this sec-
tion, a conviction or arrest that has been set aside under this section shall be
considered for the purpose of determining whether this subparagraph is ap-
plicable.]

“[(b) A sex crime listed in ORS 181.830 (1(a) if:]

“[(A) The person has been relieved of the obligation to report as a sex
offender pursuant to a court order entered under ORS 181.832 or 181.833;
and]

“[(B) The person has not been convicted of, found guilty except for insanity
of or found to be within the jurisdiction of the juvenile court based on, a crime
that a court is prohibited from setting aside under this section.]

“[(c) A sex crime constituting a Class C felony, if:]

“[(A) The person was under 16 years of age at the time of the offense;]

“[(B) The person is:]

“[(i) Less than two years and 180 days older than the victim; or]

“[(i1) At least two years and 180 days older, but less than three years and
180 days older, than the victim and the court finds that setting aside the con-
viction is in the interests of justice and of benefit to the person and the com-
munity;]

“I(C) The victim’s lack of consent was due solely to incapacity to consent
by reason of being less than a specified age;]

“I(D) The victim was at least 12 years of age at the time of the offense;]

“[(E) The person has not been convicted of, found guilty except for insanity
of or found to be within the jurisdiction of the juvenile court based on a crime
that a court is prohibited from setting aside under this section; and]

“[(F) Each conviction or finding described in this paragraph involved the
same victim.]

“[(9)] (8) The provisions of subsection (1)(b) of this section do not apply
to:
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“(a) A person arrested within the three-year period immediately preceding
the filing of the motion for any offense, excluding motor vehicle violations,
and excluding arrests for conduct associated with the same criminal episode
that caused the arrest that is sought to be set aside. An arrest that has been
set aside under this section may not be considered for the purpose of deter-
mining whether this paragraph is applicable.

“(b) An arrest for driving while under the influence of intoxicants if the
charge is dismissed as a result of the person’s successful completion of a
diversion agreement described in ORS 813.200.

“[(10)] (9) The provisions of subsection (1) of this section apply to con-
victions and arrests that occurred before, as well as those that occurred af-
ter, September 9, 1971. There is no time limit for making an application.

“[(1D)] (10) For purposes of any civil action in which truth is an element
of a claim for relief or affirmative defense, the provisions of subsection (3)
of this section providing that the conviction, arrest or other proceeding be
deemed not to have occurred do not apply and a party may apply to the court
for an order requiring disclosure of the official records in the case as may
be necessary in the interest of justice.

“[(12)] (11) Upon motion of any prosecutor or defendant in a case in-
volving records sealed under this section, supported by affidavit showing
good cause, the court with jurisdiction may order the reopening and disclo-
sure of any records sealed under this section for the limited purpose of as-
sisting the investigation of the movant. However, such an order has no other
effect on the orders setting aside the conviction or the arrest record.

“[(13)] (12) Unless the court makes written findings by clear and con-
vincing evidence that granting the motion would not be in the best interests
of justice, the court shall grant the motion and enter an order as provided
in subsection (3) of this section if the defendant has been convicted of one
of the following crimes and is otherwise eligible for relief under this section:

“(a) Abandonment of a child, ORS 163.535.
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“(b) Attempted assault in the second degree, ORS 163.175.
“(c) Assault in the third degree, ORS 163.165.

“(d) Coercion, ORS 163.275.

“(e) Criminal mistreatment in the first degree, ORS 163.205.
“(f) Attempted escape in the first degree, ORS 162.165.

“(g) Incest, ORS 163.525, if the victim was at least 18 years of age.
“(h) Intimidation in the first degree, ORS 166.165.

“(1) Attempted kidnapping in the second degree, ORS 163.225.
“(j) Attempted robbery in the second degree, ORS 164.405.
“(k) Robbery in the third degree, ORS 164.395.

“(L) Supplying contraband, ORS 162.185.

“(m) Unlawful use of a weapon, ORS 166.220.

“[(14)] (13) As used in this section, ‘sex crime’ has the meaning given that

term in ORS 181.805.”.

On page 45, after line 16, insert:

“APPLICABILITY PROVISIONS

“SECTION 49. The amendments to ORS 137.225 by section 32a of this

2015 Act become operative January 1, 2016.”.

In line 20, delete “49” and insert “50”.
In line 26, delete “50” and insert “51”.
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