HB 2879-A9 (LC 3193) 6/17/15 (SCT/ps)

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO A-ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL 2879

1 On page 2 of the printed A-engrossed bill, line 3, after "practitioner" in-2 sert "or women's health care practitioner".

3 In line 8, after "practitioner" insert "or women's health care 4 practitioner".

5 After line 23, insert:

6 "SECTION 3. Section 2 of this 2015 Act is amended to read:

"Sec. 2. (1) In accordance with rules adopted by the State Board of
Pharmacy under ORS 689.205, a pharmacist may prescribe and dispense
hormonal contraceptive patches and self-administered oral hormonal
contraceptives. [to a person who is:]

"[(a) At least 18 years of age, regardless of whether the person has evidence of a previous prescription from a primary care practitioner or women's health care practitioner for a hormonal contraceptive patch or self-administered oral hormonal contraceptive; or]

15 "[(b) Under 18 years of age, only if the person has evidence of a previous 16 prescription from a primary care practitioner or women's health care practi-17 tioner for a hormonal contraceptive patch or self-administered oral hormonal 18 contraceptive.]

"(2)(a) The board shall adopt rules to establish, in consultation with the Oregon Medical Board, the Oregon State Board of Nursing and the Oregon Health Authority, and in consideration of guidelines established by the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, standard procedures for the prescribing of hormonal contraceptive patches and self-administered
 oral hormonal contraceptives by pharmacists.

"(b) The rules adopted under this subsection must require a pharmacistto:

5 "(A) Complete a training program approved by the State Board of Phar-6 macy that is related to prescribing hormonal contraceptive patches and 7 self-administered oral hormonal contraceptives;

8 "(B) Provide a self-screening risk assessment tool that the patient must 9 use prior to the pharmacist's prescribing the hormonal contraceptive patch 10 or self-administered oral hormonal contraceptive;

"(C) Refer the patient to the patient's primary care practitioner or women's health care practitioner upon prescribing and dispensing the hormonal contraceptive patch or self-administered oral hormonal contraceptive;

15 "(D) Provide the patient with a written record of the hormonal 16 contraceptive patch or self-administered oral hormonal contraceptive pre-17 scribed and dispensed and advise the patient to consult with a primary care 18 practitioner or women's health care practitioner; and

"(E) Dispense the hormonal contraceptive patch or self-administered oral hormonal contraceptive to the patient as soon as practicable after the pharmacist issues the prescription.

"(c) The rules adopted under this subsection must prohibit a pharmacistfrom:

"(A) Requiring a patient to schedule an appointment with the pharmacist
for the prescribing or dispensing of a hormonal contraceptive patch or selfadministered oral hormonal contraceptive; and

"(B) Prescribing and dispensing a hormonal contraceptive patch or selfadministered oral hormonal contraceptive to a patient who does not have evidence of a clinical visit for women's health within the three years immediately following the initial prescription and dispensation of a hormonal contraceptive patch or self-administered oral hormonal contraceptive by a
 pharmacist to the patient.

"(3) All state and federal laws governing insurance coverage of
contraceptive drugs, devices, products and services shall apply to hormonal
contraceptive patches and self-administered oral hormonal contraceptives
prescribed by a pharmacist under this section.".

7 In line 24, delete "3" and insert "4".

8 On page 5, line 39, delete "4" and insert "5".

9 In line 40, delete "3" and insert "4".

In line 45, delete "3" and insert "4".

11 After line 45, insert:

¹² "<u>SECTION 6.</u> The amendments to section 2 of this 2015 Act by sec-

13 tion 3 of this 2015 Act become operative on January 1, 2020.".

14 On page 6, line 1, delete "5" and insert "7".

15