Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 3

Sponsored by Senator DEMBROW, Representative KENNEMER; Senators BEYER, BOQUIST, DEVLIN, HANSELL, ROSENBAUM, STEINER HAYWARD, Representatives BARNHART, BARTON, BUCKLEY, DOHERTY, ESQUIVEL, FREDERICK, GREENLICK, KENY-GUYER, MCLANE, NATHANSON, PARRISH, REARDON, SMITH WARNER, VEGA PEDERSON (Presession filed.)

Whereas nearly 6,000 Oregonians have served as Peace Corps volunteers, with approximately 200 volunteers currently serving from Oregon; and

Whereas on a per capita basis, Oregon ranked fourth in the nation in sending Peace Corps volunteers overseas during 2013; and

Whereas among large colleges and universities, the University of Oregon ranked eighth in the nation in the number of undergraduate alumni Peace Corps volunteers in 2014; and

Whereas among small colleges and universities, Reed College ranked 14th in the number of undergraduate alumni Peace Corps volunteers in 2014; and

Whereas the Peace Corps has educational partnerships with four universities in Oregon: the University of Oregon, Oregon State University, Portland State University and Willamette University; and

Whereas more than 3,000 Oregonians are connected with the National Peace Corps Association (NPCA); and

Whereas Oregon NPCA member groups have supported and funded projects both locally and internationally to promote development and humanitarian efforts since the 1980s; and

Whereas returning Peace Corps volunteers have served to bridge cultures and boost business between citizens of their service countries and citizens of the United States; and

Whereas the contributions and sacrifices of Peace Corps volunteers are not widely recognized; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-eighth Legislative Assembly, recognize the contributions and sacrifices of Peace Corps volunteers from Oregon and throughout the United States and honor their work in the movement for peace and development.

Adopted by Senate February 26, 2015

Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate

Peter Courtney, President of Senate

Adopted by House June 11, 2015

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Enrolled Senate Concurrent Resolution 3 (SCR 3-INTRO)