Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 16

Sponsored by COMMITTEE ON VETERANS AND EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS

Whereas Specialist Mabry James Anders was born on July 22, 1991, in Yuma, Arizona, and grew up in Baker City, Oregon, attending Baker High School until midway through his senior year; and

Whereas Specialist Mabry James Anders graduated from Baker Alternative School in Haines, Oregon, in 2009; and

Whereas Specialist Mabry James Anders joined the United States Army, 4th Special Troops Battalion, 4th Brigade Combat Team, 4th Infantry Division out of Fort Carson, Colorado, on January 5, 2010, and became an Army Specialist; and

Whereas Specialist Mabry James Anders was deployed on a tour of duty to Afghanistan in March 2010 and became a wheeled vehicle mechanic after his military education, which included the Light-Wheel Vehicle Mechanic course, the Route Reconnaissance and Clearance Maintainer course and the Combat Lifesaver course; and

Whereas Specialist Mabry James Anders was killed in action on August 27, 2012, by small arms enemy fire in Kalagush, Afghanistan; and

Whereas Specialist Mabry James Anders was buried with full military honors at the Haines Cemetery in Haines, Oregon, and is honored at the Mountain Post Warrior Memorial at Fort Carson, Colorado; and

Whereas Specialist Mabry James Anders received awards and decorations, including the Bronze Star Medal, Purple Heart, Army Achievement Medal, Army Good Conduct Medal, National Defense Service Medal, Afghanistan Campaign Medal with Bronze Service Star, Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, Army Service Ribbon, Overseas Service Ribbon, NATO Medal, Combat Action Badge and Driver and Mechanic Badge, as reported by the United States Army; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-eighth Legislative Assembly, recognize and honor Specialist Mabry James Anders for his service to this state.

Adopted by Senate June 3, 2015

Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate

Peter Courtney, President of Senate

Adopted by House June 23, 2015

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Enrolled Senate Concurrent Resolution 16 (SCR 16-INTRO)