Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 13

Sponsored by Senators GELSER, WINTERS, Representatives RAYFIELD, SMITH; Senators BAERTSCHIGER JR, BATES, BEYER, BURDICK, COURTNEY, DEMBROW, DEVLIN, EDWARDS, FERRIOLI, GIROD, HANSELL, HASS, JOHNSON, KNOPP, KRUSE, MONNES ANDERSON, MONROE, OLSEN, PROZANSKI, RILEY, ROBLAN, ROSENBAUM, SHIELDS, STEINER HAYWARD, THOMSEN, Representatives BARRETO, BARTON, BOONE, BUEHLER, CLEM, DOHERTY, ESQUIVEL, EVANS, FAGAN, FREDERICK, GREENLICK, HELM, HOYLE, KENY-GUYER, KOMP, LININGER, MCKEOWN, MCLAIN, MCLANE, NATHANSON, OLSON, PILUSO, READ, TAYLOR, VEGA PEDERSON, WEIDNER, WILLIAMSON

Whereas in 1909, Oregon State University (OSU), then known as Oregon Agricultural College, recorded its first wrestling dual meet victory; and

Whereas the OSU Beavers wrestling team has gone on to become a national powerhouse for more than 95 seasons; and

Whereas the OSU Beavers wrestling team has won 50 conference championships, produced 89 All Americans and 12 individual national champions and won the Amateur Athletic Union national championship in 1926; and

Whereas the OSU Beavers wrestling team has produced 18 OSU Athletic Hall of Fame inductees, six Oregon Sports Hall of Fame inductees and eight Olympians—including Robin Reed and Chester "Chet" Newton, who claimed the gold and silver medals, respectively, in the 1924 Olympic Games—and is associated with five members of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame; and

Whereas the OSU Beavers wrestling team has had 16 head coaches, including legendary coach Dale O. Thomas, who holds the National Collegiate Athletic Association record for most dual meet wins in a coaching career with 616; and

Whereas the OSU Beavers wrestling team has produced four two-time national champions, including Leslie "Les" Gutches, who went on to become the 1997 World Champion in freestyle wrestling; and

Whereas the OSU Beavers wrestling team has exemplified good character, has represented Oregon positively for nearly a century and continues to set an excellent example for youth to this day; and

Whereas on November 13, 2014, with a 43-6 victory over the Southern Oregon University Raiders wrestling team, the OSU Beavers wrestling team became just the third team in NCAA history and the only program in the western United States to achieve 1,000 dual meet victories; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-eighth Legislative Assembly, commend the exemplary intercollegiate athletic achievements, including the 1,000 dual meet wins, of the Oregon State University Beavers wrestling team, currently coached by Jim Zalesky.

Enrolled Senate Concurrent Resolution 13 (SCR 13-INTRO)

Adopted by Senate April 21, 2015

Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate

Peter Courtney, President of Senate

Adopted by House June 11, 2015

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Enrolled Senate Concurrent Resolution 13 (SCR 13-INTRO)