Enrolled Senate Bill 229

Printed pursuant to Senate Interim Rule 213.28 by order of the President of the Senate in conformance with presession filing rules, indicating neither advocacy nor opposition on the part of the President (at the request of Governor John A. Kitzhaber, M.D., for Oregon Health Authority)

CHAPTER

AN ACT

Relating to Consumer Advisory Council on provision of mental health services; amending ORS 430.073; and declaring an emergency.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 430.073 is amended to read:

430.073. (1) As used in this section and ORS 430.075, "consumer" means a person who has received or is receiving mental health or addiction services.

(2) The Director of the Oregon Health Authority shall establish a Consumer Advisory Council to advise the director on the provision of mental health services by the Oregon Health Authority. The council may review, evaluate and provide feedback on all site reviews related to mental health services provided by the authority.

(3) The director shall appoint 15 to 25 consumers to the council. In making appointments, the director shall strive to balance the representation according to geographic areas of the state, **race**, **ethnicity** and age.

(4) The authority shall provide administrative support to the council.

[(5) Members of the council are not entitled to compensation or reimbursement of expenses under ORS 292.495.]

(5) A member of the council is entitled to compensation in an amount determined by the director and to actual and necessary travel expenses incurred by the member in the performance of the member's official duties. Claims for compensation and expenses shall be paid out of funds appropriated to the authority for purposes of the council.

<u>SECTION 2.</u> This 2015 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2015 Act takes effect on its passage.

Passed by Senate February 19, 2015 **Received by Governor:** Approved: Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate Peter Courtney, President of Senate Passed by House May 28, 2015 Kate Brown, Governor Filed in Office of Secretary of State: Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Jeanne P. Atkins, Secretary of State