House Concurrent Resolution 31

Sponsored by Representative RAYFIELD, Senator GELSER, Representative OLSON; Representatives CLEM, EVANS, GOMBERG, NEARMAN, READ, WHITSETT, Senators BOQUIST, EDWARDS

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure **as introduced.**

Commends intercollegiate athletic achievements of Oregon State University Women's Basketball Team.

1	CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
2	Whereas the Oregon State University (OSU) Women's Basketball Team played their first game
3	in 1898 as the Oregon Agricultural College Women's Basketball Team; and
4	Whereas due to societal pressures of the 1930s, competitive women's sports were discouraged,
5	a circumstance that stifled competition and equity; and
6	Whereas between 1959 and 1966 OSU women's basketball was a club sport, and the Women's
7	Basketball Team went undefeated playing against other schools in the northwest; and
8	Whereas in 1972, OSU women's basketball officially became an intercollegiate sport when the
9	Women's Basketball Team became a charter member of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics
10	for Women; and
11	Whereas the OSU Women's Basketball Team has produced four All-Americans and two All-
12	American honorable mention players; and
13	Whereas current head coach Scott Rueck was named John R. Wooden Pacific-12 Coach of the
14	Year for the 2014-2015 season, leading the OSU Women's Basketball Team to a 27-5 record, a record
15	for most wins during a season in the team's history; and
16	Whereas OSU Women's Basketball Team center Ruth Hamblin was named a third-team All-
17	American by the Associated Press and the Pacific-12 Defensive Player of the Year, and ranked
18	eighth nationally in field goal percentage at 58 percent; and
19	Whereas six members of the OSU Women's Basketball Team earned Pacific-12 All-Academic
20	honors; and
21	Whereas the OSU Women's Basketball Team took the Pacific-12 regular season title from the
22	Stanford University Women's Basketball Team, which had taken the title 14 years in a row; now,
23	therefore,
24	Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:
25	That we, the members of the Seventy-eighth Legislative Assembly, commend the exemplary
26	intercollegiate athletic achievements of the Oregon State University Women's Basketball Team, on
27	winning the Pacific-12 regular season championship title and on recording the best season in team
28	history during 2014-2015.
29	